DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the Applicant’s filing on October 18, 2024. Claims 1-5 are pending and examined below.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 reads in part, “when requested driving force requested to the vehicle is generated being by the first motor” where the inclusion of “being” appears to be a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2009/0054200 by Soliman et al. (herein after “Soliman”), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2019/0193578 by Fujiyoshi et al. (herein after “Fujiyoshi”).
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 1, Soliman discloses a vehicle (Soliman: hybrid electric vehicle in Fig. 1), comprising:
a first motor (Soliman: ERAD 20 in Fig. 1) that applies driving force to a first wheel via a first speed reducer (Soliman ¶ [0031]: Powertrain 10 also comprises a second power path driveably connected to the load that includes ERAD 20, ERAD gearing 48, a differential mechanism 36, rear axles 22, 23 and wheels 34, 35);
a second motor (Soliman: CISG 16 in Fig. 1) that applies driving force to a second wheel via a second speed reducer (Soliman ¶ [0031]: The powertrain 10 comprises a first power path driveably connected to the load that includes CISG 16, transmission 14, final drive unit 26, axles 28, 30 and the wheels 32, 33); and
a control device that controls the driving force of the first motor and the driving force of the second motor (Soliman ¶ [0032]: An integrated starter controller (ISC) 40 controls operation of CISG 16, ERAD 20 and the system for charging an electric storage battery 42, which is electrically coupled to the electric machines 16, 20; Fig. 1),
when a temperature parameter correlated with a temperature of the first speed reducer and a temperature of the second speed reducer is lower than a predetermined temperature, the control device drives the second motor with priority over the first motor (Soliman ¶ [0048]-[0049]: At step 102, a test is made to determine whether the CISG temperature is lower than the reference CISG temperature (deg_CISG<MAXDEG_CISG). If the result of test 102 is logically true, control advances to step 104. If the result of test 102 is false, control advances to step 108. At step 104, a test is made to determine whether the available CISG torque capacity is greater than the required wheel torque for vehicle hill-holding. If the result of test 104 is true, at step 106 the powertrain operates in the second mode, i.e., with torque being provided by the CISG 16 and the relevant input clutch 38, 39 fully engaged with the transmission engaged in gear). Examiner interprets the temperature parameter to be related to the CISG temperature and ERAD temperature where motor control is determined based on one or both temperatures being below a reference temperature. The CISG temperature is given priority and tested first to determine if torque will be provided by the CISG.
It is noted Soliman fails to particularly disclose wherein a maximum driving force that is outputtable by the first motor is greater than a maximum driving force that is outputtable by the second motor.
However, Fujiyoshi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein a maximum driving force that is outputtable by the first motor is greater than a maximum driving force that is outputtable by the second motor (Fujiyoshi ¶ [0027]: Referring back to FIG. 1, in the electric vehicle 1, a front transaxle, which transmits the power (MG 1 torque) output from the PM motor 2 which is the low output MG to the front wheels 10, and a rear transaxle, which transmits the power (MG 2 torque) output from the SR motor 3 to the rear wheels 20, are independently provided. The PM motor 2 is connected to the front wheels 10 via a speed reducer 8 and a differential device (not illustrated) so as to transmit the power. The SB motor 3 is connected to the rear wheels 20 via a speed reducer 9 and a differential device (not illustrated) so as to transmit the power. In this manner, the MG 1 torque is transmitted only to the front wheels 10, and the MG 2 torque is transmitted only to the rear wheels 20. In the electric vehicle 1, the maximum output of the PM motor 2 is smaller than the maximum output of the SR motor 3). Examiner interprets SR motor 3 and PM motor 2 in Fig. 1 to be the first and second motor, respectively.
