DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, Applications No. 16/753355 and 18/108038, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Claims 1-23 recited or require a plurality of non-uniform first regions and a plurality of non-uniform second regions. This language was not employed in the parent applications nor were these features discussed in the disclosures of the parent applications.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they show what appear to be extraneous symbols in figures 5A and 5B. Specifically, there are repeated instances of upside-down question marks in a box that appear in both images. These symbols are not mentioning the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: claim 1 recites a plurality of non-uniform first regions and a plurality of non-uniform second regions that are elaborated upon in regard to a portion of the polymer coating composing the first regions and a portion of the bioactive ceramic particles composing the second regions. This language was not employed in the parent applications nor were these features discussed in the disclosures of the parent applications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a plurality of non-uniform first regions” and “a plurality of non-uniform second regions”. The scope/context of the term “uniform” is unclear. The first regions are stated to be a portion of the polymer coating. “Uniformity” in a polymer coating could occur in the context of its composition, its surface topography, as well as its surface arrangement (e.g. continues film vs discontinuous). The second regions are stated to be a portion of the bioactive ceramic particles. “Uniformity” in bioactive ceramic particles could occur in the context of its composition and the surface topography of individual particles as well as aggregates/collections of particles. Since there is no mention of a combination of “non-uniform” polymer and bioactive ceramic particles in the implant, the metes and bounds of “a plurality of non-uniform first regions” and of “a plurality of non-uniform second regions” are unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, 16-18, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen (WO 2006/020644) in view of Greenspan et al. (US PGPub No. 2004/0228905), Li et al. (International Orthopaedics 2012 36:191-197), Mascarenhas et al. (McGill Journal of Medicine 2008 11(1):29-37), Wu et al. (Journal of Bionic Engineering 2012 9:470-477), and Hotter et al. (CA 02662620).
Hansen teach the application of a therapeutic agent powder to polymeric regions on a medical device (see abstract and paragraph 5). The polymeric region is pretreated with a solvent system that increases/induces surface tackiness and may also soften or swell the polymer (see paragraphs 5, 24, and 52 and claim 1). The pretreated polymer region is then impacted with therapeutic containing particles as a dispersion in the same solvent that is effective to partially embed the particles into the polymer region (see paragraphs 5, 24, and, and 52 claim 1; instant claim 5). Hansen teaches the pretreatment solvent and exposure times to be selected such that the desired degree of therapeutic particle penetration into the polymer region and amount of adhered therapeutic particles is achieved (see paragraphs 21-24; instant claim 5). They tout the technique as effectively introducing therapeutic particles into the surface of pre-existing polymeric regions (see paragraph 7). Hansen teaches the polymeric region as being composed of a wide range of polymers that include a number of biostable polymers, where thermoplastic and elastomeric polyurethanes are named as envisioned polymer options (see paragraph 18). The polymeric region can be made by a variety of techniques including dissolving the polymer in a solvent and forming the region via spraying or dipping (see paragraph 19; instant claim 1). Hanson teaches that virtually any medical devices may be employed and are envisioned to include orthopedic devices as well as any coated substrate (see paragraphs 12 and 14). They also teach wide variety of therapeutic agent particles as envisioned options (see paragraphs 43-46). Hanson does not explicitly teach the device medical device to be composed of fibers, bioactive ceramic particles as the therapeutic particles, or the instantly claimed numerical details concerning coating levels and particle sizes.
Greenspan et al. teach bioactive glass as a variety of therapeutic agent known for inclusion on implants (see abstract and paragraphs 11-12; instant claim 16).
Li et al. teach the application of a bioactive glass called Bioglass® as a coating to the surface of a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) ligament implant called the Ligament Advanced Reinforcement System (LARS) (see abstract and page 191 second column; instant claims 1 and 2). They employ 58S Bioglass® that they show as less than 5 mm in size dispersed as a discontinuous layer on the PET (see page 192 first column third full paragraph and figure 1). Li et al. treat the material with a dispersion of Bioglass®, where 4 mg of Bioglass® was coated onto a PET implant whose final weight was 80 mg and was found to be effective at inducing a desirable in vivo response (see page 192 first column second full paragraph and page 196 first column last partial paragraph-second column first full paragraph). This corresponds to the Bioglass® present at 5 wt% of the coated implant (see instant claims 1 and 9-10).
Mascarenhas et al. teach that the LARS implant is composed of PET fibers that are knitted together in some region and parallel in others (see page 33 second column first paragraph; instant claims 1-2, 4, and 21).
