DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17755964, filed on 5/12/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/17/2024, 2/19/2025, and 8/20/2025 were filed after the mailing date of the application on 10/17/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-11, 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohhashi (US Patent Pub. # 2012/0320544) in view of Nakamura (US Patent Pub. # 2009/0295985).
As to claim 1, Ohhashi (Figs. 1-3 and 15) teaches a camera module comprising:
a first housing (cover 13) (Para 34);
a second housing (case 12) coupled to the first housing (13) (Para 34);
a substrate (printed wiring board 11) disposed between the first housing (13) and the second housing (12) (Para 34); and
an adhesive member (adhesive 20) configured to join the first housing (13) and the second housing (12), and the substrate (Para 124),
wherein the second housing (12) includes a protrusion portion (inner side wall 31) that protrudes from an inner surface and is in direct contact with the adhesive member (20) (Para 124).
Ohhashi teaches a printed wiring board 11 that is equipped at its upper and lower surfaces with various electronic parts 14 such as condensers, coils, transistors, ICs (viz., integrated circuits) and the like (Para 32). Ohhashi does not teach a lens module disposed in the first housing and an image sensor disposed on the substrate. Nakamura teaches a lens module (image pickup lens 11) disposed in the first housing (upper half 15) and an image sensor (image pickup element 12) disposed on the substrate (image pickup element 12) (Para 24 and 25). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided an image pickup lens and image pickup element as taught by Nakamura to the control unit of Ohhashi, to enable the housing to be downsized along with the downsizing of the substrate (Para 10 of Nakamura).
As to claim 2, Ohhashi wherein the second housing (12) includes a stepped portion (inner side wall 31 of case 12) on which the substrate is disposed, and wherein the protrusion portion (inner side wall 31) is in contact with a side surface (peripheral edge) of the substrate (11) (Para 124)
As to claim 6, Ohhashi teaches wherein a width of a lower surface (contact surface 26) of the first housing (13) is greater than a width of an upper surface (contact surface 24) of the second housing (12) (Para 49).
As to claim 7, Ohhashi teaches wherein the protrusion portion (31) is disposed on the stepped portion (inner side wall 31 of case 12) (Para 124).
As to claim 8, Ohhashi teaches wherein the first housing (12) includes a groove (endless groove 30) formed in a lower surface, and wherein the groove (30) faces the protrusion portion (protrusion 25) (Para 53 and 124). Ohhashi teaches a groove and a protrusion but they are opposite. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the groove and protrusion as taught by the control unit of Ohhashi, to provide an electrical control unit which is compact in size while assuring a sealing between a case and a cover (Para 7 of Ohhashi).
As to claim 9, Ohhashi teaches wherein a lower surface of the first housing (12) includes a first surface (outer side walls 31, 32) disposed on an outer side of the groove (30) and a second surface disposed on an inner side of the groove, and wherein the first surface and the second surface are disposed on the same plane (Para 51).
As to claim 10, Ohhashi teaches wherein the adhesive member (20) is disposed between a first surface (31) of the first housing (12), a second surface (32) of the first housing, a groove (30) in the first housing (12), an upper surface of the second housing (13), the protrusion portion (25) of the second housing (13), and a stepped portion (13) of the second housing (12) (Para 53 and 124).
As to claim 11, Ohhashi teaches wherein the stepped portion (inner side wall 31 of case 12) is formed to be concave downward from an upper surface of the second housing (12) coupled to the first housing (13) (Para 124).
As to claim 14, Ohhashi teaches wherein a width of a lower surface (contact surface 26) of the first housing (13) is greater than a width of an upper surface (contact surface 24) of the second housing (12) (Para 49).
As to claim 16, Ohhashi (Figs. 1-3 and 15) teaches a camera module comprising:
a first housing (cover 13) (Para 34);
a second housing (case 12) coupled to the first housing (13) (Para 34);
a substrate (printed wiring board 11) disposed in an inner space of the first housing (13) and the second housing (12) (Para 34); and
an adhesive member (adhesive 20) disposed between the first housing (13) and the second housing (12), wherein the adhesive member (20) is disposed between an inner surface of the second housing (12) and a side surface (peripheral edge) of the substrate (11) (Para 124)
Ohhashi teaches a printed wiring board 11 that is equipped at its upper and lower surfaces with various electronic parts 14 such as condensers, coils, transistors, ICs (viz., integrated circuits) and the like (Para 32). Ohhashi does not teach a lens module disposed in the first housing and an image sensor disposed on the substrate. Nakamura teaches a lens module (image pickup lens 11) disposed in the first housing (upper half 15) and an image sensor (image pickup element 12) disposed on the substrate (image pickup element 12) (Para 24 and 25). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided an image pickup lens and image pickup element as taught by Nakamura to the control unit of Ohhashi, to enable the housing to be downsized along with the downsizing of the substrate (Para 10 of Nakamura).
