Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1, 6, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite “obtaining historical data on meteorological forecasts containing information regarding a plurality of meteorological variables of a target region; b) obtaining historical data on the berthing and non-berthing of ships of the target region; c) correlating the historical data on the berthing and non-berthing of ships with the data of the plurality of meteorological variables; and d) feeding the ANN model created for training and defining the parameters of the ANN model.”
The recited limitations above are a process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation done by a human but for the recitation of generic computer components under mental steps (human using pen and paper). That is, other than reciting “processors”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed by a human using pen and paper. For example, “obtaining”, “obtaining”, “correlating”, and “feeding” in the context of this claim encompasses the user to manually determine berthing data of ships and weather.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite three additional elements- a “processor” and a “non-transitory computer readable medium” to perform the above recited steps. The computer elements recited at a high-level of generality (generic computer elements performing a generic computer function of receiving information, identifying solutions and determining what should be presented to a user) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, the additional elements recited do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using the computer elements to perform the steps of claims 1, 6, 10 and 11 amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
The limitations of the dependent claims 2-5 and 7-9, further describe the identified abstract idea. In addition, the limitations of claims 2-5 and 7-9 define how berthing data is determined which further describes the abstract idea. None of the dependent claims when taken separately in combination with each dependent claims parent claim overcome the above analysis and are therefore similarly rejected as being ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nanri et al. referred herein as Nanri (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0195399).
As to claims 1, 6 and 10-11, Nanri teaches a method and non-transitory computer readable medium comprising:
obtaining historical data on meteorological forecasts containing information regarding a plurality of meteorological variables of a target region; (para 94)
b) obtaining historical data on the berthing and non-berthing of ships of the target region; (para 39 and 61)
c) correlating the historical data on the berthing and non-berthing of ships with the data of the plurality of meteorological variables to create an ordered database; (para 39, 46 and 94)
d) feeding the ANN model with the ordered database created for training and defining the parameters of the ANN model. (para 94 and 121)
As to claims 3 and 8 Nanri teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 6 as discussed above.
Nanri further teaches:
wherein the meteorological variables of the target region may be variables of wind direction, sea current direction, significant wave height, maximum sea wave height, peak of the sea wave period, wind speed, wind gusts, temperature and precipitation. (para 46, 69, 76 and 78)
As to claim 5, Nanri teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Nanri further teaches:
wherein for each time interval, the historical data may be divided into training data, used to train the model, and validation data, used to compare different models and hyperparameters. (para 95 and 98)
As to claim 7, Nanri teaches all the limitations of claim 6 as discussed above.
Nanri further teaches:
notifying the probability of berthing viability (y) of the ship for the predefined time interval. (para 95)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nanri et al. referred herein as Nanri (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0195399) in view of Morrell (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0079608).
As to claim 2, Nanri teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Nani does not teach:
a division of the data obtained into nighttime and daytime data and, for each data set, a different neural network is modeled.
However, Morrell teaches:
a division of the data obtained into nighttime and daytime data and, for each data set, a different neural network is modeled. (para 53-58)
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to obtain data based on the time of the day in Nani as taught by Morrell. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge taught by Morrell doing so would allow accurate estimation of arrival times.
As to claim 4 and 9, Nanri teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 6 as discussed above.
Nani does not teach:
comprising a visibility criterion for nighttime and daytime berths, respectively.
However, Morrell teaches:
comprising a visibility criterion for nighttime and daytime berths, respectively. (para 53-58)
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to obtain data based on the time of the day in Nani as taught by Morrell. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge taught by Morrell doing so would allow accurate estimation of arrival times
Conclusion
/ZEINA ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628