Wu et al. also teach the application of a Bioglass® coating to the surface of a PET ligament implant (see abstract). They employ 58S Bioglass® from the same supplier as Li et al. and teach that it was sized at 0.09 to 0.71 mm (see page 471 second column first partial paragraph; instant claims 1 and 7). Like Li et al., Wu et al. further detail that the coating was found to be effective at inducing a desirable in vivo response in regard to bone healing/regeneration (see page 476 first column first-second full paragraphs). Specifically, Wu et al. teach coating the Bioglass® onto a set of PET fibers that represent the LARS implant and show a resulting discontinuous layer of Bioglass® across the surface (see page 473 second column second full paragraph and figure 4).
Hotter et al. teach medical devices and surgical implants made of polymeric fibers (see page 1 lines 26-28). They further teach to coating the device with a composition that improves its functionality (see page 11 lines 3-8). The coating contributes preferably 1 to 3 wt% of the coated device (see page 11 lines 11-14; instant claim 1). Multifilament surgical devices may be further coated with a medicinal or therapeutic substance (see page 11 lines 15-26). Hotter et al. teach envisioned medical devices and surgical implants to include prosthetic ligaments and tendons (see page 12 lines 18-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a LARS ligament implant of Mascarenhas et al. as the device of Hansen to coat because it is a variety of orthopedic device that was known to benefit from a particulate bioactive coating, in light of Wu et al. and Li et al. The modification is obvious as the simple substitution of one known element for another in order to yield a predictable outcome (e.g., a specific medical device vs generic medical device). Hansen teaches the application of a polymer coating onto the surface of their devices and Hotter et al. teach the application of a polymer coating at 1 to 3 wt% to implants composed of multiple polymer fibers as a way in which to add desired surface functionality. Thus integration of the device of Mascarenhas et al. into the polymer coating containing embodiments of Hansen et al. with a non-degradable polymer at the mass loading level of Hotter et al. would have been obvious because it was known to be suitable. Additionally, it would have been obvious to coat these polymer coated PET fibrous ligament implants with Bioglass® as taught by Wu et al. and Li et al. because they teach the benefit of such coatings for these devices. The Bioglass® would qualify as a therapeutic agent of Hansen and its application would be in effort to improve the tissue and bone bonding performance of the PET ligament device. The application of the amount of Bioglass® taught by Li et al. for the coated device would have been obvious because they teach it was a beneficial level for orthopedic applications. The application of the particular Bioglass® of Wu et al. would have been obvious because it performed similarly to that of Li et al. when employed in the same capacity. This Bioglass® particle coating is obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. The resulting 5 wt% loading of Bioglass® exceeds the resulting 1 to 3 wt% polymer coating mass (see instant claim 8). The Bioglass® particles have a median size (d50) that falls within the particle size range detailed by Wu et al. which overlaps with that instantly claimed, thereby rendering the claimed range obvious. “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed.Cir. 1990)” (see MPEP 2144.05). The polymer coating mass range overlaps that instantly claimed thereby rendering it obvious (see MPEP 2144.05). Hansen teaches solvent pretreatment of their polymer coated device and of application of therapeutic particles via dispersion such that the particles are partially embedded in the polymer. It is the position of the examiner that the application of this method to a non-degradable polymer coated LARS ligament implant, where the therapeutic particles are Bioglass® adds a degree of non-uniformity to the polymer coating surface as occurred when a similar method was employed instantly (see instant figure 2). In addition, the resulting partially embedded Bioglass® particles then provide a non-uniform topography, given that they are non-symmetrical (see Li et al. figure 1 and Wu et al. figure 4D). Further the spaces between the particles that reveal polymer coating are interspersed amongst the particles due to the discontinuous coating of Bioglass® particle. Therefore claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, 16-18, and 21-22 are obvious over Hansen in view of Greenspan et al., Li et al., Mascarenhas et al., Wu et al., and Hotter et al.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-11, 16-18, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen in view of Greenspan et al., Li et al., Mascarenhas et al., Wu et al., and Hotter et al. as applied to claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, 16-18, and 21-22 above, and further in view of Laboureau et al. (US Patent No. 5,116,372).
Hansen in view of Greenspan et al., Li et al., Mascarenhas et al., Wu et al., and Hotter et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, 16-18, and 21-22. While Hansen et al. envision polyurethane coatings they do not explicitly suggest this polymer for ligament implants.
