DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the following data:
18919225 filed 10/17/2024 is a Continuation of PCT/KR2024/014219, filed 09/20/2024 claims foreign priority to 202341063460, filed 09/04/2024 claims foreign priority to 202341063460, filed 09/21/2023.
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 10/17/2024, 04/10/2025 and 11/06/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anglin, JR. (US 2007/0011703) in view of Ronneke et al (US 2021/0136658).
Regarding claim 1, Anglin, JR. discloses method performed by a user equipment (UE) (fig. 6, item 18, content terminal) for multi-Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) operation (content terminal 18 (user equipment (UE)) includes a content retriever 30 (SIM) and a Subscriber Identity Module "SIM" 32. The content retriever 30 (SIM) is able to retrieve selected content using the connection 20 to the Internet 24 based on the preferences stored in the memory of the SIM 32. One or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9, [0036], lines 1-3, [0040], line 2), comprising:
identifying a default SIM of at least one service as the first SIM of the UE over a first non-terrestrial network (NTN) (In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a set top box 46 that is capable of receiving signals Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) (first non-terrestrial network (NTN)) is configured with one or more slots 48 to receive one or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9. A set top box 46 with multiple slots 48 allows more than one user 14 to record and store their content preferences 38, [0040], lines 1-3);
estimating a time period for completion of the at least one service based on one or more service parameters associated with the at least one service (The SIM 32 may also be utilized to store a schedule 44 (estimate a time period parameters) which contains a specification of a content terminal 18 and information pertaining to a content selection 36, including, but not limited to, the title, the date and time (estimate a time period parameters) of its emanation from a content source, and the date and time (parameters) for delivery (service) to a content terminal, [0039], lines 4-7);
Anglin, JR. does not specifically disclose concept of receiving one or more discontinuous coverage parameters associated with a first SIM of the UE;
configuring a second SIM of the UE to provide the at least one service based on the time period and the one or more discontinuous coverage parameters; and
switching the default SIM of at least one service from the first SIM to the second SIM of the UE.
However, Ronneke et al specifically teaches concept of receiving one or more discontinuous coverage parameters associated with a first SIM of the UE (When the service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) is running and the UE receives paging, the UE should respond as normal. Service gap control applies to low priority (delayTolerant), normal traffic, and exception reporting (for NB-IoT). b) Attach or TAU to a different PLMN with the same Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM): The service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) survives and controls the attach/TAU to the new PLMN, [0048], lines 1-2, [0049], lines 1-2, [0055], lines 1-2);
configuring a second SIM of the UE to provide the at least one service based on the time period and the one or more discontinuous coverage parameters (c) USIM swap (switch): The service gap timer is stopped and the service gap is reset; thus is seen as the receiving SIM (second SIM) is configured to receive the swapped (switched) at a particular time and service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) and service gap reset (discontinuous coverage parameters), [0056], line 1); and
switching the default SIM of at least one service from the first SIM to the second SIM of the UE c) USIM swap (switch): The service gap timer is stopped and the service gap is reset, [0055], lines 1-2, [0056], line 1).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Anglin, JR. with concept of receiving one or more discontinuous coverage parameters associated with a first SIM of the UE; configuring a second SIM of the UE to provide the at least one service based on the time period and the one or more discontinuous coverage parameters; and switching the default SIM of at least one service from the first SIM to the second SIM of the UE of Ronneke et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service gap control relating to a wireless device in a wireless communication system, (Ronneke et al, [0002], lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 2, Anglin, JR. discloses method, wherein configuring the second SIM (SIMs 30, [0040], lines 1-3) further comprises:
selecting the second SIM from among multi-SIMs of the UE (content terminal 18 (user equipment (UE)) includes a content retriever 30 (SIM) and a Subscriber Identity Module "SIM" 32. The content retriever 30 (SIM) is able to retrieve selected content using the connection 20 to the Internet 24 based on the preferences stored in the memory of the SIM 32. One or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9, [0036], lines 1-3, [0040], line 2);
determining a capability of the second SIM to provide the at least one service (The content retriever 30 is able to retrieve selected content using the connection 20 to the Internet 24, [0036], lines 2-3); and
configuring the second SIM of the UE to provide the at least one service (In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a set top box 46 that is capable of receiving signals from a CATV or Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) is configured with one or more slots 48 to receive one or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9. A set top box 46 with multiple slots 48 allows more than one user 14 to record and store their content preferences 38, [0040], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 3, Anglin, JR. discloses method (The present invention pertains to methods and apparatus for providing access to desired content in a any location which offers wired or wireless access to the Internet, [0002], lines 1-2),
Anglin, JR. does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the one or more discontinuous coverage parameters comprise at least one of: a satellite coverage availability information, a satellite ephemeris information, an unavailability configuration, an unavailability information, a start of an unavailability period, an unavailability period duration, an unavailability type, a network operator deployment information, an information from a server, a network broadcast parameter, or a network signaling parameter.
