DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 7/24/2026 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the crossed out references have already been considered in a previously filed IDS. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Niedzielski et al. (US PGPub 2014/0048730, provided from the IDS filed 10/17/2024.hereinafter Niedzielski).
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 1 of Niedzielski discloses a radiation shielding system (a radiation protection system for protecting medical personal from radiation being applied from a radiation source to a patient, see abstract), comprising:
a table including an arm rest (patient 12 is on the x-ray table 14, see paragraph [0038]; an arm can rest upon the table as shown in Fig. 1);
a first radiation shield extending upwardly with respect to the arm rest (radiation protection system 10 includes a radiation shielding wall consisting of an upper shield 21, see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0038]; upper shield 21 extending upward with respect to the table); and
a second radiation shield extending downwardly with respect to the arm rest (lower shield 28 can be deployed or lowered and connected to the table 14, see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 1 of Niedzielski discloses the first radiation shield is attached to the arm rest (once the shield 21 is positioned over the patient, the lower shield 28 can be lowered or lowered and connected to the table, see paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 3, Fig. 1 of Niedzielski discloses the first radiation shield is positioned on a first side of the arm rest and wherein the second radiation shield is positioned on a second side of the arm rest (upper radiation shield 21 is positioned above the table 14 and the lower shield 28 is positioned below the table, see paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 5, Fig. 1 of Niedzielski discloses the first radiation shield and the second radiation shield are each connected to the arm rest (once the upper shield 21 is positioned over the patient, the lower shield 28 can be lowered or lowered and connected to the table, see paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 6, Fig. 1 of Niedzielski discloses an upper edge of the first radiation shield is positioned above an upper edge of the arm rest (upper edge of upper shield 21 is positioned above the table 14, see paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 1 of Niedzielski discloses a lower edge of the second radiation shield is positioned beneath a lower edge of the arm rest (lower edge of lower shield 28 is positioned below the table 14, see paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 8, Fig. 1 of Niedzielski discloses a lower edge of the second radiation shield is positioned beneath a lower edge of the arm rest (lower edge of lower shield 28 is positioned below the table 14, see paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 9, Fig. 1 of Niedzielski discloses an upper edge of the second radiation shield is positioned beneath the lower edge of the arm rest (lower shield 28 is positioned below the table 14, see paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 10, Fig. 1 of Niedzielski discloses a third radiation shield (radiation shielding interface or patient drape 24 is connected to the radiation shielding window 22, see paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 11, Fig. 1 of Niedzielski discloses the third radiation shield is perpendicular with respect to the first radiation shield (radiation shielding interface or patient drape 24 extends alongside the patient on the table 14, see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0038]; perpendicular to the upper shield 21).
Regarding claim 12, Fig. 1 of Niedzielski discloses the third radiation shield is perpendicular with respect to the second radiation shield (radiation shielding interface or patient drape 24 extends alongside the patient on the table 14, see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0038]; perpendicular to the lower shield 28).
Regarding claim 13, Fig. 1 of Niedzielski discloses the third radiation shield is parallel with respect to the arm rest (radiation shielding interface or patient drape 24 extends alongside the patient on the table 14, see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0038]; parallel to the table 14).
Regarding claim 14, Fig. 1 of Niedzielski discloses the third radiation shield extends across at least a portion of an upper surface of the table (radiation shielding interface or patient drape 24 extends alongside the patient on the table 14, see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0038]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niedzielski in view of Goff et al. (US PGPub 2011/0184278, provided in IDS filed 10/17/2024, hereinafter Goff).
Regarding claim 15, Fig. 1 of Niedzielski discloses a radiation shielding system (a radiation protection system for protecting medical personal from radiation being applied from a radiation source to a patient, see abstract), comprising:
a table (patient 12 is on the x-ray table 14, see paragraph [0038]);
a first radiation shield connected to the table, wherein the first radiation shield extends upwardly with respect to the table (radiation protection system 10 includes a radiation shielding wall consisting of an upper shield 21, see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0038]; upper shield 21 extending upward with respect to the table); and
a second radiation shield connected to the table, wherein the second radiation shield extends downwardly with respect to the table (lower shield 28 can be deployed or lowered and connected to the table 14, see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0038]).