Laboureau teaches a ligament implant composed of intertwined polymer fibers that are coated with a biocompatible polymer (see abstract). The polymer employed is a polyurethane (see claim 3; instant claim 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a polyurethane as the coating polymer in the ligament implant rendered obvious by Hansen in view of Greenspan et al., Li et al., Mascarenhas et al., Wu et al., and Hotter et al. This choice would have been obvious because it is envisioned by Hansen and in light of Laboureau who teaches its suitability for ligament implants. Therefore claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-11, 16-18, and 21-22 are obvious over Hansen in view of Greenspan et al., Li et al., Mascarenhas et al., Wu et al., Hotter et al., and Laboureau.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-18, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen in view of Greenspan et al., Li et al., Mascarenhas et al., Wu et al., Hotter et al., and Laboureau as applied to claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, 16-18, and 21-22 above, and further in view of Severini (US Patent No. 5,779,729) and Pinchuk (US Patent No. 5,133,742).
Hansen in view of Greenspan et al., Li et al., Mascarenhas et al., Wu et al., Hotter et al., and Laboureau render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-11, 16-18, and 21-22. While a polyurethane coatings is rendered obvious, a particular variety is not detailed.
Severini teaches the utility of polyurethanes in implant coating applications (see abstract and column 2 lines 1-20). They detail polycarbonate urethane as a particular choice that has excellent biomechanical properties (see column 2 lines 1-4). Coatings generated from solutions made of the polymer in dimethylacetamide are envisioned as well (see column 2 lines 63-66; instant claim 14). The envisioned poly(carbonate urethanes) are detailed by Pinchuk (see column 2 lines 38-44). These polymers are chain extended polyurethanes (hard block) that include aliphatic polycarbonate (aliphatic polyester diol) blocks and are also envisioned components of artificial ligaments for added durability under in vivo conditions (see Pinchuk column 2 line 31-column 3 line 1, column 5 lines 9-28, 42-62, column 7 lines 5-37, and claim 14; instant claims 12-13). The polymers preferably have a Shore hardness of 80 ShA to 75 ShD (see column 3 lines 17-20; instant claim 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a poly(carbonate urethane) of Pinchuk as the coating polymer in the ligament implant rendered obvious by Hansen in view of Greenspan et al., Li et al., Mascarenhas et al., Wu et al., Hotter et al., and Laboureau. This choice would have been obvious because Severini teaches them as useful in coatings and it is a particular variety known to be use in ligaments as well as for its durability in vivo. Thus the modification is obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement and as the simple substitution of one known element for another in order to yield a predictable outcome Therefore claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-18, and 21-22 are obvious over Hansen in view of Greenspan et al., Li et al., Mascarenhas et al., Wu et al., Hotter et al., Severini, and Pinchuk et al.
Claims 1-2, 4-10, and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen in view of Greenspan et al., Li et al., Mascarenhas et al., Wu et al., and Hotter et al. as applied to claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, 16-18, and 21-22 above, and further in view of Moussy et al. (US Patent No. 6,497,729).
Hansen in view of Greenspan et al., Li et al., Mascarenhas et al., Wu et al., and Hotter et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, 16-18, and 21-22. The modified teachings provide a range of weight/mass proportions for the amount of polymer coating on the ligament implant device, but do not comment on the coating thickness.
Moussy et al. teach an implant that is provided with a polymer coating that modifies the tissue response to the device (see abstract). The coating materials are envisioned to carry therapeutic compounds and to include non-degradable polymers (see column 5 lines 18-32). Moussy et al. teach ligament implants as an envisioned type of implant that benefits from such coatings (see column 12 lines 5-7). They go on to teach the coating thickness to range from about 0.05 to 5 mm (see column 11 lines 54-57; instant claims 19-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the polymer coating of Hansen in view of Greenspan et al., Li et al., Mascarenhas et al., Wu et al., and Hotter et al. to a thickness level that was known to be suitable for such coatings, as detailed by Moussy et al. Given the range of mass/weight proportions that the polymer coating occupies in the device, the result is a range of thicknesses that overlap with those instantly claimed and would be obvious to optimize as a matter of routine work (see MPEP 2144.05). The particle size range and polymer coating thickness yield some values where the median particle size would be greater than the coating thickness and render obvious the limitations of instant claim 6 due to the overlap (see MPEP 2144.05). Therefore claims 1-2, 4-10, and 16-22 are obvious over Hansen in view of Greenspan et al., Li et al., Mascarenhas et al., Wu et al., Hotter et al., and Moussy et al.
