DETAILED ACTION
This office action has been issued in response to arguments/amendments filed on 08/04/2026. Claims 1-10 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant argues regarding the rejection of claim 1, as recited in pages 1-2, “The Office Action on page 4 alleges that Paulin teaches "enter the pairing mode" and "while in the pairing mode, wirelessly pair with at least one external device" of claim 1. However, as evidenced by the cited portion of [0043] of Paulin, which states "the wireless accessory 201 can be from a device group of accessory devices that are paired with the mobile device 102 and/or smart home device 107," the wireless accessory device is already paired with the mobile device and/or the smart home device. This is further evidenced in the description of the system of Paulin from [0042] that states, "the wireless accessory device(s) 201 is another embodiment of accessory device(s) 101 (and optionally a case) that may be paired as part of a device group," and "accessory device 201 are separate accessory devices that are not part of a device group and are each paired separately to mobile device 102." Thus, the accessory device is already paired, or a paired relationship pre-exists, as part of the system of Paulin”.
Examiner is considered the applicants’ argument, but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully points out that the reference Paulin discloses in (para. [0069]) that (as shown in FIG. 4,) method 400 includes an operation (402) that performs an initial pairing with a wireless accessory. The initial pairing can be a Bluetooth pairing or another type of pairing using other wireless radio technologies. During the initial pairing, the mobile device and the wireless accessory can exchange identifiers, passkeys, or other credentials that enables a wireless data exchange to be performed between a mobile or another electronic device and the wireless accessory. Further, paragraph [0043] is used to teach the limitations related to external device audio playback device. Thus, the refence Paulin clearly teaches an initial pairing with a wireless accessory, Therefore, the rejection is correct and maintained.
2. Applicant argues regarding the rejection of claim 1, as recited in page 2, “Pairing mode instead is a "mode" that puts the device, such as the audio playback device, into a state to establish new connections with other devices. This is evidenced in [0037] of the specification, security measures are discussed that may be used "before entering a pairing mode to establish a new connection." This is further evidenced in [0135] of the specification which describes that "the audio playback device 110 can enter pairing mode, and the external device 752 can subsequently pair with it," and particularly that "[o]nce both the playback device 110 and external device 752 have entered pairing mode, the connection (e.g., Bluetooth, Bluetooth Classic, or BLE) can be established between the audio playback device 110 and external device 752, and they can then wirelessly exchange audio content and/or other information." Thus, the pairing mode is for establishing new connections, or pairings, and that new connection is established after entering the pairing mode. This differs from Paulin where the paired connection already exists and thus is not establishing a new connection”.
Examiner respectfully points out that the features upon which applicant argue (i.e., “the pairing mode is for establishing new connections, or pairings, and that new connection is established after entering the pairing mode”) are not recited in claim 1 as filed.
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations (i.e., “the pairing mode is for establishing new connections, or pairings, and that new connection is established after entering the pairing mode”) from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Further, Examiner respectfully points out that the reference Paulin clearly teaches in (para. [0069] and figure 4) that an operation (402) that performs an initial pairing with a wireless accessory. Therefore, the rejection is correct and maintained.
3. In response to applicant’s amendment regarding the rejection of claims 1-10, filed on 08/04/2026 as recited in pages 1- 2, they have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner maintains rejection set forth in previous office action. Response to applicant’s argument regarding prior art will be addressed below for clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Paulin et al. (US Publication No. 2024/0129690, hereinafter “Paulin”).
Regarding claim 1, Paulin does disclose an audio playback device comprising: at least one audio transducer (Paulin, (para. [0032]), smart home device 107 is a speaker); at least one communication interface; at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the audio playback device (Paulin, (figure 1), smart home device 107) is configured to: detect, from a computing device executing a controller application: a request to enter a pairing mode (Paulin, (para. [0047]), … a mobile device 102 (i.e. computing device) may send a request to smart home device(s) 107 (i.e. playback device) to perform a beacon scan to determine if the smart home device(s) 107 can detect a beacon signal sent from a wireless accessory device 201 (i.e. external device) … … if the beacon signal from the wireless accessory device 201 includes an advertisement with a key from the one or more public keys sent by the mobile device 201 with the request, then the smart home device 107 may respond to the request by sending location information (e.g., ranging data, signal strength information, etc.) for the wireless accessory device 201 to the mobile device 102); and a security credential associated with a user account, wherein the user account is associated with at least one of the audio playback device or the controller application; validate the security credential; based on the security credential being valid: enter the pairing mode; while in the pairing mode, wirelessly pair with at least one external device (Paulin, (para. [0043, 0127]), the wireless accessory 201 (i.e. external device) can be from a device group of accessory devices that are paired with the mobile device 102 and/or smart home device 107 (i.e. audio playback device) using a wireless technology standard, such as but not limited to Bluetooth. The wireless accessory 201 can also communicate with the mobile device 102 and/or smart home device 107 over wireless technologies including the implementation of any wireless standards and protocols, such as Wi-Fi direct, Zigbee, or AirPlay; (para. [0069]), where during the initial pairing, the mobile device and the wireless accessory can exchange identifiers, passkeys, or other credentials that enables a wireless data exchange to be performed between a mobile or another electronic device and the wireless accessory; (para. [0046]), verifiable information may include any information that may be needed to establish trust or authority that a pairing process, ….. … verifiable information may be encrypted and/or sent with a token to allow for further verification of the device; (para. [0094]), the smart home device 107 determines whether the received beacon signal for the wireless device contains the at least one public key (806). A comparison is performed between the at least one public key and a key within the received beacon signal, if any. If the received key matches at least one public key associated with the target accessory device 101, then the wireless device is the target accessory device 101 associated with the mobile device 102. …, the smart home device 107 may have a set of public keys for the target accessory device 101 that are expected to be broadcast over periods of time); and after wirelessly pairing with the at least one external device: wirelessly detect audio content from the at least one external device, and play back the audio content; [or wirelessly send audio content to the at least one external device] (Paulin, (para. [0049]), … … the wireless accessory device 201 (i.e. external device) may send a request with content for playback and/or settings for the smart home device 107 (i.e. audio playback device) to perform in order to aid with the mobile device 102).
