DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 9, filed 05/11/2026, with respect to the objection to claims 1 and 15 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The Examiner is in agreement that the amendments to the claims correct the previously-raised informalities. Accordingly, the objection to claims 1 and 15 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 9, filed 05/11/2026, with respect to the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The Examiner is in agreement that that amendments to the claims correct the previously-raised indefiniteness concerns. Accordingly, the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claims 1-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pgs. 9-12, filed 05/11/2026, with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejection of independent claims 1 and 15 and their respective dependent claims have been fully considered but are moot.
Applicant argues that Jiang and Shen fail to teach or suggest “determine, based on whether the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box, whether to update the second classification information by using the second virtual box; perform one of: based on determining that the first virtual box is not associated with the second virtual box and based on determining that the second classification information is not to be updated, outputting the first virtual box by assigning the first classification information to the first virtual box; or based on determining that the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box and based on determining that the second classification information is to be updated: updating the second classification information; and outputting, based on the second classification information being updated, the first virtual box by assigning the updated second classification information to the first virtual box;” However, Applicant’s arguments are rendered moot, as the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The amendments to independent claims 1 and 15 modify the scope of the claims in a manner which has not been previously examined and therefore necessitate further search and consideration. Accordingly, the 35 USC 103 rejection of independent claims 1 and 15 and their respective dependent claims has been withdrawn. Upon further search and consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Jiang and Soeseno.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 24, the claim recites “wherein the first classification is broader than the second classification;” However, the written description fails to disclose that the first classification is broader than the second classification. The term “broad” or “broader” is not found in the written description. Paragraph [0022] discloses that “the first classification information comprises at least one of first classes indicating types corresponding to the external object, wherein the external object is determined through the first virtual box, or first reliabilities respectively corresponding to the first classes, and wherein the second classification information comprises at least one of second classes indicating types corresponding to the external object, wherein the external object is determined through the second virtual box, or second reliabilities respectively corresponding to the second classes.” This disclosure does not specify how the first classification is broader than the second classification; if anything, the two classifications appear to encompass a similar level of breadth. Therefore, the above-recited limitation is considered to be new matter.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “broader” in claim 24 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “broader” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In particular, it is unclear how the first classification is considered to be broader than the second classification. As discussed above in the corresponding 35 USC 112(a) rejection, [0022] of the written description illustrates that the first and second classifications have a similar level of breadth. Further, also as discussed in the corresponding 35 USC 112(a) rejection above, the written description fails to disclose the limitation “wherein the first classification is broader than the second classification;” Therefore, the claim is rendered indefinite, as the bounds of the term “broader” are left undefined by both the claim and the written description,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 10-12, 15-16, 19, and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (US 2022/0222480 A1), hereinafter Jiang, in view of Soeseno et al. (US 2023/0401809 A1), hereinafter Soeseno.
Regarding claim 1, Jiang teaches an apparatus for controlling autonomous driving of a vehicle, the apparatus comprising:
a sensor;
Jiang teaches ([0070]): "In at least one embodiment, an image is captured from one or more image capturing systems of an autonomous vehicle and is processed by a system of said autonomous vehicle comprising one or more object detection neural networks."
a memory configured to store a neural network model;
Jiang teaches ([0124]): "In at least one embodiment, inference and/or training logic 615 may include, without limitation, code and/or data storage 601 to store forward and/or output weight and/or input/output data, and/or other parameters to configure neurons or layers of a neural network trained and/or used for inferencing in aspects of one or more embodiments... In at least one embodiment, any portion of code and/or data storage 601 may be included with other on-chip or off-chip data storage, including a processor's L1, L2, or L3 cache or system memory."
and a processor configured to:
Jiang teaches ([0125]): "In at least one embodiment, any portion of code and/or data storage 601 may be internal or external to one or more processors or other hardware logic devices or circuits."
obtain, based on a cluster of points representing an external object detected by the sensor, a first virtual box…
Jiang teaches ([0070]): "In at least one embodiment, referring to Algorithm 1, a system for bounding box determination (e.g., via a strong neighbor confidence and coordinate determination 110) receives or otherwise obtains a bounding box proposals coordinates B (e.g., a bounding box proposals coordinates 102), a bounding box proposals confidences S (e.g., a bounding box proposals confidences 104), a neighbor threshold Nt (e.g., a neighbor threshold 106), and a fusion threshold Ft (e.g., a fusion threshold 108) from one or more systems. In at least one embodiment, a bounding box proposals coordinates B and a bounding box proposals confidences S are referred to as candidate bounding box information and are output from one or more object detection neural networks from one or more images, and indicate locations (e.g., via coordinates) and confidences of bounding box proposals of objects depicted in said one or more images. In at least one embodiment, an image is captured from one or more image capturing systems of an autonomous vehicle and is processed by a system of said autonomous vehicle comprising one or more object detection neural networks." Paragraph [0163] suggests that the camera may be a digital camera such as a clear pixel camera. One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore recognize an image captured by such a digital camera as comprising a cluster of points (i.e., a cluster of pixels).
...a first virtual box comprising first classification information and second classification information;
Jiang teaches ([0070]): "In at least one embodiment, referring to Algorithm 1, a system for bounding box determination (e.g., via a strong neighbor confidence and coordinate determination 110) receives or otherwise obtains a bounding box proposals coordinates B (e.g., a bounding box proposals coordinates 102), a bounding box proposals confidences S (e.g., a bounding box proposals confidences 104), a neighbor threshold Nt (e.g., a neighbor threshold 106), and a fusion threshold Ft (e.g., a fusion threshold 108) from one or more systems. In at least one embodiment, a bounding box proposals coordinates B and a bounding box proposals confidences S are referred to as candidate bounding box information and are output from one or more object detection neural networks from one or more images, and indicate locations (e.g., via coordinates) and confidences of bounding box proposals of objects depicted in said one or more images. In at least one embodiment, an image is captured from one or more image capturing systems of an autonomous vehicle and is processed by a system of said autonomous vehicle comprising one or more object detection neural networks." Jiang further teaches ([0069]): "In at least one embodiment, a strong neighbor confidence and coordinate determination 110 is a collection of one or more hardware and/or software computing resources with instructions that, when executed, processes a plurality of bounding boxes in connection with a maximum confidence bounding box to determine a count, coordinates, and confidences of strong neighbor bounding boxes." The Examiner has interpreted bounding box proposals confidences S as first classification information, and strong neighbor confidence as second classification information, wherein the first virtual box comprises both the first classification information and the second classification information.
obtain, based on inputting the cluster of points into the neural network model, a second virtual box;
Jiang teaches ([0070]): "In at least one embodiment, referring to Algorithm 1, a system for bounding box determination (e.g., via a strong neighbor confidence and coordinate determination 110) receives or otherwise obtains a bounding box proposals coordinates B (e.g., a bounding box proposals coordinates 102), a bounding box proposals confidences S (e.g., a bounding box proposals confidences 104), a neighbor threshold Nt (e.g., a neighbor threshold 106), and a fusion threshold Ft (e.g., a fusion threshold 108) from one or more systems. In at least one embodiment, a bounding box proposals coordinates B and a bounding box proposals confidences S are referred to as candidate bounding box information and are output from one or more object detection neural networks from one or more images, and indicate locations (e.g., via coordinates) and confidences of bounding box proposals of objects depicted in said one or more images. In at least one embodiment, an image is captured from one or more image capturing systems of an autonomous vehicle and is processed by a system of said autonomous vehicle comprising one or more object detection neural networks."
generate a signal indicating at least one of the first classification information or the second classification information assigned to the first virtual box;
Jiang teaches ([0198]): "In at least one embodiment, a DLA may be used to run any type of network to enhance control and driving safety, including for example and without limitation, a neural network that outputs a measure of confidence for each object detection. In at least one embodiment, confidence may be represented or interpreted as a probability, or as providing a relative “weight” of each detection compared to other detections. In at least one embodiment, a confidence measure enables a system to make further decisions regarding which detections should be considered as true positive detections rather than false positive detections. In at least one embodiment, a system may set a threshold value for confidence and consider only detections exceeding threshold value as true positive detections. In an embodiment in which an automatic emergency braking (“AEB”) system is used, false positive detections would cause vehicle to automatically perform emergency braking, which is obviously undesirable. In at least one embodiment, highly confident detections may be considered as triggers for AEB. " The Examiner has interpreted the determination that a detection is a true positive detection as a signal indicating at least one of the first classification information or the second classification information assigned to the first virtual box.
and control, based on the signal, autonomous driving of the vehicle.
