DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 9 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20050170899 A1 (Dine et al.).
Regarding claim 1, Dine et al. discloses a constant velocity joint (11) comprising:
a plurality of bearings (44);
an inner race (42) including a plurality of tracks (the grooves formed on the outer surface of inner race 42, see column 4 lines 15-18);
an outer race (36) including a plurality of tracks (see figure 6), wherein the plurality of bearings (44) are configured to be received, at least partially, within the plurality of tracks of the inner race (42) and within the plurality of tracks of the outer race (36) (see figure 6);
an adapter (38) configured to couple with the outer race (36) (see figure 6 and paragraph [0038]); and
a cap (66) defining an internal cavity (40) configured to receive the inner race (42), the outer race (36), and the adapter (38),
wherein the cap (66) is configured to engage with at least one of the outer race (36) or the adapter (38) to secure at least one of the outer race (36) or the adapter (38) within the internal cavity (40) (see figure 6), and
wherein the inner race (42) is secured by an interaction of the outer race (36) and the plurality of bearings (44) (see figure 6).
Regarding claim 7, Dine et al. discloses the constant velocity joint of claim 1, wherein the cap (66) is configured to engage with an end face of the outer race (36) to secure the inner race (42), the outer race (36), and the adapter (38) within the internal cavity (40) (see figure 6).
Regarding claim 9, Dine et al. discloses the constant velocity joint of claim 1, wherein the adapter (38) includes a plurality of splines (60, 62) annularly positioned about an end face of the adapter (38), and wherein the cap (66) extends beyond the plurality of splines (60, 62) in an axial direction (see figure 6).
Regarding claim 13, Dine et al. discloses the constant velocity joint of claim 1, wherein an exterior surface of the outer race (36) is substantially straight across an axial length thereof (see figure 6).
Regarding claim 14, Dine et al. discloses the constant velocity joint of claim 1, wherein the plurality of bearings (44) are configured to translate (see paragraph [0032]) within the plurality of tracks of the inner race (42) and within the plurality of tracks of the outer race (36) (see figure 6).
Regarding claim 15, Dine et al. discloses the constant velocity joint of claim 14, wherein the plurality of bearings (44) are configured to be received, at least partially, within the plurality of tracks of the inner race (42) and within the plurality of tracks of the outer race (36) such that the inner race (42) and the outer race (36) are coupled in a torque-transmitting manner (see paragraph [0035]).
Regarding claim 16, Dine et al. discloses the constant velocity joint of claim 1, wherein the inner race (42) includes a plurality of shaft splines positioned along a circumference of an interior surface defined by an opening of the inner race (42) (see figure 6), and wherein the inner race (42) is configured to receive a shaft within the opening and engage with the shaft in a torque-transmitting manner via the plurality of shaft splines ( see paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 17, Dine et al. discloses the constant velocity joint of claim 1, further comprising a bearing cage (46) including a plurality of windows (see annotated figure 6) configured to receive and support the plurality of bearings (44) (see claim 17), and wherein the bearing cage is configured to be positioned radially between the inner race (42) and the outer race (36) (see claim 1).
Claim 1-6, 8, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4610643 A (Krude).
Regarding claim 1, Krude discloses a constant velocity joint comprising:
a plurality of bearings (4);
an inner race (5) including a plurality of tracks (6);
an outer race (1a) including a plurality of tracks (3 and see figure 1), wherein the plurality of bearings (4) are configured to be received, at least partially, within the plurality of tracks of the inner race (6) and within the plurality of tracks of the outer race (3) (see figure 1);
an adapter (1b) configured to couple with the outer race (1a) (see figure 1) and
a cap (2) defining an internal cavity (see figure 10) configured to receive the inner race (5), the outer race (1a), and the adapter (1b),
wherein the cap (2) is configured to engage with at least one of the outer race (1a) or the adapter (1b) to secure at least one of the outer race (1a) or the adapter (1b) within the internal cavity (see figure 1), and
wherein the inner race (5) is secured by an interaction of the outer race (1a) and the plurality of bearings (4).
