DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 12, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by CN116044255 (hereinafter CN255).
Re Claim 1.
CN255 discloses a door lock device, comprising: a housing (31) defining a receiving space therein, and having a latch hole (unlabeled, in Fig.1, 4 - front plate 3/30) in communication with said receiving space; a spring latch (2) rotatably and movably disposed in said receiving space adjacent to said latch hole (Fig. 1,4) to be pressed to rotate and move between a projecting position (Figs. 2-5), where a portion of said spring latch projects outwardly of said latch hole, and a retreated position (Fig.1), where said spring latch retreats inwardly into said latch hole; and a retaining biasing assembly (13) disposed within said housing, said retaining biasing assembly including a retaining member (13) which is pivotably disposed in said housing (at 11), and a biasing spring (11), said retaining member (13) being operable to rotate between a retaining position, where said retaining member is engaged with said spring latch to prevent rotation of said spring latch in the projecting position, and a releasing position, where said retaining member is disengaged from said spring latch,
(“In some specific embodiments, the unlocking block 13 can be provided with a first clamping part, the turning inclined tongue component can be provided with a second clamping part, when the unlocking block 13 swings to the first preset position, the first clamping part is clamped with the second clamping part; when the unlocking block 13 is rotated to the second preset position, the first clamping part and the second clamping part are separated from the clamping. the first clamping part and the second clamping part are clamped and separated from the locking and unlocking of the overturning inclined bolt assembly in the locking state, the structure is simpler and easier to realize.
In a further embodiment, the first clamping part can be designed as a clamping groove, the second clamping part can be designed as a bulge matched with the clamping groove; Of course it can be understood that, in the actual application process, it also can be the first clamping part is designed into a bump, the second clamping part is designed with the bump matched with the slot.”) CN255
said biasing spring (11) being disposed to bias said retaining member (13) to the retaining position and to keep said retaining member in the retaining position.
Re Claim 11.
CN255 (as modified by CN316) discloses the door lock device of claim 1, further comprising a deadbolt assembly (CN255 - Fig.1; 1) and an electrically driving mechanism (motor module 14), said deadbolt assembly being operably disposed within said housing to be operably moved between a locking position, where a portion of said deadbolt assembly projects outwardly of said housing (Fig.1), and an unlocking position, where said deadbolt assembly retreats in said housing, said electrically driving mechanism including an electrically driving assembly (14), a transmitting pinion (16) which is pivotably connected with said housing and which is driven by said electrically driving assembly to rotate, and a cam member (17) which is pivotably connected with said housing and which is swingable through said transmitting pinion (16), said transmitting pinion being rotated to press said retaining member (13) to rotate from the retaining position to the releasing position, said cam member (17) being swung to press said deadbolt assembly (1) to move between the locking position and the unlocking position (See claim 1, CN255).
Re Claim 12.
CN255 (as modified by CN316) discloses the door lock device of claim 11, wherein said retaining member (CN255 - 13) is an integrally formed single piece (Fig.1), said retaining member having a retaining shaft (at upper portion adj 11) disposed to retain said spring latch (2), and a pressed shaft (lower portion adj 172) extending from said retaining shaft, said cam member having a press arm (171/172) which presses said deadbolt assembly (171) such that said cam member (17) being swingable between a first swung position, where said deadbolt assembly is in the locking position (Fig.1), and a second swung position (172), where said deadbolt assembly is in the unlocking position (not shown), said transmitting pinion (16) having a toothed portion (Fig.1) which is coupled with and driven by said electrically driving assembly (14), a first pressing protrusion (unlabeled conventional gear system in Fig.1 adj toothed portion of 16) which projects from a side of said toothed portion and which is interposed between said pressed shaft (lower portion 13) and said press arm (171/172), and a second pressing protrusion (unlabeled conventional gear system in Fig. 1 adj toothed portion 16) which projects from said side of said toothed portion (16) and which is angularly spaced apart from said first pressing protrusion, said press arm (171) being interposed between said first pressing protrusion and said second pressing protrusion (see Fig.1, claim 1), said first pressing protrusion pressing said pressed shaft (lower portion 13) to rotate said retaining member from the retaining position to the releasing position, and also pressing said press arm (172) to swing said cam member from the second swung position (unlocked) to the first swung position (locked), said second pressing protrusion pressing said press arm (171) to swing said cam member (17) from the first swung position (locked) to the second swung position (unlocked).
Re Claim 14.
