Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “causing each child of the group of children to retrieve the respective at lease on drop chime provided to that child and thereafter to again drop the provided at least one drop chime in the predetermined sequence to play the desired melody again” is vague and fails to disclose the applicant’s invention. Causing a human to make a selection does not constitute a patentable invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over.
Goecking (DE 29500179 U1 )
Regarding claim 9, Goecking discloses a drop sound set, comprising: a plurality of balls (5); wherein each of the plurality of drop balls (5) is configured to emit a sound having a musical note when dropped onto a hard surface (the groove) such that when dropped in a pre-determined sequence the drop chimes play a desired melody (see paragraph 0005).
Goecking does not disclose the use of a chime.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed in Goecking to include a chime, since the use of chimes producing specific desired sounds in conventional and well known in the art.
Regarding claim 10-14, Goecking does not disclose specific hollow shapes or cross sections.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed in Goecking to specific hollow shapes and sounds since the use of hollow shapes and specific cross sections are a matter of design choice and are conventional and well known in the art.
Regarding claims 15-18 , Goecking does not disclose the specific use of indicia or colors.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed in Goecking to include a chime, since the use of chimes and percussion device with colors and indica is a well known means of teaching music.
Claims 1-8 are allowed.
/KIMBERLY R LOCKETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837