DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/935094, filed on 9/24/2022.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action has been issued in response to the amendment filed on 4/21/2026. Claims 1-10 are cancelled. Claims 11-19 are pending. Applicants’ arguments have been carefully and respectfully considered in light of the instant amendment and are persuasive, as they relate to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103. However, after further search and consideration, Examiner has found additional prior art, as will be discussed below. Accordingly, this action has been made NON-FINAL.
Double Patenting
Claims 11-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,147,332. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are obvious variant of each other.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,147,332
Claim 11:
A method for storing measurement data detected by a sensor and indicative of an analyte in a sample of a body fluid, comprising, in a system having a processor and a memory:
providing a first measurement data set comprising a first measurement value for an analyte in a sample of a body fluid measured by a sensor;
providing second measurement data set comprising a second measurement value for the analyte in the sample of the body fluid measured by the sensor;
wherein the first measurement data set and/or the second measurement data set further comprise a value selected from the group consisting of: orientation of the sensor, a battery voltage, temperature of the device, and an event flag;
determining a relative measurement data set comprising a value difference between the measurement values in the first and second measurement data sets;
storing the first measurement data set in the memory;
storing the relative measurement data set in the memory in the memory, wherein the first measurement data set occupies a larger area in the memory than the relative measurement data set; and
storing an indicator assigned to the relative measurement data set in the memory and indicative of a characteristic of the relative measurement data set
Claim 1:
A method for storing measurement data detected by a sensor and indicative of an analyte in a sample of a body fluid, comprising, in a system having a processor and a memory:
dividing the memory into at least two pages, wherein a size of the at least two pages matches a page size of a flash or EEPROM memory;
providing first measurement data indicative of a first measurement value for an analyte in a sample of a body fluid measured by a sensor, wherein each of the at least two pages in the memory comprises a header having the first measurement data, whereby each of the at least two pages is configured to be decoded independently;
providing second measurement data indicative of a second measurement value for the analyte in the sample of the body fluid measured by the sensor;
determining a relative measurement value by the processor, the relative measurement value being indicative of a value difference between the first measurement value and the second measurement value;
providing first measurement storage data in the memory, comprising storing the first measurement value in a first storage area having a first storage size in the memory;
providing relative measurement storage data in the memory, comprising storing the relative measurement value in the memory, the relative measurement storage data stored in a second storage area having a second storage size in the memory which is smaller than the first storage size; and
storing an indicator in the memory, the indicator being assigned to the relative measurement storage data in the memory and indicative of a characteristic of the relative measurement storage data.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially similar in scope and they use the same limitations. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add “wherein the first measurement data set and/or the second measurement data set further comprise a value selected from the group consisting of: orientation of the sensor, median of a current flowing into the sensor, a standard deviation, a sensor voltage median, a battery voltage, temperature of the device, and an event flag”, which is a common way within the art to design sensors with a medical monitoring device, and omit the additional elements "dividing the memory into at least two pages, wherein a size of the at least two pages matches a page size of a flash or EEPROM memory; wherein each of the at least two pages in the memory comprises a header having the first measurement data, whereby each of the at least two pages is configured to be decoded independently" of claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,147,332 to arrive at the claims 11-19 of the instant application because the person would have realized that the remaining element would perform the same functions as before. "Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform same functions as before." See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decide Jan 16, 1963, Appl. No. 6857, U. S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muhlenberg et al (US 5,836,982) in view of Simmons et al (US 20120100601 A1).
As to claims 11 and 19, Muhlenberg teaches a method for storing measurement data detected by a sensor
(Please see column 2 line 28-33 disclosing a system for compressing and storing measurements of battery powered sensor devices. Muhelnberg refers generally to sensors for physiological signals and exemplarily to sensors for cardiac signals and does not disclose that the data measured by the sensor device are indicative of an analyte in a sample of bodily fluid.)
providing first measurement data indicative of a first measurement value
(Please see column 4 line 39-42 disclosing storing individual samples. As already mentioned, the measured data of Muhelnberg is not specific for analytes ina sample of bodily fluid.)
providing second measurement data indicative of a second measurement value
(Please see column 4 line 39-42 disclosing storing successive individual samples, i.e. a second measurement data. As already mentioned, the measured data of Muhelnberg is not specific for analytes in a sample of bodily fluid.)
determining a relative measurement value by the processor, the relative measurement value being indicative of a value difference between the first measurement value and the second measurement value;
(Please see column 4 line 39-42 disclosing storing the deltas (i.e. the value differences) between successive individual samples.)
storing the first measurement value in the memory (Muhlenberg gathers samples as analog signals and converts them to digital signals. Then the digital signals are stored in memory. See column 4, lines 13-32);
storing the relative measurement value in the memory, wherein the first measurement data set occupies a larger area in the memory than the relative measurement data set; and
(Please see column 4 line 39-42 disclosing storing the number of significant bits corresponding to the first sample and the deltas (i.e. the value differences) between successive second samples, with a minimum number of bits, implicitly in a second storage area, implicitly with smaller size, writing only the corresponding least significant bits.)
storing an indicator assigned to the relative measurement data set in the memory and indicative of a characteristic of the relative measurement data set.