However, Ronneke et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the one or more discontinuous coverage parameters comprise at least one of: a satellite coverage availability information, a satellite ephemeris information, an unavailability configuration, an unavailability information, a start of an unavailability period, an unavailability period duration, an unavailability type, a network operator deployment information, an information from a server, a network broadcast parameter, or a network signaling parameter (When the service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) is running and the UE receives paging, the UE should respond as normal. Service gap control applies to low priority (delayTolerant), normal traffic, and exception reporting (for NB-IoT). b) Attach or TAU to a different PLMN with the same Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM): The service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) survives and controls the attach/TAU to the new PLMN, [0048], lines 1-2, [0049], lines 1-2, [0055], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Anglin, JR. with concept of wherein the one or more discontinuous coverage parameters comprise at least one of: a satellite coverage availability information, a satellite ephemeris information, an unavailability configuration, an unavailability information, a start of an unavailability period, an unavailability period duration, an unavailability type, a network operator deployment information, an information from a server, a network broadcast parameter, or a network signaling parameter of Ronneke et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service gap control relating to a wireless device in a wireless communication system, (Ronneke et al, [0002], lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 4, Anglin, JR. discloses method (The present invention pertains to methods and apparatus for providing access to desired content in a any location which offers wired or wireless access to the Internet, [0002], lines 1-2), wherein the second SIM (SIMs 30, [0040], lines 1-3) is registered with one of (In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a set top box 46 that is capable of receiving signals Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) (first non-terrestrial network (NTN)) is configured with one or more slots 48 to receive one or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9. A set top box 46 with multiple slots 48 allows more than one user 14 to record and store their content preferences 38, [0040], lines 1-3):
a Terrestrial Network (TN) and a second NTN (In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a set top box 46 that is capable of receiving signals Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) (first non-terrestrial network (NTN)) is configured with one or more slots 48 to receive one or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9. A set top box 46 with multiple slots 48 allows more than one user 14 to record and store their content preferences 38, [0040], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 5, Anglin, JR. discloses method (The present invention pertains to methods and apparatus for providing access to desired content in a any location which offers wired or wireless access to the Internet, [0002], lines 1-2), wherein configuring the second SIM (SIMs 30, [0040], lines 1-3) of the UE (fig. 6, item 18, content terminal) comprises (In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a set top box 46 that is capable of receiving signals from a CATV or Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) is configured with one or more slots 48 to receive one or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9. A set top box 46 with multiple slots 48 allows more than one user 14 to record and store their content preferences 38, [0040], lines 1-3):
receiving one or more another parameters associated with the second SIM, wherein the second SIM is registered with a second NTN (In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a set top box 46 that is capable of receiving signals Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) (first non-terrestrial network (NTN)) is configured with one or more slots 48 to receive one or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9. A set top box 46 with multiple slots 48 allows more than one user 14 to record and store their content preferences 38, [0040], lines 1-3);
determining a completion status of the at least one service on the second SIM based on the time period and the one or more another parameters associated with the second SIM, wherein the completion status is one of (The content terminal 18 includes a content retriever 30 and a Subscriber Identity Module "SIM" 32. The content retriever 30 is able to retrieve selected content using the connection 20 to the Internet 24 based on the preferences stored in the memory of the SIM 32. Today the most common manifestation of a "SIM" is a small electronic card that may be inserted into a mobile cellular phone. The SIM associates a fixed unique identification to that device. The SIM enables a cellular phone company to track (status) phone calls from that phone to provide billing statements to a customer, [0036], lines 1-6):
successful completion status and a failed completion status (The content terminal 18 includes a content retriever 30 and a Subscriber Identity Module "SIM" 32. The content retriever 30 is able to retrieve selected content using the connection 20 to the Internet 24 based on the preferences stored in the memory of the SIM 32. Today the most common manifestation of a "SIM" is a small electronic card that may be inserted into a mobile cellular phone. The SIM associates a fixed unique identification to that device. The SIM enables a cellular phone company to track (status) phone calls from that phone to provide billing statements to a customer, [0036], lines 1-6); and
configuring the second SIM to facilitate the at least one service on determining the successful completion status (In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a set top box 46 that is capable of receiving signals from a CATV or Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) is configured with one or more slots 48 to receive one or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9. A set top box 46 with multiple slots 48 allows more than one user 14 to record and store their content preferences 38, [0040], lines 1-3).