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 16, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cantournet et al. (EP 2687188) in view of Hansen, Greenspan et al., Li et al., Wu et al., and Hotter et al. as evidenced by Griffin et al. (US PGPub No. 2015/0073445).
Cantournet et al. teach an elongate tendon and ligament implant composed of polymer fibers such that the flexibility is lower in the median region as compared to the ends (see abstract and paragraphs 19-20; instant claims 1 and 22). The fibers that compose the implant are envisioned as PET and polyvinyl alcohol to form the body as well as ultrahigh molecular weight polyethene (UHMWPE) in the median region (see paragraphs 29, 46, and 54-55; instant claim 2-4). The implant is designed to have a loop at one or both ends as well as to incorporate anchoring components (see paragraph 109; instant claim 23). The fibers of the device are braided or woven (see paragraphs 50 and 58; instant claim 21). Cantournet et al. further teach the ends of the implant to be coated with bioactive glass as well as envision the fibers to be coated with a hydrogel material envisioned as polyvinyl alcohol (see paragraphs 93-95, 101, 107-112, and 153; instant claims 1 and 16). They detail that mineral filler material, such a bioactive glass are included as filler or coatings to improve anchoring of the implant to the bone and they consider the coated fibers to be part of the anchoring system of the implant (see paragraphs 95 and 111-112; instant claim 23). Cantournet et al. do not explicitly teach that the bioactive glass particles are interspersed amongst polymer coating regions or the instantly claimed numerical details concerning coating levels and particle sizes.
Hansen teach the application of a therapeutic agent powder to polymeric regions on a medical device (see abstract and paragraph 5). The polymeric region is pretreated with a solvent system that increases/induces surface tackiness and may also soften or swell the polymer (see paragraphs 5, 24, and 52 and claim 1). The pretreated polymer region is then impacted with therapeutic containing particles as a dispersion in the same solvent that is effective to partially embed the particles into the polymer region (see paragraphs 5, 24, and, and 52 claim 1; instant claim 5). Hansen teaches the pretreatment solvent and exposure times to be selected such that the desired degree of therapeutic particle penetration into the polymer region and amount of adhered therapeutic particles is achieved (see paragraphs 21-24; instant claim 5). They tout the technique as effectively introducing therapeutic particles into the surface of pre-existing polymeric regions (see paragraph 7). Hansen teaches the polymeric region as being composed of a wide range of polymers that include a number of biostable polymers, where polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) is named as an envisioned polymer option (see paragraph 18; Griffin et al. paragraph 26). The polymeric region can be made by a variety of techniques including dissolving the polymer in a solvent and forming the region via spraying or dipping (see paragraph 19; instant claim 1). Hanson teaches that virtually any medical devices may be employed and are envisioned to include orthopedic devices as well as any coated substrate (see paragraphs 12 and 14). They also teach wide variety of therapeutic agent particles as envisioned options (see paragraphs 43-46).
Greenspan et al. teach bioactive glass as a variety of therapeutic agent known for inclusion on implants (see abstract and paragraphs 11-12; instant claim 16).
Li et al. teach the application of a bioactive glass called Bioglass® as a coating to the surface of a PET ligament implant called the Ligament Advanced Reinforcement System (LARS) (see abstract and page 191 second column; instant claims 1 and 2). They employ 58S Bioglass® that they show as less than 5 mm in size dispersed as a discontinuous layer on the PET (see page 192 first column third full paragraph and figure 1). Li et al. treat the material with a dispersion of Bioglass®, where 4 mg of Bioglass® was coated onto a PET implant whose final weight was 80 mg and was found to be effective at inducing a desirable in vivo response (see page 192 first column second full paragraph and page 196 first column last partial paragraph-second column first full paragraph). This corresponds to the Bioglass® present at 5 wt% of the coated implant (see instant claims 1 and 9-10).
Wu et al. also teach the application of a Bioglass® coating to the surface of a PET ligament implant (see abstract). They employ 58S Bioglass® from the same supplier as Li et al. and teach that it was sized at 0.09 to 0.71 mm (see page 471 second column first partial paragraph; instant claims 1 and 7). Like Li et al., Wu et al. further detail that the coating was found to be effective at inducing a desirable in vivo response in regard to bone healing/regeneration (see page 476 first column first-second full paragraphs). Specifically, Wu et al. teach coating the Bioglass® onto a set of PET fibers that represent the LARS implant and show a resulting discontinuous layer of Bioglass® across the surface (see page 473 second column second full paragraph and figure 4).