Therefore, given the teachings as whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method for electric motor control based on temperature and torque demand of Soliman to include the electric motors with different driving forces of Fujiyoshi with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to improve power performance and reduce electric power consumption of a vehicle (Fujiyoshi ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Soliman and Fujiyoshi discloses wherein: the control device is configured to
determine whether a predetermined first condition is satisfied, when requested driving force requested to the vehicle is generated being by the first motor and the second motor (Soliman ¶ [0038]: a hill-hold controller 50 including an electronic microprocessor, accessible to electronic memory containing stored functions, variables, and control algorithms, such as those described with reference to FIG. 8, and electronic signals produced by various sensors representing operating parameters and variables of the vehicle, engine 12, CISG 16, ERAD 20, transmission 14, input clutches 38, 39, ERAD gearing 48 and front/rear final drive units and differential mechanisms 26 and 36, CISG and ERAD temperature sensors, a vehicle speed sensor, accelerator pedal position sensor, brake pedal pressure sensor or alternatively brake pedal position sensor. The microprocessor executes the algorithms and produces control commands to which the CISG 16 and ERAD 20 respond by producing torque), and
stop the first motor and generate the requested driving force by the second motor, when determination is made that the first condition is satisfied (Soliman ¶ [0049]: If the result of test 104 is true, at step 106 the powertrain operates in the second mode, i.e., with torque being provided by the CISG 16 and the relevant input clutch 38, 39 fully engaged with the transmission engaged in gear; Fig. 8); and
the first condition is satisfied when the temperature parameter is lower than the predetermined temperature (Soliman ¶ [0048]: At step 102, a test is made to determine whether the CISG temperature is lower than the reference CISG temperature (deg_CISG<MAXDEG_CISG). If the result of test 102 is logically true, control advances to step 104. If the result of test 102 is false, control advances to step 108; Fig. 8), and also the requested driving force is no greater than the maximum driving force of the second motor (Soliman ¶ [0049]: At step 104, a test is made to determine whether the available CISG torque capacity is greater than the required wheel torque for vehicle hill-holding; Fig. 8).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2009/0054200 by Soliman et al. (herein after “Soliman”), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2019/0193578 by Fujiyoshi et al. (herein after “Fujiyoshi”), further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2017/0050536 by Martin (herein after “Martin”).
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Soliman and Fujiyoshi discloses wherein: the control device is configured to
determine whether a predetermined second condition is satisfied, when determination is made that the first condition is not satisfied (Soliman ¶ [0048]: If the result of test 102 is false, control advances to step 108; Fig. 8), and
stop the second motor and generate the requested driving force by the first motor, when determination is made that the second condition is satisfied (Soliman ¶ [0051]: If the result of test 110 is true, at step 112 the powertrain operates in the first mode, i.e., with torque being provided by the ERAD 20; Fig. 8); and
the second condition is satisfied when the temperature parameter is lower than the predetermined temperature (Soliman ¶ [0050]: At step 108, since the CISG has reached a maximum thermal limit, a test is made to determine whether the ERAD temperature is lower than the reference ERAD temperature (deg_ERAD<MAXDEG_ERAD). If the result of test 108 is logically true, control advances to step 110; Fig. 8), and also the requested driving force is (Soliman ¶ [0051]: At step 110, a test is made to determine whether the available ERAD torque capacity is greater than the required wheel torque for vehicle hill-holding; Fig. 8).
It is noted that the combination of Soliman and Fujiyoshi discloses stopping the second motor and generating a requested driving force by a first motor (Soliman: transition from 102 to 108, 110 and 112 in Fig. 8; Fujiyoshi ¶ [0031]: the electronic control unit 7 includes a first drive control unit that performs control to drive the PM motor 2 at a low vehicle speed, and a second drive control unit that performs control to drive only the SR motor 3 at a high vehicle speed) and using both a first and second motor when a requested driving force is greater than the maximum driving force of the second motor (Soliman: transition from 104 to 113-116 in Fig. 8; Fujiyoshi ¶ [0029]: when the required driving force is smaller than the torque of the PM motor 2 (when the required acceleration is small), only the PM motor 2 is driven (see FIGS. 7 and 8). On the other hand, when the required driving force is greater than the torque of the PM motor 2 (when the required acceleration is large), the SR motor 3 is driven in addition to the PM motor 2 to add the driving torque of the SR motor 3 to the driving torque of the PM motor 2) but fails to particularly disclose stop the second motor and generate the requested driving force by the first motor when the requested driving force is greater than the maximum driving force of the second motor.