A difference between Niedzielski and the claimed invention is an arm rest attached to a first side of the table.
Fig. 14 of Goff discloses a medical apparatus 110 comprising an operating table 112 suitable for supporting a patient 114 (see Fig. 14 and paragraph [0040]). Goff further teaches an arm board 116 secured to one side of the operating table which includes a shield portion 128 (see paragraph [0040]).
Goff modifies Niedzielski by suggesting attaching an arm board to the side of the operating table of Niedzielski.
Since both inventions are drawn to a medical apparatus for supporting a patient, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Niedzielski by attaching an arm board to the side of the operating table for the purpose of stabilizing a patient’s limb (i.e. arm) as taught by Goff (see paragraph [0040]). Such a modification would still allow the radiation shields of Niedzielski to attach to a table by any means known to those skilled in the art as taught by Niedzielski (see paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 16, Fig. 1 of Niedzielski discloses a third radiation shield (radiation shielding interface or patient drape 24 is connected to the radiation shielding window 22, see paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 17, Fig. 1 of Niedzielski discloses the third radiation shield is perpendicular with respect to the first radiation shield (radiation shielding interface or patient drape 24 extends alongside the patient on the table 14, see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0038]; perpendicular to the upper shield 21).
Regarding claim 18, Fig. 1 of Niedzielski discloses the third radiation shield is perpendicular with respect to the second radiation shield (radiation shielding interface or patient drape 24 extends alongside the patient on the table 14, see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0038]; perpendicular to the lower shield 28).
Regarding claim 19, Fig. 1 of Niedzielski discloses the third radiation shield extends across at least a portion of an upper surface of the table (radiation shielding interface or patient drape 24 extends alongside the patient on the table 14, see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0038]; parallel to the table 14).
Regarding claim 20, Fig. 1 of Niedzielski discloses a radiation shielding system (a radiation protection system for protecting medical personal from radiation being applied from a radiation source to a patient, see abstract), comprising:
a table (patient 12 is on the x-ray table 14, see paragraph [0038]);
a first radiation shield connected to the table, wherein the first radiation shield extends upwardly with respect to the table, wherein the first radiation shield extends upwardly with respect to the table such that an upper edge of the first radiation shield is positioned above an upper edge of the table (radiation protection system 10 includes a radiation shielding wall consisting of an upper shield 21, see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0038]; upper shield 21 extending upward with respect to the table; upper edge of upper shield 21 is positioned above the table 14, see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0038]);
a second radiation shield connected to the table, wherein the second radiation shield extends downwardly with respect to the table such that a lower edge of the second radiation shield is positioned beneath a lower edge of the table (lower shield 28 can be deployed or lowered and connected to the table 14, see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0038]; lower edge of lower shield 28 is positioned below the table 14, see paragraph [0038]); and
a third radiation shield extending perpendicular with respect to the second radiation shield (radiation shielding interface or patient drape 24 extends alongside the patient on the table 14, see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0038]; perpendicular to the lower shield 28).
A difference between Niedzielski and the claimed invention is an arm rest attached to a first side of the table.
Fig. 14 of Goff discloses a medical apparatus 110 comprising an operating table 112 suitable for supporting a patient 114 (see Fig. 14 and paragraph [0040]). Goff further teaches an arm board 116 secured to one side of the operating table which includes a shield portion 128 (see paragraph [0040]).
Goff modifies Niedzielski by suggesting attaching an arm board to the side of the operating table of Niedzielski.
Since both inventions are drawn to a medical apparatus for supporting a patient, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Niedzielski by attaching an arm board to the side of the operating table for the purpose of stabilizing a patient’s limb (i.e. arm) as taught by Goff (see paragraph [0040]). Such a modification would still allow the radiation shields of Niedzielski to attach to a table by any means known to those skilled in the art as taught by Niedzielski (see paragraph [0038]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combinations of limitations including, the first and second radiation shields are separated by the arm rest.
Conclusion
Hanway Chang
/HC/ Examiner, Art Unit 2878
/GEORGIA Y EPPS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2878