DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zorzo (US 7039969), in view of Newman, et al (US 20180141202), Wendelken (US 20060200931 in English, WO 2005023078 with figures), and Payne, et al (US 20170319042).
Regarding claim 1 Zorzo discloses a cleaning device for a restricted access controlled environment (please note, the verbiage of “for a restricted access controlled environment” is viewed as intended use) comprising: a flat mop head (figure 2 and column 6 line 40) including a frame plate having a split-frame design (column 6 line 19-23, and figure 2, items 1 and 2) and a mop coupling (figure 2, item 5) connecting the articulating mop handle to the flat mop head, the mop coupling configured to enable multiaxial movement (column 6 line 67 – column 7 line 3) of the flat mop head with respect to the linear handle axis. Zorzo fails to disclose a hexagonally shaped flat mop head, a microfiber cleaning pad cover, an articulating handle elongated with respect to a linear handle axis, an articulating handle joint, a locking mechanism, and a handle having plurality of cleaning positions with respect to the linear handle axis.
Newman teaches an articulating handle elongated with respect to a linear handle axis (figure 1, line D) and including an articulating handle joint (figure 18, item 130) having a locking mechanism (figure 18, item 84) for selectively locking the articulating mop handle in a plurality of cleaning positions (paragraph 0093) with respect to the linear handle axis.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zorzo to incorporate the teachings of Newman to provide a mop head with a means to replace the mop head, and have a telescoping and articulating handle. Newman further discusses in paragraphs 3-8 how the art recognizes telescoping and articulating joints are known in the art. These provide the benefit of allowing a user to use a tool from a more ergonomic position.
Wendelken teaches a hexagonally shaped flat mop head (US paragraph [0018], WO figure 1 item 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zorzo to incorporate the teachings of Wendelken to provide a mop head with a hexagonal shape. Such a modification is viewed as a change in shape, which has been held to be of routine of one skilled in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). Doing so would improve the ability to clean, especially in corners, as recognized by Wendelken (US paragraph 3).
Payne teaches a hexagonally shaped (paragraph [0067]) microfiber cleaning pad cover (paragraph [0065]) releasably fitted to the mop frame (paragraph [0067]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zorzo to incorporate the teachings of Payne to provide a microfiber cleaning pad that provides cleaning power and is easily attached to a cleaning head as recognized by Payne (paragraph [0065]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zorzo, Newman, Wendelken, and Payne disclose the cleaning device of claim 1, wherein the frame plate includes a first triangular pointed tip and a second triangular pointed tip oppositely directed with respect to each other (Wendelken US paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zorzo, Newman, Wendelken, and Payne disclose the cleaning device of claim 2, wherein the split-frame design of the frame plate includes a first lateral wing and a second lateral wing pivotally connected at a frame hinge (Zorzo column 6 line 19-23, and figure 2, items 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zorzo, Newman, Wendelken, and Payne disclose the cleaning device of claim 3, wherein the mop frame including a spring-loaded (Zorzo figure 3, item 14) sliding latch (Zorzo figure 12, item 11) movably mounted on the first lateral wing and that can slide into engagement with a catch (Zorzo figure 3, item 12) on the second lateral wing.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zorzo, Newman, Wendelken, and Payne disclose the cleaning device of claim 4, wherein the sliding latch, when engaged to the catch, secures the mop frame in a set position wherein the first lateral wing and the second lateral wing are co-planar (Zorzo column 7, lines 9-22).
