The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 6/29/2026 in which claims 1, 3-6, 8 are pending and claims 1, 4 and 5 are currently amended.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 15, the limitations “the elastic member always imposes an elastic force” should be amended to – the elastic member continuously applies an elastic force--.
Claim 1, line 18, “is always tightly attached to an inner wall” should be – is continuously biased against an inner wall--
Claim 6, “is lower than” should be -- is less than--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-, 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (U.S. Patent 6,745,474)
In regards to claim 1, Huang discloses an ant-loose mounting structure of an electric hair cutter fixed blade mounting frame, comprising a body (20), and a cutter head assembly(40) wherein the cutter head assembly (40) is arranged at a front end of the body (blade 30 extends out the front end),
wherein the cutter head assembly (40) further comprises a fixed blade mounting frame (44) and a fixed blade (30), wherein the fixed blade (30) is fixedly connected to the fixed blade mounting frame (44), wherein the front end of the body (20) is provided with a guide rail (formed by recesses 211)
wherein the fixed blade mounting frame (44) is slidably connected to the guide rail (near 211; see Fig. 6a) wherein the fixed blade mounting frame (44) is provided with a bent portion (rails 443; fig. 4) extending inwards wherein the fixed blade mounting frame interacts with the guide rail in a sliding manner through the bent portion (rails 443 slide over the rails near recesses 211),
wherein an elastic member (spring member 43) is arranged between the guide rail and the fixed blade (30) mounting frame wherein the elastic member (43) abuts directly between the bent portion of the fixed blade mounting frame(at notch 444) and the guide rail (in the recesses 211) ,
wherein the elastic member (43) always imposes an elastic force on the fixed blade mounting frame(44) and wherein the direction of the elastic force is perpendicular to the sliding direction of the fixed blade mounting frame (44) along the guide rail so that the fixed blade mounting frame is always tightly attached to an inner side wall of the guide rail.
In regards to claim 3, Huang discloses wherein the elastic member (43) is an arched elastic sheet.
In regards to claim 4, Huang discloses wherein the arched elastic sheet (43) is provided with an arched portion (431) and flat abutting portions (432) extending from both ends of the arched portion wherein the arched portion abuts against the fixed blade mounting frame (444) and wherein the two flat abutting portions abuts against the inner side wall of the guide rail (211).
In regards to claim 5, Huang discloses wherein the inner side wall of the guide rail (211) is provided with a groove for interacting with the arched elastic sheet (43) and wherein the arched elastic sheet is installed in the groove by the two flat abutting portions (biased into the groove by the flat portions).
In regards to claim 6, Huang discloses wherein the length of the groove (along the length of 20) is greater than the length of 43; and wherein the depth of the groove is lower than the height of the arched elastic sheet (43 has a greater width when considering 432) than widths of the grooves of holder 20 formed near 221)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (U.S. Patent 6,745,474) in view of Hansen et al. (U.S. Publication 2010/0233793), herein referred to as Hansen.
In regards to claim 8, Huang discloses wherein the elastic member is made of a spring steel material. Huang discloses the elastic member 43 is a spring but does not disclose that it is made of spring steel. Hansen sets forth a utility knife with a leaf spring 320 that is made of sheet steel material. As sheet steel is a known material for leaf springs within blade mounted utility knives, it would have been obvious to having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the elastic member 43 of Huang to be made form spring steel as a well known material for leaf springs.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724