DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 10, 13, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsorng et al (US 20210349504; “Tsorng” hereinafter), in view of Iwatake et al (JPH0635796; “Iwatake” hereinafter), and further in view of Tomoaki et al (JP 5527012B2; “Tomoaki” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Tsorng teaches: a support structure (306, fig. 3) supporting, on a circuit board (304, , fig. 3), one end (326, fig. 3, ¶[0064]) of an electronic module (318, fig. 3) having the other end (323, , fig. 3) connected to a connector (322, fig. 3, ¶[0064]) mounted on the circuit board (fig. 3), the support structure comprising:
a stud member (see annotated fig. 5 below) having a flange (see annotated fig. 5 below) fixed to a surface (308a, fig. 3) of the circuit board, and a cylindrical body (fig. 5 discloses the stud member comprising a cylindrical body) which has a screw hole (see annotated fig. 5 below) formed therein and which rises from the flange (see annotated fig. 5 below);
a screw (324, fig. 3)that supports the other end of the electronic module by being screwed into the screw hole (¶[0064]).
Tsorng does not explicitly teach:
a metal capture member having a stud connection part connected to the stud member, a screw holding part that holds the screw in a relatively rotatable state, and an elastically deformable arm part that connects the stud connection part and the screw holding part.
Tsorng does not explicitly teach:
a metal capture member having a stud connection part connected to the stud member, a screw holding part which holds the screw in a relatively rotatable state, and an elastically deformable arm part which connects the stud connection part and the screw holding part.
However, Iwatake teaches:
a capture member (16D, fig. 5) having a stud connection part (see annotated fig. 5, below) connected to a stud member (14), a screw holding part (see annotated fig. 5, below) which holds a screw (13, fig. 5) in a relatively rotatable state (as disclosed in page 2 of the disclosure, otherwise tightening or removing the screw would not be possible) and an elastically deformable arm part (see ‘EDAP’ in annotated fig. 5, below) which connects the stud connection part and the screw holding part (fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention modify Tsorng and include Iwatake’s capture member, such that a capture member having a stud connection part connected to the stud member, a screw holding part which holds the screw in a relatively rotatable state, and an elastically deformable arm part which connects the stud connection part and the screw holding part, in order to eliminate the risk of losing the screw when removing the electronic module for replacement (¶[01]).
Tsorng in view of Iwatake does not explicitly teach:
the a capture member comprising metal.
However, Tomoaki teaches:
a capture member (1, fig. 3) comprising metal (¶[0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tsorng in view of Iwatake, with Tomoaki’ teaching, such that the capture member comprises metal, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering choice (MPEP 2144.07). In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 6, Tsorng in view of Iwatake teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the stud connection part is relatively movable with respect to the cylindrical body along an axial direction of the cylindrical body.
However, Tomoaki teaches:
a capture member (1A, fig. 7), comprising a stud connection part (2, fig. 7) is relatively movable with respect to a cylindrical body (shaft of screw 7, fig. 7) along an axial direction of the cylindrical body (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 7-8, ¶[0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention modify Tsorng in view Iwatake, with Tomoaki teaching, such that the stud connection part is relatively movable with respect to the cylindrical body along an axial direction of the cylindrical body, in order for the cylindrical body to pass through the stud connection part (¶[0041]). The claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Tomoaki. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of a plurality of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (§MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim10, Tsorng teaches: an electronic apparatus comprising:
a circuit board (304, , fig. 3) having a connector (322, fig. 3) mounted thereon (fig. 3);
an electronic module (318, fig. 3) having one end (323, , fig. 3) thereof connected to the connector (¶[0064]); and
a support structure that supports (306), on the circuit board, the other end (326, fig. 3) of the electronic module (¶[0064]),
wherein the support structure has:
a stud member (see annotated fig. 5 below) which has a flange (see annotated fig. 5 below) fixed to a surface (308a, fig. 3) of the circuit board (fig. 3), and a cylindrical body (fig. 5 discloses the stud member comprising a cylindrical body) which has a screw hole (see annotated fig. 5 below) formed therein and rises from the flange (see annotated fig. 5 below);
a screw (324, fig. 3) that supports the other end of the electronic module by being screwed into the screw hole (¶[0064]).