As to claim 17, Ohhashi teaches wherein a protrusion (31) is formed on an inner surface of the second housing (12) to contact a side surface of the substrate (11) (Para 124).
As to claim 18, Ohhashi teaches wherein a separation space (space "L14") is formed between the protrusion (31)and the substrate, and wherein the adhesive member (20) is disposed in the separation space (L14) (Para 124).
As to claim 19, Ohhashi teaches wherein the first housing (12) includes a groove (endless groove 30) formed in a lower surface thereof, and wherein the groove (30) faces the separation space (L14) (Para 53 and 124). Ohhashi teaches a groove and a protrusion but they are opposite. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the groove and protrusion as taught by the control unit of Ohhashi, to provide an electrical control unit which is compact in size while assuring a sealing between a case and a cover (Para 7 of Ohhashi).
As to claim 20, Ohhashi teaches wherein the lower surface of the first housing (12) includes a first surface (32) disposed outside the groove (30) and a second surface (31) disposed inside the groove (30), and wherein the adhesive member (20) is disposed on the first surface (32), the second surface (31) of the first housing (12), the groove (30) of the first housing, and an upper surface of the second housing (13) (Para 53 and 124).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohhashi (US Patent Pub. # 2012/0320544) in view of Nakamura (US Patent Pub. # 2009/0295985) and further in view of Lee (US Patent # 9,187,846).
As to claim 3, Ohhashi in view of Nakamura do not teach wherein the protrusion portion includes a plurality of protrusions. Lee teaches wherein the protrusion portion (sidewall 230) includes a plurality of protrusions (protrusion 250) (Col. 13, lines 20-57). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided protrusions as taught by Lee to the control unit of Ohhashi in view of Nakamura, to provide structural stability for the microarray and increases a reliability of results obtained therefrom (Col. 1, lines 20-38 of Lee).
As to claim 4, Lee (Fig. 5A and B) teaches wherein a separation space (adhesives 300) is formed between the plurality of protrusion portions (250) and the substrate (microarray substrate 100), and wherein the adhesive member (300) is disposed in the separation space (300) (Col. 13, lines 20-57).
As to claim 5, Ohhashi teaches wherein the first housing (12) includes a groove (endless groove 30) formed in a lower surface thereof, and wherein the groove (30) faces the separation space (Para 53 and 124). Ohhashi teaches a groove and a protrusion but they are opposite. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the groove and protrusion as taught by the control unit of Ohhashi, to provide an electrical control unit which is compact in size while assuring a sealing between a case and a cover (Para 7 of Ohhashi).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohhashi (US Patent Pub. # 2012/0320544) in view of Nakamura (US Patent Pub. # 2009/0295985) and further in view of Park (US Patent # 2020/0106935).
As to claim 12, note the discussion above in regards to claim 1 above. Ohhashi in view of Nakamura do not teach wherein a first elastic member is disposed between the lens module and the first housing. Park teaches wherein a first elastic member (gasket 10) is disposed between the lens module (lens module 100) and the first housing (lens holder 210) (Para 40). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a gasket as taught by Park to the control unit of Ohhashi in view of Nakamura, to maintain the airtightness inside the first housing (Para 40 of Park).
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohhashi (US Patent Pub. # 2012/0320544) in view of Nakamura (US Patent Pub. # 2009/0295985) and further in view of Han (US Patent Pub. # 2020/0145560).
As to claim 13, Ohhashi teaches wherein the second housing (12) includes a hole (rectangular opening 21) through which a cable passes (connector unit 16) (Para 40). Ohhashi does not teach a second elastic member (pressing unit 412) is disposed between the hole (bottom plate 410) and the cable (connector 350) (Para 140). Han teaches the cover (400) may include a pressing unit (412) disposed on the bottom plate (410) to elastically support the connector (350) (Para 140). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a pressing unit as taught by Han to the control unit of Ohhashi in view of Nakamura, to provide a sufficient tolerance to a coupled area with the rear substrate (Para 139 of Han).
As to claim 15, Han teaches wherein the substrate (front substrate 310 and rear substrate 320) is provided in plurality, and the plurality of substrates (310 and 320) are spaced apart (shield member 340) from each other in a vertical direction (Para 117).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,149,814. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claims are either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claims.
Application 18/918882
Patent # 12,149,814
1. A camera module comprising:
a first housing;
a lens module disposed in the first housing;
a second housing coupled to the first housing;
a substrate disposed between the first housing and the second housing; and
an adhesive member configured to join the first housing, the second housing, and the substrate,
wherein the second housing includes a protrusion portion that protrudes from an inner surface and is in direct contact with the adhesive member.
