CTNF 18/919,296 CTNF 84034 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “a second virtual object interacted in cooperation with the target object” in lines 1-2. However, claim 1 already recites “a second virtual object interacted in cooperation with the target object” in lines 4-5. The Examiner believes claim 5 should recite “the second virtual object interacted in cooperation with the target object” Appropriate correction is required. 07-29-01 AIA Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “a second virtual object interacted in cooperation with the target object” in lines 1-2. However, claim 12 already recites “a second virtual object interacted in cooperation with the target object” in lines 10-11. The Examiner believes claim 16 should recite “the second virtual object interacted in cooperation with the target object” Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims describe a computer-readable storage medium having a computer program. However, the specification does not clearly define the nature of the “computer-readable storage medium"; therefore, the “computer-readable storage medium” can be interpreted to include non-statutory media such as a wireless signal or carrier wave. The Examiner recommends replacing “computer-readable storage medium” with “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium”. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 5, 8, 9, 12, 16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2016/0210963 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an interaction method comprising: presenting, in a session interface with a target object, a first virtual object interacted by a current user in cooperation with the target object; (Paragraphs 0042 and 0074-0076, a sticker group having stickers can be recommended to a user based on their relationship with a dialogue party for selection to attach to dialogue contents in a messenger) in response to a set of interaction events between the current user and the target object satisfying a first predetermined condition, providing to the current user a second virtual object interacted in cooperation with the target object; (Paragraph 0077-0078, based on emotion detected in dialogue contents by the user in the messenger with the dialogue party, a new sticker group can be recommended to the user) and switching the session interface to present the second virtual object (Figure 4, different sticker groups are presented based on different scenarios between relationship and inputted dialogue contents) . Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses wherein providing to the current user a second virtual object interacted in cooperation with the target object comprises: determining that the first predetermined condition is satisfied based on the set of interaction events between the current user and the target object; (Paragraphs 0077-0078, based on detected emotion in the dialogue contents with the dialogue party in the messenger, providing sticker group recommendations) and providing the second virtual object associated with a first time period to the target user (Paragraphs 0077-0078 and figure 4, displaying the recommended sticker group at a time after detecting emotion) . Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses providing a set of interaction resources associated with the second virtual object to the current user (Figure 4, sticker group has multiple stickers that can be used by the user for attaching to the dialogue contents) . Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses wherein the set of interaction resources are configured to be used in the session interface with the target object; or the set of interaction resources are configured to be used in an interaction scenario between the current user and the target object, the interaction scenario comprising the session interface (Figure 4 and paragraph 0042, stickers that can be selected for use during dialogue with the dialogue party in the messenger) . Regarding claims 12 and 20, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 1 is applied. Furthermore, Kim discloses at least one processing unit (Paragraph 0065, processor) ; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processing unit and storing instructions for execution by the at least one processing unit, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processing unit, causing the electronic device to perform an interaction method (Paragraph 0067, memory storing a program for execution by the processor) . Regarding claim 16, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 5 is applied. Regarding claim 19, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 8 is applied . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2-4 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2016/0210963 A1) in view of Edwards et al. (US 2024/0361875 A1) . Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses all limitations as discussed in claim 1. Kim further discloses wherein switching the session interface to present the second virtual object comprises: presenting a first viewing interface associated with the second virtual object (Paragraphs 0077-0078 and figure 4, display of recommended sticker group based on emotion in the dialogue) . Kim does not clearly disclose presenting a first switching portal associated with the second virtual object in the first viewing interface; and in response to a selection of the first switching portal, switching the session interface to present the second virtual object. Edwards discloses entering emojis into a text field with an inline menu that displays suggested emojis and an affordance to display an expanded emoji menu, where selection of any emoji can be placed into the text field (Paragraph 0231) . Edward’s technique of entering emojis into a text field with an inline menu that displays suggested emojis and an affordance to display an expanded emoji menu, where selection of any emoji can be placed into the text field would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art to be applicable to the attaching of a selected sticker from suggested sticker groups into a messenger of Kim and the results would have been predictable in displaying an inline menu with suggested emojis and an affordance to display an expanded sticker menu where selection of any sticker can be placed into a text field for a messenger. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses in response to a predetermined operation in the first viewing interface, presenting a second viewing interface associated with a third virtual object, wherein the third virtual object is provided to the target user in response to a second predetermined condition being satisfied (Paragraphs 0079-0080 and figure 4, based on messages from the dialogue party, a different sticker group can be recommended) . Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Edwards discloses presenting a second switching portal associated with the third virtual object in the second viewing interface; and in response to a selection of the second switching portal, switching the session interface to present the third virtual object (Kim, Figure 4 and Edwards, paragraph 0231, inline menu for displaying stickers with affordance to display an expanded menu of stickers that can be displayed for selection) . Regarding claim 13, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 2 is applied. Regarding claim 14, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 3 is applied. Regarding claim 15, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 4 is applied . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2016/0210963 A1) in view of Gal et al. (US 2023/0082461 A1) . Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses all limitations as discussed in claim 1. Kim does not clearly disclose adjusting at least one interface element in the session interface to a display style associated with the first virtual object. Gal discloses modifying a background in a chat session based on non-text-based chat messages (Paragraph 0050) . Gal’s technique of modifying a background in a chat session based on non-text-based chat messages would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art to be applicable to the attachment of stickers in a messenger during dialogue between a user and a dialogue party of Kim and the results would have been predictable in the modification of a background in a messenger based on stickers attached to dialogue between a user and a dialogue party. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Gal disclose determining, based on a target attribute of the second virtual object, an element type of the at least one interface element to be adjusted in the session interface, wherein the target attribute is associated with the first predetermined condition (Gal, paragraph 0050, non-text-based chat messages such as stickers that can be recommended based on detected emotions, Kim, figure 4 and paragraphs 0077-0078) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 6, 7, 17, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claim 6, the prior art does not clearly disclose the method of claim 5, wherein the set of interaction events comprise a first set of interaction events, and the method further comprises: in response to a second set of interaction events between the current user and the target object failing to satisfy a third predetermined condition, ceasing presenting the second virtual object in the session interface after the first time period expires; or in response to the second set of interaction events between the current user and the target object satisfying the third predetermined condition, providing the second virtual object associated with a second time period to the target user, the second time period being greater than the first time period. Regarding claim 17, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 6 is applied. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park (US 2023/0376199 A1) discloses recommending emoticons based on keyword information. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PHI HOANG whose telephone number is (571)270-3417. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:00-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JASON CHAN can be reached at (571)272-3022. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PHI HOANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619 Application/Control Number: 18/919,296 Page 2 Art Unit: 2619 Application/Control Number: 18/919,296 Page 3 Art Unit: 2619 Application/Control Number: 18/919,296 Page 5 Art Unit: 2619 Application/Control Number: 18/919,296 Page 6 Art Unit: 2619 Application/Control Number: 18/919,296 Page 7 Art Unit: 2619 Application/Control Number: 18/919,296 Page 8 Art Unit: 2619 Application/Control Number: 18/919,296 Page 9 Art Unit: 2619 Application/Control Number: 18/919,296 Page 10 Art Unit: 2619 Application/Control Number: 18/919,296 Page 11 Art Unit: 2619