Tsorng does not explicitly teach:
a metal capture member having a stud connection part connected to the stud member, a screw holding part which holds the screw in a relatively rotatable state, and an elastically deformable arm part which connects the stud connection part and the screw holding part.
However, Iwatake teaches:
a capture member (16D, fig. 5) having a stud connection part (see annotated fig. 5, below) connected to a stud member (14), a screw holding part (see annotated fig. 5, below) which holds a screw (13, fig. 5) in a relatively rotatable state (as disclosed in page 2, otherwise tightening or removing the screw would not be possible) and an elastically deformable arm part (see ‘EDAP’ in annotated fig. 5, below) which connects the stud connection part and the screw holding part (fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention modify Tsorng and include Iwatake’s capture member, such that a capture member having a stud connection part connected to the stud member, a screw holding part which holds the screw in a relatively rotatable state, and an elastically deformable arm part which connects the stud connection part and the screw holding part, in order to eliminate the risk of losing the screw when removing the electronic module for replacement (¶[01]).
Tsorng in view of Iwatake does not explicitly teach:
However, Tomoaki teaches:
a capture member (1, fig. 3) comprising metal (¶[0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tsorng in view of Iwatake, with Tomoaki’ teaching, such that the capture member comprises metal, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering choice (§MPEP 2144.07). In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 13, Tsorng in view of Iwatake and Tomoaki, teaches the limitations of claim 10, and Tsorng further teaches:
wherein the electronic module is a storage device (¶[0064]).
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsorng, in view of Iwatake and Tomoaki , and further in view of Ushioda et al (US 20220078924; “Ushioda” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 2, Tsorng in view of Iwatake and Tomoaki, teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the electronic module has a first ground portion on one surface at the other end thereof, and the screw holding part contacts the first ground portion.
However, Ushioda teaches:
a mainboard (24) has a first ground portion (24d, ¶ [0065]) on one surface at one end (fig. 7), and
a screw holding part (32, fig. 7) contacts the first ground portion (fig.7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention modify Tsorng in view of Iwatake and Tomoaki and include Ushioda’s first ground portion, such that the electronic module has a first ground portion on one surface at the other end thereof, and
the screw holding part contacts the first ground portion, in order to provide a shielding function against a noise generation by the electronic module (¶[0061]).
Regarding claim 11, Tsorng in view of Iwatake and Tomoaki, teaches the limitations of claim 10, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the electronic module has a first ground portion on one surface at the other end, and
the screw holding part contacts the first ground portion.
However, Ushioda teaches:
a mainboard (24) has a first ground portion (24d, ¶[0065]) on one surface at one end (fig. 7), and
a screw holding part (32, fig. 7) contacts the first ground portion (fig.7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention modify Tsorng in view of Iwatake and Tomoaki, and include Ushioda’s first ground portion, such that the electronic module has a first ground portion on one surface at the other end, and the screw holding part contacts the first ground portion, in order to provide a shielding function against a noise generation by the electronic module (¶[0061]).
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsorng, in view of Iwatake, Tomoaki and Ushioda, and further in view of Lee (US 7335032; “Lee” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, Tsorng in view of Iwatake, Tomoaki and Ushida, teaches the limitations of claim 2, and Ushida further teaches:
the electronic module having a second ground portion on the other surface opposite from the one surface at the other end (second instance of 24d).
Tsorng in view of Iwatake and Ushida does not explicitly disclose:
further including an electrically conductive member, which is placed between the stud connection part and the electronic module, and contacts the second ground portion.