Hotter et al. teach medical devices and surgical implants made of polymeric fibers (see page 1 lines 26-28). They further teach to coating the device with a composition that improves its functionality (see page 11 lines 3-8). The coating contributes preferably 1 to 3 wt% of the coated device (see page 11 lines 11-14; instant claim 1). Multifilament surgical devices may be further coated with a medicinal or therapeutic substance (see page 11 lines 15-26). Hotter et al. teach envisioned medical devices and surgical implants to include prosthetic ligaments and tendons (see page 12 lines 18-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the ligament/tendon device of Cantournet et al., where PET and UHMWPE fibers are included in a PVA and bioactive glass coated embodiment. These choices would have been obvious because these selections are suggested and/or exemplified. It additionally would have been obvious to apply the bioactive glass particle coating based on the method of Hansen because it permits the application of the particles after the desired polymer coating configurations have been made and is one of a small finite number of ways to order the application of the two coating materials. The modification is obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Hansen teaches the application of a polymer coating onto the surface of their devices and Hotter et al. teach the application of a polymer coating at 1 to 3 wt% to implants composed of multiple polymer fibers as a way in which to add desired surface functionality. Thus the application of the PVA coating at the mass loading level of Hotter et al. would have been obvious. Additionally, it would have been obvious to select the Bioglass® as taught by Wu et al. for the bioactive glass because they teach the benefit of such coatings for these devices. The Bioglass® would qualify as a therapeutic agent of Hansen. The application of the amount of Bioglass® taught by Li et al. for the coated device would have been obvious because they teach it was a beneficial level for orthopedic applications. The resulting 5 wt% loading of Bioglass® exceeds the resulting 1 to 3 wt% polymer coating mass (see instant claim 8). The Bioglass® particles have a median size (d50) that falls within the particle size range detailed by Wu et al. which overlaps with that instantly claimed, thereby rendering the claimed range (see MPEP 2144.05). The polymer coating mass range overlaps that instantly claimed thereby rendering it obvious (see MPEP 2144.05). Hansen teaches solvent pretreatment of their polymer coated device and of application of therapeutic particles via dispersion such that the particles are partially embedded in the polymer. It is the position of the examiner that the application of this method to a non-degradable polymer coated LARS ligament implant, where the therapeutic particles are Bioglass® adds a degree of non-uniformity to the polymer coating surface as occurred when a similar method was employed instantly (see instant figure 2). In addition, the resulting partially embedded Bioglass® particles then provide a non-uniform topography, given that they are non-symmetrical (see Li et al. figure 1 and Wu et al. figure 4D). Further, the spaces between the particles that reveal polymer coating are interspersed amongst the particles due to the discontinuous coating of Bioglass® particle. Therefore claims 1-5, 7-10, 16, and 21-23 are obvious over Cantournet et al. in view of Hansen, Greenspan et al., Li et al., Wu et al., and Hotter et al. as evidenced by Griffin et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 4-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 13-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,016,977 in view of Li et al., Mascarenhas et al., Wu et al., and Hotter et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both recite an implant composed of PET fibers that are braided of woven and coated with a non-degradable polymer coating in which is located bioactive glass particles such that the coating thickness is less than the d50 of the particles. The particles of the patented claims have a size from 0.01 to 10 mm which means their d50 is within this range and the coating thickness recited to be half the particle d50 is within the range of 0.005 to 5 mm. The method of the patented claims exposes the polymer coated device to a dispersion of the bioactive glass particles in a solvent that swells or softens the polymer coating, then removes the solvent such that particles are partially embedded in the polymer coating. The coating and bioactive glass proportion of the coated device is not recited in the patented claimed.
Mascarenhas et al. teach that the LARS implant is composed of PET fibers that are knitted together in some region and parallel in others (see page 33 second column first paragraph; instant claims 1-2, 4, and 21).