(Please see column 4 lines 63 to column 5 lines 6, disclosing storing the number of significant bits (i.e. the indicator) in a block header and then writing all assembled deltas by writing only the NBits least significant bits (i.e. relative measurement storage data) plus one sign bit indicating a positive or negative delta (i.e. indicative of a characteristic of the relative measurement storage data), relative to the periodic individual samples (i.e. "first measurement data"). )
Muhlenberg fails to teach storing measurement data detected by a sensor and indicative of an analyte in a sample of a body fluid; and wherein the first measurement data set and/or the second measurement data set further comprise a value selected from the group consisting of: orientation of the sensor, median of a current flowing into the sensor, a standard deviation, a sensor voltage median, a battery voltage, temperature of the device, and an event flag.
However, Simmons teaches storing measurement data detected by a sensor and indicative of an analyte in a sample of a body fluid (Simmons [0097] discloses electrical interfaces that allow them to electrically connect with another device or apparatus and perform an analysis of an analyte. Simmons [0158] discloses a transmitter that collects glucose information from the sensor, and a receiver that collects the information from the transmitter. The sensor can collect glucose level information continuously, periodically, or at other intervals); and wherein the first measurement data set and/or the second measurement data set further comprise a value selected from the group consisting of: orientation of the sensor, a standard deviation, a battery voltage, temperature of the device, and an event flag (Simmons [0227] discloses an analyte measurement device is provided that includes an gravity sensor or accelerometer that monitors or otherwise detects the orientation of the device and indicates to the user when the device is in an incorrect orientation for performing a control solution test).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the teachings of Muhlenberg to incorporate the sensor system adapted for adapted for detecting at least one analyte in a sample of a body fluid as taught by Simmons for the purpose of indicating to the user when the device is in an incorrect orientation for performing a control solution test.
As to claim 12, Muhlenberg teaches storing an additional indicator assigned to the first measurement data set in the memory and indicative of a characteristic of the first measurement data set (Please see column 7, lines 1-7 for Adding the marker channel data to the compressed signal results in a slight decrease in the compression ratio due to the addition of the record indicator, which is the price paid for adding the additional marker channel data.).
As to claim 13, Muhlenberg teaches the first measurement value is stored as an absolute value of the first measurement value (Muhlenberg discloses storing of a measurement, e.g. lastSample in Fig. 2 point 42).
As to claim 14, Muhlenberg teaches storing the first measurement value, the relative measurement value, and the indicator bit by bit in a consecutive order of data bits (Muhlenberg discloses storing bitwise the sample, the delta and any "indicators" consecutively, e.g. fig 3. The particular and arbitrary order of storing of the header, value, delta, sign, etc. is straightforward to implement for a skilled artisan).
As to claim 15, Muhlenberg teaches the second storage size is smaller by one or more bits than the first storage size (Muhlenberg discloses storing of only the least significant bits for the relative values (deltas), hence storage size being smaller. Column 4 line 36 discloses a 2:1 compression ratio.).
As to claim 16, Muhlenberg teaches the indicator assigned to the relative measurement data set is indicative of a number of data bits assigned to the relative measurement data set in the memory (Muhlenberg discloses in Figure 4 determination and use of a number of bits allocated to the sample and the deltas, saved in a header block.).
As to claim 17, Muhlenberg teaches the indicator assigned to the relative measurement data set is indicative of a data compression characteristic of the relative measurement data set (Muhlenberg discloses determination of NBits used for encoding the value or deltas, which is a "data compression characteristic". Column 5, line 47 through column 6, line 21.).
As to claim 18, Muhlenberg teaches the indicator is provided in a header information in the memory (Muhlenberg discloses storage of the indicators in the headers of a memory block column 5 line 4.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 11-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-5, filed 4/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Simmons et al (US 20120100601 A1).
Contact Information
/JARED M BIBBEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2161