DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on October 17, 2024. Claims 1 – 12 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (Fig. 1) drawn to claims 1, 2, 5 - 8, 11 and 12, in the reply filed on September 18, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 4, 9 and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2023-222217, filed on December 28, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on October 17, 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
an imaging apparatus that is disposed above the wire and captures an image of the wire… in claim 1;
a coaxial illuminator that is disposed coaxially with the imaging apparatus and applies coaxial illumination light to the wire… in claim 1;
a control apparatus that obtains, from the image, the two-dimensional position information of a region… in claim 1;
the control apparatus compares the obtained two-dimensional position information… in claim 2;
a laser displacement meter that is disposed above the wire and measures a height position… in claim 3; and
a moving mechanism that moves the semiconductor device in a two-dimensional direction… in claim 3.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The imaging apparatus is described in paragraph [0031], “The imaging apparatus 105 includes an optical lens 104 that forms an image of the semiconductor device 10”, which provides the structure to perform the claimed function. The coaxial illuminator is described in paragraph [0032], “The coaxial illuminator 103 includes a half mirror 102 and an illumination light source 101, and vertically applies coaxial illumination light to the semiconductor device 10”, which provides the structure to perform the claimed function. The control apparatus is described in paragraph [0033], “the control apparatus 301 performs arithmetic processing to obtain, from the image, two-dimensional position information of a region existing on the vertex portion 3 of the aluminum wire 1”, which provides the algorithm to perform the claimed function. The laser displacement meter is described in paragraph [0068], “the laser displacement meter 302 uses a method in which a distance to a position irradiated with the laser 303 is measured by triangulation” and “the laser displacement meter 302 is desirably a laser displacement meter of a confocal method in which a distance is measured from a color (wavelength) of reflected light”, which provides the algorithm to perform the claimed function. The moving mechanism is described in paragraph [0027], “the inspection stage 201, the motor 202, and the ball screw 203 correspond to a moving mechanism that moves the semiconductor device 10 in a two-dimensional direction (X-axis direction and Y-axis direction)”, which provides the structure to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IINUMA (US 2021/0097670 A1) referred to as IINUMA hereinafter, and in view of Wieser (US 2016/0364854 A1) referred to as Wieser hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, IINUMA teaches an inspection apparatus (Fig. 1 and Fig. 3, Par. [0017] a semiconductor manufacturing inspection system 101) that detects abnormality in an inspection workpiece (Par. [0030] accurately measure the heights of wire loops densely disposed, Par. [0004] determining that the wire loop is lying or deformed) whose both end portions are wire-bonded to to-be-bonded portions of a semiconductor device by a wedge bonding method (Par. [0018] The measurement workpiece 40 is a semiconductor power module (i.e. inspection workpiece), and includes a lead frame 41, semiconductor elements 42 and 42′ (i.e. both end portions of semiconductor device) mounted on the lead frame 41, and three wire loops 43a, 43b, and 44a for connecting (i.e. a wedge bonding method) the semiconductor element 42 to the semiconductor element 42′), wherein the inspection workpiece is a wire (Par. [0018] three wire loops 43a, 43b, and 44a), the inspection apparatus comprising:
an imaging apparatus that is disposed above the wire and captures an image of the wire (Par. [0022] The camera 60 is a camera that captures an image of the measurement workpiece 40, and obtains the reflected light beams 51a, 51b, and 52a that are specular reflections from the measurement workpiece 40) to obtain two-dimensional position information of the wire (Par. [0034] the camera 60 to capture images of the wire loops 43a, 43b, and 44a above the wire loops 43a, 43b, and 44a, while moving in an X-Y plane (i.e. two-dimensional position) direction parallel to the surfaces of the semiconductor elements 42 and 42′ and the image processor 70 to recognize an imaging region (i.e. two-dimensional position) of each of the wire loops 43a, 43b, and 44a from the images captured by the camera 60);
