DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/18/2025 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 7, 9 – 15, 18, and 20 - 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mi (US PgPub No. 2021/0074745).
Regarding claim 1, Mi teaches a pixel circuit (figure 3 item 200), comprising: a pixel array including a plurality of pixels arranged in rows and columns (figure 3; pixel array unit 300), wherein each pixel (figure 3 item 310) includes: a photodiode configured to photogenerate image charge in response to incident light (paragraph 0051; each of the unit pixels 310 includes a photoelectric conversion element such as a photodiode); and a transfer transistor coupled to the photodiode to transfer the image charge out from the photodiode (figure 11 items 334a-d and/or 331); and a color filter array disposed over the pixel array, wherein the color filter array includes a plurality of color filters each having one of a plurality of colors and disposed over at least one of the pixels (figure 4), wherein— each of the plurality of pixels is coupled to a first readout circuit (paragraph 0051, 0061, 0114, 0150 - 0154; readout circuit item 331 figure 5), the plurality of pixels includes a first subset of the pixels and a second subset of the pixels coupled to the second readout circuit (figure 4 items 310Gb and 310Gr also figure 4 items 310R and 310B; paragraph 0113; readout circuit item 332 figure 5), two diagonally arranged pixels are coupled together to share a floating diffusion (paragraph 0067, Green), and the two diagonally arranged pixels coupled together are disposed underneath color filters of a same color (figure 4 items 310Gb and 310Gr).
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Mi teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Mi teaches wherein the first subset of the pixels is not coupled to the second readout circuit (figure 5 item 332 also paragraph 0153).
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Mi teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Mi teaches wherein a first floating diffusion shared by a first pair of pixels is between a first row and a second row of the pixels, and wherein a second floating diffusion shared by a second pair of pixels is between the second row and a third row of the pixels, wherein one of the first pair of pixels is in a same row as one of the second pair of pixels (figures 12A items 324; additionally 13A, 14A, 15A, 16A, 17A, 18A, 19A, 20A, 21A, 22A, 24, 25A, 26A, 27A, and 28A).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Mi teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Mi teaches wherein in each n×n grouping of pixels— a first pixel in row N and column M is coupled to a second pixel in row N+1 and column M+1 to share a first floating diffusion, and a third pixel in row N and column M+1 is coupled to a fourth pixel in row N–1 and column M+2 to share a second floating diffusion, wherein n, N, and M are integers (figures 12A items 324; additionally 13A, 14A, 15A, 16A, 17A, 18A, 19A, 20A, 21A, 22A, 24, 25A, 26A, 27A, and 28A).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Mi teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Mi teaches wherein in each pair of adjacent rows— a first pixel in row N and column M is coupled to a second pixel in row N+1 and column M+1 to share a first floating diffusion, and a third pixel in row N and column M+1 is coupled to a fourth pixel in row N+1 and column M+2 to share a second floating diffusion, wherein N and M are integers (figures 12A items 324; additionally 13A, 14A, 15A, 16A, 17A, 18A, 19A, 20A, 21A, 22A, 24, 25A, 26A, 27A, and 28A).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Mi teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Mi teaches wherein the color filter array comprises a quad color filter array such that color filters of a same color are disposed over four pixels arranged in two adjacent rows and three adjacent columns, and wherein the four pixels include a first pixel and a second pixel diagonally arranged and coupled together to share a first floating diffusion, and a third pixel and a fourth pixel diagonally arranged and coupled together to share a second floating diffusion (figure 4 also figures 12A items 324).
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Mi teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Mi teaches wherein the two diagonally arranged pixels coupled together are included in a same one of the first subset of the pixels or the second subset of the pixels (figure 4 items 310Gb and 310Gr also figure 4 items 310R and 310B; paragraph 0113; readout circuit item 332 figure 5).
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Mi teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Mi teaches wherein the pixels included in the second subset of the pixels are arranged in a checkerboard pattern (figure 4; pixels included are arranged in a checkerboard pattern).
