DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki (JP 2017015416 A, hereinafter “Suzuki”).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki teaches a distance measuring apparatus comprising:
a light source that emits a light beam (Suzuki; Figs. 1-2, [0010], [0011] the object detection device 100 includes an LD (laser diode) as a light source to emits laser light);
a scanning device that performs beam scanning where an emission direction of the light beam is changed (Suzuki; Fig. 2A, [0013]-[0016], a light projection optical system 20 includes rotating mirror 26 to scan the effective scanning area);
a photodetector that receives light reflected from measurement points on a target irradiated with the light beam and that outputs detection signals (Suzuki; Fig. 2B, [0019]-[0022], the light receiving optical system 30 includes PD 42 to receive the reflected light from an object. A PD output detection unit 44 that detects the received light signal);
a processing circuit that calculates distances to the measurement points on a basis of the detection signals (Suzuki; Fig. 2B, [0022], a PD output detection unit 44 that detects the received light signal (output signal) of the PD 42, and a measurement control unit 46 that calculates the distance to the object); and
a control circuit that controls the scanning device (Suzuki; [0011], the LD is driven by the LD drive unit 12 and emit laser light which is output from the ECU (engine control unit) to light up the LD;),
wherein the control circuit determines a step angle of the beam scanning in such a way as to reduce differences in density of the measurement points between areas of the target (Suzuki; [0033]-[0036], the ECU generates an LD drive signal based on the synchronization signal from the PD output detection unit 56; [0042]-[0046], disclosed the intensity of the pulsed light from the object detection device varies within the effective scanning area, causing variations in the maximum detection distance within the effective scanning area as shown in Fig. 7B; Figs. 7-9, [0049]-[0058], disclosed the optical scanning system controls the light emission timing of the LD such that the scanning angle between two adjacent scanning positions at the left/right scanning end (close distance) is Ө, and the scanning angle between two adjacent scanning positions at the scanning center (far distance) is Ө’ (where Ө’ < Ө; equivalent to change the step angle). The ECU determines scanning angles at two adjacent scanning position so as to reduce variations (density difference between the measurement points) in detection resolution between scanning center and edge portion).
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki teaches the distance measuring apparatus as recited in claim 1,
wherein the control circuit changes the step angle in accordance with the emission direction of the light beam (Suzuki; Figs. 7-9, [0049]-[0058], disclosed the optical scanning system controls the light emission timing of the LD such that the scanning angle between two adjacent scanning positions at the left/right scanning end is Ө, and the scanning angle between two adjacent scanning positions at the scanning center is Ө’ (where Ө’ < Ө; equivalent to change the step angle in accordance with the emission direction of the light beam). The ECU determines scanning angles at two adjacent scanning position so as to reduce variations (density difference between the measurement points) in detection resolution between scanning center and edge portion (equivalent to different emission direction of the light beam)).
Regarding claim 8, Suzuki teaches the distance measuring apparatus as recited in claim 1,
wherein, after performing distance measurement for a first area of the target using the distance measuring apparatus, when the distance measuring apparatus is moved to perform distance measurement for a second area of the target, the control circuit adjusts the step angle of the beam scanning in the measurement of the distances for the second area in such a way as to reduce a differences between the density of the measurement points in the first area and the density of the measurement points in the second area (Suzuki; Figs. 7-9, [0049]-[0058], disclosed the optical scanning system controls the light emission timing of the LD such that the scanning angle between two adjacent scanning positions at the left/right scanning end is Ө, and the scanning angle between two adjacent scanning positions at the scanning center is Ө’ (where Ө’ < Ө; equivalent to change the step angle in accordance with the emission direction of the light beam). The ECU determines scanning angles at two adjacent scanning position so as to reduce variations (density difference between the measurement points) in detection resolution between scanning center (equivalent to a first area) and edge portion (equivalent to a second area)).
Claim 23 is the method claim possesses nearly identical limitation to those of claim 1 and is thus rejected for the same reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, modified in view of Tsuchiya (JP 2001255144 A, hereinafter “Tsuchiya”).
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki teaches the distance measuring apparatus as recited in claim 2.
Suzuki does not teach,
wherein the control circuit reduces the step angle as an angle of incidence of the light beam on the target becomes larger.
