DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Limitations pertaining to the “left spin shaft” and “right spin shaft” do not have proper antecedent basis in the specification. It appears that recitations pertaining these elements are meant to refer to the rotating shafts of each of the driving transmission units. Note that the spin shafts 128 are not disclosed in the specification as meeting the claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 20180028033 A1) and in view of Kim et al (KR 20120009927 A; hereinafter Kim-927).
Regarding claim 1, Jung discloses a cleaner comprising:
a body 100 (figure 1);
a left spin-mop module 112 located on a left side of the body with respect to a centerline of the body;
a right spin-mop module 122 located on a right side of the body with respect to the centerline of the body;
a left spin motor (part of first driving unit 151; paragraph 0085: driving units may have “motor and/or gear assembly”);
a right spin motor (part of first driving unit 152; paragraph 0085: driving units may have “motor and/or gear assembly”).
Jung discloses a gear assembly (paragraph 0047) but is silent regarding
(Re. claim 1) the left spin motor having a left spin shaft to provide a force to rotate the left spin-mop module, the right spin motor having a right spin shaft to provide force to rotate the right spin-mop module, wherein the left spin shaft and the right spin shaft extend in a parallel direction of the centerline of the body;
(Re. Claim 2) a left driving transmission unit configured to transmit a torque of the left spin motors to the left spin shaft, and the left driving transmission unit having a plurality of left gears fixed to the left spin shaft; and a right driving transmission unit configured to transmit a torque of the right spin motors to the right spin shaft, and the right driving transmission unit having a plurality of right gears fixed to the left spin shaft;
(Re. Claim 3) wherein the left spin shaft has a left gear-fixing portion supporting the plurality of left gears, and wherein the right spin shaft has a right gear-fixing portion supporting the plurality of right gears;
(Re. claim 5) wherein the left spin shaft and the right spin shaft are symmetrical with respect to the centerline of the body;
(Re. claim 6) wherein the left spin shaft and the right spin shaft are arranged to extend in a front-rear direction of the body;
(Re. claim 18) wherein the left spin shaft is disposed to overlap with a left rotating plate of the left-spin mop module in a vertical direction of the body, and wherein the right spin shaft is disposed to overlap with a right rotating plate of the right-spin mop module in the vertical direction;
(Re. claim 19) wherein a rotation center of the left rotating plate and a rotation center of the right rotation plate are disposed horizontally apart from the left spin shaft and the right spin shaft;
(Re. claim 20) wherein a rotational axis of the left rotating plate and a rotational axis of the right rotation plate are arranged in a direction perpendicular to the left spin shaft and the right spin shaft.
However, Kim-927 teaches a cleaning device with structure for rotating spin modules comprising:
(Re. claim 1) the left spin motor 57 having a left spin shaft 55 to provide a force to rotate the left spin module 20, the right spin motor 57 having a right spin shaft 55 to provide force to rotate the right spin-mop module 20, wherein the left spin shaft and the right spin shaft extend in a parallel direction of the centerline of the body (figures 3 and 4);
(Re. Claim 2) a left driving transmission unit configured to transmit a torque of the left spin motors to the left spin shaft (figure 4), and the left driving transmission unit having a plurality of left gears 53/59 fixed to the left spin shaft; and a right driving transmission unit configured to transmit a torque of the right spin motors to the right spin shaft, and the right driving transmission unit having a plurality of right gears 53/59 fixed to the left spin shaft.
(Re. Claim 3) wherein the left spin shaft has a left gear-fixing portion supporting the plurality of left gears, and wherein the right spin shaft has a right gear-fixing portion supporting the plurality of right gears (body of shafts serves as fixing portion(s));
(Re. claim 5) wherein the left spin shaft 55 and the right spin shaft 55 are symmetrical with respect to the centerline of the body (figures 3-4);
(Re. claim 6) wherein the left spin shaft and the right spin shaft are arranged to extend in a front-rear direction of the body (figure 3);
(Re. claim 18) wherein the left spin shaft 55 is disposed to overlap with a left rotating plate of the left-spin module in a vertical direction of the body, and wherein the right spin shaft 55 is disposed to overlap with a right rotating plate of the right-spin module in the vertical direction (figure 3);
(Re. claim 19) wherein a rotation center of the left rotating plate (at 31 in figure 3) and a rotation center of the right rotation plate (on opposite pate to 31 in figure 3) are disposed horizontally apart from the left spin shaft (near 59) and the right spin shaft (near 59);
(Re. claim 20) wherein a rotational axis of the left rotating plate (at 31 in figure 3) and a rotational axis of the right rotation plate (same for right) are arranged in a direction perpendicular to the left spin shaft 55 and the right spin shaft 55.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing to modify Jung by having the structure for rotating the mops comprising:
