DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 7, 15, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu et al (US 2023/0367144 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses (Figs. 1A and 3; Abstract; para. 0041 – 0045 and 0048) a method of forming an optical device 100, the method comprising:
forming a waveguide 106,110 over a substrate 108 (para. 0041);
depositing a meta-atom material (high-index material) over the waveguide 106,110; and
patterning the meta-atom material into a grating coupler 102 (shown in Fig. 1a and corresponding to 3012 in Fig. 3b).
Regarding claim 15, Yu discloses (Fig. 1A and 3; Abstract; para. 0041 – 0045 and 0048) an optical device 100 comprising:
a waveguide 106,110; and
a grating coupler 102 located over the waveguide 106,110 (as seen in the cross-sectional view of Fig. 3b), the grating coupler comprising a meta-atom material (shaped as meta-atoms 220 in Fig. 1a and corresponding to 3012 in Fig. 8; para. 0041).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Yu teaches that the meta-atom material can comprise titanium oxide (“In certain exemplary embodiments, the meta-atoms are dielectric pillars etched in the high refractive index layer. In certain exemplary embodiments, the high refractive index layer comprises … titanium dioxide” at para. 0010).
Regarding claims 3 and 20, Yu teaches that the deposition of the meta-atom material comprises depositing multiple layers (“In certain exemplary embodiments, the high refractive index layer comprises one or more layers and the leaky-wave metasurface is defined within one or more of these layers” at para. 0009).
Regarding claim 7, Yu teaches that (Figs. 1b, 2a, 2d; para. 0044 and 00473) the grating coupler comprises multiple zones, each zone having meta-atom material with a different characteristic (different orientation of an elliptical meta-atom; “A “nonlocal metasurface” has been made based on the following principles, where a spatially varying perturbation strength and orientation angle locally can control the amplitude and polarization angle of the coupled free-space wavefront” at para. 0044, emphasis added).
Claims 1, 3, 5, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Metasurface-Dressed Two-Dimensional on-Chip Waveguide for Free-Space Light Field Manipulation” by Ding et al, ACS Photonics, vol. 9, pp. 398−404, 2022 (hereinafter Ding).
Regarding claim 1, Ding describes (Fig. 1; Abstract; pp. 398 – 399) a method of forming an optical device, the method comprising:
forming a waveguide (comprising a single-mode portion and a slab portion) over a substrate;
depositing a meta-atom material over the waveguide; and
patterning the meta-atom material into a grating coupler.
Regarding claim 15, Ding describes (Fig. 1; Abstract; pp. 398 – 399) an optical device comprising:
a waveguide (comprising a single-mode portion and a slab portion); and
a grating coupler located over the waveguide, the grating coupler comprising a meta-atom material.
Regarding claims 3, 5, and 20, Ding describes (para. bridging columns on p. 399) that the grating coupler comprises multiple (three) layers comprising a metal (Au) and a semiconductor material (silicon).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Yu states that “As used herein, the term “meta-units” refers to artificially created structures that exhibit unique electromagnetic properties due to their physical characteristics. Meta-units can be made up of subwavelength metallic or dielectric materials, sculptured into a precise geometric shape” (para. 0037), that “In certain exemplary embodiments, the high refractive index layer comprises one or more layers and the leaky-wave metasurface is defined within one or more of these layers” (para. 0009), and that “the meta-atoms are dielectric pillars etched in the high refractive index layer. In certain exemplary embodiments, the high refractive index layer comprises silicon, silicon nitride, silicon-rich silicon nitride, titanium dioxide” (para. 0010, emphasis added).
Hence, Yu at the very least renders obvious an embodiment wherein the multiple layers comprise at least one metal (as taught at para. 0037) in one layer and at least one oxide (titanium dioxide) in another layer. Yu at the very least renders obvious another embodiment wherein the multiple layers comprise at least one metal (as taught at para. 0037) in one layer and at least one semiconductor material (silicon) in another layer.
Claims 6 and 17 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of “Recent advanced in planar optics: from plasmonic to dielectric metasurfaces” by Genevet et al, Optica, vol. 4, No. 1, pp. 139, 2017 (hereinafter Genevet).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Yu uses elliptically-shaped meta-atoms in order to convert a waveguide mode into any desired distribution of output light output into free space by the grating coupler (para. 0011 – 0013), including complex asymmetric spatial distributions. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that circularly-shaped meta-atoms (which is a particular case of an elliptical shape) may be used for simpler distributors/shapes of output light.
While Yu illustrates such choice of shape in Fig. 1b (leftmost fragment) but does not expressly name it as circular. However, Genevet discloses (Figs. 2 and 4; Abstract) a meta-surface formed by meta-atoms and illustrates a variety of their shapes, including a circular shape in Figs. 2b and 4 (as named in its caption). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the meta-atoms in Yu can have a circular shape as a particular design/shape choice that is generally considered by Yu and expressly named by Genevet. It is also noted that it has been further held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality in operation of the device, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 17, the Yu – Genevet combination considers that the meta-atom material can comprise amorphous silicon (caption of Fig. 4 of Genevet). Amorphous silicon would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as a suitable/workable material choice that provides the desired property of a high refractive index. It is also noted that it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 19, the Yu – Genevet combination considers that the meta-atom material can have an “L”-shape (Figs. 2d and 2h of Genevet).
Claims 8, 9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Liao et al (US 2022/0308284 A1).
Regarding claim 8, while Yu does not exemplify a variety of application areas of the disclosed grating coupler, Liao discloses (Fig. 2J; Abstract; para. 0041) an optoelectronic package/module comprising a grating coupler 132. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the grating coupler of Yu can be comprised in the optoelectronic package/module of Liao, as a suitable application area, in order to enable optical coupling between an integrated optical waveguide and a free-space optical beam.
The Yu – Liao combination considers a method of forming an optical device, the method comprising:
forming first optical components, the first optical components comprising a first waveguide (106,110 in Fig. 1a of Yu));
forming a grating coupler 102 over the first waveguide 106,110, the grating coupler comprising a meta-atom material 220;
forming a bonding layer 103,210 (shown in Fig. 2J of Liao; para. 0041) over the grating coupler 132; and
bonding a semiconductor device 102 (a semiconductor layer with a metasurface 108; para. 0021 and 0024 of Liao) to the bonding layer 103,210.
Regarding claims 9, 11, and 12, the Yu – Liao combination teaches expressly or renders obvious all of the recited limitations, as detailed above for claims 2 – 5.
Claims 10, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Liao, and further in view of Genevet.
Regarding claims 10 and 13, the teachings of Yu, Liao, and Genevet combine (see the arguments and motivation for combining, as provided above for claims 1 and 6) to teach expressly or render obvious all of the recited limitations, as detailed above for claims 17 and 19 respectively.
Regarding claim 14, the Yu – Liao – Genevet combination considers that the grating coupler can have a cylindrical shape (Figs. 2b and 4 of Genevet).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2022/0050352 A1
US 2025/0020950 A1
US 2023/0296838 A1
/ROBERT TAVLYKAEV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896