Tsuchiya disclosed in Fig. 12, [0066], the average rotational speed of the rangefinder 2 may be gradually changed, for example, so that the distance between the pulse light projection surfaces LS on the inner wall surface of the tunnel H remains approximately constant when view from the vertical direction. In other words, the grater the inclination angle between the rotation axis β of the rangefinder 2 and the longitudinal line γ extending in the longitudinal direction of the tunnel H, the shallower the angle at which the pulsed light is incident on the inner wall surface of the tunnel H. Therefore, the average rotation speed of the rangefinder 2 should be made slower to achieve this.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring apparatus taught by Suzuki to include wherein the control circuit reduces the step angle as an angle of incidence of the light beam on the target becomes larger taught by Tsuchiya with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the average rotational speed of the rangefinder 2 is gradually changed so that the distance between the pulse light projection surfaces LS on the inner wall surface of the tunnel H remains approximately constant when view from the vertical direction (Tsuchiya; [0066]).
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki teaches the distance measuring apparatus as recited in claim 1.
Suzuki does not teach,
wherein the control circuit obtains information indicating a distance between the light source and the target and changes the step angle in accordance with the distance.
Tsuchiya disclosed in paragraph [0031], disclosed how to calculated the coordinates (L, ɸ, Ψ) of each measurement point P; [0028], the processor 15 calculates the distance L to the measurement point p based on the round-trip time of the pulsed light; Fig. 12, [0066], the average rotational speed of the rangefinder 2 may be gradually changed, for example, so that the distance between the pulse light projection surfaces LS on the inner wall surface of the tunnel H remains approximately constant when view from the vertical direction. In other words, the grater the inclination angle between the rotation axis β of the rangefinder 2 and the longitudinal line γ extending in the longitudinal direction of the tunnel H, the shallower the angle at which the pulsed light is incident on the inner wall surface of the tunnel H. Therefore, the average rotation speed of the rangefinder 2 should be made slower to achieve this.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring apparatus taught by Suzuki to include wherein the control circuit obtains information indicating a distance between the light source and the target and changes the step angle in accordance with the distance taught by Tsuchiya with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the average rotational speed of the rangefinder 2 is gradually changed so that the distance between the pulse light projection surfaces LS on the inner wall surface of the tunnel H remains approximately constant when view from the vertical direction (Tsuchiya; [0066]).
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki as modified above teaches the distance measuring apparatus as recited in claim 4.
Suzuki does not teach,
wherein the control circuit reduces the step angle as the distance becomes larger.
Tsuchiya disclosed in paragraph [0031], disclosed how to calculated the coordinates (L, ɸ, Ψ) of each measurement point P; Fig. 12, [0066], the average rotational speed of the rangefinder 2 may be gradually changed, for example, so that the distance between the pulse light projection surfaces LS on the inner wall surface of the tunnel H remains approximately constant when view from the vertical direction. In other words, the grater the inclination angle between the rotation axis β of the rangefinder 2 and the longitudinal line γ extending in the longitudinal direction of the tunnel H, the shallower the angle at which the pulsed light is incident on the inner wall surface of the tunnel H. Therefore, the average rotation speed of the rangefinder 2 should be made slower to achieve this.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring apparatus taught by Suzuki to include wherein the control circuit obtains information indicating a distance between the light source and the target and changes the step angle in accordance with the distance; wherein the control circuit reduces the step angle as the distance becomes larger taught by Tsuchiya with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the average rotational speed of the rangefinder 2 is gradually changed so that the distance between the pulse light projection surfaces LS on the inner wall surface of the tunnel H remains approximately constant when view from the vertical direction (Tsuchiya; [0066]).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, modified in view of Tang (CN 107300370A, hereinafter “Tang”).
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki teaches the distance measuring apparatus as recited in claim 1.
Suzuki does not teach,
wherein the control circuit adjusts, on a basis of a result of pre-measurement, where the distances to the plurality of measurement points on the target are measured through the beam scanning, the step angle of the beam scanning in main measurement performed after the pre-measurement.
Tang disclosed in Fig. 3, [0049], provides a measurement and adjustment method for a ranging scanning sensor comprising Step 100 measuring distance at a scanning angle 1 and calculating the actual resolution length c between two adjacent distance measurements (detail in [0050]); step 200 (detail in [0051]-[0055]): determining whether the scanning angle needs to be adjusted based on the actual resolution length c, if so, performing the next measurement according to the adjusted scanning angle; otherwise, continuing to perform the next measurement; step 300, repeating steps 100 to 200, adjusting accordingly, until the scanning is completed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring apparatus taught by Suzuki to include wherein the control circuit adjusts, on a basis of a result of pre-measurement, where the distances to the plurality of measurement points on the target are measured through the beam scanning, the step angle of the beam scanning in main measurement performed after the pre-measurement taught by Tang with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is provides a measurement and adjustment method for a ranging scanning sensor on a basis of a result of pre-measurement in order to avoid having too many data points at close range and too few data points at long range (Tang; [0049]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki as modified above teaches the distance measuring apparatus as recited in claim 6, wherein the control circuit makes the step angle of the bema scanning smaller in areas where the density of the measurement is lower (Suzuki; Figs. 7-9, [0049]-[0050], disclosed in the far distance (Figs. 8(A), (D)), the scanning density of the measurement point is lower than that in the near distance (Figs. 8(B), (E), [51]-[0053]). By adjust the scanning angle as shown in Figs. 8(C), (F), [0055]-[0056] from Ө to Ө’ to increase the density of the measurement points to improve the scanning accuracy of the far distance can be achieved).
