DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 3 seems to contain all the features of claim 2 which claim 3 depends from without limiting claim 2. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grzeskowiak II (US Publication 20190283270).
As to claim 2, 3, and 14, Grzeskowiak discloses a synthetic molded slab. The processed slab is formed from a plurality of particulate mineral mixes used for living or working spaces (paragraph 2). The slab can comprise veins that run along the top surface of the of the slab (paragraph 23). The veins can be formed from different mineral mixes (paragraph 37). The first pattern (background region/first region) is represented by a first vein pattern 50 or a background of the slab can extend through the entire thickness (paragraph 23). The second pattern (vein region/second region) is represented by a second vein pattern that can be a widthwise pattern (paragraph 38). The widthwise veins may not extend though the full thickness of the slab (paragraph 38). As seen in figure 1. the slab has a top major surface and a bottom major surface.
This reference is silent to the specifics of the slab, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Grzeskowiak and formed the slab as claimed, wherein the vein region is exposed at a recessed depth of the top major surface below the background surface plane, therefore having a second region average recessed depth less than the first region average thickness as Grzeskowiak disclose the ability to make the slab have a first and second vein that are formed of different mineral mixes and have different thicknesses as this overlaps in scope of the teachings of Grzeskowiak.
As to claim 4, Grzeskowiak discloses the second pattern (vein region) is represented by a second vein pattern that can be a widthwise pattern (paragraph 38). The widthwise veins may not extend though the full thickness of the slab (paragraph 38), while the first pattern extends through the entire thickness and therefore the second pattern will have a thickness less than the first pattern.
As to claim 5, Grzeskowiak discloses that the mineral mixes for the patterned veins are different and allows for multiple patterned veins. However, is silent to a second vein in the vein region. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Grzeskowiak and formed a 3rd vein having a thickness different from the first and second thickness to allow for different patterning of the slab for aesthetic purposes.
As to claim 6, Grzeskowiak is silent to the recessed depth being between .01 mm and 10mm below the background surface plane. Grzeskowiak discloses that the slab has a thickness of between 1 to 5 inches (paragraph 25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Grzeskowiak and formed the recessed depth to be between .01 and 10 mm as one of ordinary skill in the art would know how to adjust the depth of the veining pattern depending upon the desired aesthetic appearance trying to be achieved.
As to claims 7, 8, 17, 18 Greskowiak discloses the widthwise veins may not extend though the full thickness of the slab (paragraph 38). Further from the figures it shows that the veins can be exposed along an edge of the slab. For this claim the top surface of the slab can refer to the claimed bottom surface while the bottom surface can refer to the claimed top surface and therefore the veining is along the bottom major surface.
As to claims 9 and 19, Greskowiak discloses the widthwise veins may not extend though the full thickness of the slab (paragraph 38) but that allows for some of the veins to extend through the full thickness and therefore some of the veins can be exposed along the top surface.
As to claims 10-13, 15, Greskowiak discloses the widthwise veins may not extend though the full thickness of the slab (paragraph 38) but that allows for some of the veins to extend through the full thickness and therefore some of the veins can be exposed along the top surface. Grzeskowiak further discloses that the mineral mixes for the patterned veins are different and allows for multiple patterned veins. However, is silent to a second vein in the vein region. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Grzeskowiak and formed a 3rd vein having a thickness different from the first and second thickness so as to have a second vein exposed at a first recessed depth and a third vein to be at a second recessed depth or the same average depth to allow for different patterning of the slab for aesthetic purposes.
As to claim 16, Greskowiak discloses the widthwise veins may not extend though the full thickness of the slab (paragraph 38) but that allows for some of the veins to extend through the full thickness and therefore some of the veins can be exposed along the top surface. Grzeskowiak further discloses that the mineral mixes for the patterned veins are different and allows for multiple patterned veins. However, is silent to a third region having a third average thickness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Grzeskowiak and formed a 4th vein (third region) having a thickness that is less than the first average thickness to allow for different patterning of the slab for aesthetic purposes.
Claim 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grzeskowiak II (US Publication 20190283270) in view of Sanchis Brines (US Publication 20180126673) and Yeong (KR 10-0771187 which has been machine translated).
As to claims 20 and 21, Grzeskowiak discloses a synthetic molded slab. The processed slab is formed from a plurality of particulate mineral mixes and includes a slab width that is at least 3 feet, a slab length that extends perpendicular to the slab width and that is at least 6 feet and a slab thickness that extends perpendicular to the slab width and length (paragraph 7). The slab can have a thickness of 1 to 5 inches (paragraph 25). The slab can comprise veins that run along the top surface of the of the slab (paragraph 23). The veins can be formed from different mineral mixes (paragraph 37). The first pattern is represented by a first vein pattern 50 or a background of the slab can extend through the entire thickness (paragraph 23). The second pattern is represented by a second vein pattern that can be a widthwise pattern (paragraph 38). The widthwise veins may not extend though the full thickness of the slab (paragraph 38). However this reference is silent to the second pattern exposed along the top major surface recessed from the first pattern plane.
Sanchis Brines discloses an artificial stone slab with veins, wherein the surface has grooves formed into the top surface to form a pattern and then filled, and then optionally polished to allow for a smooth or flat appearance.
Yeong discloses a slab that can have a rough or smooth surface for natural beauty or other reasons.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formed the grooves within Grzeskowiak and filled the grooves so that the filled veins protrude from the surface for aesthetic purposes as Yeong discloses a surface roughness can replicate the natural beaty of the stone and the polishing step is optional for Sanchis Brines. Having the grooves protrude can read on the first pattern as it would be at a plane that is above the second vein. These veins can extend through the entire length of the slab. Further in an alternative view the top surface of the surface would be considered to be the height of the slab where the grooves penetrate would be considered the second pattern location as its recessed from the first pattern.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER M POLLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785