Anglin, JR. does not specifically disclose concept of discontinuous coverage parameters.
However, Ronneke et al specifically teaches concept of discontinuous coverage parameters (When the service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) is running and the UE receives paging, the UE should respond as normal. Service gap control applies to low priority (delayTolerant), normal traffic, and exception reporting (for NB-IoT). b) Attach or TAU to a different PLMN with the same Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM): The service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) survives and controls the attach/TAU to the new PLMN, [0048], lines 1-2, [0049], lines 1-2, [0055], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Anglin, JR. with concept of discontinuous coverage parameters of Ronneke et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service gap control relating to a wireless device in a wireless communication system, (Ronneke et al, [0002], lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 6, Anglin, JR. discloses method (The present invention pertains to methods and apparatus for providing access to desired content in a any location which offers wired or wireless access to the Internet, [0002], lines 1-2), wherein configuring the second SIM (SIMs 30, [0040], lines 1-3) of the UE (fig. 6, item 18, content terminal) comprises (In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a set top box 46 that is capable of receiving signals from a CATV or Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) is configured with one or more slots 48 to receive one or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9. A set top box 46 with multiple slots 48 allows more than one user 14 to record and store their content preferences 38, [0040], lines 1-3):
configuring the second SIM registered with the TN, to facilitate the plurality of services for at least a specified time period corresponding to an unavailability period duration of the first SIM (The envisioned content terminal 18, with its concomitant SIM 32, can be a stand alone device or built into mobile conveyances or fixed 98 as shown in FIG. 21. The inherent transportability of the SIM 30 combined with an Internet-based distribution system enables a user 14 to receive his or her preferred programming 36 anywhere in the world at a time and place of his or her choosing. Such a system would significantly advanced the state of the art and contribute innumerable economic benefits to users 14 and providers of such services, [0060], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 7, Anglin, JR. discloses method (The present invention pertains to methods and apparatus for providing access to desired content in a any location which offers wired or wireless access to the Internet, [0002], lines 1-2), further comprising:
performing a negotiation of support with the first NTN (In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a set top box 46 that is capable of receiving signals Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) (first non-terrestrial network (NTN)) is configured with one or more slots 48 to receive one or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9. A set top box 46 with multiple slots 48 allows more than one user 14 to record and store their content preferences 38, [0040], lines 1-3); and
receiving, from the first NTN, the one or more parameters associated with the first SIM in the multi-SIM of the UE (In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a set top box 46 that is capable of receiving signals Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) (first non-terrestrial network (NTN)) is configured with one or more slots 48 to receive one or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9. A set top box 46 with multiple slots 48 allows more than one user 14 to record and store their content preferences 38, [0040], lines 1-3).
Anglin, JR. does not specifically disclose concept of discontinuous coverage of support and parameters.
However, Ronneke et al specifically teaches concept of discontinuous coverage or support and parameters (When the service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) is running and the UE receives paging, the UE should respond as normal. Service gap control applies to low priority (delayTolerant), normal traffic, and exception reporting (for NB-IoT). b) Attach or TAU to a different PLMN with the same Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM): The service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) survives and controls the attach/TAU to the new PLMN, [0048], lines 1-2, [0049], lines 1-2, [0055], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Anglin, JR. with concept of discontinuous coverage of support and parameters Ronneke et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service gap control relating to a wireless device in a wireless communication system, (Ronneke et al, [0002], lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 8, Anglin, JR. discloses method (The present invention pertains to methods and apparatus for providing access to desired content in a any location which offers wired or wireless access to the Internet, [0002], lines 1-2), further comprising:
determining whether a coverage of the first SIM is completed based on the one or more discontinuous coverage parameters (The SIM 32 may also be utilized to store a schedule 44 (estimate a time period parameters) which contains a specification of a content terminal 18 and information pertaining to a content selection 36, including, but not limited to, the title, the date and time (estimate a time period parameters) of its emanation from a content source, and the date and time (parameters) for delivery (service) to a content terminal, [0039], lines 4-7); and
setting the first SIM as the default SIM of the UE based on the determining that the coverage of the first SIM is completed (The content terminal 18 includes a content retriever 30 and a Subscriber Identity Module "SIM" 32. The content retriever 30 is able to retrieve selected content using the connection 20 to the Internet 24 based on the preferences stored in the memory of the SIM 32. Today the most common manifestation of a "SIM" is a small electronic card that may be inserted into a mobile cellular phone. The SIM associates a fixed unique identification to that device. The SIM enables a cellular phone company to track (status) phone calls from that phone to provide billing statements to a customer, [0036], lines 1-6).