a coaxial illuminator that is disposed coaxially with the imaging apparatus and applies coaxial illumination light to the wire (Fig. 2, Par. [0020] The single-color illumination unit 10 includes LED chips 11a, 11b, and 12a, and a half mirror 20. Par. [0021] The incident light beam 31a is reflected by the wire loop 43a and serves as a reflected light beam 51a. Similarly, the incident light beams 31b and 32a are reflected by the wire loops 43b and 44a and serve as reflected light beams 51b and 52a (i.e. disposed coaxial coaxially), respectively); and
a control apparatus that obtains, from the image, the two-dimensional position information of a region existing on a vertex portion of the wire (Par. [0034] the image processor 70 to recognize an imaging region of each of the wire loops 43a, 43b, and 44a from the images captured by the camera 60, based on a luminance value of a corresponding one of the images and to measure a height (i.e. vertex portion) of each of the wire loops 43a, 43b, and 44a based on the imaging region of the wire loop in the images) and having brighter luminance than a surrounding area and a region existing on a wire bonding portion (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, workpiece 40 or 45) and having brighter luminance than a surrounding area (Par. [0023] The image processor 70 establishes a threshold range of luminance of a captured image for each of the wire loops, that is, a threshold range of luminance of a reflected light beam for the wire loop to recognize an imaging region of the wire loop (i.e. brighter luminance) from the image captured by the camera 60 Par. [0034] the image processor 70 to recognize an imaging region (i.e. two-dimensional position) of each of the wire loops 43a, 43b, and 44a from the images captured by the camera 60. Par. [0046] he image processor 70 determines the height of each of the wire loops 43a, 43b, 43c, 44a, and 44b relative to the semiconductor element 42, from a plurality of images captured by the camera 60. The image processor 70 recognizes the wire loops based on the luminance of the reflected light beams from the measurement workpiece 45 (i.e. brighter than surrounding area)), the wire bonding portion being a bonding portion of the wire (Par. [0023] the wire loops 43a, 44a, and 43b on the measurement workpiece 40 (i.e. bonding portion of wire)).
IINUMA does not specifically teach detecting an abnormality in a wire having a diameter of 100 μm or more. Therefore, IINUMA fails to explicitly teach an inspection apparatus that detects abnormality in an inspection workpiece whose both end portions are wire-bonded to to-be-bonded portions of a semiconductor device by a wedge bonding method, wherein the inspection workpiece is a wire having a diameter of 100 μm or more.
However, Wieser teaches an inspection apparatus (Fig. 1, Par. [0041] inspection system 10) that detects abnormality in an inspection workpiece (Par. [0003] defect analysis (i.e. abnormality) of a wire connection) whose both end portions are wire-bonded to to-be-bonded portions of a semiconductor device by a wedge bonding method (Par. [0041] an inspection system 10 for defect analysis of wire connections 11 of a product 12 (i.e. inspection workpiece). The product 12 comprises a substrate 13 on whose surface 14 two semiconductor components 15 and 16 are arranged one on top of the other. The semiconductor components 15 and 16 form a chip 17 (i.e. semiconductor device). The wire connections 11 are formed (i.e. wedge bonding method) between terminal faces 18 on the surface 14 of the substrate 13 and terminal faces 19 on a surface 20 of the chip 17 or of the semiconductor components 15 and 16 together with wires 21 and 22 connecting the terminal faces 18 and 19), wherein the inspection workpiece is a wire having a diameter of 100 μm or more (Par. [0003] The wire used is usually made of gold, aluminum, silver or copper and can have a diameter of 10 to 500 μm).
References IINUMA and Wieser are considered to be analogous art because they semiconductor inspection apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying the diameter of the wire as suggested by Wieser in the invention of IINUMA in order to optically analyze wire connections for defects, such as touching adjacent wires or a wire end not in contact with a terminal face (See Wieser, Par. [0003]).
