DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to communications: Application filed on October 17, 2024, and Drawings filed on October 17, 2024.
2. Claims 1–15 are pending in this case. Claim 1, 6, 11 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 10, 11, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HIROSHI, EP 2781999 A1, in view of Lowrey et al., Pub. No.: 2022/0344017A1.
With regard to claim 1:
Hiroshi discloses an electronic device comprising a processor that, when a graph of a function formula including at least one variable is drawn and displayed on a display unit in response to an input of a numerical value corresponding to a drawing range of the graph to the one variable of the function formula (see Fig 9A and paragraph 9 in page 11, wherein the formula includes variables y and x and numerical value 2), displays, on the display unit, a guide screen including a plurality of options for displaying the drawn graph within the display unit (see Figure 9, the top of the screen including guide with a plurality of options inducing Math, Rad and Norm), and the whole graph in the drawing range passes outside a display range designated in advance on the display unit (see fig. 7B and page 9 paragraph 5 wherein graph G is displayed on the display 210, coordinate gradations are displayed on edge parts on sides in the display area of the display 210, the sides where the X axis and the Y axis exist, respectively.).
Hiroshi does not disclose the aspect of displays, on the display unit, a guide screen including a plurality of options for displaying the drawn graph within the display unit in response to determining that the graph in the drawing range passes outside a display range designated in advance on the display unit.
However Lowrey discloses the aspect that displays, on the display unit, a guide screen including one or more options for displaying the drawn graph within the display unit (see figure 2 and paragraph 27 if the data from the time range falls outside of the displayed time range the system will display selectable link to allow the user to select the like and display the data that fall outside of the display range.) in response to determining that the graph in the drawing range passes outside a display range designated in advance on the display unit (see figure 2 and paragraph 27 if the data from the time range falls outside of the displayed time range the system will display selectable link to allow the user to select the link and display the data that fall outside of the display range.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Lowrey to Hiroshi so the user is made aware that the graph in drawing range passes outside of the display range so he or she can select to display the graph based on the knowledge. This can reduce user frustration and provide user with better understanding of the graph.
With regard to claims 5 and 10 and 15:
Hiroshi and Lowrey disclose the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the processor further displays, on the display unit, a window including a scientific calculator screen for inputting the function formula, and draws the graph of the function formula input through a user operation on the scientific calculator screen to display the drawn graph on the display unit (Hiroshi see fig. 9A Where First, a user inputs a function "y = x.sup.2 - 2" (Step S1) and sets a display range of an XY coordinate system, "Xmin = -3, Xmax = 10, Ymin = -1, Ymax = 6", to the display area of the display 210 (Step S2). Then, as shown in FIG. 9A, a graph G of the function "y = x.sup.2 - 2" within the display range is displayed (drawn) on the display 210 (Step S3).
Claim 6 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Claim 11 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Claims 2, 3, 7, 8, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HIROSHI, EP 2781999 A1, in view of Lowrey, and further in view of Kim, Pub. No.: 20160103581.
With regard to claims 2 and 7 and 12:
Hiroshi and Lowrey do not disclose the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the processor displays, on the display unit, the guide screen so as to be superimposed on the display range.
However Kim discloses the aspect wherein the processor displays, on the display unit, the guide screen so as to be superimposed on the display range (see fig. 2F and paragraph 61 wherein FIG. 2F shows an example vertical bar chart displayed on a display screen, in accordance with some embodiments. See tooltip 290 which is the guide superimposed on the display range.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Kim to Hiroshi and Lowrey so the user is informed about the graph based on the guide screen and is provided with options based on the displayed guide screen.
With regard to claim 3 and 8 and 13:
Hiroshi and Lowrey and Kim disclose the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein the guide screen is smaller than the display range, and at least a part of the display range is displayed on the display unit together with the guide screen (Kim see fig. 2F and paragraph 61 wherein FIG. 2F shows an example vertical bar chart displayed on a display screen, in accordance with some embodiments. The display screen in this example may be larger than a display screen of a mobile computing system and is used in this example to show the relationship between the tooltip 290 and the vertical bar chart 296 wherein the tool tip is smaller than the display range). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Kim to Hiroshi and Lowrey so the user is informed about the graph based on the guide screen and is provided with options based on the displayed guide screen.
Claims 4 and 9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HIROSHI, EP 2781999 A1, in view of Lowrey, and further in view of Ishikawa, Pub. No. 2018/0144552A1.
With regard to claims 4 and 9 and 14:
Hiroshi and Lowrey disclose The electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of options includes first display control contents for changing the display range according to a user operation (Lowrey see figure 2 and paragraph 27 if the data from the time range falls outside of the displayed time range the system will display selectable link to allow the user to select the like and display the data that fall outside of the display range.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Lowrey to Hiroshi so the user is made aware that the graph in drawing range passes outside of the display range so he or she can select to display the graph based on the knowledge. This can reduce user frustration and provide user with better understanding of the graph.
Hiroshi and Lowrey do not disclose a second display control contents for changing the display range according to a range of a numerical value set in the one variable.
However Ishikawa discloses a display control contents for changing the display range (See paragraph 24 For example, when k=0.6745 is substituted into Expression (6), an integral result of ψ (x) is 0.5, and the distribution probability of the objects in an interval expressed by Expression (6) is 50%. Similarly, for example, when k=1 is substituted, the distribution probability of the objects in the interval expressed by Expression (6) is 68.27%. In this manner, when the value of k of Expression (6) is set, the range of x (and y) in which the distribution probability of the objects has a predetermined value can be derived. ) according to a range of a numerical value set in the one variable (paragraph 245 wherein the distribution display generation unit 27 may extract the ranges of variables x and y corresponding to ψ (x) and ψ (y) having a predetermined value or more, and generate a distribution display that is displayed near a region in the field of view corresponding to those ranges). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Ishikawa to Hiroshi and Lowrey so the display would be based on the variable value so it fit in the screen and provide the user with graph that fits the user’s needs.
Pertinent Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ozawa, Pub. No.: 20180089867 A1, discloses a method for the editing of web pages by selectively providing editing logic and data that associates portions of the page with data sources used to provide the portions.
Kaiami, Pub. No.: US 20160342827 discloses the aspect of transmitting (i) an increment of an independent variable per one display dot according to a variance range of the independent variable and the number of display dots on a screen, (ii) a function expression of the independent variable, and (iii) the variance range of the independent variable, to a server.
Conclusion
/DI XIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178