Regarding claim 12, Mi teaches an imaging system (figure 1 item 100), comprising: a pixel circuit (figure 3 item 200) including: a pixel array having a plurality of pixels arranged in rows and columns (figure 3; pixel array unit 300), wherein each pixel (figure 3 item 310) includes: a photodiode configured to photogenerate image charge in response to incident light (paragraph 0051; each of the unit pixels 310 includes a photoelectric conversion element such as a photodiode); and a transfer transistor coupled to the photodiode to transfer the image charge out from the photodiode (figure 11 items 334a-d and/or 331); and a color filter array disposed over the pixel array, wherein the color filter array includes a plurality of color filters each having one of a plurality of colors and disposed over at least one of the pixels (figure 4); a first readout circuit coupled to each of the plurality of pixels to read out a first set of data signals (paragraph 0051, 0061, 0114, 0150 - 0154; readout circuit item 331 figure 5); a second readout circuit, wherein the plurality of pixels includes a first subset of the pixels and a second subset of the pixels coupled to the second readout circuit (figure 4 items 310Gb and 310Gr also figure 4 items 310R and 310B; paragraph 0113; readout circuit item 332 figure 5), wherein the second readout circuit is coupled to each of the pixels included in the second subset to read out a second set of data signals (figure 4 items 310Gb and 310Gr also figure 4 items 310R and 310B; paragraph 0113; readout circuit item 332 figure 5); and a mode select switch circuit coupled to the pixels included in the second subset, wherein the pixels included in the second subset are configured to provide either the first set of data signals to the first readout circuit or the second set of data signals to the second readout circuit in response to the mode select circuit (figure 5 items 331/332 also figure 9 times T2 – T3), wherein two diagonally arranged pixels are coupled together to share a floating diffusion (paragraph 0067, Green), and wherein the two diagonally arranged pixels coupled together are disposed underneath color filters of a same color (figure 4 items 310Gb and 310Gr).
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 12, Mi teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Mi teaches wherein the first subset of the pixels is not coupled to the second readout circuit (figure 5 item 332 also paragraph 0153).
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 12, Mi teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Mi teaches wherein a first floating diffusion shared by a first pair of pixels is between a first row and a second row of the pixels, and wherein a second floating diffusion shared by a second pair of pixels is between the second row and a third row of the pixels, wherein one of the first pair of pixels is in a same row as one of the second pair of pixels (figures 12A items 324; additionally 13A, 14A, 15A, 16A, 17A, 18A, 19A, 20A, 21A, 22A, 24, 25A, 26A, 27A, and 28A).
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 12, Mi teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Mi teaches wherein in each n×n grouping of pixels— a first pixel in row N and column M is coupled to a second pixel in row N+1 and column N+1 to share a first floating diffusion, and a third pixel in row N and column M+1 is coupled to a fourth pixel in row N–1 and column M+2 to share a second floating diffusion, wherein n, N, and M are integers (figures 12A items 324; additionally 13A, 14A, 15A, 16A, 17A, 18A, 19A, 20A, 21A, 22A, 24, 25A, 26A, 27A, and 28A).
Regarding claim 18, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 12, Mi teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Mi teaches wherein in each pair of adjacent rows— a first pixel in row N and column M is coupled to a second pixel in row N+1 and column M+1 to share a first floating diffusion, and a third pixel in row N and column M+1 is coupled to a fourth pixel in row N+1 and column M+2 to share a second floating diffusion, wherein N and M are integers (figures 12A items 324; additionally 13A, 14A, 15A, 16A, 17A, 18A, 19A, 20A, 21A, 22A, 24, 25A, 26A, 27A, and 28A).
Regarding claim 20, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 12, Mi teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Mi teaches wherein the color filter array comprises a zigzag quad Bayer filter array such that color filters of a same color are disposed over four pixels arranged in two adjacent rows and three adjacent columns, and wherein the four pixels include a first pixel and a second pixel diagonally arranged and coupled together to share a first floating diffusion, and a third pixel and a fourth pixel diagonally arranged and coupled together to share a second floating diffusion (figure 4 also figures 12A items 324).
Regarding claim 21, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 12, Mi teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Mi teaches wherein the two diagonally arranged pixels coupled together are included in a same one of the first subset or the second subset (figure 4 items 310Gb and 310Gr also figure 4 items 310R and 310B; paragraph 0113; readout circuit item 332 figure 5).
