DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh (US Pub 2020/0282962) in view of Newman (US Pub 2021/0309219) and Alpert (US pub 2022/0215200).
Regarding claim 1, Hsieh discloses an apparatus comprising:
a first sensor (any of 41 to 43, fig. 4) configured to provide a first input associated with an environment outside a vehicle (sec 0029);
a second sensor (10, fig. 4) configured to provide a second input associated with a driver of the vehicle (sec 0016, 0020, 0026, 0031); and
a processing unit (1, 30; figs. 2, 4, 7) configured to receive the first input from the first sensor (sec 0020, 0024, 0026, 0031), and vehicle information (from a vehicle braking system; a vehicle signal C or a switching signal, “S” to determine whether the vehicle is operated or not operated in an original vehicle control mode or in an assist driving mode; figs. 2, 4, 7; sec 0015, 0025, 0031, 0043);
wherein the processing unit (1, 30; figs. 2, 4, 7) comprises a control module (32; figs. 2, 4, 7) configured to predict an imminent collision based on the first input from the first sensor (sec 0024, 0031); and
wherein the processing unit (32; figs. 2, 4, 7) is configured to determine whether a time to impact associated with the predicted imminent collision is less than a time threshold (sec 0031), determine whether the vehicle is being operated based on the vehicle information (a vehicle signal C or a switching signal, “S” to determine whether the vehicle is operated in an original vehicle control mode or in an assist driving mode; figs. 2, 4, 7; sec 0025, 0031, 0043), and generate a control signal if the time to impact is less than the time threshold (0031), and if the vehicle information indicates that the vehicle is not being operated (based on the vehicle signal C or a switching signal “S” vehicle is not operated in original mode by the operator; sec 0025, 0031, 0043).
Hsieh did not particularly recite a processing unit comprising a neural network module. However, Hsieh teaches that the processing unit could be any generic well-known processing unit configured to predict an imminent collision based on the first input from the first sensor. Newman teaches of apparatus comprising:
a first sensor (external sensors; sec 0097-0099) configured to provide a first input associated with an environment outside a vehicle (sec; 0097-0099);
a second sensor (internal sensors; sec 0096) configured to provide a second input (120) associated with a driver of the vehicle (sec 0096); and
a processing unit (sec 0102, 0120) configured to receive the first input from the first sensor (sec 0120), and vehicle information (GPS. Brakes, acceleration, yaw, etc; sec 0099, 0207, 0208);
wherein the processing unit comprises a neural network model (sec 0037, 0109) configured to predict an imminent collision based on the first input from the first sensor (sec 0099, 0102, 0120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Hsieh to have a processor comprising a neural network model as taught by Newman for the purpose of improving the Hsieh processor to predict future positions of the subject vehicle and other vehicles under a wider range of circumstances and to enable better avoidance strategies to be devised (see Newman sec 0037, 0038).
In Furtherance, Hsieh and Tran did not particularly recite, “wherein the first input comprises a first time series of data, wherein the second input comprises a second time series of data, and wherein the processing unit is configured to obtain the first time series of data, the second time series of data, and one or more additional time series of data, as input”.
However, Alpert teaches of an apparatus (200, figs. 1&2; sec 0039, 0040) comprising:
a first sensor (202, fig. 2; sec 0039, 0040) configured to provide a first input associated with an environment outside a vehicle (sec 0039, 0040);
a second sensor (204; fig. 2; sec 0039, 0040) configured to provide a second input associated with a driver of the vehicle (sec 0039, 0040); and
a processing unit (210; fig. 2; sec 0040-0042) configured to configured to receive the first input from the first sensor (sec 0039-0041), and vehicle information (sec 0076).
wherein the first input comprises a first time series of data (sec 0042, 0071, 0073), wherein the second input comprises a second time series of data (sec 0042, 0071, 0073), and wherein the processing unit is configured to obtain the first time series of data, the second time series of data, and one or more additional time series of data, as input (sec 0008, 0009, 0042, 0071, 0072, 0073, 0080, 0083).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Hsieh and Newman apparatus as taught by Alpert for the purpose of improving performance and safety of the Hsieh and Newman apparatus by including capturing first and second units to capture a series data specified at different series of time for properly determining a probability of driver drunkenness and classification or score the drunkenness for mitigating accidents and saving lives.