However, Martin, in the same field of endeavor, teaches stop the second motor and generate the requested driving force by the first motor when the requested driving force is greater than the maximum driving force of the second motor (Martin ¶ [0053]: An electric all-wheel drive also means that the torque distribution is freely selectable. It is possible to drive with both axles or with only one axle, in particular depending on the torque demand from the driver. This means that, in the case of low load/partial load, driving can only be carried out with one axle, while the second axle moves idly along; Martin ¶ [0055]: In accordance with embodiments, when multiple driven axles are utilized, the electric motor(s) of the axles can have different designs and/or functions. For example, axle 1 is operable for improved efficiency for the lower speed area/partial load area for city driving, whole axle 2 can be operable for improved efficiency for the moderate speed area/partial load area for driving long distances/highway driving; Martin ¶ [0059]: The operating strategy must find the torque distribution between the motors of the front and rear axles which has the optimal efficiency, preferably depending on the characteristic maps for efficiency, the speed, the power limits of the components, and the driver request; Martin ¶ [0060]: FIG. 6 illustrates, by way of example, an operating strategy and a method, in accordance with embodiments. This graphic illustrates, in a simplified manner, the optimal torque distribution and the optimal position of clutches (disengaged, engaged) and gears (in the case of multi-stage transmissions) for each operating point (vehicle speed, driver-requested torque)).
Therefore, given the teachings as whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method for electric motor control based on temperature and torque demand of Soliman modified by the electric motors with different driving forces of Fujiyoshi to further include the characteristic maps for electric motors that determine which motor to activate based on vehicle speed and driver-requested torque of Martin with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to improve overall system efficiency by implementing a selected area of a characteristic map depending on vehicle speed and driver-requested torque (Martin ¶ [0009]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Soliman, Fujiyoshi and Martin discloses wherein: the control device is configured to
determine whether a predetermined third condition is satisfied, when one of the first motor and the second motor is in a stopped state and the other is in a running state (Soliman ¶ [0049]: If the result of test 104 is false, control advances to step 113 since the CISG alone is not capable of providing the required wheel torque for hill-hold; Fig. 8), and
place both the first motor and the second motor in a running state, when determination is made that the third condition is satisfied (Soliman ¶ [0053]: If the result of test 114 is true, at step 116 the powertrain operates in the third mode, i.e., with torque being provided by both ERAD 20 and CISG 16 and the relevant clutch 38, 39 is fully engaged with the transmission engaged in gear; Fig. 8); and
the third condition is satisfied when the requested driving force requested to the vehicle exceeds the maximum driving force outputtable by the motor that is currently running (Soliman ¶ [0049]: If the result of test 104 is false, control advances to step 113 since the CISG alone is not capable of providing the required wheel torque for hill-hold; Fig. 8).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2009/0054200 by Soliman et al. (herein after “Soliman”), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2019/0193578 by Fujiyoshi et al. (herein after “Fujiyoshi”), further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2023/0087455 by Manabe et al. (herein after “Manabe”).
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Soliman and Fujiyoshi discloses wherein:
out of the first wheel and the second wheel, one is a front wheel of the vehicle (Soliman: front wheels 32, 33 in Fig. 1), and the other is a rear wheel of the vehicle (Soliman: rear wheels 34, 35 in Fig. 1);
the vehicle further includes
a first temperature sensor (Soliman ¶ [0038]: CISG and ERAD temperature sensors)
a second temperature sensor (Soliman ¶ [0038]: CISG and ERAD temperature sensors)
the control device acquires the temperature parameter using a detection result from the first temperature sensor and a detection result from the second temperature sensor (Soliman ¶ [0040]: The CISG & ERAD temperatures and available maximum torque magnitudes determined at 60 and the desired hill-hold wheel torque determined at 76 are supplied as inputs via a data bus 78 to a HEV hill-hold control strategy 80);
.
It is noted that the combination of Soliman and Fujiyoshi fails to particularly disclose wherein:
the vehicle further includes
a first oil circuit through which lubricating oil of the first speed reducer circulates,
a second oil circuit through which lubricating oil of the second speed reducer circulates,
a first temperature sensor that detects a temperature of the lubricating oil of the first speed reducer,
a second temperature sensor that detects a temperature of the lubricating oil of the second speed reducer, and
a cooling device that cools the lubricating oil of the first speed reducer and the lubricating oil of the second speed reducer;
while, out of the first motor and the second motor, one is in a stopped state and the other is in a running state, the control device controls the cooling device such that the lubricating oil of the first speed reducer or the second speed reducer mechanically connected to the motor that is currently running is cooled by the cooling device, and also the lubricating oil of the second speed reducer or the first speed reducer mechanically connected to the motor that is currently stopped is not cooled by the cooling device.