Regarding claim 2, Paulin further discloses the audio playback device of claim 1, wherein the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprises program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the audio playback device is configured to: update, based on a button, a switch, or another control of the audio playback device, a pairing status indicating whether the audio playback device is in the pairing mode (Paulin, (para. [0090]), if the smart home device 107 has access to the user account for the owner of the mobile device 102, then the smart home device 107 may identify beacon signals from the target accessory device 101 using one or more rolling public keys (e.g., rolling public key for wireless accessory 201 in FIG. 3) for the target accessory device 101 that is paired with the mobile device 102); detect a status request from the computing device executing the controller application; and send, to the computing device executing the controller application, the pairing status indicating whether the audio playback device is in the pairing mode (Paulin, (para. [0055]), after the wireless accessory 201 has been paired with the mobile device 102, the wireless accessory 201 can periodically broadcast a beacon signal 301 that includes device status information and a beacon identifier).
Regarding claim 3, Paulin further discloses the audio playback device of claim 1, wherein: the pairing mode comprises a Bluetooth pairing mode or Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) pairing mode; to wirelessly detect the audio content comprises to detect the audio content via Bluetooth or BLE; and to wirelessly send the audio content comprises to send the audio content via Bluetooth or BLE (Paulin, (para. [0069]), the initial pairing can be a Bluetooth pairing or another type of pairing using other wireless radio technologies).
Regarding claim 4, Paulin further discloses the audio playback device of claim 1, wherein to detect the request to enter the pairing mode and the security credential comprises to detect the request to enter the pairing mode and the security credential via a local or personal area network (Paulin, (para. [0069]), the initial pairing can be a Bluetooth pairing or another type of pairing using other wireless radio technologies. During the initial pairing, the mobile device and the wireless accessory can exchange identifiers, passkeys, or other credentials that enables a wireless data exchange to be performed between a mobile or another electronic device and the wireless accessory).
Regarding claim 5, Paulin further discloses the audio playback device of claim 1, wherein to validate the security credential comprises to: compare the security credential to a cached security credential; and determine whether the security credential matches the cached security credential (Paulin, (para. [0095-0096]), the target accessory device 101 can periodically perform a public key derivation to generate a new public key and begin broadcasting the new public key as the beacon identifier. … … The smart home device 107 sends the location information based on the comparison result (808). If the wireless device is the target accessory device as determined by the key comparison (806), then the location information for the target accessory device 101 is sent to the mobile device 102).
Regarding claim 6, Paulin further discloses the audio playback device of claim 1, wherein: the audio playback device is registered to a second user account with at least one cloud server (Paulin, (para. [0033]), a mobile device 102 may be used to discover the smart home device 107 and provide the ability to register (e.g., by storing smart home device information, etc.) the smart home device 107 with the home application and/or home service 194; (para. [0036]), where a cloud service provider, where the various services are facilitated via a cloud services account associated with the electronic devices 101, 102, and 107); and to validate the security credential comprises to: send the security credential to the at least one cloud server and detect a validation response indicating whether the security credential is valid; or obtain, from the at least one cloud server, a copy of a second security credential associated with the second user account and compare the security credential with the second security credential (Paulin, (para. [0046]), verifiable information may be sent to the certificate authority 106 or other attestations service to verify received information presented by the device to another device. Verifiable information may be encrypted and/or sent with a token to allow for further verification of the device).
Regarding claim 7, Paulin further discloses the audio playback device of claim 1, wherein the security credential being valid is further based on the user account being authorized to initiate the pairing mode (Paulin, (para. [0111, 0127]), the mobile device 102 and/or device locator server 170 may either directly send the at least one public key to the smart home device 107 and/or provide access to the at least one public key via a user account).
Regarding claim 8, Paulin further discloses the audio playback device of claim 1, wherein the computing device executing the controller application comprises the at least one external device (Paulin, (figure 1), element 101 (i.e. external device), 107 (i.e. playback device), 102 (i.e. computing device)).
Regarding claim 9, Paulin further discloses the audio playback device of claim 1, wherein the security credential comprises a security token (Paulin, (para. [0037]), a secure token may be provided in requests to pair by an accessory device 101).
Regarding claim 10, Paulin further discloses the audio playback device of claim 1, wherein the audio playback device comprises a soundbar (Paulin, (para. [0032]), smart home devices include, but are not limited to, the following: a smart speaker device, a streaming device, a television, a refrigerator, a thermostat, …).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MORSHED MEHEDI whose telephone number is (571) 270-7640. The examiner can normally be reached on M - F, 8:00 am to 4:00 pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Linglan Edwards can be reach on (571) 270-5440. The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from their Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (In USA or Canada) or 571-272-1000.
/MORSHED MEHEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408