Regarding claim 2, Hsieh discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the time threshold is three seconds (less than three seconds implies three seconds inclusive and less than three seconds because Hsieh started calculating a threshold time from five seconds and less than five seconds which includes three seconds; sec 0037).
Regarding claim 3, Hsieh discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vehicle information indicates whether a brake of the vehicle is being applied (sec 0015, 0022).
Regarding claim 4, Newman discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is configured to obtain the vehicle information from a brake sensor (GPS. Brakes, acceleration, yaw, etc; sec 0040, 0045, 0050, 0095; citing, sec 0096, “The sensor means includes internal sensors that monitor the velocity and acceleration and deceleration and lateral accelerations of the subject vehicle, as well as the status of the brakes……., ).
Regarding claim 5, Newman discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vehicle information indicates whether a traveling direction of the vehicle is being changed (sec 0034, 0038, 0039).
Regarding claim 7, Hsieh discloses apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first sensor comprises a camera, a Lidar, a radar, or any combination of the foregoing, configured to sense the environment outside the vehicle (sec 0029).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh (US Pub 2020/0282962) in view of Newman (US Pub 2021/0309219) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Tran (US 2021/0089048).
Regarding claim 6, Hsieh in view of Newman discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but did not particularly recite a camera configured to capture an image of the driver.
However, Tran teaches of an apparatus wherein a second sensor is a camera configured to capture an image of the driver (sec 0002-0006) for processing an imminent collision.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Hsieh and Newman apparatus as taught by Tran for the purpose of improving performance and safety of the Hsieh and Newman apparatus by including a camera inside a vehicle to capture an image of the driver to determine health and attentiveness of the driver for preventing or mitigating accidents and saving lives.
Claims 8-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh (US Pub 2020/0282962) in view of Alpert (US pub 2022/0215200).
Regarding claim 8, Hsieh discloses and apparatus comprising:
a first sensor (any of 41 to 43, fig. 4) configured to provide a first input associated with an environment outside a vehicle (sec 0029);
a second sensor (10, 13; fig. 4) configured to provide a second input associated with a driver of the vehicle (accelerator, brake, etc; sec 0016, 0020, 0026, 0031); and
a processing unit (1, 2, 30, 32; figs. 2, 4, 7) configured to receive the first input from the first sensor (sec 0020, 0024, 0026, 0031), and vehicle information (from a vehicle braking system; a vehicle signal C or a switching signal, “S” to determine whether the vehicle is operated or not operated in an original vehicle control mode or in an assist driving mode; figs. 2, 4, 7; sec 0015, 0025, 0031, 0043);
wherein the processing unit (1, 2, 30, 32; figs. 2, 4, 7) is configured to predict an imminent collision based on the first input from the first sensor (processing unit comprises a control module 32 to predict imminent collision; figs. 2, 4, 7; sec 0024, 0031); and
wherein the processing unit (1, 2, 30, 32; figs. 2, 4, 7) is configured to determine whether a time to impact associated with the predicted imminent collision satisfies a criterion (i.e. determines whether time to impact is less than a time threshold; sec 0031), determine whether the vehicle is being operated based on the vehicle information (a vehicle signal C or a switching signal, “S” to determine whether the vehicle is operated in an original vehicle control mode or in an assist driving mode; figs. 2, 4, 7; sec 0025, 0031, 0043), and generate a control signal if the time to impact satisfies the criterion (i.e. if time to impact is less than the time threshold; sec 0031), and if the vehicle information indicates that the vehicle is not being operated (based on the vehicle signal C or a switching signal “S” vehicle is not operated in original mode by the operator; sec 0025, 0031, 0043),
wherein the processing unit (1, 2, 30, 32; figs. 2, 4, 7) comprises a first stage processing system (1, 30, 32; figs. 2, 4, 7; sec 0024, 0031) and a second-stage processing system (2; figs. 2, 4, 7; sec 0024, 0031),
wherein the first-stage processing system (1, 30, 32; figs. 2, 4, 7; sec 0024, 0031) is configured to receive the first input from the first sensor (any of 41 to 43, fig. 4) and the second input from the second sensor (10, 13; fig. 4), process the first input to obtain a first information, and process the second input to obtain a second information (sec 0016, 0020, 0026, 0029, 0024, 0031).