However, Manabe, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein:
out of the first wheel and the second wheel, one is a front wheel of the vehicle (Manabe ¶ [0028]: The motor 33 is an electric motor for driving the front wheels of the vehicle), and the other is a rear wheel of the vehicle (Manabe ¶ [0028]: The motor 43 is an electric motor for driving the rear wheels of the vehicle);
the vehicle further includes
a first oil circuit through which lubricating oil of the first speed reducer circulates (Manabe ¶ [0031]: the cooling oil used in the second cooling system 40 is used for cooling the motor 43 and also functions as a lubricant (refrigerant lubricating oil) for the motor 43 and the power transmission system therefor; 40 in Fig. 1),
a second oil circuit through which lubricating oil of the second speed reducer circulates (Manabe ¶ [0031]: the cooling oil used in the second cooling system 30 is used for cooling the motor 33 and also functions as a lubricant (refrigerant lubricating oil) for the motor 33 and the power transmission system therefor; 30 in Fig. 1),
a first temperature sensor that detects a temperature of the lubricating oil of the first speed reducer (Manabe ¶ [0030]: an oil temperature sensor is mounted on the motor 43, and the inverter 41 detects the oil temperature of the motor 43),
a second temperature sensor that detects a temperature of the lubricating oil of the second speed reducer (Manabe ¶ [0030]: an oil temperature sensor is mounted on the motor 33, and the inverter 31 detects the oil temperature of the motor 33), and
a cooling device that cools the lubricating oil of the first speed reducer (Manabe ¶ [0026]: the heat exchanger 42 is a heat exchanger that lowers the temperature of the rear wheel motor 43 by using cooling water flowing through the supply channel 25 and cooling oil flowing through the supply channels 45, 46. Specifically, the heat exchanger 42 is cooled by the cooling water cooled inside the cooler 21 flowing through the supply channel 25; cooler 21 and heat exchanger 42 in Fig. 1) and the lubricating oil of the second speed reducer (Manabe ¶ [0025]: The heat exchanger 32 is a heat exchanger that lowers the temperature of the front wheel motor 33 by using cooling water flowing through the supply channel 26 and cooling oil flowing through the supply channels 35, 36. Specifically, the heat exchanger 32 is cooled by the cooling water cooled inside the cooler 21 flowing through the supply channel 26; cooler 21 and heat exchanger 32 in Fig. 1);
the control device acquires the temperature parameter using a detection result from the first temperature sensor and a detection result from the second temperature sensor (Manabe ¶ [0030]: Notably, an oil temperature sensor is mounted on the motor 33, and the inverter 31 detects the oil temperature of the motor 33 on the basis of a signal output from the oil temperature sensor, and outputs the detected result to the controller 10. Similarly, an oil temperature sensor is mounted on the motor 43, and the inverter 41 detects the oil temperature of the motor 43 on the basis of a signal output from the oil temperature sensor, and outputs the detected result to the controller 10); and
while, out of the first motor and the second motor, one is in a stopped state and the other is in a running state (Manabe ¶ [0042]: In step S107, the controller 10 controls the inverter 31 to drive the front wheel motor 33 in a manner that a torque becomes the set torque in step S101. Also, the controller 10 controls the inverter 41 to stop driving the rear wheel motor 43), the control device controls the cooling device such that the lubricating oil of the first speed reducer or the second speed reducer mechanically connected to the motor that is currently running is cooled by the cooling device, and also the lubricating oil of the second speed reducer or the first speed reducer mechanically connected to the motor that is currently stopped is not cooled by the cooling device (Manabe ¶ [0043]: In step S108, the controller 10 normally drives the second cooling system 30 for the front wheel motor 33 and stops the second cooling system 40 for the rear wheel motor 43. That is, the drive of the pump 44 of the second cooling system 40 is stopped).
Therefore, given the teachings as whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method for electric motor control based on temperature and torque demand of Soliman modified by the electric motors with different driving forces of Fujiyoshi to further include the lubrication system for electric motors and power transmission systems including control for stopping electric motor cooling when the electric motor is not being used for torque requests of Manabe with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to properly lubricate electric motors and power transmission systems thereof and to suppress the electric power consumption of the cooling system (Manabe ¶ [0004]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure:
US 2021/0016659 discloses a system and method for determining a torque ratio between two electric motors based on temperature thresholds. The system includes an equal temperature control state that balances torque requests between a front and rear electric motor based on temperature and an output restriction control state that determines a torque command of zero for either a front or rear motor when the motor has exceeded a threshold temperature (Fig. 5).
US 2022/0355783 discloses a system that includes a vehicle with dual asymmetric electric motors and determining which motor to activate based on vehicle speed, torque demand and operating ranges of the electric motors (¶ [0121]).
/N.P.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666