CN255 (as modified by CN316) discloses the door lock device of claim 12, wherein said pressed shaft (CN255- lower portion 13) includes a transverse shaft section to be pressed by said first pressing protrusion (via 172), and an upright shaft section (adj 172 at the end of the lower shaft section of 13) extending transverse to said transverse shaft section, said door lock device further comprising a key driving mechanism (23/24) disposed within said housing, said key driving mechanism including a rotary member (23) which is pivotably connected with said housing, and a transmitting plate (24/242, claim 1) which is pivotably connected with said housing and which is rotated with said rotary member (23) to press said upright shaft section (adj 172) to rotate said retaining member (13) from the retaining position to the releasing position, said transmitting plate (24) also pressing said press arm (172) to swing said cam member (17) from the first swung position (locked) to the second swung position (unlocked; see claim 1).
Re Claim 15.
CN255 (as modified by CN316) discloses the door lock device of claim 14, wherein said transmitting plate (24) has a plate body which is pivotably connected with said housing, and a pressing protuberance (242) which projects from a side surface of said plate body and which is formed to press said upright shaft section (13), said plate body (24) having a pressing edge which is formed to press said press arm (172), said transmitting plate (24) being rotated with said rotary member (23) between an initial position, where said pressing edge and said pressing protuberance are respectively disengaged (CN255 -Fig.1) from said press arm (172) and said upright shaft section, and an abutting position (not shown in the drawings, but described in Claim 1), where said pressing edge (242) is in abutting engagement with said press arm (172) to retain said cam member (17) in the second swung position (unlocked), and where said pressing protuberance is in abutting engagement with said upright shaft section (13) to retain said retaining member (13) in the releasing position.
Re Claim 16.
CN255 (as modified by CN316) discloses the door lock device of claim 1, further comprising a key driving mechanism (CN255 -23) disposed within said housing, said key driving mechanism including a rotary member (23) which is pivotably connected with said housing, and a transmitting plate (24/242) which is pivotably connected with said housing and which is rotated with said rotary member to press and rotate said retaining member (13) from the retaining position to the releasing position (see Claim 1), said retaining member (13) having a retaining shaft (lower portion in Fig.1) disposed to retain said spring latch (2), and a pressed shaft (adj 172) extending from said retaining shaft to be pressed by said transmitting plate (242).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN255 in view of CN220319316 (hereinafter CN316).
Re Claim 2.
CN255 discloses the door lock device of claim 1, but fails to specifically disclose the shape of the spring latch (2), wherein said spring latch has a diamond-shaped cross-section, however CN255 does disclose it is removably disposed within said housing such that said spring latch is selectively disposed in said receiving space in one of a head-side direction and a tail-side direction which is opposite to the head-side direction by a 180-degree spin.
CN316 discloses a similar spring latch (1) and retaining member (31), wherein the spring latch has a diamond-shaped cross-section (Fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a diamond shaped cross section for the similar spring latch of CN255 as an obvious matter of design choice in affording similar function and result.
Re Claim 3.
CN255 as modified by CN316 discloses the door lock device of claim 2, wherein said spring latch (CN316 -1) has a first groove (11) and a second groove (13) opposite to each other, said retaining member (31) being engaged with said first groove when said spring latch is disposed in the head-side direction, and being engaged with said second groove when said spring latch is disposed in the tail-side direction.
Re Claim 7.
CN255 as modified by CN316 discloses the door lock device of claim 1, wherein said spring latch includes a latch body and a buffering pad which is disposed on said latch body, said latch body including an outer part which has a projecting end projecting outwardly of said latch hole, a recess recessed from said projecting end, and an insert hole in communication with said recess, said buffering pad being engaged in said recess and partly projecting from said outer part, said buffering pad having a through hole which is aligned with said insert hole, said spring latch further including an insert pin which is engaged with and extends through said insert hole and said through hole to retain said buffering pad on said latch body. CN255 discloses the use of a “silencing pad” on the spring latch (2),
(“In a further embodiment, the inclined tongue module 2 of the inclined tongue surface can be provided with a silencing pad. The noise caused by the direct collision of the metal inclined tongue and the metal door frame can be avoided by designing the silencing pad, which is helpful for improving the noise reduction effect. It should be noted that the silencing pad can be made of wearable plastic silencing pad, or other silencing material commonly used by the technical personnel in the field, so it is not more specifically limited.”).
