DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I [figs. 1-25, claims 1-2 & 4-13] in the reply filed on 11/20/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 3 & 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/20/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/17/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 & 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 20210035504).
As to claim 1, Lee discloses a method for compensating for mura in a display device [abstract], the method comprising:
displaying, on a display panel (display panel 110a) [figs. 1 & 6 & para. 72] of the display device, frame data including high-grayscale line data (255-gray value 255g as high gray value) [fig. 6 & para. 72-73] and low-grayscale line data (0-gray value og as low gray value) [fig. 6 & para. 72-73];
identifying a mura occurrence area in a first display area of the display panel on which the low-grayscale line data are displayed (area corresponding to second scan line sl2 corresponding to second pixel row pxr2, where low gray value og is displayed on display panel 110a) [figs. 6 & 12-14 & para. 72 & 83-86]; and
adjusting and inputting, to first pixel lines, a pulse width of a gate signal that is input to the first pixel lines included in the mura occurrence area in order to compensate for the mura of the mura occurrence area (scan pulse for gate, corresponding to second scan line sl2 corresponding to second pixel row pxr2 where low gray value og is displayed is adjusted) [figs. 6 & 12-14 & para. 72 & 83-86].
As to claim 2, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein in the displaying, the display device displays the high-grayscale line data on a second display area of the display panel (area corresponding to high gray value 255g corresponding to first pixel row pxr1 corresponding first scan line sl1) [figs. 6 & 12-14 & para. 72 & 83-86], the second display area being different from the first display area (first pixel row pxr1 vs second pixel row pxr2) [figs. 6 & 12-14 & para. 72 & 83-86].
As to claim 8, Lee discloses a display device [abstract & fig. 1] for compensating for mura, the display device comprising:
a display panel (display panel 110a) [figs. 1 & 6 & para. 72] including a plurality of pixel lines (scan lines) [fig. 1 & para. 61] disposed in a gate line direction (scan lines supply scan pulse scanp) [figs. 1-6 & para. 61-62 & 72]; and
a display panel driver (display device 100 with scan driver 150 & data driver 130) [fig. 1 & para. 60] configured to write low-grayscale line data on first pixel lines included in a first display area of the display panel (0-gray value og as low gray value) [fig. 6 & para. 72-73], write high-grayscale line data on second pixel lines included in a second display area of the display panel (255-gray value 255g as high gray value) [fig. 6 & para. 72-73], and adjust a data writing period of the first pixel lines included in a mura occurrence area through identifying of the mura occurrence area in the first display area (scan pulse for gate, corresponding to second scan line sl2 corresponding to second pixel row pxr2 where low gray value og is displayed is adjusted) [figs. 6 & 12-14 & para. 72 & 83-86].
As to claim 9, Lee discloses the display device of claim 8, wherein the display panel driver is configured to adjust and input, to the first pixel lines, a pulse width of a first gate signal that determines a data writing period (scan pulse for period where line image data ILID for each pixel row) [fig. 7 & 12-14 & para. 72-73] of the first pixel lines.
As to claim 10, Lee discloses the display device of claim 8, wherein the display panel driver comprises:
a gate driving circuit (scan driver 150) [fig. 1 & para. 60] configured to output a plurality of gate signals to the first pixel lines and the second pixel lines, and adjust and output, to the first pixel lines, a pulse width of a first gate signal that determines a data writing period of the first pixel lines (scan pulse for gate, corresponding to second scan line sl2 corresponding to second pixel row pxr2 where low gray value og is displayed is adjusted) [figs. 6 & 12-14 & para. 72 & 83-86]; and
a data driving circuit (data driver 130) [fig. 1 & para. 60] configured to write the low-grayscale line data on the respective first pixel lines, and write the high-grayscale line data on the respective second pixel lines (data driver 130 supplies line image data ILID corresponding to low gray value og and high gray value 255g) [para. 64 & 71-72 & 83-86].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 & 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 20180190224).
Park et al. (US 20200302875).
Wang (US 20240038198).
/DAVID TUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622