Suzuki does not teach,
wherein the control circuit change the step angle of the beam scanning in the main measurement depending on the pre-measurement.
Tang disclosed in Fig. 3, [0049], provides a measurement adjustment method for a ranging scanning sensor comprising Step 100 measuring distance at a scanning angle 1 and calculating the actual resolution length c between two adjacent distance measurements (detail in [0050]); step 200 (detail in [0051]-[0055]): determining whether the scanning angle needs to be adjusted based on the actual resolution length c, if so, performing the next measurement according to the adjusted scanning angle; otherwise, continuing to perform the next measurement; step 300, repeating steps 100 to 200, adjusting accordingly, until the scanning is completed; [0051], step 200 specifically includes: comparing the actual resolution length c with the upper limit threshold TH and the lower limit threshold TL. If TL ≤ c ≤ TH, the keeping the scanning angle 1 as the scanning angle 4 for the next measurement; otherwise, adjust the scanning angle and use the adjusted scanning as the scanning angle 4 for next measurement.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring apparatus taught by Suzuki to include wherein the control circuit adjusts, on a basis of a result of pre-measurement, where the distances to the plurality of measurement points on the target are measured through the beam scanning, the step angle of the beam scanning in main measurement performed after the pre-measurement; wherein the control circuit change the step angle of the beam scanning in the main measurement depending on the pre-measurement taught by Tang with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is provides a measurement adjustment method for a ranging scanning sensor in order to avoid having too many data points at close range and too few data points at long range (Tang; [0049]-[0055]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, modified in view of Noguchi (US 20210096257 A1, hereinafter “Noguchi”).
Regarding claim 9, Suzuki teaches the distance measuring apparatus as recited in claim 1.
Suzuki does not teach,
wherein the processing circuit generates and outputs information indicating roughness of a surface in an area including a plurality of measurement points on the target on a basis of the distance from the distance measuring apparatus to each of the plurality of measurement points.
Noguchi disclosed in [0055], alternatively or additionally, the identification detector 133 may extract features about the surface roughness of an object present in the area to be monitored based on results of distance measurement on the basis of the transmit beams 121 and 122 irradiated in a plurality of directions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring apparatus taught by Suzuki to include wherein the processing circuit generates and outputs information indicating roughness of a surface in an area including a plurality of measurement points on the target on a basis of the distance from the distance measuring apparatus to each of the plurality of measurement points taught by Noguchi with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is extracting features about the surface roughness of an object present in the area to be monitored based on the results of distance measurement on the basis of the transmit beams irradiated in a plurality of directions for data processing (Noguchi; [0055]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, modified in view of Mao et al. (CN 209803013 U, hereinafter “Mao”).
Regarding claim 10, Suzuki teaches the distance measuring apparatus as recited in claim 1.
Suzuki does not teach,
wherein the processing circuit generates and outputs information indicating flatness of a surface in an area including a plurality of measurement points on the target on a basis of the distance from the distance measuring apparatus to each of the plurality of measurement points.
Mao disclosed in [0040], the point laser range finder includes: the point laser source ( connect to the processor) to emit point laser pulses under the control of the processer; [0041], laser receiving unit; [0042], ADC conversion unit; [0043], the processor perform calculation on the digital signals and control the timing of the point laser source; [0044], the calculation results for digital electrical signals include flatness (road surface); [0045], the smoothness of the road surface can be calculated by using a large number of distance values.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring apparatus taught by Suzuki to include wherein the processing circuit generates and outputs information indicating flatness of a surface in an area including a plurality of measurement points on the target on a basis of the distance from the distance measuring apparatus to each of the plurality of measurement points taught by Mao with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is providing a distributed road detection device and system that can improve road detection efficiency such as detecting the flatness of road surface (Mao; [0006], [0040]-[0045]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, modified in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 20200333790 A1, hereinafter “Kobayashi”).