Li et al. teach the application of a bioactive glass called Bioglass® as a coating to the surface of a PET ligament implant called the Ligament Advanced Reinforcement System (LARS) (see abstract and page 191 second column; instant claims 1 and 2). They employ 58S Bioglass® that they show as less than 5 mm in size dispersed as a discontinuous layer on the PET (see page 192 first column third full paragraph and figure 1). Li et al. treat the material with a dispersion of Bioglass®, where 4 mg of Bioglass® was coated onto a PET implant whose final weight was 80 mg and was found to be effective at inducing a desirable in vivo response (see page 192 first column second full paragraph and page 196 first column last partial paragraph-second column first full paragraph). This corresponds to the Bioglass® present at 5 wt% of the coated implant (see instant claims 1 and 9-10).
Wu et al. also teach the application of a Bioglass® coating to the surface of a PET ligament implant (see abstract). They employ 58S Bioglass® from the same supplier as Li et al. and teach that it was sized at 0.09 to 0.71 mm (see page 471 second column first partial paragraph; instant claims 1 and 7). Like Li et al., Wu et al. further detail that the coating was found to be effective at inducing a desirable in vivo response in regard to bone healing/regeneration (see page 476 first column first-second full paragraphs). Specifically, Wu et al. teach coating the Bioglass® onto a set of PET fibers that represent the LARS implant and show a resulting discontinuous layer of Bioglass® across the surface (see page 473 second column second full paragraph and figure 4).
Hotter et al. teach medical devices and surgical implants made of polymeric fibers (see page 1 lines 26-28). They further teach to coating the device with a composition that improves its functionality (see page 11 lines 3-8). The coating contributes preferably 1 to 3 wt% of the coated device (see page 11 lines 11-14; instant claim 1). Multifilament surgical devices may be further coated with a medicinal or therapeutic substance (see page 11 lines 15-26). Hotter et al. teach envisioned medical devices and surgical implants to include prosthetic ligaments and tendons (see page 12 lines 18-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a LARS ligament implant of Mascarenhas et al. as the device of the patented claims to coat because it is a variety of fibrous device that was known to benefit from a particulate bioactive coating, in light of Wu et al. and Li et al. The modification is obvious as the simple substitution of one known element for another in order to yield a predictable outcome (e.g., a specific medical device vs generic medical device). The patented claims recite the application of a polymer coating onto the surface of their devices and Hotter et al. teach the application of a polymer coating at 1 to 3 wt% to implants composed of multiple polymer fibers as a way in which to add desired surface functionality. Thus application of the mass loading level of Hotter et al. to the fibrous ligament implant would have been obvious because it was known to be suitable. The application of the amount of Bioglass® taught by Li et al. for the coated device and distributed on the surface as taught by both Wu et al and Li et al. would have been obvious because they teach it was a beneficial level for orthopedic applications. The bioactive glass particles have a median size (d50) that falls within the particle size range detailed by patented claims which overlaps with that instantly claimed, thereby rendering the claimed range obvious (see MPEP 2144.05). The polymer coating mass range and thickness overlap with those instantly claimed thereby rendering the instantly claimed ranges obvious (see MPEP 2144.05). The patented claims recite exposure of the polymer coated device to dispersion of the bioactive glass particles in a solvent that swells or softens the polymer coating. It is the position of the examiner that this process adds a degree of non-uniformity to the polymer coating surface as occurred when a similar method was employed instantly (see instant figure 2). In addition, the resulting partially embedded bioactive glass particles distributed on the surface as detailed by Wu et al. and Li et al. then provide a non-uniform topography, given that they are non-symmetrical (see Li et al. figure 1 and Wu et al. figure 4D). Further, the spaces between the particles that reveal polymer coating are interspersed amongst the particles due to the discontinuous coating of bioactive glass particle. Therefore claims 1-2 and 4-22 are obvious over claims 1-9 and 13-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,016,977 in view of Li et al., Mascarenhas et al., Wu et al., and Hotter et al.
Claims 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 13-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,016,977 in view of Li et al., Mascarenhas et al., Wu et al., and Hotter et al. as applied to claims 1-2 and 4-22 above, and further in view of Cantournet et al.
Claims 1-9 and 13-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,016,977 in view of Li et al., Mascarenhas et al., Wu et al., and Hotter et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1-2 and 4-22. The modified patented claims do not detail UHMWPE as constituent polymer in the fibers.