However, Lee teaches:
an electrically conductive member (70, fig. 11, col. 2, lines 60-64), which is placed between a stud connection part (3, fig. 11) and an electronic module (90, fig. 10-11), and contacts a ground portion (80 and 90b, fig. 11, col. 3, lines 35-38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention modify Tsorng in view of Iwatake and Ushioda with Lee’s teching of an electrically conductive member, configured to Tsorng’s modified architecture, such that an electrically conductive member, is placed between the stud connection part and the electronic module, and contacts the second ground portion, in order to reduce interference during high speed signal transmission (col. 1, lines 47-51).
Regarding claim 12, Tsorng in view of Iwatake, Tomoaki and Ushida, teaches the limitations of claim 11, and Ushida further teaches:
wherein the electronic module having a second ground portion on the other surface opposite from the one surface at the other end (second instance of 24d).
wherein the electronic module has a second ground portion on the other surface opposite from the one surface at the other end.
Tsorng in view of Iwatake and Ushida does not explicitly disclose:
an electrically conductive member, which is placed between the stud connection part and the electronic module, and contacts the second ground portion, is included.
However, Lee teaches:
an electrically conductive member (70, fig. 11, col. 2, lines 60-64), which is placed between a stud connection part (3, fig. 11) and an electronic module (90, fig. 10-11), and contacts a ground portion (80 and 90b, fig. 11, col. 3, lines 35-38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention modify Tsorng in view of Iwatake and Ushioda with Lee’s teching of an electrically conductive member, configured to Tsorng’s modified architecture, such that an electrically conductive member, is placed between the stud connection part and the electronic module, and contacts the second ground portion, in order to reduce interference during high speed signal transmission (col. 1, lines 47-51).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 7-9, 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claims 1-3, a combination of limitations that teaches:
wherein the electrically conductive member is a ring-shaped gasket inserted onto the cylindrical body. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claims 1-3, a combination of limitations that teaches:
wherein the electrically conductive member is a metal leaf spring member fixed to the capture member. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that teaches:
wherein the stud connection part has a hole into which the cylindrical body is inserted, and a protrusion that protrudes from an inner circumference of the hole, and an outer circumferential surface of the cylindrical body is provided with a stopper portion that restricts a relative rotation of the capture member with respect to the cylindrical body by locking the protrusion. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that teaches:
wherein the stud connection part has a hole into which the cylindrical body is inserted,
the cylindrical body has: a first portion which is provided on a base side, rising from a flange, and inserted into the hole in a relatively rotatable manner, and a second portion which is continuously provided at a tip side of the first portion in a direction of rising from the flange, which can be inserted into the hole, and which prevents the stud connection part that has been rotated by a predetermined angle at the first portion from slipping off the cylindrical body, and the capture member further includes a stopper portion that is locked by the stud member in the case where the stud connection part is rotated by the predetermined angle at the first portion and prevented from slipping off the cylindrical body by the second portion, thus restricting the stud connection part from rotating more than the predetermined angle. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that teaches:
wherein the capture member further includes a cable guide which is provided integrally with the screw holding part and which holds a cable connected to the other end of the electronic module. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claim 10, a combination of limitations that teaches:
the electronic module being a communication module, further including an antenna element connected by a cable to a connection part provided on the other end of the communication module, and
the capture member further including a cable guide which is provided integrally with the screw holding part to hold the cable. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is:
US 9910466 B1 Memory Module Mounting System. This invention relates generally to a memory module mounting system including a bracket assembly configured to engage a system board. The bracket assembly includes: a standoff assembly that is configured to position a memory module a desired distance from the system board.
US 11445629 B2 Fastener for Use in Electronic Device. This invention generally relates to a fastener for use in an electronic device including a positioning unit and a clamping member. The positioning unit has a first supporting concave part allowing a first electronic device to be disposed, a fastening pin inserted in the positioning unit is disposed at a bottom end of clamping member, so that the bottom end of the clamping member enables the first electronic device to be in a locked status.
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2841