DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 13, 14, & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Donlon et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0338477 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Donlon et al. disclose a control mechanism (Figs. 14 & 15) for a surgical instrument, wherein the control mechanism includes: a base 810, 812 (Fig. 14); an operation assembly 860 (Fig. 15) configured to be connected to an effector of the surgical instrument; a first transmission assembly 830 (Figs. 14 & 15) arranged on the base 810, 812; and a lever 840 having a first end 846 (Figs. 14 & 15), a second end opposite to the first end (end with socket 816 - Figs. 14 & 15), and a lever body (portion between ends), wherein the first end 846 of the lever 840 is connected to the first transmission assembly 830 (Figs. 14 & 15) and is movable vertically (shown by arrow 872 - Fig. 15) with rotation of the first transmission assembly 830, the second end of the lever 840 is connected to the operation assembly 860 (Fig. 15), and the lever body of the lever 840 is pivotably connected (via aperture 848 on lever 840 and projection 814 on base 810 - Fig. 14) to the base to form a fulcrum; and wherein the control mechanism is configured to control a clamp assembly of the effector of the surgical instrument, such that: an upward movement of the first end of the lever causes the clamp assembly to open (it is discussed in paragraph [0046] that the drive element rod in the system controls opening and closing of the clamp jaws of the end effector, such that upward movement of the rod causes the clamp jaws to close and downward movement of the rod causes the clamp jaws to open - the rod 860 is connected to the second end of the lever 840 and moves up and down with the second end of the lever, the second end of the lever moves downward when the first end of the lever is moved upward and vice versa - this means that the upward movement of the first end 846 of the lever 840 causes the downward movement of the second end of the lever 840, and thus, the downward movement of the rod 860 which causes the clamp jaws to open - to conclude, upward movement of the first end means clamp jaws open and downward movement of the first end means clamp jaws close; also see paragraphs [0088]-[0090]); and a downward movement of the first end of the lever causes the clamp assembly to close (see previous claim limitation explanation).
Regarding claim 2, Donlon et al. further disclose wherein the first transmission assembly includes a first transmission disc 831 (Figs. 14 & 15) and a rotating rod 830 having threads 832 (Figs. 14 & 15), the first transmission disc 831 is rotatably connected to a bottom of the base 810, 812, the rotating rod 830 is fixed and connected on the first transmission disc 831, and the first end 846 of the lever 840 is movable with a rotation of the rotating rod 830 (Figs. 14 & 15).
Regarding claim 3, Donlon et al. further disclose a support seat arranged on the base 810 (see alignment line aligning the top portion of 830 with a support feature on 810 which houses pivotably/rotationally the top projection of 830), wherein the support seat is pivotably connected to an upper portion of the rotating rod 830 (see previous statement).
Regarding claim 5, Donlon et al. further disclose wherein the first end 846 of the lever 840 has a first connection portion (teeth - Figs. 14 & 15) configured as a recess (teeth have recesses) for receiving the rotating rod 830, the threads 832 of the rotating rod 830 are configured as a cooperation part engaged with a connection part arranged on the first connection portion (teeth - Figs. 14 & 15), and rotation of the rotating rod renders an upward movement or a downward movement of the first connection portion.
Regarding claim 6, Donlon et al. further disclose wherein the rotating rod 830 is configured as a threaded rod (threading labeled as 832 - Figs. 14 & 15); wherein the control mechanism of the surgical instrument further includes a lifting assembly (teeth of first end 846 - Figs. 14 & 15) threadedly engaged with the threaded rod, rotation of the threaded rod renders an upward movement or a downward movement of the lifting assembly (teeth of first end 846); and wherein the first end 846 of the lever 840 is connected to the threaded rod 832 via the lifting assembly (teeth of first end 846).
Regarding claim 13, Donlon et al. further disclose a second transmission assembly 821, 822 (Fig. 14) configured to be connected to the effector to drive the effector to rotate with the second transmission assembly 821, 822 (Fig. 14; paragraph [0086]).