Cantournet et al. teach an elongate tendon and ligament implant composed of polymer fibers (see abstract and paragraphs 19-20; instant claims 1 and 22). The fibers that compose the implant are envisioned as a PET as well as UHMWPE (see paragraphs 29, 46, and 54-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include or select UMPWPE as a polymer to compose the fibers in the ligament rendered obvious by the modified patented claims. The modification is obvious in light of Cantournet et al. who detail the utility of both PET and UHMWPE in the fibers of ligament implants. The modification is additionally obvious as the simple substitution of one known element for another in order to yield a predictable outcome. Therefore claims 1-22 are obvious over claims 1-9 and 13-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,016,977 in view of Li et al., Mascarenhas et al., Wu et al., Hotter et al. and Cantournet et al.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-14, 16-18, and 21-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 14-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,158 in view of Li et al., Wu et al., and Hotter et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite a fibrous implant composed of PET fiber that are braided or woven and coated with a non-degradable polymer coating in which is located bioactive glass particles, such that the particles are partially embedded and regions of the polymer coating are exposed. The particles of the patented claims have a size from 0.01 to 10 mm which means their d50 is within this range. The coating polymer is envisioned as a poly(carbonate urethane) block copolymer. Recited devices of the patented claims include a flexible tissue anchor and ligament. The coating and bioactive glass proportion of the coated device is not recited in the patented claimed.
Li et al. teach the application of a bioactive glass called Bioglass® as a coating to the surface of a PET) ligament implant called the Ligament Advanced Reinforcement System (LARS) (see abstract and page 191 second column; instant claims 1 and 2). They employ 58S Bioglass® that they show as less than 5 mm in size dispersed as a discontinuous layer on the PET (see page 192 first column third full paragraph and figure 1). Li et al. treat the material with a dispersion of Bioglass®, where 4 mg of Bioglass® was coated onto a PET implant whose final weight was 80 mg and was found to be effective at inducing a desirable in vivo response (see page 192 first column second full paragraph and page 196 first column last partial paragraph-second column first full paragraph). This corresponds to the Bioglass® present at 5 wt% of the coated implant (see instant claim 1; instant claims 1 and 9-10).
Wu et al. also teach the application of a Bioglass® coating to the surface of a PET ligament implant (see abstract). They employ 58S Bioglass® from the same supplier as Li et al. and teach that it was sized at 0.09 to 0.71 mm (see page 471 second column first partial paragraph; instant claims 1 and 7). Like Li et al., Wu et al. further detail that the coating was found to be effective at inducing a desirable in vivo response in regard to bone healing/regeneration (see page 476 first column first-second full paragraphs). Specifically, Wu et al. teach coating the Bioglass® onto a set of PET fibers that represent the LARS implant and show a resulting discontinuous layer of Bioglass® across the surface (see page 473 second column second full paragraph and figure 4).
Hotter et al. teach medical devices and surgical implants made of polymeric fibers (see page 1 lines 26-28). They further teach to coating the device with a composition that improves its functionality (see page 11 lines 3-8). The coating contributes preferably 1 to 3 wt% of the coated device (see page 11 lines 11-14; instant claim 1). Multifilament surgical devices may be further coated with a medicinal or therapeutic substance (see page 11 lines 15-26). Hotter et al. teach envisioned medical devices and surgical implants to include prosthetic ligaments and tendons (see page 12 lines 18-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a flexible tissue anchor or synthetic ligament as the device of the patented claims to coat because it is a variety of fibrous device that they recite. The patented claims recite the application of a polymer coating onto the surface of their devices and Hotter et al. teach the application of a polymer coating at 1 to 3 wt% to implants composed of multiple polymer fibers as a way in which to add desired surface functionality. Thus application of the mass loading level of Hotter et al. to the fibrous ligament implant would have been obvious. The application of the amount of bioactive glass taught by Li et al. for the coated device and distributed on the surface as taught by both Wu et al and Li et al. would have been obvious because they teach it was a beneficial level for orthopedic applications. The bioactive glass particles have a median size (d50) that falls within the particle size range detailed by patented claims which overlaps with that instantly claimed, thereby rendering the claimed range obvious (see MPEP 2144.05). The polymer coating mass range and thickness overlap with those instantly claimed thereby rendering the instantly claimed ranges obvious (see MPEP 2144.05). The patented claims recite exposure of the polymer coated device to dispersion of the bioactive glass particles in a solvent that swells or softens the polymer coating. It is the position of the examiner that this process adds a degree of non-uniformity to the polymer coating surface as occurred when a similar method was employed instantly (see instant figure 2). In addition, the resulting partially embedded bioactive glass particles distributed on the surface as detailed by Wu et al and Li et al. then provide a non-uniform topography, given that they are non-symmetrical (see Li et al. figure 1 and Wu et al. figure 4D). Further, the spaces between the particles that reveal polymer coating are interspersed amongst the particles due to the discontinuous coating of bioactive glass particle. Therefore claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-14, 16-18, and 21-23 are obvious over claims 1-9 and 14-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,158 in view of Li et al., Wu et al., and Hotter et al.
