DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-18) in the reply filed on 2/17/2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 19-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the elastic straps, handle, wheels, and the strap for carrying the inflatable cover must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "at least one of the bladders" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-18 directly or indirectly depend from claim 1 and are also rejected.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the bladders" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-18 directly or indirectly depend from claim 1 and are also rejected.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the bladders" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 introduces “at least one bladder”.
The term “elastic straps or springs” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “elastic straps or springs” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Firstly, these features are not shown in the figures so incorporation is unclear, see drawing objection above. Secondly, springs are not commonly used as fasteners alone. How can a plurality of springs be configured to connect one or more of the goods to secure the one or more goods in a floating fashion? How do straps achieve the floating function? It is unclear how the claimed materials are configured in order to achieve the claimed function.
The term “a sensor configured to detect when the inflatable cover has been opened” in claim 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “a sensor configured to detect when the inflatable cover has been opened” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What is the opened position? Claim 14 only depends from claim 1, there does not appear to be an open or closed position. Further, it is unclear what the open position refers to. For the purposes of examination, the sensor and open position shall be broadly interpreted.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the canopies" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 15 is dependent upon claim 5, in which no canopies are claimed. For the purposes of examination, it shall be assumed claim 15 is dependent upon claim 6 which claims canopies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Sadow (US 20060207849 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Sadow discloses an inflatable cover apparatus for transporting goods, comprising: a bottom surface (figure 3); a plurality of inflatable walls (50) coupled to the bottom surface, in which the inflatable walls (50) are configured to receive and enclose one or more goods; and at least one bladder (10), in which at least one of the bladders is disposed within at least one of the inflatable walls, wherein the bladders are configured to be filled with air or other gases.
With respect to claim 2, Sadow discloses the apparatus of claim 1, in which the bladders (20) are configured to be coupled to an inflation apparatus for filling the bladders with air or other gases.
With respect to claim 3, Sadow discloses the apparatus of claim 2, further comprising: one or more valves (12/14); and one or more pipes (figure 2); in which the bladders are configured to be coupled to the inflation apparatus through one or more of the valves or pipes.
With respect to claim 4, Sadow discloses the apparatus of claim 3, further comprising: an inflation apparatus (48).
With respect to claim 5, Sadow discloses the apparatus of claim 4, further comprising: a holder (70) configured to securely retain the inflation apparatus; and a pocket (pocket created by 29 and 33) configured to contain the holder and the inflation apparatus.
With respect to claim 17, Sadow discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a handle; and wheels for rolling the inflatable cover. (abstract)
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Sadow (US 20050284791 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Sadow discloses an inflatable cover apparatus for transporting goods, comprising: a bottom surface (figure 3); a plurality of inflatable walls (50) coupled to the bottom surface, in which the inflatable walls (50) are configured to receive and enclose one or more goods; and at least one bladder (10), in which at least one of the bladders is disposed within at least one of the inflatable walls, wherein the bladders are configured to be filled with air or other gases.
With respect to claim 6, Sadow discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of canopies (figure 9 below), in which the canopies are fastened to the walls (secured to one another as seen in figure 3 and 9), and in which the canopies are configured to be fastened to each other using a fastening mechanism (secured to one another as seen in figure 3 and 9).
With respect to claim 8, Sadow discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of pads coupled to the bottom surface; in which the pads are configured to receive and retain one or more of the goods. (can consider inflated cells of bottom as pads.)
With respect to claim 15, Sadow discloses the apparatus of claim 6, in which one or more of the bladders is disposed within one or more of the canopies. (as evident in figure 3)
Examiner Note: Refer to 112b above. Claim appears to be dependent on claim 6, not claim 5.
With respect to claim 16, Sadow discloses the apparatus of claim 1, in which one or more of the bladders is disposed within the bottom surface. (evident in figure 3)
Claim(s) 1,9, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Belitz (US 20100252464 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Belitz discloses an inflatable cover apparatus for transporting goods, comprising: a bottom surface (42); a plurality of inflatable walls (50) coupled to the bottom surface, in which the inflatable walls (50) are configured to receive and enclose one or more goods; and at least one bladder (24), in which at least one of the bladders is disposed within at least one of the inflatable walls, wherein the bladders are configured to be filled with air or other gases.
With respect to claim 9, Belitz discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of elastic straps (47) or springs; in which the elastic straps or springs are configured to connect to one or more of the goods to secure the one or more goods in floating fashion.
With respect to claim 18, Belitz discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a strap for carrying the inflatable cover.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doffay (US 7867049 B1) in view of Wolfe (US 5304082 A).
With respect to claim 1, Doffay discloses an inflatable cover apparatus for transporting goods, comprising: a bottom surface (28); a plurality of inflatable walls (12) coupled to the bottom surface, in which the inflatable walls (12) are configured to receive and enclose one or more goods.