1. A camera module comprising:
a first housing;
a lens module disposed in the first housing;
a second housing coupled to the first housing;
a substrate arranged in an inner space of the first housing and the second housing;
an image sensor disposed on the substrate; and
an adhesive member disposed between the first housing and the second housing,
wherein the second housing includes a stepped portion on which the substrate is disposed, and
a protrusion portion formed on an inner surface of the second housing to be in contact with a side surface of the substrate, wherein the protrusion portion is disposed on the stepped portion,
wherein the protrusion portion includes a plurality of protrusions, and
wherein the adhesive member is disposed between adjacent protrusions of the plurality of protrusions.
2. The camera module according to claim 1, wherein the second housing includes a stepped portion on which the substrate is disposed, and wherein the protrusion portion is in contact with a side surface of the substrate.
1. A camera module comprising:
a first housing;
a lens module disposed in the first housing;
a second housing coupled to the first housing; a substrate arranged in an inner space of the first housing and the second housing;
an image sensor disposed on the substrate; and
an adhesive member disposed between the first housing and the second housing,
wherein the second housing includes a stepped portion on which the substrate is disposed, and
a protrusion portion formed on an inner surface of the second housing to be in contact with a side surface of the substrate, wherein the protrusion portion is disposed on the stepped portion,
wherein the protrusion portion includes a plurality of protrusions, and
wherein the adhesive member is disposed between adjacent protrusions of the plurality of protrusions.
3. The camera module according to claim 1, wherein the protrusion portion includes a plurality of protrusions.
1. A camera module comprising:
a first housing;
a lens module disposed in the first housing;
a second housing coupled to the first housing; a substrate arranged in an inner space of the first housing and the second housing;
an image sensor disposed on the substrate; and
an adhesive member disposed between the first housing and the second housing,
wherein the second housing includes a stepped portion on which the substrate is disposed, and
a protrusion portion formed on an inner surface of the second housing to be in contact with a side surface of the substrate, wherein the protrusion portion is disposed on the stepped portion,
wherein the protrusion portion includes a plurality of protrusions, and
wherein the adhesive member is disposed between adjacent protrusions of the plurality of protrusions.
4. The camera module according to claim 3, wherein a separation space is formed between the plurality of protrusion portions and the substrate, and wherein the adhesive member is disposed in the separation space.
2. The camera module according to claim 1, wherein a separation space is formed between the plurality of protrusion portions and the substrate, and wherein the adhesive member is disposed in the separation space.
5. The camera module according to claim 4, wherein the first housing includes a groove formed in a lower surface, and wherein the groove faces the separation space.
3. The camera module according to claim 2, wherein the first housing includes a groove formed in a lower surface, and wherein the groove faces the separation space.
6. The camera module according to claim 1, wherein a width of a lower surface of the first housing is greater than a width of an upper surface of the second housing.
4. The camera module according to claim 1, wherein a width of a lower surface of the first housing is greater than a width of an upper surface of the second housing.
7. The camera module according to claim 2, wherein the protrusion portion is disposed on the stepped portion.
1. A camera module comprising:
a first housing;
a lens module disposed in the first housing;
a second housing coupled to the first housing; a substrate arranged in an inner space of the first housing and the second housing;
an image sensor disposed on the substrate; and
an adhesive member disposed between the first housing and the second housing,
wherein the second housing includes a stepped portion on which the substrate is disposed, and
a protrusion portion formed on an inner surface of the second housing to be in contact with a side surface of the substrate, wherein the protrusion portion is disposed on the stepped portion,
wherein the protrusion portion includes a plurality of protrusions, and
wherein the adhesive member is disposed between adjacent protrusions of the plurality of protrusions.
8. The camera module according to claim 1, wherein the first housing includes a groove formed in a lower surface, and wherein the groove faces the protrusion portion.
5. The camera module according to claim 1, wherein the first housing includes a groove formed in a lower surface thereof, and wherein the groove faces the protrusion portion.
9. The camera module according to claim 8, wherein a lower surface of the first housing includes a first surface disposed on an outer side of the groove and a second surface disposed on an inner side of the groove, and wherein the first surface and the second surface are disposed on a same plane.
6. The camera module according to claim 5, wherein a lower surface of the first housing includes a first surface disposed on an outer side of the groove and a second surface disposed on an inner side of the groove, and wherein the first surface and the second surface are disposed on a same plane.
10. The camera module according to claim 9, wherein the adhesive member is disposed between the first surface of the first housing, the second surface of the first housing, the groove in the first housing, an upper surface of the second housing, the protrusion portion of the second housing, and a stepped portion of the second housing.