Claims 1-5, 7-14, 16-18, and 21-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 14-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,158 in view of Li et al., Wu et al., and Hotter et al. as applied to claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-14, 16-18, and 21-23 above, and further in view of Cantournet et al.
Claims 1-9 and 14-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,158 in view of Li et al., Wu et al., and Hotter et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-14, 16-18, and 21-23. The modified patented claims do not detail UHMWPE as constituent polymer in the fibers.
Cantournet et al. teach an elongate tendon and ligament implant composed of polymer fibers (see abstract and paragraphs 19-20; instant claims 1 and 22). The fibers that compose the implant are envisioned as a PET as well as UHMWPE (see paragraphs 29, 46, and 54-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include or select UMPWPE as a polymer to compose the fibers in the ligament rendered obvious by the modified patented claims. The modification is obvious in light of Cantournet et al. who detail the utility of both PET and UHMWPE in the fibers of ligament implants. The modification is additionally obvious as the simple substitution of one known element for another in order to yield a predictable outcome. Therefore claims 1-5, 7-14, 16-18, and 21-23 are obvious over claims 1-9 and 14-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,158 in view of Li et al., Wu et al., Hotter et al. and Cantournet et al.
Claims 1-2, 4-14, and 16-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 14-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,158 in view of Li et al., Wu et al., and Hotter et al. as applied to claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-14, 16-18, and 21-23 above, and further in view of Moussy et al.
Claims 1-9 and 14-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,158 in view of Li et al., Wu et al., and Hotter et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-14, 16-18, and 21-23. The modified teachings provide a range of weight/mass proportions for the amount of polymer coating on the ligament implant device but do not comment on the coating thickness.
Moussy et al teach an implant that is provided with a polymer coating that modifies the tissue response to the device (see abstract). The coating materials are envisioned to carry therapeutic compounds and to include non-degradable polymers (see column 5 lines 18-32). Moussy et al. teach ligament implants as an envisioned type of implant that benefits from such coatings (see column 12 lines 5-7). They go on to teach the coating thickness to range from about 0.05 to 5 mm (see column 11 lines 54-57; instant claims 19-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the polymer coating of the modified patented claims to a thickness level that was known to be suitable for such coatings, as detailed by Moussy et al. Given the range of mass/weight proportions that the polymer coating occupies in the device, the result is a range of thicknesses that overlap with those instantly claimed and would be obvious to optimize as a matter of routine work (see MPEP 2144.05). The particle size range and polymer coating thickness yield some values where the median particle size would be greater than the coating thickness and render obvious the limitations of instant claim 6 due to the overlap (see MPEP 2144.05). Therefore claims 1-2, 4-14, and 16-23 are obvious over claims 1-9 and 14-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,158 in view of Li et al., Wu et al., Hotter et al., and Moussy et al.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-18, and 21-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 14-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,158 in view of Li et al., Wu et al., and Hotter et al. as applied to claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-14, 16-18, and 21-23 above, and further in view of Pinchuk
Claims 1-9 and 14-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,158 in view of Li et al., Wu et al., and Hotter et al. as render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-14, 16-18, and 21-23. While a poly(urethane carbonate) coating is rendered obvious, it is not recited to have a particular Shore hardness.
Pinchuk teach poly(carbonate urethanes) that are chain extended polyurethanes (hard block) that include aliphatic polycarbonate (aliphatic polyester diol) blocks and are also envisioned components of artificial ligaments for added durability under in vivo conditions (see column 2 line 31-column 3 line 1, column 5 lines 9-28, 42-62, column 7 lines 5-37, and claim 14). The polymers preferably have a Shore hardness of 80 ShA to 75 ShD (see column 3 lines 17-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a poly(carbonate urethane) of Pinchuk as the coating polymer in the ligament implant rendered obvious by the modified patented claims. This choice would have been obvious in light of Pinchuk as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement and as the simple substitution of one known element for another in order to yield a predictable outcome Therefore claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-18, and 21-23 are obvious over claims 1-9 and 14-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,158 in view of Li et al., Wu et al., Hotter et al. and Pinchuk et al.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/CARALYNNE E HELM/ Examiner, Art Unit 1615