Jiang teaches ([0198]): "In at least one embodiment, a DLA may be used to run any type of network to enhance control and driving safety, including for example and without limitation, a neural network that outputs a measure of confidence for each object detection. In at least one embodiment, confidence may be represented or interpreted as a probability, or as providing a relative “weight” of each detection compared to other detections. In at least one embodiment, a confidence measure enables a system to make further decisions regarding which detections should be considered as true positive detections rather than false positive detections. In at least one embodiment, a system may set a threshold value for confidence and consider only detections exceeding threshold value as true positive detections. In an embodiment in which an automatic emergency braking (“AEB”) system is used, false positive detections would cause vehicle to automatically perform emergency braking, which is obviously undesirable. In at least one embodiment, highly confident detections may be considered as triggers for AEB. " Thus, highly confident detections may trigger automatic emergency braking (i.e., autonomous driving of the vehicle).
However, while Jiang does teach updating the second classification information by using the second virtual box (see at least [0101]), Jiang does not outright teach determining, based on whether the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box, whether to update the second classification information by using the second virtual box; and based on determining that the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box and based on determining that the second classification information is to be updated: updating the second classification information; and outputting, based on the second classification information being updated, the first virtual box by assigning the updated second classification information to the first virtual box. Soeseno teaches an image data augmentation device and method, comprising:
determine, based on whether the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box, whether to update the second classification information by using the second virtual box;
Soeseno teaches ([0004]): "The processor is connected to the image capturing circuit, configured for executing an object detection model, wherein the object detection model has a high recall rate, wherein the processor is configured for executing following operations: using the object detection model to generate a plurality of bounding boxes and respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes from the image; identifying an overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes, and determining whether the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than a ratio threshold, wherein the two bounding boxes have the same classification label; and when the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than the ratio threshold, deleting one of the two bounding boxes to update the plurality of bounding boxes, thereby using the plurality of bounding boxes and the respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes for executing machine learning."
perform one of: based on determining that the first virtual box is not associated with the second virtual box and based on determining that the second classification information is not to be updated, outputting the first virtual box by assigning the first classification information to the first virtual box; or based on determining that the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box and based on determining that the second classification information is to be updated: updating the second classification information; and outputting, based on the second classification information being updated, the first virtual box by assigning the updated second classification information to the first virtual box;
Soeseno teaches ([0004]): "The processor is connected to the image capturing circuit, configured for executing an object detection model, wherein the object detection model has a high recall rate, wherein the processor is configured for executing following operations: using the object detection model to generate a plurality of bounding boxes and respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes from the image; identifying an overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes, and determining whether the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than a ratio threshold, wherein the two bounding boxes have the same classification label; and when the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than the ratio threshold, deleting one of the two bounding boxes to update the plurality of bounding boxes, thereby using the plurality of bounding boxes and the respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes for executing machine learning."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jiang to incorporate the teachings of Soeseno to provide determining, based on whether the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box, whether to update the second classification information by using the second virtual box; and based on determining that the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box and based on determining that the second classification information is to be updated: updating the second classification information; and outputting, based on the second classification information being updated, the first virtual box by assigning the updated second classification information to the first virtual box. Jiang and Soeseno are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of bounding box determination for imaging systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Soeseno, as doing so allows beneficially allows improves the accuracy of object detection by improving the accuracy of image labeling, as recognized by Soeseno (see at least [0051]).
Regarding claim 2, Jiang and Soeseno teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Jiang further teaches:
the first classification information comprises at least one of: first classes indicating types corresponding to the external object,
Jiang teaches ([0066]): " In at least one embodiment, a bounding box proposals confidences 104, denoted by S, is a database or data structure (e.g., an array or list) that comprises confidence values of bounding box proposals of a bounding box proposals coordinates 102... In at least one embodiment, for example, a neural network (e.g., an object detection neural network) outputs a proposal for a bounding box for an object of an image with a confidence value of 0.95, which indicates that said neural network has determined that said bounding box proposal comprises said object of said image with a probability of 95% or 0.95."
wherein the external object is determined through the first virtual box, or first reliabilities respectively corresponding to the first classes,
Jiang teaches ([0066]): " In at least one embodiment, a bounding box proposals confidences 104, denoted by S, is a database or data structure (e.g., an array or list) that comprises confidence values of bounding box proposals of a bounding box proposals coordinates 102... In at least one embodiment, for example, a neural network (e.g., an object detection neural network) outputs a proposal for a bounding box for an object of an image with a confidence value of 0.95, which indicates that said neural network has determined that said bounding box proposal comprises said object of said image with a probability of 95% or 0.95."
and wherein the second classification information comprises at least one of: second classes indicating types corresponding to the external object,
Jiang teaches ([0069]): "In at least one embodiment, a strong neighbor confidence and coordinate determination 110 is a collection of one or more hardware and/or software computing resources with instructions that, when executed, processes a plurality of bounding boxes in connection with a maximum confidence bounding box to determine a count, coordinates, and confidences of strong neighbor bounding boxes."
wherein the external object is determined through the second virtual box, or second reliabilities respectively corresponding to the second classes.
Jiang teaches ([0101]): "In at least one embodiment, an image 202C is an image with an updated maximum confidence bounding box proposal for an object visualized. In at least one embodiment, referring to FIG. 2, an image 202C depicts a maximum confidence bounding box (e.g., a maximum confidence bounding box associated with an image 202A and/or an image 202B) with an updated confidence value and updated coordinates for an object of image 202C."
Regarding claim 5, Jiang and Soeseno teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, Jiang does not outright teach that the processor is configured to: determine whether the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box, based on at least one of: an indication of whether the first virtual box is fused with the second virtual box, an indication of whether a box reliability of the second virtual box satisfies a threshold value, or an indication of whether the first virtual box overlaps the second virtual box and whether an overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box satisfies a reference ratio. Soeseno further teaches:
the processor is configured to: determine whether the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box, based on at least one of: an indication of whether the first virtual box is fused with the second virtual box, an indication of whether a box reliability of the second virtual box satisfies a threshold value, or an indication of whether the first virtual box overlaps the second virtual box and whether an overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box satisfies a reference ratio.
Soeseno teaches ([0004]): "The processor is connected to the image capturing circuit, configured for executing an object detection model, wherein the object detection model has a high recall rate, wherein the processor is configured for executing following operations: using the object detection model to generate a plurality of bounding boxes and respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes from the image; identifying an overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes, and determining whether the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than a ratio threshold, wherein the two bounding boxes have the same classification label; and when the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than the ratio threshold, deleting one of the two bounding boxes to update the plurality of bounding boxes, thereby using the plurality of bounding boxes and the respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes for executing machine learning."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jiang and Soeseno to further incorporate the teachings of Soeseno to provide that the processor is configured to: determine whether the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box, based on an indication of whether the first virtual box overlaps the second virtual box and whether an overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box satisfies a reference ratio. Jiang and Soeseno are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of bounding box determination for imaging systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Soeseno, as doing so allows beneficially allows improves the accuracy of object detection by improving the accuracy of image labeling, as recognized by Soeseno (see at least [0051]).