Regarding Claim 6, IINUMA in view of Wieser teaches claim 1. IINUMA further teaches wherein the control apparatus detects a two-dimensional shape of the wire by tracking, in the image, a region having darker luminance than a surrounding area (Fig. 2 Par. [0021] [0021] The luminance of the light beam emitted from the LED chips 12a is set lower than those of the LED chips 11a and 11b) from a position of the wire bonding portion toward a position of the vertex portion (Par. [0030] when measuring the height of each of the wire loops, the semiconductor manufacturing inspection system 101 can prevent wrongly tracking another wire loop adjacent to the wire loop which is being tracked and to be measured, and accurately measure the heights of the wire loops densely disposed. Par. [0032] establishing the different threshold ranges of luminance of a reflected light beam for the respective wire loops 43a, 43b, and 44a allows the image processor 70 to improve the precision of tracking the wire loops and accurately measure the heights of the wire loops densely disposed).
Method claims 7 and 12 are drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claims 1 and 6, respectively. Therefore method claims 7 and 12 corresponds to apparatus claims 1 and 6, respectively, and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IINUMA (US 2021/0097670 A1), in view of Wieser (US 2016/0364854 A1), and in further view of AMEMIYA (US 2020/0388046 A1) referred to as AMEMIYA hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 2, IINUMA in view of Wieser teaches claim 1. IINUMA further teaches the obtained two-dimensional position information of the region existing on the vertex portion and having brighter luminance than the surrounding area and of the region existing on the wire bonding portion and having brighter luminance than the surrounding area (Par. [0023] The image processor 70 establishes a threshold range of luminance of a captured image for each of the wire loops (i.e. vertex portion), that is, a threshold range of luminance of a reflected light beam for the wire loop to recognize an imaging region of the wire loop from the image captured by the camera 60), and
when there is a certain difference or more, the control apparatus determines that the wire is deformed (Par. [0004] When an interval between adjacent wire loops is, for example, approximately less than or equal to the width of one wire (i.e. a certain difference) to be measured due to the increased density in the power modules, a wire loop adjacent to the wire loop to be measured is wrongly tracked, and a conforming item is misjudged as a defective item by determining that the wire loop is lying or deformed. Par. [0029]-[0032] establishing the different threshold ranges for the respective wire loops 43a, 43b, and 44a allows the image processor 70 to improve the precision of tracking the wire loops and accurately measure the heights of the wire loops densely disposed) or that the bonding position is abnormal.
IINUMA does not specifically teach comparing a previous set of two-dimensional position information. Therefore, IINUMA in view of Wieser fails to explicitly teach wherein the control apparatus compares the obtained two-dimensional position information of the region existing on the vertex portion and having brighter luminance than the surrounding area and of the region existing on the wire bonding portion and having brighter luminance than the surrounding area and a previously set two-dimensional position information of the vertex portion and of the wire bonding portion.
However, AMEMIYA teaches wherein the control apparatus (Fig. 3, Par. [0040] The control portion 18 inspects the shape of the wire 110 on the basis of the inspection images obtained by image-capturing with the camera 14 which includes a CPU that performs various calculations, and a storage portion 32 that stores various data or programs) compares the obtained two-dimensional position information of the region existing on the vertex portion and having brighter luminance than the surrounding area and of the region existing on the wire bonding portion and having brighter luminance than the surrounding area (Par. [0038] FIG. 5 is a diagram showing an example of the image-capturing area (i.e. two-dimensional position information) of the camera 14. the image of each wire 110 can be captured from approximately directly above. Par. [0048] only the path periphery of the wire 110 in the inspection image may be extracted as an inspection area E, and the luminance difference may be calculated only for the inspection area E) and a previously set two-dimensional position information of the vertex portion and of the wire bonding portion (Fig. 11, Par. [0044] The storage portion 32 stores various data or programs, such as image-capturing conditions (focal distance, camera position, etc.) when the inspection image is captured, inspection image data obtained by capturing images, detected shape data of the wire 110 detected by the shape detecting portions 34 and 36, reference shape data to be compared with detected shape data of the wire 110, and the like).
References IINUMA, Wieser and AMEMIYA are considered to be analogous art because they semiconductor inspection apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying comparing a previous information as suggested by AMEMIYA in the inventions of IINUMA and Wieser in order to determine the quality of the shape of the wire (See AMEMIYA, Par. [0066]).