Regarding claim 11, Suzuki teaches the distance measuring apparatus as recited in claim 1, wherein the control circuit switches between a first mode, where the step angle of the beam scanning is determined in such a way as to reduce differences in the density of the measurement points between the areas of the target, and a second mode, where the step angle of the beam scanning is constant (Suzuki; Figs. 7-9, [0049]-[0058], disclosed the optical scanning system controls the light emission timing of the LD such that the scanning angle between two adjacent scanning positions at the left/right scanning end is Ө, and the scanning angle between two adjacent scanning positions at the scanning center is Ө’ (where Ө’ < Ө; equivalent to change the step angle in accordance with the emission direction of the light beam). The ECU determines scanning angles at two adjacent scanning position so as to reduce variations (density difference between the measurement points) in detection resolution between scanning center and edge portion). Furthermore, in the far distance (Figs. 8(A), (D)), the scanning density of the measurement point is lower than that in the near distance (Figs. 8(B), (E), [51]-[0053]) (equivalent to the second mode with step angle of the beam scanning is constant). By adjust the scanning angle as shown in Figs. 8(C), (F), [0055]-[0056] (equivalent to the first mode where the step angle of the beam scanning is determined in such a way as to reduce differences in the density of the measurement points between the areas of the target), from Ө to Ө’ to increase the density of the measurement points to improve the scanning accuracy of the far distance can be achieved.
Suzuki does not teach,
in accordance with an operation performed by a user.
Kobayashi disclosed in Fig. 17, [0257], an input-output interface 1005 is connected to the CPU 1001; [0258], the input-output interface 1005, an input unit 1006 including an input device such as a keyboard and a mouse by which a user inputs operation commands into the central processing unit (CPU) 1001; [0260], the CPU 1001 loads the program stored in the storage unit 1008 into the RAM 1003 via the input-output interface and the bus 1004 and executes the program.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring apparatus taught by Suzuki to include in accordance with an operation performed by a user taught by Kobayashi with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is providing an input-output interface such that a user can input operation commands in the central processing unit as needed (Kobayashi; [0257]-[0260]).
Claim(s) 12-13 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, modified in view of Niigaki et al. (JP 2018071973 A, hereinafter “Niigaki”).
Regarding claim 12, Suzuki teaches a distance measuring apparatus comprising:
a light source (Suzuki; Figs. 1-2, [0010], [0011] the object detection device 100 includes an LD (laser diode) as a light source to emits laser light);
a photodetector that receives reflected light from a target irradiated with light from the light source and that outputs a detection signal (Suzuki; Fig. 2B, [0019]-[0022], the light receiving optical system 30 includes PD 42 to receive the reflected light from an object. A PD output detection unit 44 that detects the received light signal); and
a processing circuit that calculates a distance to each of a plurality of measurement points included in a target area of the target on a basis of the detection signal (Suzuki; Fig. 2B, [0022], a PD output detection unit 44 that detects the received light signal (output signal) of the PD 42, and a measurement control unit 46 that calculates the distance to the object) and
Suzuki does not teach,
that generates measurement data indicating distribution of the distances to, or positions of, the plurality of measurement points,
wherein the processing circuit performs, on the measurement data, processing for changing density of the measurement points in at least one of a plurality of sub-areas included in the target area in such a way as to reduce differences in the density of the measurement points between the plurality of sub-areas.
Niigaki disclosed in Fig. 8-9, [0089], the density of points in the measured data changes depending on the relative position (position and angle) between the measuring sensor and the subject (ground). Even if the shape is the same (unevenness of the ground), the measurement interval of the measured point cloud changes significantly, so the measure point cloud is not equidistant; [0090]-[0092], disclosed a feature in which the density of the measurement points is changed by performing complementary process on the measurement data (the position of the resampling reference point can be chosen arbitrarily, but it is desirable that the angle (declination) between the relative vectors of the resampling interpolation points is similar to the angle between the relative vectors of the original point cloud (measurement point cloud), [0092]); implies the changing density of the measurement points is based on the measurement point cloud.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring apparatus taught by Suzuki to include that generates measurement data indicating distribution of the distances to, or positions of, the plurality of measurement points, wherein the processing circuit performs, on the measurement data, processing for changing density of the measurement points in at least one of a plurality of sub-areas included in the target area in such a way as to reduce differences in the density of the measurement points between the plurality of sub-areas taught by Niigaki with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is changing the density of points in the measured data changes depending on the original point cloud (measurement point cloud) (Niigaki; [0089]-[0092]).