Regarding claim 6, Jiang and Soeseno teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 5. However, Jiang does not outright teach that the processor is configured to: determine that the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box, based on at least one of: the first virtual box being fused with the second virtual box, the box reliability of the second virtual box satisfying the threshold value, or the first virtual box at least partially overlapping the second virtual box and the overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box satisfying the reference ratio. Soeseno further teaches:
the processor is configured to: determine that the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box, based on at least one of: the first virtual box being fused with the second virtual box, the box reliability of the second virtual box satisfying the threshold value, or the first virtual box at least partially overlapping the second virtual box and the overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box satisfying the reference ratio.
Soeseno teaches ([0004]): "The processor is connected to the image capturing circuit, configured for executing an object detection model, wherein the object detection model has a high recall rate, wherein the processor is configured for executing following operations: using the object detection model to generate a plurality of bounding boxes and respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes from the image; identifying an overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes, and determining whether the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than a ratio threshold, wherein the two bounding boxes have the same classification label; and when the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than the ratio threshold, deleting one of the two bounding boxes to update the plurality of bounding boxes, thereby using the plurality of bounding boxes and the respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes for executing machine learning."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jiang and Soeseno to further incorporate the teachings of Soeseno to provide that the processor is configured to: determine that the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box, based on the first virtual box at least partially overlapping the second virtual box and the overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box satisfying the reference ratio. Jiang and Soeseno are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of bounding box determination for imaging systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Soeseno, as doing so allows beneficially allows improves the accuracy of object detection by improving the accuracy of image labeling, as recognized by Soeseno (see at least [0051]).
Regarding claim 7, Jiang and Soeseno teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 5. However, Jiang does not outright teach that the processor is configured to: determine that the first virtual box is not associated with the second virtual box, based on least one of: the first virtual box not being fused with the second virtual box, the box reliability of the second virtual box not satisfying the threshold value, the first virtual box not overlapping the second virtual box, or the overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box not satisfying the reference ratio; and output, based on the first virtual box not being associated with the second virtual box, the first virtual box by assigning the first classification information to the first virtual box. Soeseno further teaches:
the processor is configured to: determine that the first virtual box is not associated with the second virtual box, based on least one of: the first virtual box not being fused with the second virtual box, the box reliability of the second virtual box not satisfying the threshold value, the first virtual box not overlapping the second virtual box, or the overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box not satisfying the reference ratio;
Soeseno teaches ([0004]): "The processor is connected to the image capturing circuit, configured for executing an object detection model, wherein the object detection model has a high recall rate, wherein the processor is configured for executing following operations: using the object detection model to generate a plurality of bounding boxes and respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes from the image; identifying an overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes, and determining whether the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than a ratio threshold, wherein the two bounding boxes have the same classification label; and when the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than the ratio threshold, deleting one of the two bounding boxes to update the plurality of bounding boxes, thereby using the plurality of bounding boxes and the respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes for executing machine learning." Thus, when the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is not more than the ratio threshold, one of the two bounding boxes is not deleted because the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes does not indicate that the virtual boxes are sufficiently associated.
and output, based on the first virtual box not being associated with the second virtual box, the first virtual box by assigning the first classification information to the first virtual box.
Soeseno teaches ([0004]): "The processor is connected to the image capturing circuit, configured for executing an object detection model, wherein the object detection model has a high recall rate, wherein the processor is configured for executing following operations: using the object detection model to generate a plurality of bounding boxes and respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes from the image; identifying an overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes, and determining whether the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than a ratio threshold, wherein the two bounding boxes have the same classification label; and when the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than the ratio threshold, deleting one of the two bounding boxes to update the plurality of bounding boxes, thereby using the plurality of bounding boxes and the respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes for executing machine learning." Thus, when the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is not more than the ratio threshold, the first virtual box is assigned the original first classification information of the first virtual box (as the updating step does not occur due to the overlap ratio not satisfying the reference ratio).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jiang and Soeseno to further incorporate the teachings of Soeseno to provide that the processor is configured to: determine that the first virtual box is not associated with the second virtual box, based on the overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box not satisfying the reference ratio; and outputting, based on the first virtual box not being associated with the second virtual box, the first virtual box by assigning the first classification information to the first virtual box. Jiang and Soeseno are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of bounding box determination for imaging systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Soeseno, as doing so allows beneficially allows improves the accuracy of object detection by improving the accuracy of image labeling, as recognized by Soeseno (see at least [0051]).
Regarding claim 10, Jiang and Soeseno teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Jiang further teaches:
the processor is configured to: change, based on a number of times that the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box, in a plurality of frames including a frame including the cluster of points, at least one of a first information reliability of the first classification information or a second information reliability of the second classification information.
Jiang teaches ([0101]): " In at least one embodiment, an image 202C is an image with an updated maximum confidence bounding box proposal for an object visualized. In at least one embodiment, referring to FIG. 2, an image 202C depicts a maximum confidence bounding box (e.g., a maximum confidence bounding box associated with an image 202A and/or an image 202B) with an updated confidence value and updated coordinates for an object of image 202C. In at least one embodiment, referring to FIG. 2, an updated maximum confidence bounding box of an image 202C has a greater confidence value than a confidence value of a maximum confidence bounding box associated with an image 202A and/or an image 202B (e.g., a bounding box with a confidence value of 0.95), and indicates borders that completely encapsulate an object (e.g., a car object) of image 202C, as opposed to said maximum confidence bounding box associated with image 202A and/or image 202B, which has borders that partially encapsulate an object (e.g., a car object) of image 202A and/or image 202B." Jiang further teaches ([0070]): "In at least one embodiment, referring to Algorithm 1, a system for bounding box determination (e.g., via a strong neighbor confidence and coordinate determination 110) receives or otherwise obtains a bounding box proposals coordinates B (e.g., a bounding box proposals coordinates 102), a bounding box proposals confidences S (e.g., a bounding box proposals confidences 104), a neighbor threshold Nt (e.g., a neighbor threshold 106), and a fusion threshold Ft (e.g., a fusion threshold 108) from one or more systems. In at least one embodiment, a bounding box proposals coordinates B and a bounding box proposals confidences S are referred to as candidate bounding box information and are output from one or more object detection neural networks from one or more images, and indicate locations (e.g., via coordinates) and confidences of bounding box proposals of objects depicted in said one or more images. In at least one embodiment, an image is captured from one or more image capturing systems of an autonomous vehicle and is processed by a system of said autonomous vehicle comprising one or more object detection neural networks."
Regarding claim 11, Jiang and Soeseno teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 2. Jiang further teaches:
the processor is configured to: adjust, based on a plurality of frames including a frame including the cluster of points, at least one of the first reliabilities or the second reliabilities by performing normalization on at least one of the first reliabilities or the second reliabilities.
Jiang teaches ([0101]): " In at least one embodiment, an image 202C is an image with an updated maximum confidence bounding box proposal for an object visualized. In at least one embodiment, referring to FIG. 2, an image 202C depicts a maximum confidence bounding box (e.g., a maximum confidence bounding box associated with an image 202A and/or an image 202B) with an updated confidence value and updated coordinates for an object of image 202C. In at least one embodiment, referring to FIG. 2, an updated maximum confidence bounding box of an image 202C has a greater confidence value than a confidence value of a maximum confidence bounding box associated with an image 202A and/or an image 202B (e.g., a bounding box with a confidence value of 0.95), and indicates borders that completely encapsulate an object (e.g., a car object) of image 202C, as opposed to said maximum confidence bounding box associated with image 202A and/or image 202B, which has borders that partially encapsulate an object (e.g., a car object) of image 202A and/or image 202B." Jiang further teaches ([0110]): "In at least one embodiment, a maximum confidence bounding box corresponds to any suitable bounding box of bounding box proposals, including bounding boxes with a first maximum confidence value, second maximum confidence value, first minimum confidence value, second minimum confidence value, average confidence value, median confidence value, and/or variations thereof."