Anglin, JR. does not specifically disclose concept of discontinuous coverage.
However, Ronneke et al specifically teaches concept of discontinuous coverage (When the service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) is running and the UE receives paging, the UE should respond as normal. Service gap control applies to low priority (delayTolerant), normal traffic, and exception reporting (for NB-IoT). b) Attach or TAU to a different PLMN with the same Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM): The service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) survives and controls the attach/TAU to the new PLMN, [0048], lines 1-2, [0049], lines 1-2, [0055], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Anglin, JR. with concept of discontinuous coverage of Ronneke et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service gap control relating to a wireless device in a wireless communication system, (Ronneke et al, [0002], lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 9, Anglin, JR. discloses method (The present invention pertains to methods and apparatus for providing access to desired content in a any location which offers wired or wireless access to the Internet, [0002], lines 1-2), wherein the one or more service parameters include a service type, a size of service file, a call setup/connection time, a response from server, a response from emergency responder, an estimated call duration based on past history, a data browsing history of the user, an application usage statistics, a service history/statistics and a current uplink/downlink data rate on the one or more SIMs (When the SIM 32 is inserted into the set top box 46 in the second location 54, the user 14 would be required to access the biometric device 64 to access his or her content selections 36. The biometric information would be sent to the CATV head end or to the DBS master uplink facility 58, and compared with the registered biometric information. When access is authorized, content selections 36 are sent from the an Earth station 60 at the DBS master uplink facility 58 to a satellite 66, then back down to another Earth station 60 and then on to a content terminal 18 over a network connection 20, as shown in FIG. 14, [0045], lines 3-8).
Regarding claim 10, Anglin, JR. discloses method (The present invention pertains to methods and apparatus for providing access to desired content in a any location which offers wired or wireless access to the Internet, [0002], lines 1-2), wherein the at least one service comprises (The envisioned content terminal 18, with its concomitant SIM 32, can be a stand alone device or built into mobile conveyances or fixed 98 as shown in FIG. 21. The inherent transportability of the SIM 30 combined with an Internet-based distribution system enables a user 14 to receive his or her preferred programming 36 anywhere in the world at a time and place of his or her choosing. Such a system would significantly advanced the state of the art and contribute innumerable economic benefits to users 14 and providers of such services, [0060], lines 1-5):
data services, call services, emergency services, application usage, background services, or messaging services (The envisioned content terminal 18, with its concomitant SIM 32, can be a stand alone device or built into mobile conveyances or fixed 98 as shown in FIG. 21. The inherent transportability of the SIM 30 combined with an Internet-based distribution system enables a user 14 to receive his or her preferred programming 36 anywhere in the world at a time and place of his or her choosing. Such a system would significantly advanced the state of the art and contribute innumerable economic benefits to users 14 and providers of such services, [0060], lines 1-5)..
Regarding claim 11, Anglin, JR. discloses User Equipment (UE) (fig. 6, item 18, content terminal) for multi-Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) operation (content terminal 18 (user equipment (UE)) includes a content retriever 30 (SIM) and a Subscriber Identity Module "SIM" 32. The content retriever 30 (SIM) is able to retrieve selected content using the connection 20 to the Internet 24 based on the preferences stored in the memory of the SIM 32. One or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9, [0036], lines 1-3, [0040], line 2), comprising:
a first SIM configured to provide at least one service for the UE over a first NTN (In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a set top box 46 that is capable of receiving signals Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) (first non-terrestrial network (NTN)) is configured with one or more slots 48 to receive one or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9. A set top box 46 with multiple slots 48 allows more than one user 14 to record and store their content preferences 38, [0040], lines 1-3);
a second SIM (SIMs 30, [0040], lines 1-3);
memory, storing instructions, including one or more storage media (FIG. 7 offers a schematic depiction of the SIM 32, which may comprise a small card or substrate 38 that includes an embedded electronic memory and processor 40, [0038], lines 1-2); and
at least one processor including processing circuitry, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the UE to (FIG. 7 offers a schematic depiction of the SIM 32, which may comprise a small card or substrate 38 that includes an embedded electronic memory and processor 40, [0038], lines 1-2):
identify a default SIM of at least one service as the first SIM of the UE over the first NTN (In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a set top box 46 that is capable of receiving signals Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) (first non-terrestrial network (NTN)) is configured with one or more slots 48 to receive one or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9. A set top box 46 with multiple slots 48 allows more than one user 14 to record and store their content preferences 38, [0040], lines 1-3);
estimate a time period for completion of the at least one service based on one or more service parameters associated with the at least one service (The SIM 32 may also be utilized to store a schedule 44 (estimate a time period parameters) which contains a specification of a content terminal 18 and information pertaining to a content selection 36, including, but not limited to, the title, the date and time (estimate a time period parameters) of its emanation from a content source, and the date and time (parameters) for delivery (service) to a content terminal, [0039], lines 4-7);
Anglin, JR. does not specifically disclose concept of receive one or more discontinuous coverage parameters associated with the first SIM of the UE;
configure the second SIM of the UE to provide the at least one service based on the time period and the one or more discontinuous coverage parameters; and
switch the default SIM of at least one service from the first SIM to the second SIM of the UE.