(Re. claim 1) the left spin motor having a left spin shaft to provide a force to rotate the left spin-mop module, the right spin motor having a right spin shaft to provide force to rotate the right spin-mop module, wherein the left spin shaft and the right spin shaft extend in a parallel direction of the centerline of the body;
(Re. Claim 2) a left driving transmission unit configured to transmit a torque of the left spin motors to the left spin shaft, and the left driving transmission unit having a plurality of left gears fixed to the left spin shaft; and a right driving transmission unit configured to transmit a torque of the right spin motors to the right spin shaft, and the right driving transmission unit having a plurality of right gears fixed to the left spin shaft;
(Re. Claim 3) wherein the left spin shaft has a left gear-fixing portion supporting the plurality of left gears, and wherein the right spin shaft has a right gear-fixing portion supporting the plurality of right gears;
(Re. claim 5) wherein the left spin shaft and the right spin shaft are symmetrical with respect to the centerline of the body;
(Re. claim 6) wherein the left spin shaft and the right spin shaft are arranged to extend in a front-rear direction of the body;
(Re. claim 18) wherein the left spin shaft is disposed to overlap with a left rotating plate of the left-spin mop module in a vertical direction of the body, and wherein the right spin shaft is disposed to overlap with a right rotating plate of the right-spin mop module in the vertical direction;
(Re. claim 19) wherein a rotation center of the left rotating plate and a rotation center of the right rotation plate are disposed horizontally apart from the left spin shaft and the right spin shaft;
(Re. claim 20) wherein a rotational axis of the left rotating plate and a rotational axis of the right rotation plate are arranged in a direction perpendicular to the left spin shaft and the right spin shaft;
as taught by Kim-927, for the purpose of using structures known for rotating parts of a cleaner device. Note both references provide structures for rotating cleaning parts and substituting structures from one reference for the other is considered a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 4, Jung discloses the centerline 300 of the body is disposed between a left rotation center 310 of the left spin-mop module and a right rotation center 320 of the right spin-mop module (figure 4).
Claim(s) 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 20180028033 A1), in view of Kim et al (KR 20120009927 A; hereinafter Kim-927) and further in view of Citsay et al (US 20150313435 A1).
Jung/Kim-927 discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claims 1 and 6.
Jung/Kim-927 is silent regarding:
(Re. claim 7) the cleaner further comprising a water tank mounted on the body for storing water that is to be supplied to the left spin-mop module and the right spin-mop module;
(Re. claim 8) wherein the left spin shaft and the right spin shaft are disposed below the water tank.
(Re. claim 11) the cleaner further comprising a water supply module configured to supply water of the water tank to the left spin-mop module and the right spin-mop module.
(Re. claim 12) wherein the water supply module includes a pump configured to pressurize the water to move the water to the left spin-mop module and the right spin-mop module.
However, Citsay teaches a cleaner (figure 5B) with a body 12 and cleaning modules 26,
(Re. claim 7) the cleaner further comprising a water tank 40 mounted on the body for storing water (tank of a structure that can hold water in same manner it holds liquid 42) that is to be supplied to the cleaning modules 26;
(Re. claim 8) wherein the cleaning modules 26 are disposed below the water tank 40 (figure 5B).
(Re. claim 11) the cleaner further comprising a water supply module 44/46/48 configured to supply water of the water tank to the cleaning modules 26.
(Re. claim 12) wherein the water supply module includes a pump 48 configured to pressurize the water to move the water to the cleaning modules 26 (paragraph 0039; pump in location disclosed necessarily provides pressure to the liquid in the tank).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Jung, by having
(Re. claim 7) the cleaner further comprising a water tank mounted on the body for storing water that is to be supplied to the left spin-mop module and the right spin-mop module;
(Re. claim 8) wherein the left spin shaft and the right spin shaft are disposed below the water tank.
(Re. claim 11) the cleaner further comprising a water supply module configured to supply water of the water tank to the left spin-mop module and the right spin-mop module;
(Re. claim 12) wherein the water supply module includes a pump configured to pressurize the water to move the water to the left spin-mop module and the right spin-mop module,
as taught by Citsay, for the purpose of maintaining the mop modules wet for cleaning.
Jung is further silent regarding:
(Re. claim 9) wherein the left spin motor and the right spin motor are spaced apart from each other in a left-right direction of the body.
(Re. claim 10) wherein the left spin motor is disposed to overlap the left spin-mop module in a vertical direction of the body, and wherein the right spin motor is disposed to overlap the right spin-mop module in the vertical direction of the body.