Regarding claim 12, Jiang and Soeseno teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Jiang further teaches:
the processor is configured to: determine a weight based on a time point at which a frame is obtained, in a plurality of frames including the frame, wherein the frame comprises the cluster of points,
Jiang teaches ([0070]): "In at least one embodiment, referring to Algorithm 1, a system for bounding box determination (e.g., via a strong neighbor confidence and coordinate determination 110) receives or otherwise obtains a bounding box proposals coordinates B (e.g., a bounding box proposals coordinates 102), a bounding box proposals confidences S (e.g., a bounding box proposals confidences 104), a neighbor threshold Nt (e.g., a neighbor threshold 106), and a fusion threshold Ft (e.g., a fusion threshold 108) from one or more systems. In at least one embodiment, a bounding box proposals coordinates B and a bounding box proposals confidences S are referred to as candidate bounding box information and are output from one or more object detection neural networks from one or more images, and indicate locations (e.g., via coordinates) and confidences of bounding box proposals of objects depicted in said one or more images. In at least one embodiment, an image is captured from one or more image capturing systems of an autonomous vehicle and is processed by a system of said autonomous vehicle comprising one or more object detection neural networks." Jiang further teaches ([0198]): "In at least one embodiment, confidence may be represented or interpreted as a probability, or as providing a relative “weight” of each detection compared to other detections. In at least one embodiment, a confidence measure enables a system to make further decisions regarding which detections should be considered as true positive detections rather than false positive detections. In at least one embodiment, a system may set a threshold value for confidence and consider only detections exceeding threshold value as true positive detections. In an embodiment in which an automatic emergency braking (“AEB”) system is used, false positive detections would cause vehicle to automatically perform emergency braking, which is obviously undesirable. In at least one embodiment, highly confident detections may be considered as triggers for AEB."
and wherein the weight is to be applied to at least one of the first classification information or the second classification information.
Jiang teaches ([0198]): "In at least one embodiment, confidence may be represented or interpreted as a probability, or as providing a relative “weight” of each detection compared to other detections. In at least one embodiment, a confidence measure enables a system to make further decisions regarding which detections should be considered as true positive detections rather than false positive detections. In at least one embodiment, a system may set a threshold value for confidence and consider only detections exceeding threshold value as true positive detections. In an embodiment in which an automatic emergency braking (“AEB”) system is used, false positive detections would cause vehicle to automatically perform emergency braking, which is obviously undesirable. In at least one embodiment, highly confident detections may be considered as triggers for AEB."
Regarding claim 15, Jiang teaches a method performed by an apparatus of a vehicle for controlling autonomous driving of the vehicle, the method comprising:
obtaining, based on a cluster of points representing an external object detected by a sensor, a first virtual box comprising first classification information and second classification information;
Jiang teaches ([0070]): "In at least one embodiment, referring to Algorithm 1, a system for bounding box determination (e.g., via a strong neighbor confidence and coordinate determination 110) receives or otherwise obtains a bounding box proposals coordinates B (e.g., a bounding box proposals coordinates 102), a bounding box proposals confidences S (e.g., a bounding box proposals confidences 104), a neighbor threshold Nt (e.g., a neighbor threshold 106), and a fusion threshold Ft (e.g., a fusion threshold 108) from one or more systems. In at least one embodiment, a bounding box proposals coordinates B and a bounding box proposals confidences S are referred to as candidate bounding box information and are output from one or more object detection neural networks from one or more images, and indicate locations (e.g., via coordinates) and confidences of bounding box proposals of objects depicted in said one or more images. In at least one embodiment, an image is captured from one or more image capturing systems of an autonomous vehicle and is processed by a system of said autonomous vehicle comprising one or more object detection neural networks." Paragraph [0163] suggests that the camera may be a digital camera such as a clear pixel camera. One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore recognize an image captured by such a digital camera as comprising a cluster of points (i.e., a cluster of pixels).
obtaining, based on inputting the cluster of points into a neural network model, a second virtual box;
Jiang teaches ([0070]): "In at least one embodiment, referring to Algorithm 1, a system for bounding box determination (e.g., via a strong neighbor confidence and coordinate determination 110) receives or otherwise obtains a bounding box proposals coordinates B (e.g., a bounding box proposals coordinates 102), a bounding box proposals confidences S (e.g., a bounding box proposals confidences 104), a neighbor threshold Nt (e.g., a neighbor threshold 106), and a fusion threshold Ft (e.g., a fusion threshold 108) from one or more systems. In at least one embodiment, a bounding box proposals coordinates B and a bounding box proposals confidences S are referred to as candidate bounding box information and are output from one or more object detection neural networks from one or more images, and indicate locations (e.g., via coordinates) and confidences of bounding box proposals of objects depicted in said one or more images. In at least one embodiment, an image is captured from one or more image capturing systems of an autonomous vehicle and is processed by a system of said autonomous vehicle comprising one or more object detection neural networks." Jiang further teaches ([0069]): "In at least one embodiment, a strong neighbor confidence and coordinate determination 110 is a collection of one or more hardware and/or software computing resources with instructions that, when executed, processes a plurality of bounding boxes in connection with a maximum confidence bounding box to determine a count, coordinates, and confidences of strong neighbor bounding boxes." The Examiner has interpreted bounding box proposals confidences S as first classification information, and strong neighbor confidence as second classification information, wherein the first virtual box comprises both the first classification information and the second classification information.
generating a signal indicating at least one of the first classification information or the second classification information assigned to the first virtual box;
Jiang teaches ([0198]): "In at least one embodiment, a DLA may be used to run any type of network to enhance control and driving safety, including for example and without limitation, a neural network that outputs a measure of confidence for each object detection. In at least one embodiment, confidence may be represented or interpreted as a probability, or as providing a relative “weight” of each detection compared to other detections. In at least one embodiment, a confidence measure enables a system to make further decisions regarding which detections should be considered as true positive detections rather than false positive detections. In at least one embodiment, a system may set a threshold value for confidence and consider only detections exceeding threshold value as true positive detections. In an embodiment in which an automatic emergency braking (“AEB”) system is used, false positive detections would cause vehicle to automatically perform emergency braking, which is obviously undesirable. In at least one embodiment, highly confident detections may be considered as triggers for AEB. " The Examiner has interpreted the determination that a detection is a true positive detection as a signal indicating at least one of the first classification information or the second classification information assigned to the first virtual box.
and controlling, based on the signal, autonomous driving of the vehicle.
Jiang teaches ([0198]): "In at least one embodiment, a DLA may be used to run any type of network to enhance control and driving safety, including for example and without limitation, a neural network that outputs a measure of confidence for each object detection. In at least one embodiment, confidence may be represented or interpreted as a probability, or as providing a relative “weight” of each detection compared to other detections. In at least one embodiment, a confidence measure enables a system to make further decisions regarding which detections should be considered as true positive detections rather than false positive detections. In at least one embodiment, a system may set a threshold value for confidence and consider only detections exceeding threshold value as true positive detections. In an embodiment in which an automatic emergency braking (“AEB”) system is used, false positive detections would cause vehicle to automatically perform emergency braking, which is obviously undesirable. In at least one embodiment, highly confident detections may be considered as triggers for AEB. " Thus, highly confident detections may trigger automatic emergency braking (i.e., autonomous driving of the vehicle).