Regarding claim 6 the combination of Zorzo, Newman, Wendelken, and Payne disclose the cleaning device of claim 4, the cleaning pad cover includes a first pad pocket and a second pad pocket oppositely oriented with respect to each other to respectively receive the first triangular pointed tip and the second triangular pointed tip (Wendelken US paragraph [0018], WO figure 1 items 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Zorzo, Newman, Wendelken, and Payne disclose the cleaning device of claim 1, wherein the articulating handle joint (Newman figure 18, item 130) include a depressible button (Newman figure 18, item 86) to selectively lock and release the locking mechanism (Newman figure 18, item 84).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zorzo, Newman, Wendelken, and Payne disclose the cleaning device of claim 7, wherein the locking mechanism includes a plurality of detents (Newman figure 18, item 96) circularly arranged and receivable in correspondingly circularly arranged plurality of locking apertures (Newman figure 18, item 132).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zorzo, Newman, Wendelken, and Payne disclose the cleaning device of claim 8, wherein the articulating mop handle include an upper handle segment (Newman figure 18, item 114) and a lower handle segment (Newman figure 18, item 54) connected by the articulating handle joint (Newman figure 18, item 130).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Zorzo, Newman, Wendelken, and Payne disclose the cleaning device of claim 9, wherein the upper handle segment is configured as a telescoping handle (Newman figure 7, item 74) segment including a telescopic shaft that is extendable and retractable with respect to a tubular sleeve (Newman figure 7, item 72) along the linear handle axis.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Zorzo, Newman, Wendelken, and Payne disclose the cleaning device of claim 10, wherein the telescoping handle segment includes a twist lock slip collar (Newman paragraph [0072]) releasing and restraining sliding movement between the tubular sleeve and the telescopic shaft.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zorzo, Newman, Wendelken, and Payne disclose the cleaning device of claim 1, wherein the mop coupling includes a swivel pivot joint and frame pivot joint oriented orthogonally with respect to each other (Zorzo figure 1, item 5 and column 6 line 67 – column 7 line 3).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Zorzo, Newman, Wendelken, and Payne disclose the cleaning device of claim 12, wherein the mop coupling includes a triangular frame link interconnecting the swivel pivot joint and the frame pivot joint (Zorzo figure 1, item 5 and column 6 line 67 – column 7 line 3).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Zorzo, Newman, Wendelken, and Payne disclose the cleaning device of claim 13, wherein the mop coupling includes a connector collet (Newman figure 34 item 436) clamped to the mop handle by a collect nut (Newman figure 34 item 438).
Claims 15-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zorzo (US 7039969), in view of Newman, et al (US 20180141202), and Wendelken (US 20060200931 in English, WO 2005023078 with figures).
Regarding claim 15, Zorzo discloses a cleaning device for a restricted access controlled environment (please note, the verbiage of “for a restricted access controlled environment” is viewed as intended use) comprising: a mop coupling (Zorzo figure 2, item 5) connecting the articulating mop handle to the flat mop head, the mop coupling including: a swivel pivot joint enabling the flat mop head to angularly articulate with respect to the articulating mop handle about a swivel axis that is orthogonal to the linear handle axis; and a frame pivot joint enabling the flat mop head to angularly articulate with respect to the mop coupling about a longitudinal frame axis that is orthogonal to the swivel axis (Zorzo column 6 line 67 – column 7 line 3). Zorzo fails to disclose a hexagonally shaped flat mop head, an articulating handle elongated with respect to a linear handle axis, an articulating handle joint, a locking mechanism, and a handle having plurality of cleaning positions with respect to the linear handle axis.
Newman teaches an articulated mop handle elongated with respect to a linear handle axis (Newman figure 1, line D) and comprising an upper handle segment (Newman figure 18, item 114) and a lower handle segment (Newman figure 18, items 54) joined at an articulating handle joint (Newman figure 18, items 130) enabling the upper handle segment and the lower handle segment to angularly articulate with respect to a handle pivot axis that is orthogonal to the linear handle axis, the articulating handle joint include a locking mechanism (Newman figure 18, item 84) for selectively locking the articulating mop handle in a plurality of angular cleaning positions (Newman paragraph [0093]) with respect to the handle pivot axis.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zorzo to incorporate the teachings of Newman to provide a mop head with a telescoping and articulating handle. Newman further discusses in paragraphs 3-8 how the art recognizes telescoping and articulating joints are known in the art. These provide the benefit of allowing a user to use a tool from a more ergonomic position.