Hsieh did not particularly recite, “wherein the second-stage processing system is configured to receive the first time series of information and a second time series of information in parallel, and to process the first time series and the second time series.”
However, Alpert teaches of an apparatus unit comprising a first-stage processing system (212, fig. 2; sec 0042) and a second-stage processing system (214; fig. 2; sec 0042);
wherein the first-stage processing system is configured to receive a first input from a first sensor (202) and a second input from a second sensor (204), process the first input to obtain a first time series of information, and process the second input to obtain a second time series of information (sec 0042, 0071, 0072, 0073);
wherein the second-stage processing system is configured to receive the first time series of information (sec 0072, 0073) and a second time series of information in parallel (sec 0042, 0071, 0072, 0073, 0127), and to process the first time series and the second time series (sec 0042, 0072, 0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Hsieh as taught by Alpert for the purpose of improving performance and safety of the Hsieh apparatus by including capturing first and second units to capture a series data specified at different series of time for properly determining a probability of driver drunkenness and classification or score the drunkenness for mitigating accidents and saving lives.
Regarding claim 9, Alpert teaches of the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the first input has fewer dimensions or less complexity compared to the first time series of information (sec 0042, 0072, 0073, 0080).
Regarding claim 10, Alpert teaches of the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the first time series of information indicates a first risk factor, and a second time series of information indicates a second risk factor (sec 0042, 0071, 0072, 0073).
Regarding claim 11, Alpert teaches of the apparatus of claim 8, apparatus of claim 8, wherein the processing unit is configured to package the first time series and the second time series into a data structure, the data structure being a neural network input (sec 0008, 0009, 0042, 0071, 0072, 0073).
Regarding claim 12, Alpert teaches of the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the data structure comprises a two-dimensional matrix of data (figs. 5, 6; sec 0058).
Regarding claim 13, Alpert teaches of the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the first time series indicates conditions outside the vehicle for different respective time points, and the second time series indicates states of the driver for the different respective time points (sec 0042, 0071, 0072, 0073, 0080).
Regarding claim 14, Alpert teaches of the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the first time series and the second time series respectively comprise any two or more of:
distance to lead vehicle, distance to intersection stop line, speed of the vehicle, time-to-collision, time-to-intersection-violation, estimated braking distance, information regarding road condition, information regarding special zone, information regarding environment, information regarding traffic condition, time of day, information regarding visibility condition, information regarding identified object, object position, object moving direction of, object speed, bounding box(es), operating parameter(s) of the vehicle, information regarding state(s) of a driver, information regarding driver history, time spent driving consecutively, proximity to meal times, information regarding accident history, and audio information (sec 0008, 0009, 0042, 0071, 0072, 0073, 0080, 0083).
Regarding claim 15, Alpert teaches of the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first input and the second input are obtained in past T seconds, and wherein the processing unit is configured to process the first input and the second input obtained in the past T seconds, wherein T is at least 3 seconds (sec 0008, 0009, 0042, 0071, 0072, 0073, 0080, 0083).
Regarding claim 16, Alpert teaches of the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to calculate a first risk score for a first time point, and wherein the processing unit is also configured to calculate a second risk score for a second time point, and to determine a difference between the first risk score and the second risk score, wherein the difference indicates whether a risky situation is escalating or subsiding (sec 0042, 0071).
Regarding claim 17, Alpert teaches of the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control signal is for operating a device (sec 0008, 0009, 0042).
Regarding claim 18, Alpert teaches of the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the device comprises: a speaker for generating an alarm; a display or a light-emitting device for providing a visual signal; a haptic feedback device; a collision avoidance system; or a vehicle control for the vehicle (sec 0008, 0009, 0042).