However, while Jiang does teach updating the second classification information by using the second virtual box (see at least [0101]), Jiang does not outright teach determining, based on whether the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box, whether to update the second classification information by using the second virtual box; and based on determining that the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box and based on determining that the second classification information is to be updated: updating the second classification information; and outputting, based on the second classification information being updated, the first virtual box by assigning the updated second classification information to the first virtual box. Soeseno teaches an image data augmentation device and method, comprising:
determining, based on whether the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box, whether to update the second classification information by using the second virtual box;
Soeseno teaches ([0004]): "The processor is connected to the image capturing circuit, configured for executing an object detection model, wherein the object detection model has a high recall rate, wherein the processor is configured for executing following operations: using the object detection model to generate a plurality of bounding boxes and respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes from the image; identifying an overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes, and determining whether the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than a ratio threshold, wherein the two bounding boxes have the same classification label; and when the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than the ratio threshold, deleting one of the two bounding boxes to update the plurality of bounding boxes, thereby using the plurality of bounding boxes and the respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes for executing machine learning."
performing one of: based on determining that the first virtual box is not associated with the second virtual box and based on determining that the second classification information is not to be updated, outputting the first virtual box by assigning the first classification information to the first virtual box; or based on determining that the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box and based on determining that the second classification information is to be updated: updating the second classification information; and outputting, based on the second classification information being updated, the first virtual box by assigning the second updated classification information to the first virtual box;
Soeseno teaches ([0004]): "The processor is connected to the image capturing circuit, configured for executing an object detection model, wherein the object detection model has a high recall rate, wherein the processor is configured for executing following operations: using the object detection model to generate a plurality of bounding boxes and respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes from the image; identifying an overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes, and determining whether the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than a ratio threshold, wherein the two bounding boxes have the same classification label; and when the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than the ratio threshold, deleting one of the two bounding boxes to update the plurality of bounding boxes, thereby using the plurality of bounding boxes and the respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes for executing machine learning."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jiang to incorporate the teachings of Soeseno to provide determining, based on whether the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box, whether to update the second classification information by using the second virtual box; and based on determining that the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box and based on determining that the second classification information is to be updated: updating the second classification information; and outputting, based on the second classification information being updated, the first virtual box by assigning the updated second classification information to the first virtual box. Jiang and Soeseno are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of bounding box determination for imaging systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Soeseno, as doing so allows beneficially allows improves the accuracy of object detection by improving the accuracy of image labeling, as recognized by Soeseno (see at least [0051]).
Regarding claim 16, Jiang and Soeseno teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 15. Jiang further teaches:
the first classification information comprises at least one of: first classes indicating types corresponding to the external object,
Jiang teaches ([0066]): " In at least one embodiment, a bounding box proposals confidences 104, denoted by S, is a database or data structure (e.g., an array or list) that comprises confidence values of bounding box proposals of a bounding box proposals coordinates 102... In at least one embodiment, for example, a neural network (e.g., an object detection neural network) outputs a proposal for a bounding box for an object of an image with a confidence value of 0.95, which indicates that said neural network has determined that said bounding box proposal comprises said object of said image with a probability of 95% or 0.95."
wherein the external object is determined through the first virtual box, or first reliabilities respectively corresponding to the first classes,
Jiang teaches ([0066]): " In at least one embodiment, a bounding box proposals confidences 104, denoted by S, is a database or data structure (e.g., an array or list) that comprises confidence values of bounding box proposals of a bounding box proposals coordinates 102... In at least one embodiment, for example, a neural network (e.g., an object detection neural network) outputs a proposal for a bounding box for an object of an image with a confidence value of 0.95, which indicates that said neural network has determined that said bounding box proposal comprises said object of said image with a probability of 95% or 0.95."
and wherein the second classification information comprises at least one of: second classes indicating types corresponding to the external object,
Jiang teaches ([0069]): "In at least one embodiment, a strong neighbor confidence and coordinate determination 110 is a collection of one or more hardware and/or software computing resources with instructions that, when executed, processes a plurality of bounding boxes in connection with a maximum confidence bounding box to determine a count, coordinates, and confidences of strong neighbor bounding boxes."
wherein the external object is determined through the second virtual box, or second reliabilities respectively corresponding to the second classes.
Jiang teaches ([0101]): "In at least one embodiment, an image 202C is an image with an updated maximum confidence bounding box proposal for an object visualized. In at least one embodiment, referring to FIG. 2, an image 202C depicts a maximum confidence bounding box (e.g., a maximum confidence bounding box associated with an image 202A and/or an image 202B) with an updated confidence value and updated coordinates for an object of image 202C."
Regarding claim 19, Jiang and Soeseno teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 15. However, Jiang does not outright teach determining whether the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box, based on at least one of: an indication of whether the first virtual box is fused with the second virtual box, an indication of whether a box reliability of the second virtual box satisfies a threshold value, or an indication of whether the first virtual box overlaps the second virtual box and whether an overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box satisfies a reference ratio. Soeseno further teaches:
determining whether the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box, based on at least one of: an indication of whether the first virtual box is fused with the second virtual box, an indication of whether a box reliability of the second virtual box satisfies a threshold value, or an indication of whether the first virtual box overlaps the second virtual box and whether an overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box satisfies a reference ratio.
Soeseno teaches ([0004]): "The processor is connected to the image capturing circuit, configured for executing an object detection model, wherein the object detection model has a high recall rate, wherein the processor is configured for executing following operations: using the object detection model to generate a plurality of bounding boxes and respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes from the image; identifying an overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes, and determining whether the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than a ratio threshold, wherein the two bounding boxes have the same classification label; and when the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than the ratio threshold, deleting one of the two bounding boxes to update the plurality of bounding boxes, thereby using the plurality of bounding boxes and the respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes for executing machine learning."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jiang and Soeseno to further incorporate the teachings of Soeseno to provide determining whether the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box, based on an indication of whether the first virtual box overlaps the second virtual box and whether an overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box satisfies a reference ratio. Jiang and Soeseno are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of bounding box determination for imaging systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Soeseno, as doing so allows beneficially allows improves the accuracy of object detection by improving the accuracy of image labeling, as recognized by Soeseno (see at least [0051]).
Regarding claim 21, Jiang and Soeseno teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, Jiang does not outright teach that the processor is configured to determine whether to update the second classification information by the second virtual box comprises: determining to update the second classification information based on an overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box being above a reference ratio. Soeseno further teaches:
the processor is configured to determine whether to update the second classification information by the second virtual box comprises: determining to update the second classification information based on an overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box being above a reference ratio.
Soeseno teaches ([0004]): "The processor is connected to the image capturing circuit, configured for executing an object detection model, wherein the object detection model has a high recall rate, wherein the processor is configured for executing following operations: using the object detection model to generate a plurality of bounding boxes and respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes from the image; identifying an overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes, and determining whether the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than a ratio threshold, wherein the two bounding boxes have the same classification label; and when the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than the ratio threshold, deleting one of the two bounding boxes to update the plurality of bounding boxes, thereby using the plurality of bounding boxes and the respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes for executing machine learning."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jiang and Soeseno to further incorporate the teachings of Soeseno to provide that the processor is configured to determine whether to update the second classification information by the second virtual box comprises: determining to update the second classification information based on an overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box being above a reference ratio. Jiang and Soeseno are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of bounding box determination for imaging systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Soeseno, as doing so allows beneficially allows improves the accuracy of object detection by improving the accuracy of image labeling, as recognized by Soeseno (see at least [0051]).
Regarding claim 22, Jiang and Soeseno teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, Jiang does not outright teach that the processor is further configured to: update the second classification information based on an overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box being above a reference ratio. Soeseno further teaches:
the processor is further configured to: update the second classification information based on an overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box being above a reference ratio.
