DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Starsinic (US 2013/020342 A1)
Regarding Claim 1, 7, 13
Starsinic discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (Fig.2(201)) comprising a processor (Fig.1B(118)), a memory (Fig.1B(130)), and communication circuitry (Fig.1B(120)),
wherein the processor (Fig.1B(118)), the memory (Fig.1B(130)), and the communication circuitry (Fig.1B(120)) are configured to:
establish a first connection (See [0050]; MTC Gateway 201 communicating with MTC devices via a capillary network) a non-3GPP device (See Fig.2(203(A,B,C); [0052]; MTC devices may not be registered or known to the 3GPP core network (CN) or have 3GPP radios);
establish a second connection with a cellular network (See [0050-0051]; Gateway 201 communicate with server 202x via 3GPP cellular network);
receive, from the non-3GPP device (See Fig.2(203(A,B,C); [0052]; MTC devices), a request for access to the cellular network (See Fig.6(621A); [0069]; The capillary network device 601 initiates a registration message),
wherein the request for access (See Fig.6(621A); [0069]; The capillary network device 601 initiates a registration message) comprises an indication of an identity of the non-3GPP device (See [0067-0068]; capillary device uses CNDID to communicate with the gateway during registration);
perform an authentication procedure with the cellular network (See [0071]; [0073]; [0079]; Identity of capillary device is verified by the core network) using the identity of the non-3GPP device (See [0067-0068]; capillary device uses CNDID to communicate with the gateway during registration) and
route traffic associated with the non-3GPP device (See [0005]; [0063]; [0073]; establish PDP communication services with the network) using the identity of the non-3GPP device (See [0067-0068]; capillary device uses CNDID to communicate with the gateway during registration).
Note:
Regarding Claim 7,
A cellular network node (See [0107]; Base Station) comprising a processor (See [0107]; processor), a memory (See [0107]; ROM) , and communication circuitry (See [0107]; transceiver).
Regarding Claim 2, 8, 14
Starsinic teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, 7, 13 and Starsinic further teaches
wherein the first connection is a WiFi (See [0055]; IEEE 802.11) or Bluetooth connection (See [0003]; [0041]; [0055]; Bluetooth).
Regarding Claim 3, 9, 15
Starsinic teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, 7, 13 and Starsinic further teaches
wherein the traffic (See [0005]; [0063]; [0073]; establish PDP communication services with the network) comprises
uplink (UL) data, originating from the non-3GPP device, to be sent to the cellular network (See [0005]; [0063]; [0073]; capillary device sent data to MTC server through WTRU gateway),
and
downlink (DL) data, originating from the cellular network, to be sent to the non-3GPP device (See [0005]; [0063]; [0073]; MTC server sent data to capillary device through WTRU gateway).
Regarding Claim 4, 10, 16
Starsinic teaches all the features with respect to claim 3, 9, 15 and Starsinic further teaches
wherein the processor (Fig.1B(118)), the memory (Fig.1B(130)), and the communication circuitry (Fig.1B(120)) are configured to:
mark the UL data using the identity of the non-3GPP device (See Fig.5; [0064-0066]; [0068-0069]; CNDID is part of the uplink data in order for the MTC devices to be identified by the network), to indicate to the cellular network that the UL data is from the non-3GPP device (See Fig.5; [0064-0066]; the presence of the <Capillary-Device-Identifier> 510a in the identifier may indicate to the CN that the CNDID 500 belongs to a particular capillary network device).
Regarding Claim 5, 11, 17
Starsinic teaches all the features with respect to claim 3, 9, 15 and Starsinic further teaches
wherein the processor (Fig.1B(118)), the memory (Fig.1B(130)), and the communication circuitry (Fig.1B(120)) are configured to:
determine to send the DL data to the non-3GPP device (See [0070-0071]; The MTC Server 607 may respond 630 to the capillary network device 601 that it has received the registration request), based on an indication of the identity of the non-3GPP device being comprised in the DL data (See Fig.5; [0064-0066]; [0068-0069]; CNDID is part of the downlink data in order for the MTC devices to send data to the capillary device through WTRU gateway).
Regarding Claim 6, 12, 18
Starsinic teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, 9, 13 and Starsinic further teaches
wherein the non-3GPP device (See [0052]; While capillary network devices 203a, 203b, 203c, and 204 may not be registered or known to the 3GPP core network (CN) or have 3GPP radios) is a
smart watch
tablet,
health monitoring device
door lock,
or
smart appliance (See [0051]; thermostat or environmental sensor).
(The term “or” is used providing options in the claim examination analysis)
Note:
The following reference Pinheiro (US 2013/0155948 A1) can be considered as prior art but not used in this rejection , teaches similar features as Starsinic reference in term of using a gateway UE to have multiple MTC devices communication with a MTC server that is part of a 3GPP network.
Conclusion
/GARY LAFONTANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646