Regarding claim 22, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 12, Mi teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Mi teaches wherein the pixels included in the second subset are arranged in a checkerboard pattern (figure 4; pixels included are arranged in a checkerboard pattern).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 – 6, 8, 16 – 17, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for claim 5: “wherein the color filter array comprises a quad color filter array formed of red color filters, green color filters, blue color filters, and clear filters arranged in a manner such that in each 2x2 grouping of pixels— red, blue and green color filters of a same color are disposed over a first pair of pixels diagonally arranged and included in the first subset, wherein the first pair of pixels share a floating diffusion, and clear filters are disposed over a second pair of pixels diagonally arranged and included in the second subset, wherein the second pair of pixels have separate floating diffusions shared with two pixels, respectively, in different rows” in combination with the other limitations in the claim and the parent claim is not discussed or suggested in any of the prior art that was searched.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for claim 6: “wherein the color filter array comprises a zigzag quad filter array arranged in a manner such that color filters of a same color are disposed over four pixels arranged in two adjacent rows and three adjacent columns, and wherein the four pixels include a first pixel and a second pixel diagonally arranged and coupled together to share a first floating diffusion, a third pixel adjacent to first and second pixels sharing a second floating diffusion separate from the first floating diffusion, and a fourth pixel adjacent to first and second pixels sharing a third floating diffusion separate from the first and second floating diffusions” in combination with the other limitations in the claim and the parent claim is not discussed or suggested in any of the prior art that was searched.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for claim 8: “wherein the color filter array comprises a quad color filter array formed of red color filters, green color filters, blue color filters, and clear filters arranged in a manner such that in each pair of adjacent rows— color filters of a same color are disposed over a first pair of pixels diagonally arranged and included in the first subset, wherein the first pair of pixels share a first floating diffusion, and clear filters are disposed over a second pair of pixels diagonally arranged and included in the second subset, wherein the second pair of pixels share a second floating diffusion, wherein a first pixel of the first pair of pixels and a first pixel of the second pair of pixels are arranged in a same column, and wherein a second pixel of the first pair of pixels and a second pixel of the second pair of pixels are arranged in different, non-adjacent columns” in combination with the other limitations in the claim and the parent claim is not discussed or suggested in any of the prior art that was searched.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for claim 16: “wherein the color filter array comprises a quad color filter array such that in each 2x2 grouping of pixels— color filters of a same color are disposed over a first pair of pixels diagonally arranged and included in the first subset, wherein the first pair of pixels share a floating diffusion, and clear filters are disposed over a second pair of pixels diagonally arranged and included in the second subset, wherein the second pair of pixels have separate floating diffusions shared with two pixels, respectively, in different rows” in combination with the other limitations in the claim and the parent claim is not discussed or suggested in any of the prior art that was searched.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for claim 17: “wherein the color filter array comprises a quad Bayer filter array such that color filters of a same color are disposed over four pixels arranged in two adjacent rows and three adjacent columns, and wherein the four pixels include a first pixel and a second pixel diagonally arranged and coupled together to share a first floating diffusion, a third pixel adjacent to first and second pixels sharing a second floating diffusion separate from the first floating diffusion, and a fourth pixel adjacent to first and second pixels sharing a third floating diffusion separate from the first and second floating diffusions” in combination with the other limitations in the claim and the parent claim is not discussed or suggested in any of the prior art that was searched.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for claim 19: “wherein the color filter array comprises a quad color filter array including red, blue, green and clear filters arranged in a manner such that in each pair of adjacent rows— red, blue and green color filters of a same color are disposed over a first pair of pixels diagonally arranged and included in the first subset, wherein the first pair of pixels share a first floating diffusion, and clear filters are disposed over a second pair of pixels diagonally arranged and included in the second subset, wherein the second pair of pixels share a second floating diffusion, wherein a first pixel of the first pair of pixels and a first pixel of the second pair of pixels are arranged in a same column, and wherein a second pixel of the first pair of pixels and a second pixel of the second pair of pixels are arranged in different, non-adjacent columns” in combination with the other limitations in the claim and the parent claim is not discussed or suggested in any of the prior art that was searched.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KIM (US patent No. 20230282667) teaches an imaging system with photodiode and circuits.
ISHII (US patent No. 20150256777) teaches an imaging system with photodiode and circuits.
MAURITZSON (US patent No. 20160353034) teaches an imaging system with photodiode and circuits.
LEE (US patent No. 20180190699) teaches an imaging system with photodiode and circuits.
Usman Khan
/USMAN A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
02/10/2026