While the specific configuration of the pad and insert pin is not specifically found in the prior art of record. Official Notice is taken that the use of buffering or silencing pads is old and well known in the mechanical arts and would have been obvious to provide on a latch as disclosed by CN255, and further the manner of attachment to the latch, such as an insert pin, would also fall under the purview of the well known mechanical fastening means, as clearly contemplated and stated by CN255 such that the disclosure is “not specifically limited” or expounded upon.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 8-10, 13, 17- 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re Claims 4-6, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the buffering ring as claimed; as in claim 4, wherein said housing includes a buffering ring, said buffering ring defining said latch hole extending therethrough, said spring latch having a diamond-shaped body and at least two pairs of said protrusions, said diamond-shaped body being disposed in said receiving space and extendable through said latch hole, said diamond-shaped body having two side surfaces opposite to each other, said protrusions of each pair projecting from a corresponding one of said side surfaces and cooperatively defining a corresponding one of said first groove and said second groove, said buffering ring being disposed to stop said protrusions during rotation and movement of said spring latch to retain said spring latch in the projecting position; as in claim
5, wherein said buffering ring is rotatable between a closed position, where said latch hole is disposed for projection of said diamond-shaped body therethrough, and said buffering ring is disposed to stop said protrusions, and an opened position, where said latch hole is moved away and disengaged from said diamond-shaped body, and said buffering ring is moved away and disengaged from said protrusions; and as in claim 6, wherein said housing includes a housing shell having a right opening, a cover plate coupled with said housing shell to cover said right opening, and a front plate removably connected with front ends of said housing shell and said cover plate, said housing shell having a first axial hole, said cover plate having a second axial hole, said front plate having an upper hole, said buffering ring including a ring body which defines said latch hole and which is mounted on said front plate to align said latch hole with said upper hole and to stop said protrusions, and a pivot axle which is connected with said ring body and which is pivotably disposed in said first axial hole and said second axial hole such that, when said front plate is removed from said housing shell and said cover plate, said buffering ring is rotatable relative to said housing shell and said cover plate between the closed position and the opened position.
Re Claims 8-10, while the prior art may disclose or suggest a speed-reduction mechanism (JP 2018123488) as claimed, and while CN255 (as modified by CN316) discloses the door lock device of claim 1, further comprising a speed-reduction mechanism (CN255- Fig.1, drive transmission 16) disposed within said housing, said disclosed speed-reduction mechanism in CN255 fails to include as in claim 8, a rack, a pinion, a pinion shaft and a bearing, said rack being slidably disposed on said housing and having an end in abutting engagement with said spring latch to be moved with said spring latch, said pinion being securely sleeved on said pinion shaft and meshing with said rack, said bearing being disposed to bear said pinion shaft; and as in claim 9, wherein said speed-reduction mechanism further includes a first compression spring having an end in abutting engagement with said rack to apply a biasing force to urge said spring latch toward the projecting position; and as in claim 10, wherein said speed-reduction mechanism further includes a sleeve and a second compression spring, said sleeve being disposed on said housing for receiving said bearing therein, and having an abutting surface which is disposed therein, said second compression spring being disposed in said sleeve and abutting against said housing and said bearing to urge said bearing to be in abutting engagement with said abutting surface and urge said pinion in mesh engagement with said rack, said sleeve having at least one engaging slot, said bearing having at least one engaging rib which is engaged with said engaging slot to retain said bearing on said sleeve. While the prior art JP488 reference may teach a similar rack and pinion system, there would have ben no motivation or suggestion to integrate that system into the Cn255 mechanism absent improper hindsight reasoning.
Re Claim 13, CN255 (as modified by CN316) discloses the door lock device of claim 12, wherein said deadbolt assembly (CN255 -Fig. 1; 1) includes a sliding plate (left end of deadbolts 1) slidably connected with said housing (shaft and slot at 28/29), and at least one deadbolt (1) disposed on said sliding plate and projecting from said housing (through 3/30), said sliding plate having a notch (slot adj 28) which extends in a direction of movement of said deadbolt assembly, and a first notch side surface and a second notch side surface which are opposite to each other in the direction of the movement to cooperatively define said notch (Fig.1), but fails to teach or suggest said first notch side surface being interposed between said deadbolt and said second notch side surface, said press arm (171) being engaged in said notch to press said first notch side surface to move said deadbolt assembly toward the locking position, and to press said second notch side surface to move said deadbolt assembly toward the unlocking position.
Re Claims 17 and 18, while the prior art may disclose such lock tongue mechanisms (cited CN109538022; Fig.1; 04), there would have been no suggestion or motivation to include such a mechanism on the lock shell of CN255 absent improper hindsight reasoning.
Re Claims 19 and 20, while the prior art may disclose buffering elements mechanisms (as discussed above), there would have been no suggestion or motivation to include such an element in the configuration and manner applied on the lock shell of CN255 absent improper hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note especially, cited references JP 2018123488 and CN 1096538022.
SUZANNE DINO BARRETT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675B
Sdb
/SUZANNE L BARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675