Soeseno teaches ([0004]): "The processor is connected to the image capturing circuit, configured for executing an object detection model, wherein the object detection model has a high recall rate, wherein the processor is configured for executing following operations: using the object detection model to generate a plurality of bounding boxes and respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes from the image; identifying an overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes, and determining whether the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than a ratio threshold, wherein the two bounding boxes have the same classification label; and when the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than the ratio threshold, deleting one of the two bounding boxes to update the plurality of bounding boxes, thereby using the plurality of bounding boxes and the respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes for executing machine learning."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jiang and Soeseno to further incorporate the teachings of Soeseno to provide that the processor is further configured to: update the second classification information based on an overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box being above a reference ratio. Jiang and Soeseno are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of bounding box determination for imaging systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Soeseno, as doing so allows beneficially allows improves the accuracy of object detection by improving the accuracy of image labeling, as recognized by Soeseno (see at least [0051]).
Regarding claim 23, Jiang and Soeseno teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, Jiang does not outright teach that the processor is further configured to: assign the updated second classification information to the first virtual box based on an overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box being above a reference ratio. Soeseno further teaches:
the processor is further configured to: assign the updated second classification information to the first virtual box based on an overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box being above a reference ratio.
Soeseno teaches ([0004]): "The processor is connected to the image capturing circuit, configured for executing an object detection model, wherein the object detection model has a high recall rate, wherein the processor is configured for executing following operations: using the object detection model to generate a plurality of bounding boxes and respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes from the image; identifying an overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes, and determining whether the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than a ratio threshold, wherein the two bounding boxes have the same classification label; and when the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than the ratio threshold, deleting one of the two bounding boxes to update the plurality of bounding boxes, thereby using the plurality of bounding boxes and the respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes for executing machine learning."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jiang and Soeseno to further incorporate the teachings of Soeseno to provide that the processor is further configured to: assign the updated second classification information to the first virtual box based on an overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box being above a reference ratio. Jiang and Soeseno are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of bounding box determination for imaging systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Soeseno, as doing so allows beneficially allows improves the accuracy of object detection by improving the accuracy of image labeling, as recognized by Soeseno (see at least [0051]).
Claim(s) 8, 13-14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang and Soeseno in view of Shen et al. (US 2022/0222477 A1), hereinafter Shen.
Regarding claim 8, Jiang and Soeseno teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 5. However, Jiang does not outright teach that the processor is configured to: determine, based on dividing a width and a length of the first virtual box at an interval, at least one of: whether the first virtual box overlaps the second virtual box, or the overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box. Shen teaches non-maximum suppression for removing redundant bounding boxes corresponding to one or more objects within one or more digital images, comprising:
the processor is configured to: determine, based on dividing a width and a length of the first virtual box at an interval, at least one of: whether the first virtual box overlaps the second virtual box, or the overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box.
Shen teaches ([0090]): "In at least one embodiment, a degree of overlap between two bounding boxes can be used for clustering bounding boxes. In at least one embodiment, a degree of overlap is determined using an IoU value between two boxes by computing an area of overlap (also referred to as intersection) divided by an area of union, such as illustrated by equation 600 in FIG. 6. In at least one embodiment, an IoU value is produced by equation 600 as area of overlap 602 of two bounding boxes divided by an area of union 604 of these two bounding boxes." FIG. 6, included below, demonstrates that the overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box is determined based on dividing a width and length of the first virtual box at an interval (i.e., the interval of overlap with the other box) with the area of union.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jiang and Soeseno to incorporate the teachings of Shen to provide that the processor is configured to: determine, based on dividing a width and a length of the first virtual box at an interval, at least one of: whether the first virtual box overlaps the second virtual box, or the overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box. Jiang and Shen are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of bounding box determination for imaging systems of autonomous vehicles. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Shen, as doing so allows for the determination of redundant bounding boxes which should be removed based on whether the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box, as recognized by Shen (see at least [0080]). In the same paragraph, Shen provides the further benefit of allowing for repeat calculations of IoU (i.e., Intersection of Union) values and confidence scores.
Regarding claim 13, Jiang and Soeseno teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, Jiang does not outright teach that the processor is configured to: change, based on a size of the first virtual box, at least one of a first information reliability of the first classification information or a second information reliability of the second classification information. Shen teaches non-maximum suppression for removing redundant bounding boxes corresponding to one or more objects within one or more digital images, comprising:
the processor is configured to: change, based on a size of the first virtual box, at least one of a first information reliability of the first classification information or a second information reliability of the second classification information.
Shen teaches ([0090]): "In at least one embodiment, a degree of overlap between two bounding boxes can be used for clustering bounding boxes. In at least one embodiment, a degree of overlap is determined using an IoU value between two boxes by computing an area of overlap (also referred to as intersection) divided by an area of union, such as illustrated by equation 600 in FIG. 6. In at least one embodiment, an IoU value is produced by equation 600 as area of overlap 602 of two bounding boxes divided by an area of union 604 of these two bounding boxes." Shen further teaches ([0108]): "In at least one embodiment, at block 804, processing logic calculates an IoU value of a respective candidate point and a neighboring point in an identified set and determines whether an IoU value satisfies (e.g., is greater than) an IoU threshold and a confidence score of a candidate point satisfies a criterion pertaining to (e.g., is less than) a confidence score of a neighboring point. In at least one embodiment, at block 804, processing logic identifies a candidate point as a redundant bounding box to be removed responsive to an IoU value satisfying an IoU threshold and a confidence score of a candidate point satisfying a criterion pertaining to a confidence score of a neighboring point."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jiang and Soeseno to incorporate the teachings of Shen to provide that the processor is configured to: change, based on a size of the first virtual box, at least one of a first information reliability of the first classification information or a second information reliability of the second classification information. Jiang and Shen are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of bounding box determination for imaging systems of autonomous vehicles. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Shen, as doing so allows for the determination of redundant bounding boxes which should be removed based on whether the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box, as recognized by Shen (see at least [0080]). In the same paragraph, Shen provides the further benefit of allowing for repeat calculations of IoU (i.e., Intersection of Union) values and confidence scores.
Regarding claim 14, Jiang and Soeseno teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, Jiang does not outright teach that the processor is configured to: obtain, from the cluster of points, at least one of a width, a length, a height, a histogram, or a density of the cluster of points; and obtain, based on at least one of the width, the length, the height, the histogram, or the density, the first virtual box. Shen teaches non-maximum suppression for removing redundant bounding boxes corresponding to one or more objects within one or more digital images, comprising:
the processor is configured to: obtain, from the cluster of points, at least one of a width, a length, a height, a histogram, or a density of the cluster of points;
Shen teaches ([0098]): " In at least one embodiment, candidate point 702 can be a center point of reduced search space 700. In at least one embodiment, reduced search space 700 can be defined as a rectangle, a square, a circle, or other shapes. In at least one embodiment, candidate point 702 and neighboring point 704 can be represented with x and y coordinates and a corresponding bounding box can be represented with x and y coordinates and width w and height h. "
and obtain, based on at least one of the width, the length, the height, the histogram, or the density, the first virtual box.
Shen teaches ([0098]): " In at least one embodiment, candidate point 702 can be a center point of reduced search space 700. In at least one embodiment, reduced search space 700 can be defined as a rectangle, a square, a circle, or other shapes. In at least one embodiment, candidate point 702 and neighboring point 704 can be represented with x and y coordinates and a corresponding bounding box can be represented with x and y coordinates and width w and height h. "
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jiang and Soeseno to incorporate the teachings of Shen to provide that the processor is configured to: obtain, from the cluster of points, at least one of a width, a length, a height, a histogram, or a density of the cluster of points; and obtain, based on at least one of the width, the length, the height, the histogram, or the density, the first virtual box. Jiang and Shen are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of bounding box determination for imaging systems of autonomous vehicles. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Shen, as doing so allows for the determination of redundant bounding boxes which should be removed based on whether the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box, as recognized by Shen (see at least [0080]). In the same paragraph, Shen provides the further benefit of allowing for repeat calculations of IoU (i.e., Intersection of Union) values and confidence scores.