Method claim 8 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 2. Therefore method claim 8 corresponds to apparatus claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IINUMA (US 2021/0097670 A1), in view of Wieser (US 2016/0364854 A1), and in further view of MINEKAWA et al. (US 2017/0323435 A1) referred to as MINEKAWA hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 5, IINUMA in view of Wieser teaches claim 1. IINUMA further teaches wherein the inspection workpiece includes a plurality of wires (Fig. 1, Par. [0018] three wire loops 43a, 43b, and 44a), the control apparatus: obtains, from the image, the two-dimensional position information of the region existing on the vertex portion of each of a plurality of the wires (Par. [0034] the image processor 70 to recognize an imaging region of each of the wire loops 43a, 43b, and 44a from the images captured by the camera 60, based on a luminance value of a corresponding one of the images and to measure a height (i.e. vertex portion) of each of the wire loops 43a, 43b, and 44a based on the imaging region of the wire loop in the images) and having brighter luminance than the surrounding area (Par. [0023] The image processor 70 establishes a threshold range of luminance of a captured image for each of the wire loops, that is, a threshold range of luminance of a reflected light beam for the wire loop to recognize an imaging region of the wire loop (i.e. brighter luminance) from the image captured by the camera 60 Par. [0034] the image processor 70 to recognize an imaging region (i.e. two-dimensional position) of each of the wire loops 43a, 43b, and 44a from the images captured by the camera 60. Par. [0046] he image processor 70 determines the height of each of the wire loops 43a, 43b, 43c, 44a, and 44b relative to the semiconductor element 42, from a plurality of images captured by the camera 60. The image processor 70 recognizes the wire loops based on the luminance of the reflected light beams from the measurement workpiece 45 (i.e. brighter than surrounding area)).
IINUMA does not specifically teach a diameter of 100 μm or more. Therefore, IINUMA fails to explicitly teach a plurality of wires having a diameter of 100 μm or more.
However, Wieser teaches a plurality of wires having a diameter of 100 μm or more (Fig. 5, Par. [0003] The wire used is usually made of gold, aluminum, silver or copper and can have a diameter of 10 to 500 μm).
References IINUMA and Wieser are considered to be analogous art because they semiconductor inspection apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying the diameter of the wire as suggested by Wieser in the invention of IINUMA in order to optically analyze wire connections for defects, such as touching adjacent wires or a wire end not in contact with a terminal face (See Wieser, Par. [0003]).
In addition, IINUMA in view of Wieser does not specifically teach measuring a distance between the plurality of wires. Therefore, IINUMA in view of Wieser fails to explicitly teach measures, from the obtained two-dimensional position information, a distance between a plurality of the vertex portions of the plurality of the wires; and compares the measured distance between the vertex portions with a previously set distance between the plurality of the vertex portions.
However, MINEKAWA teaches measures, from the obtained two-dimensional position information, a distance between a plurality of the vertex portions of the plurality of the wires; and compares the measured distance between the vertex portions with a previously set distance between the plurality of the vertex portions (Fig. 4. (b) half short, Par [0051] the minimum distance between the adjacent wire patterns (defect image 412) and the inter-wire distance in the reference image 422 (i.e. previously set distance) are measured, and the measurement values thereof are compared, so that a defect can be evaluated by quantifying the degree how much the distance between the wires is narrowed as compared to the normal case, Fig. 6).
References IINUMA, Wieser and MINEKAWA are considered to be analogous art because they semiconductor inspection apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying measuring a distance between wires with a previous set distance as suggested by MINEKAWA in the inventions of IINUMA and Wieser in order to evaluate the degree of short-circuit and quantify the degree of a defect (See MINEKAWA, Abstract, Par. [0037]).
Method claim 11 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 5. Therefore method claim 11 corresponds to apparatus claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Conclusion
The prior art references made of record are not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tsukahara et al. (US 5,298,989 A) teaches an optical system of inspecting bonding wires on a semiconductor by using a camera and an illumination device so that wiring defects can be detected.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Brian T. Pendleton, can be reached on (571) . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Susan E. Hodges/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425