NON-FINAL REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 2, the claim is towards a structure but further limits the structure in terms of a method of production (“a SMF is spliced with the GRIN fiber”). This is unclear as the Examiner cannot determine how this further limits the fiber connector. Similarly, claim 3 further limits the structure as to the process of aligning the elements and is rejected similarly, and claim 4 further limits the structure as to a step of coating an end face of an element. Claims 14-16 are rejected similarly.
As to claim 13, the claim recites a system further including “a hollow-core fiber holder (HCF holder) designed to securely hold and align the hollow-core fiber with the GRIN stub”. It is unclear what “designed to securely hold” entails in terms of limiting the structure of the holder element. Further, claim 13 recites that the hollow-core fiber is for “effectively reducing” optical losses. The word “effectively” is an indefinite term of degree in this claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. PGPUB 2024/0036279A1 to Chen et al. (“Chen”) in view of U.S. Pat PGPUB 2017/0123162A1 to Matsuda et al. (“Matsuda”) and U.S. Pat. PGPUB 2024/0319441A1 to Harker et al. (“Harker”).
As to claims 1 and 13, Chen discloses a fiber connector assembly and system (FIG 4A and 4B) comprising a GRIN fiber 108’ positioned at a front end of the assembly configured to couple/focus light into the fiber (Chen at ¶82-84), the GRIN fiber being a short segment and within ferrule 301 (reads stub), to align the light for entry to the other fiber (id. and at ¶97), as well as a fiber holder 406 within a body 302 to hold and align the fiber with the stub (id. at ¶8-842), the other fiber for guiding the light through its core.
Chen does not disclose the housing is metal, or that the other fiber is hollow-core.
Matsuda discloses an analogous invention, namely a means for connecting two different optical fibers, including a metal housing member 34/35. Matsuda at FIG 1 and ¶¶35-38 and 118.
Harker discloses an analogous art, namely a means for connecting a GRIN fiber to another fiber using a holder, wherein the other fiber is a hollow-core fiber. Harker at FIG 9 and at ¶¶63-64.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Chen in the manner of Matsuda and Harker. Harker states that adapting a GRIN fiber to a hollow-core one has “the benefit of the mode-matching capability of GRIN lens is made available in a field-deployable format”. Harker at ¶63. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art, determining a material for the housing, would have been led to Matsuda and would have understood using a metal housing to have been an example of merely combining prior art elements according to known methods, yielding predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. A., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
The Examiner notes that features such as “reducing optical losses and dispersion compared to solid-core fibers” and “providing structural protection and enhancing durability” are intrinsic qualities of the structures disclosed in the prior art.
Further as to claims 2 and 14:
The hollow-core fiber connector assembly of claim 1, wherein a Single Mode Fiber (SMF) is spliced with the GRIN fiber.
Chen discloses the GRIN fiber may be spliced with another SMF. Chen at FIG 4B and ¶84. Further, Harker further discloses a SMF spliced to the GRIN fiber. Harker at FIG 9 element 206 and ¶62.
Further as to claims 3 and 15:
The hollow-core fiber connector assembly of claim 1, wherein a second alignment of the GRIN stub with the HCF holder is made through an active coupling process ensuring optimal light transmission through the hollow-core fiber.
Chen discloses the GRIN stub and holder are coupled through a process. Chen at ¶94. Harker further discloses coupling the two. Harker at ¶¶9 and 80.
Further as to claims 4 and 16:
The hollow-core fiber connector assembly of claim 1, wherein an end face of the GRIN stub is coated with an optical coating to enhance light coupling and improve performance.
Harker discloses the fiber portions may have a coating on the end to reduce transmission loss. Harker at ¶75.
Further as to claims 5 and 17:
The hollow-core fiber connector assembly of claim 1, wherein the GRIN fiber, the GRIN stub, and HCF holder are secured in place using an adhesive to maintain precise alignment.