Regarding claim 20, Jiang and Soeseno teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 15. However, Jiang does not outright teach obtaining, from the cluster of points, at least one of a width, a length, a height, a histogram, or a density of the cluster of points; and obtaining, based on at least one of the width, the length, the height, the histogram, or the density, the first virtual box. Shen teaches non-maximum suppression for removing redundant bounding boxes corresponding to one or more objects within one or more digital images, comprising:
obtaining, from the cluster of points, at least one of a width, a length, a height, a histogram, or a density of the cluster of points;
Shen teaches ([0098]): " In at least one embodiment, candidate point 702 can be a center point of reduced search space 700. In at least one embodiment, reduced search space 700 can be defined as a rectangle, a square, a circle, or other shapes. In at least one embodiment, candidate point 702 and neighboring point 704 can be represented with x and y coordinates and a corresponding bounding box can be represented with x and y coordinates and width w and height h. "
and obtaining, based on at least one of the width, the length, the height, the histogram, or the density, the first virtual box.
Shen teaches ([0098]): " In at least one embodiment, candidate point 702 can be a center point of reduced search space 700. In at least one embodiment, reduced search space 700 can be defined as a rectangle, a square, a circle, or other shapes. In at least one embodiment, candidate point 702 and neighboring point 704 can be represented with x and y coordinates and a corresponding bounding box can be represented with x and y coordinates and width w and height h. "
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jiang and Soeseno to incorporate the teachings of Shen to provide obtaining, from the cluster of points, at least one of a width, a length, a height, a histogram, or a density of the cluster of points; and obtaining, based on at least one of the width, the length, the height, the histogram, or the density, the first virtual box. Jiang and Shen are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of bounding box determination for imaging systems of autonomous vehicles. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Shen, as doing so allows for the determination of redundant bounding boxes which should be removed based on whether the first virtual box is associated with the second virtual box, as recognized by Shen (see at least [0080]). In the same paragraph, Shen provides the further benefit of allowing for repeat calculations of IoU (i.e., Intersection of Union) values and confidence scores.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang and Soeseno in view of Horowitz et al. (US 2023/0192418 A1), hereinafter Horowitz.
Regarding claim 9, Jiang and Soeseno teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Jiang further teaches:
and change, based on a number of times that the second classification information assigned to the first virtual box is changed, in the plurality of frames, a second information reliability of the second classification information.
Jiang teaches ([0101]): " In at least one embodiment, an image 202C is an image with an updated maximum confidence bounding box proposal for an object visualized. In at least one embodiment, referring to FIG. 2, an image 202C depicts a maximum confidence bounding box (e.g., a maximum confidence bounding box associated with an image 202A and/or an image 202B) with an updated confidence value and updated coordinates for an object of image 202C. In at least one embodiment, referring to FIG. 2, an updated maximum confidence bounding box of an image 202C has a greater confidence value than a confidence value of a maximum confidence bounding box associated with an image 202A and/or an image 202B (e.g., a bounding box with a confidence value of 0.95), and indicates borders that completely encapsulate an object (e.g., a car object) of image 202C, as opposed to said maximum confidence bounding box associated with image 202A and/or image 202B, which has borders that partially encapsulate an object (e.g., a car object) of image 202A and/or image 202B."
However, Jiang does not outright teach that the processor is configured to: change, based on a number of times that the first classification information assigned to the first virtual box is changed, in a plurality of frames including a frame including the cluster of points, a first information reliability of the first classification information. Horowitz teaches an object recognition device utilizing bounding boxes, comprising:
the processor is configured to: change, based on a number of times that the first classification information assigned to the first virtual box is changed, in a plurality of frames including a frame including the cluster of points, a first information reliability of the first classification information;
Horowitz teaches ([0123]): "Given that the vision sensor of an object recognition device may only “see” portions of an object at a time (due to the entirety of the object not always being in full view of the vision sensor), in some embodiments, object tracking logic 708 is configured to maintain a dynamically variable bounding polygon (e.g., such as a four-sided box) estimate around the object as part of the object recognition. In various embodiments, a “dynamically variable bounding polygon” around an object is a bounding polygon that approximates the shape of the object and in which different portions of the bounding polygon are associated with respective confidence values depending on the sensed data that has been collected on the object so far. As mentioned above, object tracking logic 708 is configured to apply one or more machine learning models to visual sensor signals (e.g., images) to identify object regions (e.g., masks, bounding polygons, etc.) that define the shape and location of the objects. Object tracking logic 708 is configured to assign for each portion of a bounding polygon (e.g., box) of an object a confidence value that is associated with that boundary polygon’s portion’s inference probability (i.e., a variance value related to confidence in the estimate). For example, the portion of the bounding polygon that is outside the field of view of the vision sensor is assigned a higher variance estimate than the portion of the bounding polygon that is inside the field of view of the vision sensor, thereby ensuring that as the object’s trajectory changes over time and that additional visual sensor data is collected on the object, the bounding polygon for the object as determined by object tracking logic 708 becomes more accurate and converges quickly. "
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jiang and Soeseno to incorporate the teachings of Horowitz to provide that the processor is configured to: change, based on a number of times that the first classification information assigned to the first virtual box is changed, in a plurality of frames including a frame including the cluster of points, a first information reliability of the first classification information. Jiang, Soeseno, and Horowitz are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of object detection using bounding boxes. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Horowitz, as doing so improves object recognition for objects which may not always be in full view of the vision sensor through the use of variance estimation, as recognized by Horowitz (see at least [0123]). In the same paragraph, Horowitz indicates that such object tracking logic advantageously allows for the bounding box for the object to become more accurate and converge quickly.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Soeseno, and in further view of Bagwell et al. (US 10,936,902 B1), hereinafter Bagwell.
Regarding claim 24, Jiang teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a memory configured to store a neural network model;
Jiang teaches ([0124]): "In at least one embodiment, inference and/or training logic 615 may include, without limitation, code and/or data storage 601 to store forward and/or output weight and/or input/output data, and/or other parameters to configure neurons or layers of a neural network trained and/or used for inferencing in aspects of one or more embodiments... In at least one embodiment, any portion of code and/or data storage 601 may be included with other on-chip or off-chip data storage, including a processor's L1, L2, or L3 cache or system memory."
and a processor configured to:
Jiang teaches ([0125]): "In at least one embodiment, any portion of code and/or data storage 601 may be internal or external to one or more processors or other hardware logic devices or circuits."
obtain… a first virtual box associated with a first classification and a second classification,
Jiang teaches ([0070]): "In at least one embodiment, referring to Algorithm 1, a system for bounding box determination (e.g., via a strong neighbor confidence and coordinate determination 110) receives or otherwise obtains a bounding box proposals coordinates B (e.g., a bounding box proposals coordinates 102), a bounding box proposals confidences S (e.g., a bounding box proposals confidences 104), a neighbor threshold Nt (e.g., a neighbor threshold 106), and a fusion threshold Ft (e.g., a fusion threshold 108) from one or more systems. In at least one embodiment, a bounding box proposals coordinates B and a bounding box proposals confidences S are referred to as candidate bounding box information and are output from one or more object detection neural networks from one or more images, and indicate locations (e.g., via coordinates) and confidences of bounding box proposals of objects depicted in said one or more images. In at least one embodiment, an image is captured from one or more image capturing systems of an autonomous vehicle and is processed by a system of said autonomous vehicle comprising one or more object detection neural networks." Jiang further teaches ([0069]): "In at least one embodiment, a strong neighbor confidence and coordinate determination 110 is a collection of one or more hardware and/or software computing resources with instructions that, when executed, processes a plurality of bounding boxes in connection with a maximum confidence bounding box to determine a count, coordinates, and confidences of strong neighbor bounding boxes." The Examiner has interpreted bounding box proposals confidences S as first classification information, and strong neighbor confidence as second classification information, wherein the first virtual box comprises both the first classification information and the second classification information.