Regarding claim 13, Suzuki as modified above teaches the distance measuring apparatus as recited in claim 12,
wherein the light source emits a light beam (Suzuki; Figs. 1-2, [0010], [0011] the object detection device 100 includes an LD (laser diode),
the distance measuring apparatus further comprising:
a scanning device that performs beam scanning where an emission direction of the light beam is changed (Suzuki; Fig. 2A, [0013]-[0016], a light projection optical system 20 includes rotating mirror 26 to scan the effective scanning area).
Claim 24 is the method claim possesses nearly identical limitation to those of claim 12 and is thus rejected for the same reasoning.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, modified in view of Niigaki, in view of Koyama et al. (US 20200033451 A1, hereinafter “Koyama”).
Regarding claim 14, Suzuki as modified above teaches the distance measuring apparatus as recited in claim 12,
wherein the photodetector includes an image sensor that outputs an image signal as the detection signal (Suzuki; Fig. 2B, [0019]-[0022], the light receiving optical system 30 includes PD 42 to receive the reflected light from an object. A PD output detection unit 44 that detects the received light signal), and
wherein the processing circuit calculates a distance for each of a plurality of pixels in the image signal or each of a plurality of pixel areas in the image signal and outputs the calculated distances as the distances to the plurality of measurement points (Suzuki; Fig. 2B, [0022], [0036] a PD output detection unit 44 that detects the received light signal (output signal) of the PD 42, and a measurement control unit 46 that calculates the distance to the object including plurality of measurement points (Figs. 7-9, [0049]-[0058])).
Suzuki does not teach,
Wherein the light source emits diffuse light.
Koyama disclosed in Fig. 1, [0037], [0039], the distance device emits a diffused light source 10 (with a predetermined diffusion angle) through reflector 20 to the object and imager 30 received the reflected signal from the object to detect the distance to the object.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring apparatus taught by Suzuki to include that generates measurement data indicating distribution of the distances to, or positions of, the plurality of measurement points, wherein the processing circuit performs, on the measurement data, processing for changing density of the measurement points in at least one of a plurality of sub-areas included in the target area in such a way as to reduce differences in the density of the measurement points between the plurality of sub-areas taught by Niigaki, include Wherein the light source emits diffuse light taught by Koyama with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using light source to emit a diffused light beam with a imager to receive the reflected signal of the diffused light beam reflected from the target for distance measurement (Koyama; [0037]-[0039]). Using diffused light beam as light source predictably to provide a smooth, even illumination light beam on the target area as expected.
Claim(s) 15 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, modified in view of Niigaki, in view of Kobayashi.
Regarding claim 15, Suzuki as modified above teaches the distance measuring apparatus as recited in claim 12.
Suzuki does not teach, further comprising:
an input interface for inputting information for setting the plurality of sub-areas,
wherein the processing circuit divides the target area into the plurality of sub-areas in accordance with the information input through the input interface.
Kobayashi disclosed in Fig. 8, [0154], the route planning unit divides an area where surface sensing is not completed into a plurality of area P1 to P4, and individually sets the divided area as waypoints; Fig. 17, [0257], an input-output interface 1005 is connected to the CPU 1001; [0258], the input-output interface 1005, an input unit 1006 including an input device such as a keyboard and a mouse by which a user inputs operation commands into the central processing unit (CPU) 1001; [0260], the CPU 1001 loads the program stored in the storage unit 1008 into the RAM 1003 via the input-output interface and the bus 1004 and executes the program. In combination with the input-output interface for user to input operation command and the route planning unit divides an area which was executed by the CPU, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that a user can input command to divide the target area into a plurality of sub-area with success.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring apparatus taught by Suzuki to include that generates measurement data indicating distribution of the distances to, or positions of, the plurality of measurement points, wherein the processing circuit performs, on the measurement data, processing for changing density of the measurement points in at least one of a plurality of sub-areas included in the target area in such a way as to reduce differences in the density of the measurement points between the plurality of sub-areas taught by Niigaki, include an input interface for inputting information for setting the plurality of sub-areas; wherein the processing circuit divides the target area into the plurality of sub-areas in accordance with the information input through the input interface taught by Kobayashi with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is providing an input-output interface such that a user can input operation commands (such as dividing the area with plurality of sub-area) in the central processing unit as needed (Kobayashi; [0257]-[0260]).