Regarding claim 14, Donlon et al. further disclose wherein the second transmission assembly 821, 822 includes a second transmission disc 821 (Fig. 14) and a first gear 820 (Fig. 14), the second transmission disc 821 is arranged on a bottom of the base 810, 812 (Fig. 14), and the first gear 820 is fixed and connected on the second transmission disc 821; and wherein the first gear 820 is configured to mesh with a second gear connected to the effector (paragraph [0086] - ‘input gear 820 may couple with a carriage of a PSM to receive a rotational force’).
Regarding claim 20, Donlon et al. disclose a surgical robot, comprising a control mechanism (Figs. 14 & 15) for a surgical instrument, wherein the control mechanism includes: a base 810,812 (Figs. 14 & 15); an operation assembly 860 (Figs. 14 & 15) configured to be connected to an effector of the surgical instrument; a first transmission assembly 830 (Figs. 14 & 15) arranged on the base 810, 812; and a lever 840 (Figs. 14 & 15) having a first end 846 (Figs. 14 & 15), a second end (end with socket 816 - Figs. 14 & 15) opposite to the first end 846, and a lever body (between ends), wherein the first end 846 of the lever 840 is connected to the first transmission assembly 830 (Figs. 14 & 15) and is movable vertically with rotation of the first transmission assembly 830 (Figs. 14 & 15), the second end of the lever is connected to the operation assembly 860 (Figs. 14 & 15), and the lever body of the lever 840 is pivotably connected to the base 810, 812 to form a fulcrum (via aperture 848 on lever 840 and projection 814 on base 810 - Fig. 14); and wherein the control mechanism is configured to control a clamp assembly of the effector of the surgical instrument, such that: an upward movement of the first end of the lever causes the clamp assembly to open (it is discussed in paragraph [0046] that the drive element rod in the system controls opening and closing of the clamp jaws of the end effector, such that upward movement of the rod causes the clamp jaws to close and downward movement of the rod causes the clamp jaws to open - the rod 860 is connected to the second end of the lever 840 and moves up and down with the second end of the lever, the second end of the lever moves downward when the first end of the lever is moved upward and vice versa - this means that the upward movement of the first end 846 of the lever 840 causes the downward movement of the second end of the lever 840, and thus, the downward movement of the rod 860 which causes the clamp jaws to open - to conclude, upward movement of the first end means clamp jaws open and downward movement of the first end means clamp jaws close; also see paragraphs [0088]-[0090]); and a downward movement of the first end of the lever causes the clamp assembly to close (see previous claim limitation explanation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7-12, & 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further disclose, teach, or suggest a manual control part arranged at a top end of the rotating rod, and the support seat defines an opening corresponding to the manual control part; and wherein the control mechanism of the surgical instrument further includes a housing covering on the base, and the housing defines a through hole corresponding to the manual control part and the opening [claim 4]; wherein the first end of the lever has a first connection portion, the lifting assembly includes a cooperation part corresponding to the first connection portion, the cooperation part is movably connected to the first connection portion to provide the lever with a horizontal movement margin [claim 7]; Donlon et al. disclose an operation portion 842 (Fig. 15) but fails to further disclose, teach, or suggest wherein a circumferential engagement groove is defined on a periphery of the operation portion; and wherein the second end of the lever has a second connection portion at least partially surrounding the operation portion, the second connection portion has an extension portion at least partially extending into the engagement groove, the extension portion has a size fitting with a size of the engagement groove to enable a vertical movement of the operation portion with pivoting of the second connection portion and enable rotation of the operation portion [claim 15]; and wherein the lifting assembly is provided with a sensed element, the base is provided with a sensing device configured to sense positions of the sensed element, and the positions of the sensed element corresponds to states of the clamp assembly [claim 18].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub. No. 2017/0231703 A1 - discloses a similar force transmission assembly (Figs. 16-20) wherein a lever is controlled via a worm gear (vertical movement of the lever via rotation of threads) however, the fulcrum is at the terminal end of the second end of the lever so upward movement of the first end moves the second end upward with it and thus the transmission rod.
ASHLEY LAUREN FISHBACK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3771
/ASHLEY L FISHBACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771 August 7, 2026