Doffay failed to disclose of at least one bladder (10), in which at least one of the bladders is disposed within at least one of the inflatable walls, wherein the bladders are configured to be filled with air or other gases. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely floating objects, Wolfe taught of a floatation device that comprises bladders in addition to inflatable walls to provide additional buoyancy should the main body lose it filling gas (col 2 lines 30-41). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inflatable cover of Doffay to include at least one bladder as taught by Wolfe in order to allow for improved buoyancy.
With respect to claim 7, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Doffay further discloses further comprising: a plurality of hooks (32/52) disposed along the inflatable walls; and an elastic cord (38) configured to be passed through the plurality of hooks. (This is taught by Doffay reference).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadow (US 20050284791 A1) in view of Aguilar (US 20170320650 A1) and Iskra (US 5487197 A).
With respect to claim 10, the references as applied to claim 4, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims except for further comprising: one or more pressure sensors configured to monitor pressure in one or more bladders; and one or more programmable microprocessors programmed with a target pressure for one or more of the bladders, in which the programmable microprocessor(s) are configured to send a control signal to the inflation apparatus, which causes air or other gases to be sent into or out of the bladders based upon the control signal until a target pressure is achieved. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely inflatable containers, Aguilar taught of an automatic pressure-based shutoff feature (pages 1-2 [0016]). Thus Aguilar teaching of the usage of automatic pressure sensor systems in use with an inflatable container. Further, in a similar field of endeavor, namely inflatable objects, Iskra taught of an inflation pressure device that includes a microprocessor that controls the introduction of air or other gases into its bladder (col 3 line 53 to col 4 line 23) to be able to automate the air pressure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of inflation systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a pressure sensor at taught by Aguilar with a microprocessor as taught by Iskra in the inflation system of Sadow since the claimed invention is only a combination of these old and well known elements which would have performed the same function in combination as each did separately. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inflation system of Sadow to include a pressure sensor as taught by Aguilar with a microprocessor as taught by Iskra in order to allow for automation of the inflation process.
With respect to claim 11, the references as applied to claim 10, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach further comprising: means for accepting user input to permit a user to set the target pressure for the bladders. (A user controlled setpoint is described on col 4 lines 41-61, refer to claim 10 rejection above for combination rationale.)
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadow (US 20050284791 A1) in view of Aguilar (US 20170320650 A1), Iskra (US 5487197 A) and Amazon Air Bed Pump (see webpage attached).
With respect to claim 12, the references as applied to claim 10, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims except for further comprising: a wireless communication module configured to communicate with a wireless device, which a user may use to set the target pressure for one or more bladders. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely pumps for inflatable objects, Amazon Air Bed Pump taught of a pump that can be controlled via a wireless remote that allows remote setting of pressure (see webpage attached). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air pump of Sadow in view of Aguilar and Iskra to include a remote as taught by Amazon Air Bed Pump in order to allow for wireless operations.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadow (US 20050284791 A1) in view of Fuller (US 9303950 B2).
With respect to claim 13, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims except for further comprising: a tracking sensor; and a wireless communication module configured to communicate with a wireless device to allow a user of the wireless device to determine location of the inflatable cover. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely containers, Fuller taught of a GPS transmitter in order to track the location of the container (abstract). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the container of Sadow to include a GPS tracker as taught by Fuller in order to allow for tracking of the container.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadow (US 20050284791 A1) in view of Brubacher (US 20240357754 A1).
With respect to claim 14, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims except for further comprising: a sensor configured to detect when the inflatable cover has been opened; and a wireless communication module configured to communicate with a wireless device to allow a user of the wireless device to determine that the inflatable cover has been opened. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely containers, Brubacher taught of a container that utilizes sensors to determine if the container has been opened and a wireless communication module to communicate the information in order to communicate a possibility of tampering of contents (page 1 [0012]). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the container of Sadow to include an opening sensor as taught by Brubacher in order to monitor possible tampering of contents.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20050284791-A1 OR US-20060207849-A1 OR US-20240357754-A1 OR US-20100252464-A1 OR US-20180334020-A1 OR US-20200039722-A1 OR US-20200024057-A1 OR US-20230192382-A1 OR US-20140224699-A1 OR US-20090166238-A1 OR US-20030006162-A1 OR US-20250187808-A1 OR US-20220290340-A1 OR US-20250223096-A1 OR US-20170320650-A1 OR US-20170210539-A1 OR US-20200317302-A1 OR US-5487197-A OR US-9303950-B2 OR US-8702461-B1 OR US-7867049-B1 OR US-5304082-A OR US-7604123-B2 OR US-6334537-B1 OR US-5570780-A OR US-4569082-A OR US-4044867-A.
Conclusion
/SYMREN K SANGHERA/Examiner, Art Unit 3735