Regarding claim 22, Suzuki as modified above teaches the distance measuring apparatus as recited in claim 12, wherein the processing circuit switches between a first mode, where processing for changing the density of the measurement points in at least one of the plurality of sub-areas in such a way as to reduce the differences in the density of the measurement points between the plurality of sub-areas is performed on measurement data, and a second mode, where the processing for changing the density is not performed (Suzuki; Figs. 7-9, [0049]-[0058], disclosed the optical scanning system controls the light emission timing of the LD such that the scanning angle between two adjacent scanning positions at the left/right scanning end is Ө, and the scanning angle between two adjacent scanning positions at the scanning center is Ө’ (where Ө’ < Ө; equivalent to change the step angle in accordance with the emission direction of the light beam). The ECU determines scanning angles at two adjacent scanning position so as to reduce variations (density difference between the measurement points) in detection resolution between scanning center and edge portion). Furthermore, in the far distance (Figs. 8(A), (D)), the scanning density of the measurement point is lower than that in the near distance (Figs. 8(B), (E), [51]-[0053]) (equivalent to the second mode with step angle of the beam scanning is constant). By adjust the scanning angle as shown in Figs. 8(C), (F), [0055]-[0056] (equivalent to the first mode where the step angle of the beam scanning is determined in such a way as to reduce differences in the density of the measurement points between the areas of the target), from Ө to Ө’ to increase the density of the measurement points to improve the scanning accuracy of the far distance can be achieved.
Suzuki does not teach,
in accordance with an operation performed by a user.
Kobayashi disclosed in Fig. 17, [0257], an input-output interface 1005 is connected to the CPU 1001; [0258], the input-output interface 1005, an input unit 1006 including an input device such as a keyboard and a mouse by which a user inputs operation commands into the central processing unit (CPU) 1001; [0260], the CPU 1001 loads the program stored in the storage unit 1008 into the RAM 1003 via the input-output interface and the bus 1004 and executes the program.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring apparatus taught by Suzuki to include that generates measurement data indicating distribution of the distances to, or positions of, the plurality of measurement points, wherein the processing circuit performs, on the measurement data, processing for changing density of the measurement points in at least one of a plurality of sub-areas included in the target area in such a way as to reduce differences in the density of the measurement points between the plurality of sub-areas taught by Niigaki, include in accordance with an operation performed by a user taught by Kobayashi with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is providing an input-output interface such that a user can input operation commands in the central processing unit as needed (Kobayashi; [0257]-[0260]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, modified in view of Niigaki, in view of Herbst et al. (US 20160327647 A1, hereinafter “Herbst”).
Regarding claim 16, Suzuki as modified above teaches the distance measuring apparatus as recited in claim 12.
Suzuki does not teach,
wherein the processing circuit reduces the differences in the density of the measurement points between the plurality of sub-areas by bringing the density of the measurement points in at least one of the plurality of sub-areas other than a sub-area where the density of the measurement points is the lowest among the plurality of sub-areas close to the density of the measurement points in the sub-area where the density of the measurement points is the lowest.
Herbst disclosed in Fig. 2, [0046], the recorded point set 4a contains a first region 8 having a relatively low point density ρ1 and a second region 9 having a relatively high point density ρ2; [0047], the recorded point set is adapted depending on the point density by the point density ρ2 of the second region 9 being reduced to a lower point density ρ2’. In the example, the reduction is effected by a thinning out of the point set in the second region 9 by omitting every second object or scanning point 2. Alternatively, a reduction of the point density can be effected by averaging or depending on the ascertained distance of the object points 2 with respect to one another.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring apparatus taught by Suzuki to include that generates measurement data indicating distribution of the distances to, or positions of, the plurality of measurement points, wherein the processing circuit performs, on the measurement data, processing for changing density of the measurement points in at least one of a plurality of sub-areas included in the target area in such a way as to reduce differences in the density of the measurement points between the plurality of sub-areas taught by Niigaki, include wherein the processing circuit reduces the differences in the density of the measurement points between the plurality of sub-areas by bringing the density of the measurement points in at least one of the plurality of sub-areas other than a sub-area where the density of the measurement points is the lowest among the plurality of sub-areas close to the density of the measurement points in the sub-area where the density of the measurement points is the lowest taught by Herbst with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is reducing the differences in the density of the measurement points between the plurality of sub-areas by reducing high point density area to a lower point density similar to the lowest point density area. Therefore, a reduction of the recorded point set, as a result of which the adapted point set advantageously requires less memory space in the read only memory than would be required by the recorded original point set (Herbst; [0046]-[0048]).
Claim(s) 17 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, modified in view of Niigaki, in view of Tang.
Regarding claim 17, Suzuki as modified above teaches the distance measuring apparatus as recited in claim 12.
Suzuki does not teach,
wherein the processing circuit limits the density of the measurement points in each of the plurality of sub-areas to a predetermined density or lower.