Regarding claim 19, Hsieh discloses apparatus comprising:
a first sensor (any of 41 to 43, fig. 4) configured to provide a first input associated with an environment outside a vehicle (sec 0029);
a second sensor (10, 13; fig. 4) configured to provide a second input associated with a driver of the vehicle (accelerator, brake, etc; sec 0016, 0020, 0026, 0031); and
a processing unit (1, 2, 30, 32; figs. 2, 4, 7) configured to receive the first input from the first sensor (sec 0020, 0024, 0026, 0031), and vehicle information (from a vehicle braking system; a vehicle signal C or a switching signal, “S” to determine whether the vehicle is operated or not operated in an original vehicle control mode or in an assist driving mode; figs. 2, 4, 7; sec 0015, 0025, 0031, 0043);
wherein the processing unit (1, 2, 30, 32; figs. 2, 4, 7) is configured to predict an imminent collision based on the first input from the first sensor (processing unit comprises a control module 32 to predict imminent collision; figs. 2, 4, 7; sec 0024, 0031); and
wherein the processing unit (1, 2, 30, 32; figs. 2, 4, 7) is configured to determine whether a time to impact associated with the predicted imminent collision satisfies a criterion (i.e. determines whether time to impact is less than a time threshold; sec 0031), determine whether the vehicle is being operated based on the vehicle information (a vehicle signal C or a switching signal, “S” to determine whether the vehicle is operated in an original vehicle control mode or in an assist driving mode; figs. 2, 4, 7; sec 0025, 0031, 0043), and generate a control signal if the time to impact satisfies the criterion (i.e. if time to impact is less than the time threshold; sec 0031), and if the vehicle information indicates that the vehicle is not being operated (based on the vehicle signal C or a switching signal “S” vehicle is not operated in original mode by the operator; sec 0025, 0031, 0043).
Hsieh did not particularly recite, “a first probability of a first predicted event, determine a second probability of a second predicted event….”.
However, Alpert teaches of an apparatus of claim 1, wherein a processing unit is configured to:
determine a first probability of a first predicted event,
determine a second probability of a second predicted event (sec 0008, 0009, 0042, 0071, 0072, 0073, 0080, 0083), wherein the first predicted event and the second predicted event are associated with an operation of the vehicle (sec 0008, 0009, 0042, 0071, 0072, 0073, 0080, 0083); and
calculate a risk score based on the first probability of the first predicted event, and based on the second probability of the second predicted event (sec 0008, 0009, 0042, 0071, 0072, 0073, 0080, 0083).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Hsieh as taught by Alpert for the purpose of improving performance and safety of the Hsieh apparatus by including capturing first and second units to capture a series data specified at different series of time for properly determining a probability of driver drunkenness and classification or score the drunkenness for mitigating accidents and saving lives.
Regarding claim 20, Alpert teaches of the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the first predicted event is a collision event (sec 0008, 0009, 0042, 0071, 0072, 0073, 0080, 0083), and the second predicted event is a non-risky event (sec 0008, 0009, 0042, 0071, 0072, 0073, 0080, 0083); and
wherein the processing unit is configured to calculate the risk score based on the first probability of the collision event, and based on the second probability of the non-risky event (sec 0008, 0009, 0042, 0071, 0072, 0073, 0080, 0083).
Regarding claim 21, Alpert teaches of the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the processing unit is configured to determine a third probability of a third predicted event (sec 0008, 0009, 0042, 0071, 0072, 0073, 0080, 0083); and
wherein the processing unit is configured to calculate the risk score based on the first probability of the first predicted event, based on the second probability of the second predicted event, and based on the third probability of the third predicted event (sec 0008, 0009, 0042, 0071, 0072, 0073, 0080, 0083).
Regarding claim 22, Alpert teaches of the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the first predicted event is a collision event, the second predicted event is a near-collision event, and the third predicted event is a non-risky event; and wherein the processing unit is configured to calculate the risk score based on the first probability of the collision event, based on the second probability of the near-collision event, and based on the third probability of the non-risky event (sec 0008, 0009, 0042, 0071, 0072, 0073, 0080, 0083).
Regarding claim 23, Alpert teaches of the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the processing unit is configured to receive the vehicle information from a vehicle communication system (240; sec 0046, 0124).
Regarding claim 24, Alpert teaches of the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the vehicle information from the vehicle communication system comprises CAN/OBD signals (although CAN/OBD is not particularly recited, the BUS 1602 is generally well known to include sec 0118, 0119).