Regarding claim 2, Krude discloses the constant velocity joint of Claim 1, wherein the cap (2) includes retention beads annularly formed around a circumference of the cap (see annotated figure 1 below) and configured to inhibit lateral translation of a retaining member (see annotated figure 1 below where the retention beads are capable of inhibiting lateral translation of a retaining member).
Regarding claim 3, Krude discloses the constant velocity joint of Claim 2, wherein the retention beads extend in a direction radially away from an axis of rotation defined by the cap (see annotated figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 4, Krude discloses the constant velocity joint of Claim 3, wherein the retention beads are axially spaced apart from each other to accommodate for the retaining member to be positioned therebetween (see annotated figure 1 where the beads are spaced apart so a retained member can be positioned between them).
Regarding claim 5, Krude discloses the constant velocity joint of Claim 4, wherein the retention beads are formed by crimping the cap (see annotated figure 1) (NOTE: Per MPEP 2113, production by process limitations carry minimal patentable weight and do not impart patentability over a prior art product that shares the same psychical structure).
Regarding claim 6, Krude discloses the constant velocity joint of Claim 2, wherein the cap includes: a first end portion (see annotated figure 1 below); a second end portion opposite the first end portion see annotated figure 1 below); a transition portion positioned between the first end portion and the second end portion (see annotated figure 1 below); and a bead portion positioned between the transition portion and the second end portion (see annotated figure 1 below), the bead portion including the retention beads (see annotated figure 1 below).
Regarding claim 8, Krude discloses the constant velocity joint of claim 1, wherein the cap (2) is configured to deform (see column 7 lines 8-11, form fitting) to engage with at least one of the outer race (1a) or the adapter (1b) to secure the inner race (5), the outer race (1a), and the adapter (1b) within the internal cavity (see figure 10), such that the inner race (5), the outer race (1a), and the adapter (1b) are secured within the internal cavity without the use of additional components (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 18, Krude discloses a cap (2) for a constant velocity joint having a plurality of bearings (4), an inner race (5), an outer race (1a), and an adapter (1b), the cap comprising: an internal cavity (see figure 10); a first end portion configured to extend beyond a plurality of splines of the adapter in an axial direction (see annotated figure 1 above); a second end portion opposite the first end portion configured to engage with an end face of the outer race such that the inner race (see annotated figure 1 above), the outer race (1a), and the adapter (1b) are disposed within the internal cavity (see figure 1); a transition portion positioned between the first end portion and the second end portion and configured to engage with at least a portion of the adapter (see annotated figure 1 above); and a bead portion positioned between the transition portion and the second end portion (see annotated figure 1 above), the bead portion including retention beads annularly formed around a circumference of the cap and configured to inhibit lateral translation of a retaining member (see annotated figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 19, Krude discloses the cap of Claim 18, wherein at least one of the first end portion or the transition portion (see annotated figure 1 above) is configured to engage with a sealing member positioned between the cap and the adapter to form a seal therebetween member (NOTE: per MPEP 2111.02, the recitation of the sealing member is merely intended use and because claim 18 is directed to the physical structure of the cap the sealing member is not required nor is it a structural part of the claimed cap and a recitation of intended use does not result in a structural difference over the prior art if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20050170899 A1 (Dine et al.) in view of WO 9118733 A1 (Mccoy).
Regarding claim 10, Dine et al. discloses the constant velocity joint of claim 9, but fails to disclose further comprising a sealing member positioned between the cap and the adapter and configured to engage the cap and the adapter to form a seal therebetween.
However, Mccoy teaches a sealing structure where a sealant or sealing member (20) is positioned directly between mating threads of joined parts (see figures 1 and 2 where 12 and 16 are threaded and 20 is placed directly between them).
It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the constant velocity joint of Dine et al. with a sealing member positioned between the cap and the adapter and configured to engage the cap and the adapter to form a seal therebetween as taught by Mccoy. Such modification would provide the benefit of arranging a seal between the region of the cap and the outer face of the adapter for sealing purposes, so that the interior of the constant velocity joint is sealed and providing a sealing between mating threaded members would inhibit leakages through the threaded interface (see page 11 second paragraph).