Tang disclosed in [0012], step 200: Determine whether the scanning angle needs to be adjusted based on the actual resolution length c. If so, the next measurement will be performed according to the adjusted scanning angle; otherwise, the next measurement will continue; [0015], step 200, comparing the actual resolution length c with the upper limit threshold TH and the lower limit threshold TL. If TL ≤ c ≤ TH, then keep the scanning angle 1 as the scanning angle 4 for the next measurement; otherwise, adjust the scanning angle and use the adjusted scanning angle as the scanning angle 4 for the next measurement. This implies the density of the measurement point is set to a predetermined density with the resolution length c.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring apparatus taught by Suzuki to include that generates measurement data indicating distribution of the distances to, or positions of, the plurality of measurement points, wherein the processing circuit performs, on the measurement data, processing for changing density of the measurement points in at least one of a plurality of sub-areas included in the target area in such a way as to reduce differences in the density of the measurement points between the plurality of sub-areas taught by Niigaki, include wherein the processing circuit limits the density of the measurement points in each of the plurality of sub-areas to a predetermined density or lower taught by Tang with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is set the density limit to the predetermined density predictably to reduce the differences in the density of the measurement points between the plurality of sub-areas while keep enough information for distance measurement of the target area.
Regarding claim 19, Suzuki as modified above teaches the distance measuring apparatus as recited in claim 12.
Suzuki does not teach,
wherein the processing circuit determines, on a basis of a result of pre-measurement, where the distances to the plurality of measurement points in the target area are measured without changing the density of the measurement points, the plurality of sub-areas in main measurement performed after the pre-measurement.
Tang disclosed, Fig. 3, [0049], provides a measurement adjustment method for a ranging scanning sensor comprising Step 100 measuring distance at a scanning angle 1 and calculating the actual resolution length c between two adjacent distance measurements (detail in [0050]); step 200 (detail in [0051]-[0055]): determining whether the scanning angle needs to be adjusted based on the actual resolution length c, if so, performing the next measurement according to the adjusted scanning angle; otherwise, continuing to perform the next measurement; step 300, repeating steps 100 to 200, adjusting accordingly, until the scanning is completed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring apparatus taught by Suzuki to include that generates measurement data indicating distribution of the distances to, or positions of, the plurality of measurement points, wherein the processing circuit performs, on the measurement data, processing for changing density of the measurement points in at least one of a plurality of sub-areas included in the target area in such a way as to reduce differences in the density of the measurement points between the plurality of sub-areas taught by Niigaki, include wherein the processing circuit determines, on a basis of a result of pre-measurement, where the distances to the plurality of measurement points in the target area are measured without changing the density of the measurement points, the plurality of sub-areas in main measurement performed after the pre-measurement taught by Tang with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that it provides a measurement and adjustment method for a ranging scanning sensor and determines whether the scanning angle needs to be adjusted based on the actual resolution length c, if so, performing the next measurement according to the adjusted scanning angle; if not, continuing to perform the next measurement (Tang; [0049]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 20, Suzuki as modified above teaches the distance measuring apparatus as recited in claim 19.
Suzuki does not teach,
wherein the processing circuit determines the predetermined density on a basis of the result of the pre-measurement, and
wherein the density of the measurement points in each of the plurality of sub-areas in the main measurement is limited to the predetermined density to lower.
Tang disclosed in Fig. 3, [0049], provides a measurement adjustment method for a ranging scanning sensor comprising Step 100 measuring distance at a scanning angle 1 and calculating the actual resolution length c between two adjacent distance measurements (detail in [0050]); step 200 (detail in [0051]-[0055]): determining whether the scanning angle needs to be adjusted based on the actual resolution length c, if so, performing the next measurement according to the adjusted scanning angle; otherwise, continuing to perform the next measurement; step 300, repeating steps 100 to 200, adjusting accordingly, until the scanning is completed; [0015], step 200, comparing the actual resolution length c with the upper limit threshold TH and the lower limit threshold TL. If TL ≤ c ≤ TH, then keep the scanning angle 1 as the scanning angle 4 for the next measurement; otherwise, adjust the scanning angle and use the adjusted scanning angle as the scanning angle 4 for the next measurement.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring apparatus taught by Suzuki to include that generates measurement data indicating distribution of the distances to, or positions of, the plurality of measurement points, wherein the processing circuit performs, on the measurement data, processing for changing density of the measurement points in at least one of a plurality of sub-areas included in the target area in such a way as to reduce differences in the density of the measurement points between the plurality of sub-areas taught by Niigaki, include wherein the processing circuit determines, on a basis of a result of pre-measurement, where the distances to the plurality of measurement points in the target area are measured without changing the density of the measurement points, the plurality of sub-areas in main measurement performed after the pre-measurement; wherein the processing circuit determines the predetermined density on a basis of the result of the pre-measurement, and wherein the density of the measurement points in each of the plurality of sub-areas in the main measurement is limited to the predetermined density to lower taught by Tang with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that it provides a measurement and adjustment method for a ranging scanning sensor and determines whether the scanning angle needs to be adjusted based on the actual resolution length c, if so, performing the next measurement according to the adjusted scanning angle; if not, continuing to perform the next measurement (Tang; [0049]-[0055]). Furthermore, set the density limit to the predetermined density predictably to reduce the differences in the density of the measurement points between the plurality of sub-areas while keep enough information for distance measurement of the target area.
