Initial Examination
Applicant's submission filed on 10/17/24 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-10, 11-12, 14, 18-19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a terminal device [fig. 5, 14], comprising a processor [fig. 5 no. 501, 507, fig. 14] and a memory [fig. 5 no. 503, fig. 14], wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program [fig. 2-3, 6-7, 10], and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to perform:
determining a first uplink resource, wherein the first uplink resource is used to transmit first information (The terminal uses the pre-configured time-freq resource (i.e., determining UL resource) for sending the first signal sequence (i.e., transmit first info) [pg. 28, par. 4 (P28:P4), see also broadcast msg [P30:P2]); and
transmitting the first information on the first uplink resource, or skipping transmitting the first information on the first uplink resource (When the terminal detects an alarm, it transmits the first signal sequence [P28:P4], where Examiner notes that no alarm detected or no data to be sent could be “skipping the transmission”).
Regarding claim 11, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is from the perspective of the network and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Zhang further discloses: a network device [fig. 5, 15], comprising a processor [fig. 5 no. 501, 507, fig. 15] and a memory [fig. 5 no. 503, fig. 15], wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program [fig. 2-3, 6-7, 10].
Regarding claim 20, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in method claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Zhang discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Zhang further discloses wherein the first information is used to indicate at least one of following:
a request to deactivate a preconfigured uplink resource, a request to activate a preconfigured uplink resource, a request to deactivate a resource within a first time period in a preconfigured uplink resource, a request to activate a resource within a second time period in a preconfigured uplink resource, a request to deactivate a start time unit of a preconfigured uplink resource, a request to deactivate an end time unit of a preconfigured uplink resource, a request to deactivate a time unit length of a preconfigured uplink resource, a request to activate a start time unit of a preconfigured uplink resource, a request to activate an end time unit of a preconfigured uplink resource, a request to activate a time unit length of a preconfigured uplink resource, a cell ID associated with a preconfigured uplink resource, or an uplink service type of the terminal device (Indicating data to be transmitted, where the resource was previously configured (i.e., indicates UL service type) [P28:P4, P32:P2-3]);
a request to deactivate a preconfigured downlink resource, a request to activate a preconfigured downlink resource, a request to deactivate a resource within a first time period in a preconfigured downlink resource, a request to activate a resource within a second time period in a preconfigured downlink resource, a request to deactivate a start time unit of a preconfigured downlink resource, a request to deactivate an end time unit of a preconfigured downlink resource, a request to deactivate a time unit length of a preconfigured downlink resource, a request to activate a start time unit of a preconfigured downlink resource, a request to activate an end time unit of a preconfigured downlink resource, a request to activate a time unit length of a preconfigured downlink resource, a cell ID associated with a preconfigured downlink resource, or a downlink service type of the terminal device; or
a discontinuous transmission (DTX) pattern of the terminal device, a discontinuous reception (DRX) pattern of the terminal device, a transmission parameter associated with the DTX pattern, a transmission parameter associated with the DRX pattern, an uplink transmission parameter of the terminal device, a downlink transmission parameter of the terminal device, an antenna configuration of the terminal device, a power parameter of the terminal device, or a power consumption mode of the terminal device (see “UL” par. above).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Zhang discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the first uplink resource is a resource in a first uplink cell, and the preconfigured uplink resource comprises a resource in the first uplink cell and/or a second uplink cell (The above UL resource is at least in a first UL cell [fig. 1, 4, 9]).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Zhang discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Zhang further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to perform:
receiving second configuration information, wherein the second configuration information is used to indicate at least one of following: configuring the terminal device to report the first information, configuring the first uplink resource, triggering the terminal device to report the first information, or reporting or skipping reporting the first information by the terminal device [fig. 7 no. S201, P30:P2].
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Zhang discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Zhang further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to perform:
sending third information, wherein the third information is used to indicate that the terminal device has a capability of sending the first information; or the third information is used to indicate that the terminal device supports a user equipment (UE) capability of reporting the first information [fig. 6 no. S102, fig. 7 no. S203, where the sending of the actual data is indicative of the UE capability of reporting the first info (i.e., otherwise, it could not report the data)].
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses everything claimed, as applied abovel
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the first uplink resource is a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource, and the first information is carried in a first PUCCH transmitted by using the first PUCCH resource [fig. 7 no. S202, P35:P1, where an alternative flow uses PUCCH].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claims 1 and 11 respectively, and further in view of Liu (US 20200383067 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Zhang discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Although Zhang discloses wherein the UL transmission parameter, as discussed above, Zhang does not explicitly disclose comprises at least one of following: a maximum quantity of uplink transmission layers, an uplink beam direction, an uplink minimum modulation and coding scheme (MCS), an uplink maximum MCS, an uplink average MCS, an uplink beam indication, or a spatial domain transmission filter indication; and/or the downlink transmission parameter comprises at least one of following: a maximum quantity of downlink transmission layers, a downlink beam direction, a downlink minimum MCS, a downlink maximum MCS, a downlink average MCS, a downlink beam indication, or a spatial domain receive filter indication. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Liu.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses:
comprises at least one of following: a maximum quantity of uplink transmission layers, an uplink beam direction, an uplink minimum modulation and coding scheme (MCS), an uplink maximum MCS, an uplink average MCS, an uplink beam indication, or a spatial domain transmission filter indication (UL max MCS [fig. 8 no. 804, 808, Abstract, see also par. 0103]); and/or
the downlink transmission parameter comprises at least one of following: a maximum quantity of downlink transmission layers, a downlink beam direction, a downlink minimum MCS, a downlink maximum MCS, a downlink average MCS, a downlink beam indication, or a spatial domain receive filter indication (see “UL” par. above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang with Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of facilitating a largest number of un-coded bits for the UL transmission interval [Liu Abstract].