However, Kim-927 teaches a cleaning device with structure for rotating parts of the device comprising a left spin motor 57 (on left in figure 3), a right spin motor 57 (on right in figure 3), a right spin structure 60/40 (on right in figures 3 and 4) and a left spin structure 60/40 (on left in figures 3 and 4):
(Re. claim 9) wherein the left spin motor 57 (on left in figure 3) and the right spin motor 57 (on right in figure 3) are spaced apart from each other in a left-right direction of the body;
(Re. claim 10) wherein the left spin motor 57 (on left in figures 3 and 4) is disposed to overlap the left spin structure in a vertical direction of the body (figures 3 and 4), and wherein the right spin motor 57 (on right in figures 3 and 4) is disposed to overlap the right spin structure in the vertical direction of the body (figures 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing to modify Jung by having the structure for rotating the mops comprising:
(Re. claim 9) wherein the left spin motor and the right spin motor are spaced apart from each other in a left-right direction of the body;
(Re. claim 10) wherein the left spin motor is disposed to overlap the left spin-mop module in a vertical direction of the body, and wherein the right spin motor is disposed to overlap the right spin-mop module in the vertical direction of the body as taught by Kim-927, for the purpose of using structures known for rotating parts of a cleaner device. Note both references provide structures for rotating cleaning parts and substituting structures from one reference for the other is considered a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim(s) 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 20180028033 A1), in view of Kim et al (KR 20120009927 A; hereinafter Kim-927) and further in view of Kim et al (US 20050015913 A1; hereinafter Kim-913).
Jung/Kim-927 discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Jung/Kim-927 is silent regarding:
(Re. claim 13) the cleaner further comprising a dust cleaning module disposed at a lower side of the body and disposed in front of the left spin-mop module and the right spin-mop module, wherein the dust cleaning module is configured to contact a floor and suck up a foreign substance.
(Re. claim 14) the cleaner further comprising a dust container configured to be introduced the foreign substance by the dust cleaning module.
However, Kim-913 teaches a cleaner with mopping modules 220/221 and
(Re. claim 13) the cleaner further comprising a dust cleaning module 120/121 disposed at a lower side of the body and disposed in front of the left spin-mop module and the right spin-mop module 120/121, wherein the dust cleaning module is configured to contact a floor and suck up a foreign substance (paragraph 0037).
(Re. claim 14) the cleaner further comprising a dust container configured to be introduced the foreign substance by the dust cleaning module ((paragraph 0037: “dust collecting chamber”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Jung/Kim-927 by having:
(Re. claim 13) the cleaner further comprising a dust cleaning module disposed at a lower side of the body and disposed in front of the left spin-mop module and the right spin-mop module, wherein the dust cleaning module is configured to contact a floor and suck up a foreign substance.
(Re. claim 14) the cleaner further comprising a dust container configured to be introduced the foreign substance by the dust cleaning module,
As taught by Kim-913, for the purpose of removing dust from a surface in addition to mopping.
Regarding claim 15, Jung is further silent regarding
(Re. claim 15) wherein a rotational axis of the left spin-mop module and a rotational axis of the right spin-mop module extend in a perpendicular direction to an extending direction of the left spin shaft and the right spin shaft.
However, Kim-927 further teaches
(Re. claim 15) wherein a rotational axis of the left spin module (at 31 in figure 3) and a rotational axis of the right spin-mop module (same on right as left) extend in a perpendicular direction to an extending direction of the left spin shaft 55 and the right spin shaft 55 (figures 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing to modify Jung by having a rotational axis of the left spin-mop module and a rotational axis of the right spin-mop module extend in a perpendicular direction to an extending direction of the left spin shaft and the right spin shaft, as taught by Kim-927, for the purpose of using structures known for rotating parts of a cleaner device. Note both references provide structures for rotating cleaning parts and substituting structures from one reference for the other is considered a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Jung/Kim-927 is further silent regarding:
(Re. claim 16) wherein the dust cleaning module includes a brush that rotates around an axis extending in a direction different from the left spin shaft and the right spin shaft;
(Re. claim 17) wherein the brush is configured to rotate about the axis that extends in a horizontal direction, and wherein the horizontal direction is a perpendicular direction to an extending direction of the left spin shaft and the right spin shaft.
However, Kim-913 teaches:
Jung/Kim-927 is further silent regarding:
(Re. claim 16) wherein the dust cleaning module includes a brush 121 (paragraph 0028) that rotates around an axis extending in a direction different from the forward-backward direction of the cleaner (figure 4);
(Re. claim 17) wherein the brush 121 is configured to rotate about the axis that extends in a horizontal direction (figure 4), and wherein the horizontal direction is a perpendicular direction to the forward-backward direction of the cleaner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at time of filing to modify Jung/Kim-927 by making the cleaner:
(Re. claim 16) wherein the dust cleaning module includes a brush that rotates around an axis extending in a direction different from the left spin shaft and the right spin shaft;
(Re. claim 17) wherein the brush is configured to rotate about the axis that extends in a horizontal direction, and wherein the horizontal direction is a perpendicular direction to an extending direction of the left spin shaft and the right spin shaft,
as taught by Kim-913, for the purpose of removing dust from a surface in addition to mopping.
The device made obvious by Jung/Kim-927has spin shafts 55 (see Kim/913 figure 3) in forward-backward direction such that the device made obvious by Jung/Kim-927/Kim-913 has the brush rotates around an axis extending in a direction different from the left spin shaft and the right spin shaft and wherein the horizontal direction is a perpendicular direction to an extending direction of the left spin shaft and the right spin shaft (see Kim/913 figure 3).
Conclusion
/ERIC J ROSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772