Regarding claim 25, Alpert teaches of the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the vehicle information from the vehicle communication system comprises signals regarding braking, pedal position, steering angle, or speed (sec 0061, 0076).
Regarding claim 26, Hsieh discloses an apparatus comprising:
a first sensor (any of 41 to 43, fig. 4) configured to provide a first input associated with an environment outside a vehicle (sec 0029);
a second sensor (10, 13; fig. 4) configured to provide a second input associated with a driver of the vehicle (accelerator, brake, etc; sec 0016, 0020, 0026, 0031); and
a processing unit (1, 2, 30, 32; figs. 2, 4, 7) configured to receive the first input from the first sensor (sec 0020, 0024, 0026, 0031), and vehicle information (from a vehicle braking system; a vehicle signal C or a switching signal, “S” to determine whether the vehicle is operated or not operated in an original vehicle control mode or in an assist driving mode; figs. 2, 4, 7; sec 0015, 0025, 0031, 0043);
wherein the processing unit (1, 2, 30, 32; figs. 2, 4, 7) is configured to predict an imminent collision based on the first input from the first sensor (processing unit comprises a control module 32 to predict imminent collision; figs. 2, 4, 7; sec 0024, 0031); and
wherein the processing unit (1, 2, 30, 32; figs. 2, 4, 7) is configured to determine whether a time to impact associated with the predicted imminent collision satisfies a criterion (i.e. determines whether time to impact is less than a time threshold; sec 0031), determine whether the vehicle is being operated based on the vehicle information (a vehicle signal C or a switching signal, “S” to determine whether the vehicle is operated in an original vehicle control mode or in an assist driving mode; figs. 2, 4, 7; sec 0025, 0031, 0043), and generate a control signal if the time to impact satisfies the criterion (i.e. if time to impact is less than the time threshold; sec 0031), and if the vehicle information indicates that the vehicle is not being operated (based on the vehicle signal C or a switching signal “S” vehicle is not operated in original mode by the operator; sec 0025, 0031, 0043).
Hsieh did not particularly recite, “the first input is obtained in the past T seconds, and wherein the processing unit is configured to process the first input in the past T seconds to predict the imminent collision ”.
However, Alpert teaches of an apparatus (200, figs. 1&2; sec 0039, 0040) comprising:
a first sensor (202, fig. 2; sec 0039, 0040) configured to provide a first input associated with an environment outside a vehicle (sec 0039, 0040);
a second sensor (204; fig. 2; sec 0039, 0040) configured to provide a second input associated with a driver of the vehicle (sec 0039, 0040); and
a processing unit (210; fig. 2; sec 0040-0042) configured to configured to receive the first input from the first sensor (sec 0039-0041), and vehicle information (sec 0076); and
wherein a first input is obtained in the past T seconds, and wherein the processing unit is configured to process the first input in the past T seconds to predict the imminent collision (sec 0008, 0009, 0042, 0071, 0072, 0073, 0080, 0083).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Hsieh apparatus as taught by Alpert for the purpose of improving performance and safety of the Hsieh and Newman apparatus by including capturing first and second units to capture a series data specified at different series of time for properly determining a probability of driver drunkenness and classification or score the drunkenness for mitigating accidents and saving lives.
Regarding claim 27, Alpert teaches of the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the processing unit is configured to determine whether the predicted imminent collision is being addressed based on a comparison between a response of the driver and a reference driver response, the reference driver response representing a good driver response (sec 0053, 0060, 0061, 0101-0103).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant requests the examiner to contact the applicant to schedule an interview in order to advance prosecution of the present case. An interview for the present case could be scheduled by applicant requesting a telephone interview with the examiner through the office and also after applicant has prepared their agenda and decided what they want to discuss regarding advancement of prosecution of the present case.
Applicant requests that the claims should be allowed merely based on applicant’s beliefs. It is respectfully noted that the applicant has a right to indicate that they believe that claims are allowable. However, applicant’s beliefs are not the basis for allowing claims without providing the reasons why the prior art does not read on the claims. None of the prior art or prior art sections cited in the rejections have been addressed or refuted to indicate that the prior art does not read on the claims.
The rejections are proper. Therefore, they stand.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/RONNIE M MANCHO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657