Claims 5-7 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claims 1 and 11 respectively, and further in view of Lee (US 20220045827 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Zhang discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Although Zhang discloses wherein the processor is further configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to perform: determining behavior of the terminal device based on the first information, as discussed above, Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the behavior of the terminal device comprises at least one of following cases: in a case that the first information is used to indicate a request to deactivate a preconfigured uplink resource, determining, by the terminal device, that a resource starting from the Nth resource in the preconfigured uplink resource is an invalid preconfigured uplink resource, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1; in a case that the first information is used to indicate a request to activate a preconfigured uplink resource, determining, by the terminal device, that a resource starting from the Mth resource in the preconfigured uplink resource is a valid preconfigured uplink resource, wherein M is an integer greater than or equal to 1; in a case that the first information is used to indicate a request to deactivate a preconfigured downlink resource, determining, by the terminal device, that a resource starting from the Nth resource in the preconfigured downlink resource is an invalid preconfigured downlink resource, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1; or in a case that the first information is used to indicate a request to activate a preconfigured downlink resource, determining, by the terminal device, that a resource starting from the Mth resource in the preconfigured downlink resource is a valid preconfigured downlink resource, wherein M is an integer greater than or equal to 1. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Lee.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses wherein the behavior of the terminal device comprises at least one of following cases:
in a case that the first information is used to indicate a request to deactivate a preconfigured uplink resource, determining, by the terminal device, that a resource starting from the Nth resource in the preconfigured uplink resource is an invalid preconfigured uplink resource, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 [par. 0179, including the “Nth” resource];
in a case that the first information is used to indicate a request to activate a preconfigured uplink resource, determining, by the terminal device, that a resource starting from the Mth resource in the preconfigured uplink resource is a valid preconfigured uplink resource, wherein M is an integer greater than or equal to 1;
in a case that the first information is used to indicate a request to deactivate a preconfigured downlink resource, determining, by the terminal device, that a resource starting from the Nth resource in the preconfigured downlink resource is an invalid preconfigured downlink resource, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1; or
in a case that the first information is used to indicate a request to activate a preconfigured downlink resource, determining, by the terminal device, that a resource starting from the Mth resource in the preconfigured downlink resource is a valid preconfigured downlink resource, wherein M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (see 1st “UL” par. above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang with Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of providing eMBB, massive MTC, and URLLC [Lee par. 0033].
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Zhang and Lee disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Zhang further discloses wherein before the determining behavior of the terminal device based on the first information, the processor is further configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to perform:
receiving second information, wherein the second information is feedback information of the first information; or the second information is used to determine the behavior of the terminal device; or the second information is determined by a network device based on the first information [fig. 7 no. S201, P30:P2].
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Zhang discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Although Zhang discloses wherein the processor is further configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to perform: determining behavior of the terminal device based on the first information, as discussed above, Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the behavior of the terminal device comprises at least one of following cases: in a case that the first information is used to indicate a request to deactivate a resource within a first time period in a preconfigured uplink resource, determining, by the terminal device, that a resource within the first time period starting from the Nth resource in the preconfigured uplink resource is an invalid preconfigured uplink resource, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1; in a case that the first information is used to indicate a request to activate a resource within a second time period in a preconfigured uplink resource, determining, by the terminal device, that a resource within the second time period starting from the Mth resource in the preconfigured uplink resource is a valid preconfigured uplink resource, wherein M is an integer greater than or equal to 1; in a case that the first information is used to indicate a request to deactivate a resource within a first time period in a preconfigured downlink resource, determining, by the terminal device, that a resource within the first time period starting from the Nth resource in the preconfigured downlink resource is an invalid preconfigured downlink resource, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1; or in a case that the first information is used to indicate a request to activate a resource within a second time period in a preconfigured downlink resource, determining, by the terminal device, that a resource within the second time period starting from the Mth resource in the preconfigured downlink resource is a valid preconfigured downlink resource, wherein M is an integer greater than or equal to 1. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Lee.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses wherein the behavior of the terminal device comprises at least one of following cases:
in a case that the first information is used to indicate a request to deactivate a resource within a first time period in a preconfigured uplink resource, determining, by the terminal device, that a resource within the first time period starting from the Nth resource in the preconfigured uplink resource is an invalid preconfigured uplink resource, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 [par. 0179, including the “Nth” resource];
in a case that the first information is used to indicate a request to activate a resource within a second time period in a preconfigured uplink resource, determining, by the terminal device, that a resource within the second time period starting from the Mth resource in the preconfigured uplink resource is a valid preconfigured uplink resource, wherein M is an integer greater than or equal to 1;
in a case that the first information is used to indicate a request to deactivate a resource within a first time period in a preconfigured downlink resource, determining, by the terminal device, that a resource within the first time period starting from the Nth resource in the preconfigured downlink resource is an invalid preconfigured downlink resource, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1; or
in a case that the first information is used to indicate a request to activate a resource within a second time period in a preconfigured downlink resource, determining, by the terminal device, that a resource within the second time period starting from the Mth resource in the preconfigured downlink resource is a valid preconfigured downlink resource, wherein M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (see 1st “UL” par. above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang with Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of providing eMBB, massive MTC, and URLLC [Lee par. 0033].
Conclusion
/WALTER J DIVITO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465