However, Ronneke et al specifically teaches concept of receive one or more discontinuous coverage parameters associated with the first SIM of the UE (When the service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) is running and the UE receives paging, the UE should respond as normal. Service gap control applies to low priority (delayTolerant), normal traffic, and exception reporting (for NB-IoT). b) Attach or TAU to a different PLMN with the same Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM): The service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) survives and controls the attach/TAU to the new PLMN, [0048], lines 1-2, [0049], lines 1-2, [0055], lines 1-2);
configure the second SIM of the UE to provide the at least one service based on the time period and the one or more discontinuous coverage parameters ((c) USIM swap (switch): The service gap timer is stopped and the service gap is reset; thus is seen as the receiving SIM (second SIM) is configured to receive the swapped (switched) at a particular time and service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) and service gap reset (discontinuous coverage parameters), [0056], line 1); and
switch the default SIM of at least one service from the first SIM to the second SIM of the UE (c) USIM swap (switch): The service gap timer is stopped and the service gap is reset, [0055], lines 1-2, [0056], line 1)..
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Anglin, JR. with concept of receive one or more discontinuous coverage parameters associated with the first SIM of the UE; configure the second SIM of the UE to provide the at least one service based on the time period and the one or more discontinuous coverage parameters; and switch the default SIM of at least one service from the first SIM to the second SIM of the UE of Ronneke et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service gap control relating to a wireless device in a wireless communication system, (Ronneke et al, [0002], lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 12, Anglin, JR. discloses UE (fig. 6, item 18, content terminal), wherein the instructions, for configuring the second SIM (SIMs 30, [0040], lines 1-3), when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively (FIG. 7 offers a schematic depiction of the SIM 32, which may comprise a small card or substrate 38 that includes an embedded electronic memory and processor 40, [0038], lines 1-2), cause the UE (fig. 6, item 18, content terminal) to:
select the second SIM from among multi-SIMs of the UE (content terminal 18 (user equipment (UE)) includes a content retriever 30 (SIM) and a Subscriber Identity Module "SIM" 32. The content retriever 30 (SIM) is able to retrieve selected content using the connection 20 to the Internet 24 based on the preferences stored in the memory of the SIM 32. One or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9, [0036], lines 1-3, [0040], line 2);
determine a capability of the second SIM to provide the at least one service (The content retriever 30 is able to retrieve selected content using the connection 20 to the Internet 24, [0036], lines 2-3); and
configure the second SIM of the UE to provide the at least one service (In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a set top box 46 that is capable of receiving signals from a CATV or Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) is configured with one or more slots 48 to receive one or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9. A set top box 46 with multiple slots 48 allows more than one user 14 to record and store their content preferences 38, [0040], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 13, Anglin, JR. discloses UE (fig. 6, item 18, content terminal), wherein the one or more parameters comprise at least one o f(The SIM 32 may also be utilized to store a schedule 44 (estimate a time period parameters) which contains a specification of a content terminal 18 and information pertaining to a content selection 36, including, but not limited to, the title, the date and time (estimate a time period parameters) of its emanation from a content source, and the date and time (parameters) for delivery (service) to a content terminal, [0039], lines 4-7):
satellite coverage availability information, a satellite ephemeris information, an unavailability configuration, an unavailability information, a start of an unavailability period, an unavailability period duration, an unavailability type, a network operator deployment information, an information from a server, a network broadcast parameter, or a network signaling parameter (In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a set top box 46 that is capable of receiving signals from a CATV or Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) is configured with one or more slots 48 to receive one or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9. A set top box 46 with multiple slots 48 allows more than one user 14 to record and store their content preferences 38, [0040], lines 1-3).