wherein the first classification is broader than the second classification;
Jiang teaches ([0070]): "In at least one embodiment, referring to Algorithm 1, a system for bounding box determination (e.g., via a strong neighbor confidence and coordinate determination 110) receives or otherwise obtains a bounding box proposals coordinates B (e.g., a bounding box proposals coordinates 102), a bounding box proposals confidences S (e.g., a bounding box proposals confidences 104), a neighbor threshold Nt (e.g., a neighbor threshold 106), and a fusion threshold Ft (e.g., a fusion threshold 108) from one or more systems. In at least one embodiment, a bounding box proposals coordinates B and a bounding box proposals confidences S are referred to as candidate bounding box information and are output from one or more object detection neural networks from one or more images, and indicate locations (e.g., via coordinates) and confidences of bounding box proposals of objects depicted in said one or more images. In at least one embodiment, an image is captured from one or more image capturing systems of an autonomous vehicle and is processed by a system of said autonomous vehicle comprising one or more object detection neural networks." Jiang further teaches ([0069]): "In at least one embodiment, a strong neighbor confidence and coordinate determination 110 is a collection of one or more hardware and/or software computing resources with instructions that, when executed, processes a plurality of bounding boxes in connection with a maximum confidence bounding box to determine a count, coordinates, and confidences of strong neighbor bounding boxes."
obtain, based on inputting the point cloud into a neural network model, a second virtual box;
Jiang teaches ([0070]): "In at least one embodiment, referring to Algorithm 1, a system for bounding box determination (e.g., via a strong neighbor confidence and coordinate determination 110) receives or otherwise obtains a bounding box proposals coordinates B (e.g., a bounding box proposals coordinates 102), a bounding box proposals confidences S (e.g., a bounding box proposals confidences 104), a neighbor threshold Nt (e.g., a neighbor threshold 106), and a fusion threshold Ft (e.g., a fusion threshold 108) from one or more systems. In at least one embodiment, a bounding box proposals coordinates B and a bounding box proposals confidences S are referred to as candidate bounding box information and are output from one or more object detection neural networks from one or more images, and indicate locations (e.g., via coordinates) and confidences of bounding box proposals of objects depicted in said one or more images. In at least one embodiment, an image is captured from one or more image capturing systems of an autonomous vehicle and is processed by a system of said autonomous vehicle comprising one or more object detection neural networks."
and control, based on the updated second classification being assigned to the first virtual box, an autonomous driving operation of the vehicle.
Jiang teaches ([0198]): "In at least one embodiment, a DLA may be used to run any type of network to enhance control and driving safety, including for example and without limitation, a neural network that outputs a measure of confidence for each object detection. In at least one embodiment, confidence may be represented or interpreted as a probability, or as providing a relative “weight” of each detection compared to other detections. In at least one embodiment, a confidence measure enables a system to make further decisions regarding which detections should be considered as true positive detections rather than false positive detections. In at least one embodiment, a system may set a threshold value for confidence and consider only detections exceeding threshold value as true positive detections. In an embodiment in which an automatic emergency braking (“AEB”) system is used, false positive detections would cause vehicle to automatically perform emergency braking, which is obviously undesirable. In at least one embodiment, highly confident detections may be considered as triggers for AEB. " Thus, highly confident detections may trigger automatic emergency braking (i.e., autonomous driving of the vehicle).
However, while Jiang does teach updating the second classification information by using the second virtual box (see at least [0101]), Jiang does not outright teach, based on an overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box being above a reference ratio: updating the second classification by using the second virtual box; and assigning the updated second classification to the first virtual box. Soeseno teaches an image data augmentation device and method, comprising:
based on an overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box being above a reference ratio: update the second classification by using the second virtual box;
Soeseno teaches ([0004]): "The processor is connected to the image capturing circuit, configured for executing an object detection model, wherein the object detection model has a high recall rate, wherein the processor is configured for executing following operations: using the object detection model to generate a plurality of bounding boxes and respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes from the image; identifying an overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes, and determining whether the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than a ratio threshold, wherein the two bounding boxes have the same classification label; and when the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than the ratio threshold, deleting one of the two bounding boxes to update the plurality of bounding boxes, thereby using the plurality of bounding boxes and the respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes for executing machine learning."
and assign the updated second classification to the first virtual box;
Soeseno teaches ([0004]): "The processor is connected to the image capturing circuit, configured for executing an object detection model, wherein the object detection model has a high recall rate, wherein the processor is configured for executing following operations: using the object detection model to generate a plurality of bounding boxes and respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes from the image; identifying an overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes, and determining whether the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than a ratio threshold, wherein the two bounding boxes have the same classification label; and when the overlap ratio between the two bounding boxes is more than the ratio threshold, deleting one of the two bounding boxes to update the plurality of bounding boxes, thereby using the plurality of bounding boxes and the respective classification labels of the plurality of bounding boxes for executing machine learning."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jiang to incorporate the teachings of Soeseno to provide, based on an overlap ratio between the first virtual box and the second virtual box being above a reference ratio: updating the second classification by using the second virtual box; and assigning the updated second classification to the first virtual box. Jiang and Soeseno are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of bounding box determination for imaging systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Soeseno, as doing so allows beneficially allows improves the accuracy of object detection by improving the accuracy of image labeling, as recognized by Soeseno (see at least [0051]).
However, Jiang does not outright teach obtaining the first virtual box based on a point cloud detected by a lidar sensor of a vehicle. Bagwell teaches bounding box selection, comprising:
obtain, based on a point cloud detected by a lidar sensor of a vehicle, a first virtual box…
Bagwell teaches (Col. 11 line 64 - Col. 12 line 9): "The system 300 may include LIDAR bounding box generation components 302(1)-(S) that receive a LIDAR observation(s) 304. The LIDAR observation(s) 304 may comprise LIDAR data or data generated by processing LIDAR data. The LIDAR bounding box generation components 302 may implement various techniques to generate bounding boxes for the LIDAR observation(s) 304. For example, each of the LIDAR bounding box generation components 302 may implement a different technique to generate a different type of bounding box. The LIDAR bounding box generation components 302 may provide any bounding boxes that are generated to an association component 306." Col. 5 lines 25-36 indicate that the LIDAR data is captured by a vehicle while the vehicle traverses an environment.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jiang and Soeseno to incorporate the teachings of Bagwell to provide obtaining the first virtual box based on a point cloud detected by a lidar sensor of a vehicle. Jiang, Soeseno, and Bagwell are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of bounding box determination for imaging systems. Further, paragraph [0166] of Jiang indicates that the front-facing cameras of Jiang may be used to perform similar ADAS functions as a LIDAR sensor. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to incorporate the teachings of Bagwell, as Jiang already anticipates the use of LIDAR and front-facing cameras in a similar manner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sajjadi Mohammadabadi et al. (US 2020/0293796 A1) teaches intersection detection and classification in autonomous machine applications, including the use of bounding box(es) and determining whether bounding boxes overlap (see at least FIG. 3B). Tariq (US 2021/0166049 A1) teaches bounding box embedding for object identifying, including providing an image to a machine learning model/neural network to determine a bounding box that surrounds the object, thereby identifying the object (see at least [0015] and [0028]). Ko et al. (US 2021/0383134 A1) teaches an advanced driver assist system and method of detecting objects, including determining class scores of candidate bounding boxes, and selecting an adjusted candidate bounding box whose adjusted score is greatest as the final bounding box (see at least [0008]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/DALE W HILGENDORF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662