DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 11 requires “the conduct needle” in lines 1-2. This appears to be a typo, and should read “the conductive needle”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Franke et al (U.S. 2020/0188660). Franke discloses (par. 0224) a conductive needle; and a triboelectric nanogenerator (TENG) coating on at least a portion of the conductive needle (par. 0210), comprising: a triboelectric layer (par. 0191) configured to accept electrons; and an electron-providing layer configured to donate electrons; wherein the TENG is positioned on the conductive needle with the triboelectric layer in contact with the needle such that electron transfer is induced between the triboelectric layer and the electron-providing layer when these layers are compressed (par. 0588), generating a therapeutic alternating current at a frequency range of 0.1-10 Hz (par. 0572) in the needle for delivering electroacupuncture treatment.
Regarding claim 2, Franke discloses (par. 0372) a head of the conductive needle is a coiled head.
Regarding claim 3, Franke discloses (par. 0213) the TENG further comprises an insulating layer and a protective layer.
Regarding claim 4, Franke discloses (par. 0237) the insulating layer is positioned between the triboelectric layer and the electron-providing layer and the protective layer is positioned on the electron-providing layer.
Regarding claim 5, Franke discloses (par. 0368-0369) the triboelectric layer is a flexible material doped with 1-5% of conductive nanoparticles, wherein the conductive nanoparticles form a conductive mesh within the flexible material.
Regarding claim 6, Franke discloses (par. 0544) the flexible material is at least polyimide.
Regarding claim 7, Franke discloses (par. 0383) the conductive nanoparticles are at least multiwalled carbon nanotubes.
Regarding claim 8, Franke discloses (par. 0191) the triboelectric layer has a porous microstructure with a porosity ranging from 5-50%, configured for increasing the surface area for electron exchange.
Regarding claim 9, Franke discloses (par. 0247) the flexible material is doped with 2% of the conductive nanoparticles.
Regarding claim 10, Franke discloses (par. 0369) the electron-providing layer is composed of a conductive metal selected from one or more of Cu, Ag, or Au.
Regarding claim 11, Franke discloses (par. 0369) the conduct needle comprises a material selected from stainless-steel, gold plaited stainless steel, gold, silver, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 12, Franke discloses (par. 0500) a power management unit configured to regulate and store electrical energy generated by the TENG; a control unit configured to adjust stimulation parameters of the needle; a display mechanism for providing feedback on treatment status; an external force supplier configured to supply an external force to the TENG; and a sensor unit for monitoring treatment parameters (par. 0501).
Regarding claim 13, Franke discloses (par. 0525) a data storage and transfer module configured to record treatment data and the stimulation parameters.
Regarding claim 14, Franke discloses (par. 0615) an external power source.
Regarding claim 15, Franke discloses (par. 0500) a communication interface configured to allow the system to communicate with other medical devices or a central computer system for integrated patient care.
Regarding claim 16, Franke discloses (par. 0588) the external force supplier comprises a manual force applied by a healthcare provider, wherein the manual force, comprising but not limited to pinching, rotating, lifting-and-thrusting, or pressing the needle, compresses the TENG to generate the electrical current necessary for electroacupuncture treatment.
Conclusion
/DEBORAH L MALAMUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792