DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/17/24 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recited “the set temperature is a temperature selected from 90 to 110 degrees” is indefinite because it is unclear the temperature is set in Celsius or Fahrenheit. For examination purpose, it is understood the temperature is set in Fahrenheit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heinrich et al. (DE 102008057567 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Heinrich teaches a motor comprising:
a stator (05) provided inside a housing (13) and having a plurality of stator coils (03) repeatedly disposed in a circumferential direction (fig 1); and
a thermoelectric module (07) provided in the housing (13) and configured to cool the plurality of stator coils (03),
wherein the thermoelectric module (07) includes a substrate (11, fig 2), at least one pair of an N-type pellet (25) and a P-type pellet (23) alternately mounted on the substrate, and a connection electrode (27) configured to connect the N-type pellet (25) and the P-type pellet (23) to each other on a side (fig 3).
Regarding claim 3, Heinrich teaches an insulating layer (29) provided on an upper surface of the substrate (11), wherein the N-type pellet (25) and the P-type pellet (23) are mounted on the upper surface of the substrate (fig 3).
Regarding claim 4, Heinrich teaches the N-type pellet (25) and the P-type pellet (23) are covered with an insulating layer (29) except for portions thereof connected to the connection electrode (27, fig 3).
Regarding claim 5, Heinrich teaches the N-type pellet (25), the P-type pellet (23), and the connection electrode (27) are provided with a metal solder joint therebetween.
Regarding claim 6, Heinrich teaches the thermoelectric module (07) includes the N-type pellet (25) and the P-type pellet (23) alternately mounted on the substrate in the circumferential direction and an optical axis direction (fig 2).
Regarding claim 7, Heinrich teaches a plurality of connection electrodes (27) is alternately provided on both sides of the N-type pellet (25) and the P-type pellet (23) and is connected in series (fig 3).
Regarding claim 8, Heinrich teaches the thermoelectric module includes the N-type pellet (25) and the P-type pellet (23) mounted on a plurality of separated substrates (upper and lower substrate 29), wherein the plurality of separated substrates is disposed at regular intervals in the circumferential direction (fig 3).
Regarding claim 9, Heinrich teaches the thermoelectric module (07) is inserted into a slot provided in the housing (13, fig 1).
Regarding claim 16, Heinrich teaches a mobility device (an electric vehicles) comprising a body (now shown but mentioned in page 1); at least one driving unit provided on the body; a battery provided in the body; and the motor (01), configured to be connected to the battery and provide driving force to the at least one driving unit (page 1).
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pei et al. (CN 110994899 A).
Regarding claim 12, Pei teaches a method of controlling cooling of a motor, the method comprising:
performing a sensing operation (by thermistor sensors) by detecting a temperature of a housing of the motor; and
performing a control operation (via controller 13) by comparing the temperature of the housing detected in the sensing operation with a set temperature, and
operating a thermoelectric module (11) provided in the housing (1) by selecting either a thermoelectric power generation mode or a Peltier mode as a cooling mode.
Regarding claim 13, Pei teaches the set temperature is a temperature selected from 90 to 110 degrees (first paragraph of page 3, 40ºC-65ºC).
Regarding claim 14, Pei teaches operating the thermoelectric module (11) in the thermoelectric power generation mode when the temperature detected in the sensing operation is equal to or lower than the set temperature, and operating the thermoelectric module (11) in the Peltier mode as the cooling mode when the temperature detected in the sensing operation exceeds the set temperature (page 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinrich in view of Pan et al. (US 2020/0287444 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Heinrich teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of a rotor provided inside the stator, rotatable about a rotation axis, and having a magnetic body configured to interact with at least one of the plurality of stator coils and generate rotational force.
Pan teaches an electric motor having a rotor (14) provided inside the stator (18), rotatable about a rotation axis (16), and having a magnetic body configured to interact with at least one of the plurality of stator coils and generate rotational force (para [0012]) to provide an electric motor compact and flexible design (para [0003]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heinrich’s motor with a rotor provided inside the stator, rotatable about a rotation axis, and having a magnetic body configured to interact with at least one of the plurality of stator coils and generate rotational force as taught by Pan. Doing so would provide an electric motor compact and flexible design (para [0003]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinrich in view of Huang et al. (CN 109995176 A).
Regarding claim 10, Heinrich teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of the thermoelectric module is attached to an outer surface of the housing.
Huang teaches a motor having a thermoelectric module (3) is attached to an outer surface of the housing (7, fig 1) to achieve recycle of the heat energy (see summary of the invention).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heinrich’s motor with the thermoelectric module is attached to an outer surface of the housing as taught by Huang. Doing so would achieve recycle of the heat energy (see summary of the invention).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinrich in view of Huang, further in view of Chen (CN 101355110 A).
Regarding claim 11, Heinrich in view of Huang teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 10, except for the added limitation of the substrate is a flexible substrate.
Chen teaches a solar battery having a flexible substrate, a layer of back electrodes, a P type semiconductor layer, a P-N layer, N type semiconductor layer, a transparent conductive layer and a layer of front electrodes to apply to the construction field that is easier to match and more elastic (abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heinrich in view of Huang’s motor with the substrate is a flexible substrate as taught by Chen. Doing so would apply to the construction field that is easier to match and more elastic (abstract).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pei in view of Zhang et al. (CN 113555492 A).
Regarding claim 15, Pei teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 14, except for the added limitation of the method further comprising storing, in a battery, electricity generated when the control unit operates the thermoelectric module in the thermoelectric power generation mode, and using the electricity stored in the battery when the control unit operates the thermoelectric module in the Peltier mode as the cooling mode.
Zhang teaches a method of controlling a motor having step of storing, in a battery (7), electricity generated when the control unit (9) operates the thermoelectric module in the thermoelectric power generation mode, and using the electricity stored in the battery (7) when the control unit operates the thermoelectric module in the Peltier mode as the cooling mode (fig 1, abstract) to effectively reduce the heat dissipation of the semiconductor device, and using the waste heat, improving the radiating efficiency.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pei’s method with storing, in a battery, electricity generated when the control unit operates the thermoelectric module in the thermoelectric power generation mode, and using the electricity stored in the battery when the control unit operates the thermoelectric module in the Peltier mode as the cooling mode as taught by Zhang. Doing so would effectively reduce the heat dissipation of the semiconductor device, and using the waste heat, improving the radiating efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lauer (US 6,735,049 B1) teaches devices for transducing electromagnetic information are formed on and from a wafer substrate. The devices comprise a head attached to a flexible element such as a gimbal. To create such a device, a transducer and an optional amplifier are formed on a wafer that is then cut into rows containing a number of such transducers. The rows are then processed from directions generally normal to the wafer surface upon which the transducer was formed, by removing material to form a head and flexible elements such as a gimbal, creating a media-facing surface on the head and at least one aperture adjacent the head. Conductive leads may be formed on a non-media-facing surface of a flexible element to connect the transducer with drive electronics.
/LEDA T PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834