Anglin, JR. does not specifically disclose concept of discontinuous coverage parameters.
However, Ronneke et al specifically teaches concept of discontinuous coverage parameters (When the service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) is running and the UE receives paging, the UE should respond as normal. Service gap control applies to low priority (delayTolerant), normal traffic, and exception reporting (for NB-IoT). b) Attach or TAU to a different PLMN with the same Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM): The service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) survives and controls the attach/TAU to the new PLMN, [0048], lines 1-2, [0049], lines 1-2, [0055], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Anglin, JR. with concept of discontinuous coverage parameters of Ronneke et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service gap control relating to a wireless device in a wireless communication system, (Ronneke et al, [0002], lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 14, Anglin, JR. discloses UE (fig. 6, item 18, content terminal), wherein the second SIM (SIMs 30, [0040], lines 1-3) is registered with one of (In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a set top box 46 that is capable of receiving signals Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) (first non-terrestrial network (NTN)) is configured with one or more slots 48 to receive one or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9. A set top box 46 with multiple slots 48 allows more than one user 14 to record and store their content preferences 38, [0040], lines 1-3):
a Terrestrial Network (TN) and a second NTN (In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a set top box 46 that is capable of receiving signals Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) (first non-terrestrial network (NTN)) is configured with one or more slots 48 to receive one or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9. A set top box 46 with multiple slots 48 allows more than one user 14 to record and store their content preferences 38, [0040], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 15, Anglin, JR. discloses UE (fig. 6, item 18, content terminal), wherein the instructions, for configuring the second SIM (SIMs 30, [0040], lines 1-3), when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively (FIG. 7 offers a schematic depiction of the SIM 32, which may comprise a small card or substrate 38 that includes an embedded electronic memory and processor 40, [0038], lines 1-2), cause the UE (fig. 6, item 18, content terminal) to:
receive one or more another parameters associated with the second SIM, wherein the second SIM is registered with a second NTN (In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a set top box 46 that is capable of receiving signals Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) (first non-terrestrial network (NTN)) is configured with one or more slots 48 to receive one or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9. A set top box 46 with multiple slots 48 allows more than one user 14 to record and store their content preferences 38, [0040], lines 1-3);
determine a completion status of the at least one service on the second SIM based on the time period and the one or more another parameters associated with the second SIM, wherein the completion status is one of (The content terminal 18 includes a content retriever 30 and a Subscriber Identity Module "SIM" 32. The content retriever 30 is able to retrieve selected content using the connection 20 to the Internet 24 based on the preferences stored in the memory of the SIM 32. Today the most common manifestation of a "SIM" is a small electronic card that may be inserted into a mobile cellular phone. The SIM associates a fixed unique identification to that device. The SIM enables a cellular phone company to track (status) phone calls from that phone to provide billing statements to a customer, [0036], lines 1-6):
successful completion status and a failed completion status (The content terminal 18 includes a content retriever 30 and a Subscriber Identity Module "SIM" 32. The content retriever 30 is able to retrieve selected content using the connection 20 to the Internet 24 based on the preferences stored in the memory of the SIM 32. Today the most common manifestation of a "SIM" is a small electronic card that may be inserted into a mobile cellular phone. The SIM associates a fixed unique identification to that device. The SIM enables a cellular phone company to track (status) phone calls from that phone to provide billing statements to a customer, [0036], lines 1-6); and
configure the second SIM to facilitate the at least one service on determining the successful completion status (In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a set top box 46 that is capable of receiving signals from a CATV or Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) is configured with one or more slots 48 to receive one or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9. A set top box 46 with multiple slots 48 allows more than one user 14 to record and store their content preferences 38, [0040], lines 1-3).
Anglin, JR. does not specifically disclose concept of discontinuous coverage parameters.