Matsuda discloses the elements are secured in place with adhesive. Matsuda at ¶¶60, 94, and 118.
Further as to claims 6 and 18:
The hollow-core fiber connector assembly of claim 1, wherein the metal hub is configured to provide a protective support tube that ensures long-term stability and durability of an optical connection.
Matsuda discloses the metal hub is in the form of a tube. Matsuda at FIGS 1 and 2.
As to claim 7, Chen discloses a method for assembling a fiber connector assembly (¶¶85 and 87, “the first SMF stub 108A′ with the transition in mode field diameter can be produced in a batch before assembling into the ferrule 301”) comprising positioning a Gradient-Index (GRIN) fiber at a front end of the assembly (id. and at ¶104) thereby focusing and coupling light into the hollow-core fiber, aligning (reads tuning alignment) the light using a GRIN stub and a short segment of GRIN fiber before entering the fiber (Chen at ¶¶82-84, 89, and 97, “installation uses direct furcation or fusion splicing at furcation points 516, 518, the multimode optical fibers 114 are well aligned”), securely holding and aligning the hollow-core fiber with the GRIN stub using a fiber holder (id.), which guides the light through the fiber, and encasing the assembly in a housing 302 (Chen at ¶82 and 87, “embedding the SMF stub 108″ inside the body 302”).
Chen does not disclose the housing is metal, or that the other fiber is hollow-core.
Matsuda discloses an analogous invention, namely a means for connecting two different optical fibers, including a metal housing member 34/35. Matsuda at FIG 1 and ¶¶35-38 and 118.
Harker discloses an analogous art, namely a means for connecting a GRIN fiber to another fiber using a holder, wherein the other fiber is a hollow-core fiber. Harker at FIG 9 and at ¶¶63-64.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Chen in the manner of Matsuda and Harker. Harker states that adapting a GRIN fiber to a hollow-core one has “the benefit of the mode-matching capability of GRIN lens is made available in a field-deployable format”. Harker at ¶63. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art, determining a material for the housing, would have been led to Matsuda and would have understood using a metal housing to have been an example of merely combining prior art elements according to known methods, yielding predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. A., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
The Examiner notes that features such as “to reduce optical losses and dispersion compared to solid-core fibers” and “to provide structural protection and enhancing durability” are intrinsic qualities of the methods disclosed in the prior art.
Further as to claim 8:
The method according to claim 7, further comprising splicing a Single Mode Fiber (SMF) with the GRIN fiber.
Chen discloses the GRIN fiber may be spliced with another SMF. Chen at FIG 4B and ¶84. Further, Harker further discloses a SMF spliced to the GRIN fiber. Harker at FIG 9 element 206 and ¶62.
Further as to claim 9:
The method according to claim 7, further comprising making a second alignment of the GRIN stub with the HCF holder through an active coupling process to ensure optimal light transmission through the hollow-core fiber.
Chen discloses the GRIN stub and holder are coupled through a process. Chen at ¶94. Harker further discloses coupling the two. Harker at ¶¶9 and 80.
Further as to claim 10:
The method according to claim 7, further comprising coating an end face of the GRIN stub with an optical coating to enhance light coupling and improve performance.
Harker discloses the fiber portions may have a coating on the end to reduce transmission loss. Harker at ¶75.
Further as to claim 11:
The method according to claim 7, further comprising securing the GRIN fiber, GRIN stub, and HCF holder in place using an adhesive to maintain precise alignment.
Matsuda discloses the elements are secured in place with adhesive. Matsuda at ¶¶60, 94, and 118.
Further as to claim 12:
The method according to claim 7, further comprising configuring the metal hub to provide a protective support tube that ensures long-term stability and durability of an optical connection.
Matsuda discloses the metal hub is in the form of a tube. Matsuda at FIGS 1 and 2.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Andrew J. Fischer can be reached on 571-272-6779. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Signed,
/CHARLES R CRAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992