Regarding claim 21, Suzuki as modified above teaches the distance measuring apparatus as recited in claim 19, wherein the processing circuit increases the density of the measurement points in at least one of the plurality of sub-areas in the main measurement on a basis of the result of the pre-measurement (Suzuki, Figs. 7-9, [0049]-[0058], disclosed the optical scanning system controls the light emission timing of the LD such that the scanning angle between two adjacent scanning positions at the left/right scanning end is Ө, and the scanning angle between two adjacent scanning positions at the scanning center is Ө’< Ө. The ECU determines scanning angles at two adjacent scanning position so as to reduce variations (density difference between the measurement points) in detection resolution between scanning center and edge portion).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, modified in view of Niigaki, in view of Tang, in view of Zhang et al. (CN 108597019 A, hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 18, Suzuki as modified above teaches the distance measuring apparatus as recited in claim 17.
Suzuki does not teach,
wherein the processing circuit obtains information regarding a scale of concaves and convexes on a surface of the target and changes the predetermined density in accordance with the obtained information.
Zhang disclosed in Fig. 1, [0026]-[0034], obtains information (S11: calculates curvature of each data point in the point cloud data) regarding a scale of concaves and convexes (S11-S12: curvature characterizes local surface bending) on a surface of the target (S10-S12: point cloud represents target surface); Fig. 4, [0061], changes the predetermined density (S12, S122: select different sampling radii); Fig. 2, Fig. 6, [0040]-[0048], S131-S136: impose density constraint via deleting neighboring point within selected radius; in accordance with the obtained information (S122: assigns smaller sampling radii to higher curvature point clouds, and larger sampling radii to lower curvature point clouds [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring apparatus taught by Suzuki to include that generates measurement data indicating distribution of the distances to, or positions of, the plurality of measurement points, wherein the processing circuit performs, on the measurement data, processing for changing density of the measurement points in at least one of a plurality of sub-areas included in the target area in such a way as to reduce differences in the density of the measurement points between the plurality of sub-areas taught by Niigaki, include wherein the processing circuit limits the density of the measurement points in each of the plurality of sub-areas to a predetermined density or lower taught by Tang, include wherein the processing circuit obtains information regarding a scale of concaves and convexes on a surface of the target and changes the predetermined density in accordance with the obtained information taught by Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is changing the predetermined density point based on the scale of the curvature on the surface of the target such that to remove redundant data, simplifies the point cloud, reduces storage space, and helps to improve the speed and efficiency of subsequent data processing (Zhang; [0026]-[0034], [0040]-[0048], [0050], [0061]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tan et al. (US 20060153558 A1) disclosed in [0037], the information from the captured image, such as signal amplitude and spatial frequency, as well as the amount of a scan line occupied by the image, can be used to provide zooming or wide-angle functions in the laser camera. For example, if the object is far away, a control mechanism can automatically reduce the scan angle so that the object now occupies a larger portion of the scan pattern. This is a zoom equivalent of a regular camera. Conversely, if the object is close by, the scan angle can be increased to a wide-angle mode. It is worthwhile to point out from the resolution expression shown in Eq. 1, the optical resolution is solely dependent on the scan angle, mirror size, and inversely dependent on the laser wavelength. By reducing the scan angle, and even re-adjusting the focused laser spot, the optical resolution will be reduced. In addition to changing the scan angle and/or laser spot size, the oscillating frequency of the scanner, preferably the slow scanner, must also be changed.
Lee (US 20220221879 A1) disclosed in Fig. 6, [0075], next, the flat surface detection unit 72 calculates a flatness of each of the point cloud data groups and designates a point cloud data group of which the calculated flatness exceeds a predetermined level, as a flat surface candidate. The flatness is assumed as a value representing the smoothness (uniformity) of a flat surface. In Fig. 6C, the two point cloud data groups G1 and G3 are designated as flat surface candidates.
Fukui et al. (US 20180259836 A1) disclosed Fig. 9, [0007]-[0008] using diffusion plate to emit diffused laser light to the target.
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645