However, Ronneke et al specifically teaches concept of discontinuous coverage parameters (When the service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) is running and the UE receives paging, the UE should respond as normal. Service gap control applies to low priority (delayTolerant), normal traffic, and exception reporting (for NB-IoT). b) Attach or TAU to a different PLMN with the same Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM): The service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) survives and controls the attach/TAU to the new PLMN, [0048], lines 1-2, [0049], lines 1-2, [0055], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Anglin, JR. with concept of discontinuous coverage parameters of Ronneke et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service gap control relating to a wireless device in a wireless communication system, (Ronneke et al, [0002], lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 16, Anglin, JR. discloses UE (fig. 6, item 18, content terminal), wherein the instructions, for configuring the second SIM (SIMs 30, [0040], lines 1-3), when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively (FIG. 7 offers a schematic depiction of the SIM 32, which may comprise a small card or substrate 38 that includes an embedded electronic memory and processor 40, [0038], lines 1-2), cause the UE to (fig. 6, item 18, content terminal):
configure the second SIM registered with the TN, to facilitate the plurality of services for at least a specified time period corresponding to an unavailability period duration of the first SIM (The envisioned content terminal 18, with its concomitant SIM 32, can be a stand alone device or built into mobile conveyances or fixed 98 as shown in FIG. 21. The inherent transportability of the SIM 30 combined with an Internet-based distribution system enables a user 14 to receive his or her preferred programming 36 anywhere in the world at a time and place of his or her choosing. Such a system would significantly advanced the state of the art and contribute innumerable economic benefits to users 14 and providers of such services, [0060], lines 1-5)..
Regarding claim 17, Anglin, JR. discloses UE (fig. 6, item 18, content terminal), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively (FIG. 7 offers a schematic depiction of the SIM 32, which may comprise a small card or substrate 38 that includes an embedded electronic memory and processor 40, [0038], lines 1-2), cause the UE (fig. 6, item 18, content terminal) to:
perform a negotiation of support with the first NTN (In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a set top box 46 that is capable of receiving signals Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) (first non-terrestrial network (NTN)) is configured with one or more slots 48 to receive one or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9. A set top box 46 with multiple slots 48 allows more than one user 14 to record and store their content preferences 38, [0040], lines 1-3); and
receive, from the first NTN, the one or more parameters associated with the first SIM in the multi-SIM of the UE (In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a set top box 46 that is capable of receiving signals Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) (first non-terrestrial network (NTN)) is configured with one or more slots 48 to receive one or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9. A set top box 46 with multiple slots 48 allows more than one user 14 to record and store their content preferences 38, [0040], lines 1-3).
Anglin, JR. does not specifically disclose concept of discontinuous coverage of support and parameters.
However, Ronneke et al specifically teaches concept of discontinuous coverage or support and parameters (When the service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) is running and the UE receives paging, the UE should respond as normal. Service gap control applies to low priority (delayTolerant), normal traffic, and exception reporting (for NB-IoT). b) Attach or TAU to a different PLMN with the same Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM): The service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) survives and controls the attach/TAU to the new PLMN, [0048], lines 1-2, [0049], lines 1-2, [0055], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Anglin, JR. with concept of discontinuous coverage of support and parameters Ronneke et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service gap control relating to a wireless device in a wireless communication system, (Ronneke et al, [0002], lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 18, Anglin, JR. discloses UE (fig. 6, item 18, content terminal), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively (FIG. 7 offers a schematic depiction of the SIM 32, which may comprise a small card or substrate 38 that includes an embedded electronic memory and processor 40, [0038], lines 1-2), cause the UE (fig. 6, item 18, content terminal) to:
determine whether a coverage of the first SIM is completed based on the one or more first coverage parameters (The SIM 32 may also be utilized to store a schedule 44 (estimate a time period parameters) which contains a specification of a content terminal 18 and information pertaining to a content selection 36, including, but not limited to, the title, the date and time (estimate a time period parameters) of its emanation from a content source, and the date and time (parameters) for delivery (service) to a content terminal, [0039], lines 4-7); and
set the first SIM as the default SIM of the UE based on the determining that the coverage of the first SIM is completed (The content terminal 18 includes a content retriever 30 and a Subscriber Identity Module "SIM" 32. The content retriever 30 is able to retrieve selected content using the connection 20 to the Internet 24 based on the preferences stored in the memory of the SIM 32. Today the most common manifestation of a "SIM" is a small electronic card that may be inserted into a mobile cellular phone. The SIM associates a fixed unique identification to that device. The SIM enables a cellular phone company to track (status) phone calls from that phone to provide billing statements to a customer, [0036], lines 1-6).
Anglin, JR. does not specifically disclose concept of discontinuous coverage parameters.