Regarding claim 11, Dine et al. in view of Mccoy teaches the constant velocity joint of claim 10, and wherein Dine et al. further teaches the cap (66) is configured to engage with at least a portion of the adapter (38) (see figure 6).
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20050170899 A1 (Dine et al.) in view of US 20220120320 A1 (Schoener et al.).
Regarding claim 12, Dine et al discloses the constant velocity joint of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the outer race includes a plurality of cavities axially aligned with the plurality of tracks, and wherein the adapter includes a plurality of protrusions configured to engage with the plurality of cavities to facilitate coupling the outer race with the adapter in a torque-transmitting manner.
However, Schoener et al. teaches a constant velocity joint wherein the outer race (3) includes a plurality of cavities (31) axially aligned with the plurality of tracks (30) (see figure 2) and wherein the adapter connection component (5) includes a plurality of protrusions (52) configured to engage with the plurality of cavities (31) to couple the outer race (3) and the adapter (5) in a torque transmitting manner (see figure 2 and abstract).
It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the constant velocity joint of Dine et al. with the outer race including a plurality of cavities axially aligned with the plurality of tracks, and wherein the adapter includes a plurality of protrusions configured to engage with the plurality of cavities to facilitate coupling the outer race with the adapter in a torque-transmitting manner as taught by Schoener et al. Such modification would provide the benefit of establishing a direct, form-fitting locking connection capable of transmitting high rotational torque directly from the adapter into the outer race (see paragraphs [0009], [0019] and [0037]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4610643 A (Krude) in view of US 20220120320 A1 (Schoener et al.).
Regarding claim 20, Krude discloses a constant velocity joint comprising:
a plurality of bearings (4);
an inner race (5);
an outer race (1a) including an exterior surface that is substantially straight across an axial length thereof (see figure 10), wherein the plurality of bearings (4) are positioned radially between the inner race (5) and the outer race (1a) (see figure 11);
a cap (2) defining an internal cavity (see figure 10) configured to receive the inner race (5), the outer race (1a), and the adapter (1b) and including retention beads annularly formed around a circumference of the cap and configured to inhibit lateral translation of a retaining member (see annotated figure 1 below),
wherein the cap (2) is configured to engage with at least one of the outer race (1a) or the adapter (1b) to secure the inner race (5), the outer race (1a), and the adapter (1b) within the internal cavity without the use of additional components or a groove formed in the exterior surface of the outer race (1a) (see figure 1).
Krude. fails to disclose wherein an outer race includes a plurality of cavities and an exterior surface that is substantially straight across an axial length thereof an adapter (1b) including a plurality of protrusions configured to engage with the plurality of cavities to facilitate coupling the outer race with the adapter in a torque-transmitting manner.
However, Schoener et al. teaches a constant velocity joint wherein an outer race (3) includes a plurality of cavities (31) and an exterior surface that is substantially straight across an axial length thereof (see figure 2), and an adapter (5) including a plurality of protrusions (52) configured to engage with the plurality of cavities (31) to facilitate coupling the outer race (3) with the adapter (5) in a torque-transmitting manner (see figure 2 and abstract).
It would therefore have been obvious to one have ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the constant velocity joint of Krude with an outer race including a plurality of cavities and an exterior surface that is substantially straight across an axial length thereof an adapter including a plurality of protrusions configured to engage with the plurality of cavities to facilitate coupling the outer race with the adapter in a torque-transmitting manner as taught by Schoener et al. Such modification would provide the benefit of establishing a direct, form-fitting locking connection capable of transmitting high rotational torque directly from the adapter into the outer race (see paragraphs [0009], [0019] and [0037]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20180066714 A1, US 20230417291 A1, US 20130252743 A1, US 20140179449 A1, US 20210199160 A1, US 20240183406 A1, US 20160017929 A1, US 20050009612 A1, US 11796009 B1, US 20250327488 A, US 20240209901 A1, US 10378593 B1, US 20030216187 A, US 8784220 B1.
/A.H.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 3678
/AMBER R ANDERSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3678