This office cation is in response to applicant’s claims filed October 18, 2024. Claims 1-11 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (EP 3674083) in view of Duke (US 8,931,865).
Xu teaches a printing device for printing fabrics (paragraph 0043-0045)comprising a transport belt including an adhesive layer for supporting a fabric and transporting the fabric in a transport direction wherein a first surface of a fabric is printed (imaging target printed in printing section) and the printed front (first) surface of the fabric faces the adhesive layer of a guiding (transport) belt and is spread on the guiding belt (pressing section that presses the fabric to the adhesive layer; paragraph 0033-0035, step 1) a printing section that prints an image on the back (second) surface of the fabric transported on the guiding belt, the second surface being on an opposite side of the first surface (paragraph 0035, steps 2-3) and an alignment section wherein the image from the first surface is alignment with the image from the second surface and a correction section that corrects the image and printing position based on the data from the alignment (paragraph 0035, steps 4-6, paragraph 0040).
Xu does not teach the infrared imaging.
Duke teaches image capturing systems for aligning images printed on the front and back side of a receiver (column 1, lines 24-48; column 2, lines 32-67;column 3, lines 1-17) wherein the imaging system can emit infrared or visible light ((column 22, lines 40-46). Duke teaches the illumination system provides light to either side of the receiver and includes a transmitted illumination pattern and reflected illumination pattern (column 9, lines 35-57). Duke teaches the infrared illumination device is removable, so it is attachable and detachable as mounting can be used for attaching and detaching (column 21, lines 22-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the printing devices and methods of Xu by using an infrared imaging section to capture an image of an imaging target provided on the first surface of a fabric receiver by using infrared rays with respect to the fabric transported on the guide belt as Duke teaches infrared imaging of the receiver surfaces of a transported receiver provides an effective means of aligning printing on the top and bottom surfaces of a double sided printed substrate. Xu clearly teaches using a fabric for double sided printing which is transported on a guide belt such that printing is performed on both the front and back sides of the fabric and the need for an alignment mechanism to ensure proper positioning of the front and back side prints. Using the known method of infrared imaging to ensure proper alignment of the prints on the front and back surfaces of a transported fabric would be obvious as Duke teaches infrared imaging provides efficient means for effective pattern alignment on opposite surfaces of a receiver in double sided printing.
Double Patenting
Claims 1,2,9-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,5,7 and 8 of copending Application No. 18/919538. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim similar devices and methods comprising transport belts with fabric adhered to them printed on a first face and infrared imaging for printing on the second face of the fabric with a correction section.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art do not teach or fairly suggest the transport bely reflects infrared rays or allows infrared rays to pass.
Conclusion
/AMINA S KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761