However, Ronneke et al specifically teaches concept of discontinuous coverage parameters (When the service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) is running and the UE receives paging, the UE should respond as normal. Service gap control applies to low priority (delayTolerant), normal traffic, and exception reporting (for NB-IoT). b) Attach or TAU to a different PLMN with the same Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM): The service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) survives and controls the attach/TAU to the new PLMN, [0048], lines 1-2, [0049], lines 1-2, [0055], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Anglin, JR. with concept of discontinuous coverage parameters of Ronneke et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service gap control relating to a wireless device in a wireless communication system, (Ronneke et al, [0002], lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 19, Anglin, JR. discloses UE (fig. 6, item 18, content terminal), wherein the one or more service parameters include a service type, a size of service file, a call setup/connection time, a response from server, a response from emergency responder, an estimated call duration based on past history, a data browsing history of the user, an application usage statistics, a service history/statistics and a current uplink/downlink data rate on the one or more SIMs (When the SIM 32 is inserted into the set top box 46 in the second location 54, the user 14 would be required to access the biometric device 64 to access his or her content selections 36. The biometric information would be sent to the CATV head end or to the DBS master uplink facility 58, and compared with the registered biometric information. When access is authorized, content selections 36 are sent from the an Earth station 60 at the DBS master uplink facility 58 to a satellite 66, then back down to another Earth station 60 and then on to a content terminal 18 over a network connection 20, as shown in FIG. 14, [0045], lines 3-8).
Regarding claim 20, Anglin, JR. discloses non-transitory computer-readable medium storing one or more programs including instructions (FIG. 7 offers a schematic depiction of the SIM 32, which may comprise a small card or substrate 38 that includes an embedded electronic memory and processor 40, [0038], lines 1-2), when individually and/or collectively executed by at least one processor of a user equipment (UE) with a first SIM (FIG. 7 offers a schematic depiction of the SIM 32, which may comprise a small card or substrate 38 that includes an embedded electronic memory and processor 40, [0038], lines 1-2) configured to provide at least one service for the UE over a first non-terrestrial network (NTN) (In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a set top box 46 that is capable of receiving signals Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) (first non-terrestrial network (NTN)) is configured with one or more slots 48 to receive one or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9. A set top box 46 with multiple slots 48 allows more than one user 14 to record and store their content preferences 38, [0040], lines 1-3) and a second SIM (SIMs 30, [0040], lines 1-3), cause the UE (fig. 6, item 18, content terminal) to:
identify a default SIM of at least one service as the first SIM of the UE over the first NTN (In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a set top box 46 that is capable of receiving signals Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) (first non-terrestrial network (NTN)) is configured with one or more slots 48 to receive one or more SIMs 30 as shown in FIG. 9. A set top box 46 with multiple slots 48 allows more than one user 14 to record and store their content preferences 38, [0040], lines 1-3);
estimate a time period for completion of the at least one service based on one or more service parameters associated with the at least one service (The SIM 32 may also be utilized to store a schedule 44 (estimate a time period parameters) which contains a specification of a content terminal 18 and information pertaining to a content selection 36, including, but not limited to, the title, the date and time (estimate a time period parameters) of its emanation from a content source, and the date and time (parameters) for delivery (service) to a content terminal, [0039], lines 4-7);
Anglin, JR. does not specifically disclose concept of receive one or more discontinuous coverage parameters associated with the first SIM of the UE;
configure the second SIM of the UE to provide the at least one service based on the time period and the one or more discontinuous coverage parameters; and
switch the default SIM of at least one service from the first SIM to the second SIM of the UE.
However, Ronneke et al specifically teaches concept of receive one or more discontinuous coverage parameters associated with the first SIM of the UE (When the service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) is running and the UE receives paging, the UE should respond as normal. Service gap control applies to low priority (delayTolerant), normal traffic, and exception reporting (for NB-IoT). b) Attach or TAU to a different PLMN with the same Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM): The service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) survives and controls the attach/TAU to the new PLMN, [0048], lines 1-2, [0049], lines 1-2, [0055], lines 1-2);
configure the second SIM of the UE to provide the at least one service based on the time period and the one or more discontinuous coverage parameters ((c) USIM swap (switch): The service gap timer is stopped and the service gap is reset; thus is seen as the receiving SIM (second SIM) is configured to receive the swapped (switched) at a particular time and service gap timer (discontinuous coverage parameters) and service gap reset (discontinuous coverage parameters), [0056], line 1); and
switch the default SIM of at least one service from the first SIM to the second SIM of the UE (c) USIM swap (switch): The service gap timer is stopped and the service gap is reset, [0055], lines 1-2, [0056], line 1).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Anglin, JR. with concept of receive one or more discontinuous coverage parameters associated with the first SIM of the UE; configure the second SIM of the UE to provide the at least one service based on the time period and the one or more discontinuous coverage parameters; and switch the default SIM of at least one service from the first SIM to the second SIM of the UE of Ronneke et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service gap control relating to a wireless device in a wireless communication system, (Ronneke et al, [0002], lines 2-3).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681