Initial Examination
Applicant's submission filed on 10/17/24 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-11 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited references fail to anticipate or render the claimed subject matter (combined with other limitations claimed in the claimed subject matter) obvious over any of the prior art of record, either alone or in combination. Therefore, when taken as a whole application, and incorporating all the respective limitations, none of the prior art discloses the features as claimed. For instance, although Qiao and Salkintzis generally disclose URSP rules and RSDs, they do not disclose the detailed limitations and specific relationships as recited in these claims. Consequently, these claims are allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 12, 14, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qiao (US 20220264370 A1, cited by Applicant of Record).
Regarding claim 1, Qiao discloses a user equipment (UE) [fig. 3 no. 100], comprising:
one or more memories [fig. 3 no. 326] storing processor-executable code [fig. 3 no. 328]; and
one or more processors [fig. 3 no. 318] coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
transmit, via a first protocol stack of a plurality of protocol stacks of the UE, an indication of a capability of the UE to steer data traffic associated with the UE via the first protocol stack or a second protocol stack of the plurality of protocol stacks, wherein the first protocol stack corresponds to a first subscription of a plurality of subscriptions of the UE (The UE transmits MA-PDU capability (i.e., multiple protocol stacks via a protocol stack), which correspond to some subscription [par. 0199, 160, 234-244, fig. 16 “Reg req with USCI”, fig. 17 “Reg req w/ UMACI”, fig. 18-20]) and the second protocol stack corresponds to a second subscription of the plurality of subscriptions (Multiple protocol stacks corresponding to [multiple] subscriptions [par. 0234-244, fig. 16 “Reg req with USCI”, fig. 17 “Reg req w/ UMACI”, fig. 18-20]);
receive, based at least in part on the capability of the UE, a first set of UE route selection policy (URSP) rules for steering the data traffic associated with the UE (URSP received by UE (for data steering) [Abstract, fig. 16 “URSP rule”, fig. 17 “URSP rule”, fig. 18-20]); and
routing, via a higher layer of the UE based at least in part on the first set of URSP rules and on the capability of the UE, the data traffic associated with the UE via one or both of the first protocol stack or the second protocol stack ([fig. 16 “UE initiate PDU session based on URSP rule” (which is also based on UE capability), fig. 17 “UE initiate PDU session based on URSP/ATSSS rule” (which is also based on UE capability), fig. 18-20]).
Regarding claim 14, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is from the perspective of the network, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Qiao further discloses network entity [fig. 3 no. 105], comprising: one or more memories [fig. 3 no. 346] storing processor-executable code [fig. 3 no. 348]; and one or more processors [fig. 3 no. 344].
Regarding claim 20, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in method claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning.
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Qiao discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Qiao further discloses:
wherein the first set of URSP rules is received via the higher layer (Received at higher layer (at some point) [par. 0030, 060]) of the UE and is associated with both the first protocol stack and the second protocol stack [fig. 14, par. 0181-184, 187].
Regarding claim 12, Qiao discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Qiao further discloses wherein, to route the data traffic via one or both of the first protocol stack or the second protocol stack [fig. 14, par. 0181-184, 187], the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
route the data traffic via both of the first protocol stack or the second protocol stack [fig. 14, par. 0181-184, 187].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 13 and 15, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao as applied to claims 1 and 14 respectively, and further in view of Salkintzis (WO 2022268344 A1, cited by Applicant of Record).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Qiao discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Although Qiao discloses wherein the first set of URSP rules is received via the first protocol stack, and the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, via the second protocol stack and based at least in part on the capability of the UE, a … set of URSP rules for steering the data traffic, wherein the first set of URSP rules is associated with the first protocol stack and the … set of URSP rules is associated with the second protocol stack [fig. 14, par. 0181-184, 187], and as discussed above, Qiao does not explicitly disclose second set of USRP rules. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Salkintzis.
In the same field of endeavor, Salkintzis discloses:
second set of USRP rules [fig. 3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Qiao with Salkintzis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of enabling enhanced features and functionalities in 5G systems [Salkintzis par. 0023].
Regarding claim 13, Qiao discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Although Qiao discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: initiate, at the first protocol stack, a first protocol data unit (PDU) session; transmit, to a core network and via the first protocol stack, a first request to establish the first PDU session [fig. 14, par. 0181-184, 187], and as discussed above, Qiao does not explicitly disclose second set of USRP rules. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Salkintzis.
In the same field of endeavor, Salkintzis discloses:
initiate, at the second protocol stack, a second PDU session [par. 0102-107, 181, fig. 14];
wherein the first request indicates an identifier associated with the second protocol stack and an identifier associated with the second PDU session; and transmit, to the core network and via the second protocol stack, a second request to establish the second PDU session, wherein the second request indicates an identifier associated with the first protocol stack and an identifier associated with the first PDU session [par. 0102-107, fig. 3-4].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Qiao with Salkintzis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of enabling enhanced features and functionalities in 5G systems [Salkintzis par. 0023].
Regarding claims 18-19, they are substantially similar to claim 13, except are from the perspective of the network, and are rejected under substantially similar reasoning.
Conclusion
Kim (US 20260222961 A1) and Patil (US 20250097812 A1) disclose USRP rules and communication similar to the instant invention.
/WALTER J DIVITO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465