7. The camera module according to claim 6, wherein the adhesive member is disposed between a first surface of the first housing, a second surface, a groove in the first housing, an upper surface of the second housing, the protrusion portion of the second housing, and a stepped portion of the second housing.
11. The camera module according to claim 2, wherein the stepped portion is formed to be concave downward from an upper surface of the second housing coupled to the first housing.
10. The camera module according to claim 1, wherein the stepped portion is formed to extend concavely downward from an upper surface of the second housing coupled to the first housing.
12. The camera module according to claim 1, wherein a first elastic member is disposed between the lens module and the first housing.
11. The camera module according to claim 1, wherein a first elastic member is disposed between the lens module and the first housing.
13. The camera module according to claim 1, wherein the second housing includes a hole through which a cable passes, and wherein a second elastic member is disposed between the hole and the cable.
12. The camera module according to claim 1, wherein the second housing includes a hole through which a cable passes, and wherein a second elastic member is disposed between the hole and the cable.
14. The camera module according to claim 9, wherein a width of the first surface is greater than a width of an upper surface of the second housing.
8. The camera module according to claim 6, wherein a width of the first surface is greater than a width of an upper surface of the second housing.
15. The camera module according to claim 1, wherein the substrate is provided in plurality, and the plurality of substrates are spaced apart from each other in a vertical direction.
13. The camera module according to claim 1, wherein the substrate is provided in plurality, and the plurality of substrates are spaced apart from each other in a vertical direction.
16. A camera module comprising:
a first housing;
a lens module disposed in the first housing;
a second housing coupled to the first housing;
a substrate disposed in an inner space of the first housing and the second housing;
an image sensor disposed on the substrate; and
an adhesive member disposed between the first housing and the second housing,
wherein the adhesive member is disposed between an inner surface of the second housing and a side surface of the substrate.
14. A camera module comprising:
a first housing;
a lens module disposed in the first housing;
a second housing coupled to the first housing;
a substrate disposed in both an inner space of the first housing and an inner space of the second housing; and
an image sensor disposed on the substrate; and
an adhesive member disposed between the first housing and the second housing,
wherein the second housing includes a stepped portion on which the substrate is disposed, and a protrusion portion formed on an inner surface of the second housing to be in contact with a side surface of the substrate,
wherein the adhesive member is disposed between an inner surface of the second housing and a side surface of the substrate,
wherein the protrusion portion is disposed on the stepped portion,
wherein the protrusion portion includes a plurality of protrusions, and
wherein the adhesive member is disposed between adjacent protrusions of the plurality of protrusions.
17. The camera module according to claim 16, wherein a protrusion is formed on an inner surface of the second housing to contact a side surface of the substrate.
14. A camera module comprising:
a first housing;
a lens module disposed in the first housing;
a second housing coupled to the first housing;
a substrate disposed in both an inner space of the first housing and an inner space of the second housing; and
an image sensor disposed on the substrate; and
an adhesive member disposed between the first housing and the second housing,
wherein the second housing includes a stepped portion on which the substrate is disposed, and a protrusion portion formed on an inner surface of the second housing to be in contact with a side surface of the substrate,
wherein the adhesive member is disposed between an inner surface of the second housing and a side surface of the substrate,
wherein the protrusion portion is disposed on the stepped portion,
wherein the protrusion portion includes a plurality of protrusions, and
wherein the adhesive member is disposed between adjacent protrusions of the plurality of protrusions.
18. The camera module according to claim 17, wherein a separation space is formed between the protrusion and the substrate, and wherein the adhesive member is disposed in the separation space.
15. The camera module according to claim 14, wherein a separation space is formed between the plurality of protrusions and the substrate, and wherein the adhesive member is disposed in the separation space.
19. The camera module according to claim 18, wherein the first housing includes a groove formed in a lower surface of the first housing, and wherein the groove faces the separation space.
16. The camera module according to claim 15, wherein the first housing includes a groove formed in a lower surface thereof, and wherein the groove faces the separation space.
20. The camera module according to claim 19, wherein the lower surface of the first housing includes a first surface disposed outside the groove and a second surface disposed inside the groove, and wherein the adhesive member is disposed on the first surface of the first housing, the second surface of the first housing, the groove of the first housing, and an upper surface of the second housing.
17. The camera module according to claim 16, wherein the lower surface of the first housing includes a first surface disposed outside the groove and a second surface disposed inside the groove, and wherein the adhesive member is disposed on the first surface, the second surface of the first housing, the groove of the first housing, and an upper surface of the second housing.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER K PETERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637 3/5/2026