Status under America Invents Act
Objection to the Drawings
The drawings (Figures 1D and 1E, filed October 17, 2024) are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84 (b)(1) because black and white photographs are not ordinarily permitted in utility applications because they reproduce poorly. Conventional drawings are a practical medium for illustrating the claimed invention.
Rejections based on Prior Art
Claims 1-4 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Hannula et al (US 4,776,791).
Hannula et al disclose a device 12 for removing a dental auxiliary 1 from a tooth 2, the device comprising: a first elongate member 44 comprising a proximal end and a distal end 42; a second elongate member 48 comprising a proximal end and a distal end 46, wherein the first
and second elongate members are pivotally coupled 40 to each other; a scraper 50 at the distal end 46 of the second elongate member 48, wherein the scraper 50 is configured to apply force to the dental auxiliary 1 to remove the dental auxiliary 1 from the tooth 2; and
a pair of sidewalls 14, 16 configured to capture debris resulting from the removal of the dental
auxiliary 1 from the tooth 2. Note annotated Figures 8 and 1 below.
In regard to claim 2, note the hollow structure 52, as well as, that formed by the shield 10 (“pair of walls” 14, 15). In regard to claim 3. Note the lower surface formed at the tip 50 (Figures 8, 9 and 12). In regard to claim 4, note Figure 9. In regard to claim 14 the Hannula et al removable shield 10 meets the “sleeve” limitation. In regard to claim 16, note Figure 1.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannula et al (US 4,776,791).
In Hannula et al the shield 10/”sidewalls” 14, 16 is formed as a separate piece from the orthodontic pliers, rather than “integrally” as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s invention would have found it obvious as a matter of routine practice to have formed the two separate pies as an integral piece in order to prevent an inadvertent separation between the two.
Claims 5-8, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannula et al (US 4,776,791) in view of Cusato (US 3,986,265).
In regard to claims 5-8, Hannula et al discloses that both distal ends of the elongate members are used to scrape the dental auxiliary 1 from the tooth 2 as illustrated in Figure 2. Cusato, however, teaches as an alternative to using both orthodontic plier jaw to remove an orthodontic bracket 20 (“dental auxiliary”) from a tooth 90 (See Figure 2), that it is desirable to provide one jaw member with a plastic cap 50 (“platform”) so that the one jaw member may be supported on the occlusal surface of the tooth in order to provide leverage for the second jaw member removing/scraping the orthodontic tooth from the tooth (See Figure 3). To have provided one of the Hannula et al jaw members (e.g. 42 of Figure 2) with a plastic cap member to be used as a “platform” in order to provide leverage in scraping an orthodontic bracket from a patient’s tooth would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
In regard to method claims 17, 19 and 20, Hannula et al disclose a method for removing a dental auxiliary 1 from a tooth 2, wherein the method comprises positioning a first distal end 42, 46 of a dental auxiliary removal device 12 proximate to a dental auxiliary 1 on a tooth 2 of a patient (see Figure 1), wherein the first distal end 46 comprises or is coupled to a scraper 50; positioning a second distal end 42 of the dental auxiliary removal device 12 proximate to the tooth 2 (See Figure 1, 2), applying a force against the dental auxiliary using the scraper and directing debris generated by the removal of the dental auxiliary between a pair of sidewalls proximate to the distal ends of the dental auxiliary removal device (see Figure 2). Hannula et al fail to disclose the claim limitation requiring the “second distal end 42 comprises or is coupled to a platform” and “applying a force against the dental auxiliary using the scraper while the tooth is supported by the platform.” Cusato, however, for a very similar method of removing orthodontic brackets from a patient’s tooth teaches that as an alternative to using both orthodontic plier jaw to remove an orthodontic bracket 20 (“dental auxiliary”) from a tooth 90 (See Figure 2), that it is desirable to provide one jaw member with a plastic cap 50 (“platform”) so that the one jaw member may be supported on the occlusal surface of the tooth in order to provide leverage for the second jaw member removing/scraping the orthodontic tooth from the tooth (See Figure 3). To have provided one of the Hannula et al jaw members (e.g. 42 of Figure 2) with a plastic cap member to be used as a “platform” in order to provide leverage in scraping an orthodontic bracket from a patient’s tooth would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Additionally. in regard to claims 19 and 20, the shield 10 and walls 14, 16 of Hannula et al is part of the removal device and meets the “sleeve” limitation.
Claims 9-12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannula et al (US 4,776,791) and Cusato (US 3,986,265), as applied above, and in further view of Hsien (US 2006/0230886).
Hannula et al as modified by Cusato above fails to teach the claimed “rotatable assembly pivotally coupled to the distal ends of the first and second elongate members.” Hsien, however, for similar such pliers teaches that it is desirable to provide a pivot so that the jaws of the pliers may be rotated with respect to the handles (note Figures 4 and 5) so that the user may more easily grasp and manipulate the handles in order to operate the pliers (note paragraph [0002]. To have provided the Hannula et/Cusato pliers with a pivot so that the jaw members may be rotated with respect to the handle grips in order to aid the user in the manipulation of the pliers as taught by Hsien would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. In regard to claims 10-12 Hsien further teaches providing the rotatable connection with a detent mechanism 25, 22, 24 in order to control and lock the angle of rotation of the jaws with respect to the handles.
/RALPH A LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772 (571) 272-4712