Wendelken teaches a hexagonally shaped flat mop head (Wendelken US paragraph [0018], WO figure 1 items 6 and 7) having a frame plate defining a frame plane.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zorzo to incorporate the teachings of Wendelken to provide a mop head with a hexagonal shape. Such a modification is viewed as a change in shape, which has been held to be of routine of one skilled in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). Doing so would improve the ability to clean, especially in corners, as recognized by Wendelken (US paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Zorzo, Newman, and Wendelken disclose the cleaning device of claim 15, wherein the articulating handle joint include a depressible push button (Newman figure 18, item 86) to selectively engage and disengage the locking mechanism (Newman figure 18, item 84).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Zorzo, Newman, and Wendelken disclose the cleaning device of claim 16, wherein the locking mechanism (Newman figure 18, item 84) includes a plurality of detent pins (Newman figure 18, item 96) that are circularly arranged and receivable in a correspondingly circularly arranged plurality of locking apertures (Newman figure 18, item 132).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Zorzo, Newman, and Wendelken disclose the cleaning device of claim 15, wherein the mop coupling includes a triangular frame link pivotally interconnecting the swivel pivot joint and the frame pivot joint (Zorzo figure 2, item 5 and column 6 line 67 – column 7 line 3).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Zorzo, Newman, and Wendelken disclose the cleaning device of claim 15, wherein the frame plate is a split-frame design including a first lateral wing and a second lateral wing pivotally connected at a frame hinge (Zorzo column 6 line 19-23, and figure 2, items 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Zorzo, Newman, and Wendelken disclose the cleaning device of claim 19, wherein the first lateral wing includes a first triangular pointed tip and the second lateral wing includes a second pointed tip laterally oriented away with respect to each other (Wendelken US paragraph [0018], WO Figure 1, Items 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Zorzo, Newman, and Wendelken disclose the cleaning device of claim 20, wherein the frame plate include a spring-loaded (Zorzo figure 3, item 14) sliding latch (Zorzo figure 9, item 4) movably mounted on the first lateral wing and that can slide into engagement with a catch (Zorzo figure 3, item 12) on the second lateral wing.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Zorzo, Newman, and Wendelken disclose the cleaning device of claim 21, wherein the sliding latch, when engaged to the catch, secures the mop frame in a set position wherein the first lateral wing and the second lateral wing are co-planar with the mop plane (Zorzo column 7, lines 9-22).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Zorzo, Newman, and Wendelken disclose the cleaning device of claim 15, wherein the segment is configured as a telescoping handle (Newman figure 7, item 74) segment including a telescopic shaft that is extendable and retractable with respect to a tubular sleeve (Newman figure 7, item 72) along the linear handle axis.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Zorzo, Newman, and Wendelken disclose the cleaning device of claim 15, wherein the plurality of angular cleaning positions that can be selectively locked by the locking mechanism includes: a right angled cleaning position (Zorzo paragraph [0093]) wherein the upper handle segment and the lower handle segment are orthogonal to each other; an obtuse cleaning position wherein upper handle segment and the lower handle segment are oriented at an obtuse angle to each other; and an acute cleaning position wherein the upper handle segment and the lower handle segment are oriented at an acute angle to each other.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rosenzweig (US 20100229315) discloses a handle for a cleaning apparatus that includes a lockable joint (figure 1, item 140) in the middle. Joint can be locked in several different positions (paragraph [0025]) and includes a button (figure 1, item 210) to actuate the lock (paragraph [0061]) and the teeth (figure 5, item 226) for locking. Upper handle (figure 1, 110), lower handle portion (figure 1, item 112), spring (figure 5, items 248 and 242). It also includes a point (figure 1, item 108) to connect the head to the handle with rotation about the y and z axis (paragraph [0027]).
Kresse et all (US 7487567) discloses a microfabric mop head cover (Figure 1, item 1) with pockets (item 13).
Rimer (US 5836039) discloses a collapsible mop head. It includes spring (figure 1 items 35 and 36) biased latches (22, 23) to hold the mop head pieces in place.
Uwe et al (WO 2007042285 A2) describes a hexagonal cleaning head (figure 1).
/FREDERICK A. HINDMAN JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/TOM RODGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723