DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-9, in the reply filed on 10/18/24 is acknowledged. Applicant has withdrawn claims 10-13 in their reply of 6/17/26.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraphs 1-4 of the specification should be updated for any issued patent numbers.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2019/043147 by Strohmeier.
Regarding Claim 1, Strohmeier teaches a method of musculature stimulation mapping (e.g. abstract, 9:1-23, 15:19-32: EMG mapping for stimulation), the method comprising:
disposing a garment on a body part of a user with an array of electrodes of the garment contacting skin of the body part (e.g. abstract, 6:9-22, 10:4-25, Fig. 1: sleeve garment with array of electrodes);
measuring electromyography (EMG) signals using the array of electrodes of the garment disposed on the body part while the user is triggering the EMG signals to perform a movement of the body part (e.g. 6:9-34, 28:34-35, Fig. 1B, Fig. 5: performing gestures, such as wrist extension, and mapping EMG from the sleeve electrodes); and
mapping the measured EMG signals to a musculature anatomy to determine muscles activated by the triggering of the EMG signals (e.g. abstract, 9:1-23, 15:19-32, 7:10-16, 32:20-21, Fig. 4: different gestures produce different EMG signal patterns from the array, the patterns corresponding to the musculature anatomy under the electrode array).
Regarding Claim 7, Strohmeier teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: based on the mapping of the measured EMG signals to the musculature anatomy, determining electrodes of the array of electrodes for performing functional electrical stimulation (e.g. abstract, 1:11-16: calibrating FES based on EMG patterns from the garment array).
Regarding Claim 8, Strohmeier teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the determined electrodes of the array of electrodes for performing the FES comprises cathode and anode regions of interest (ROI) of the array of electrodes (e.g. 7:18-24: bipolar stimulation).
Regarding Claim 9, Strohmeier teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising: performing FES to evoke the movement of the body part by applying electrical stimulation to the determined electrodes of the array of electrodes (e.g. 4:13-15, 27:6—28:9, 30:26-35: the EMS is used to evoke movement to reproduce the gesture).
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2020/0406035 by Sharma.
The applied reference has a common assignee, and one common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding Claim 1, Sharma teaches a method of musculature stimulation mapping (e.g. ¶ 23: personalized EMG mapping), the method comprising:
disposing a garment on a body part of a user with an array of electrodes of the garment contacting skin of the body part (e.g. ¶20, Fig. 1: sleeve 10 with electrode arrays);
measuring electromyography (EMG) signals using the array of electrodes of the garment disposed on the body part while the user is triggering the EMG signals to perform a movement of the body part (e.g. abstract, ¶14,18-19,45: volitional EMG during intended movement); and
mapping the measured EMG signals to a musculature anatomy to determine muscles activated by the triggering of the EMG signals (e.g. abstract, ¶23, Fig. 6-7: mapping EMG signals to motor units).
Regarding Claim 2, Sharma discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the triggering of the EMG signals does not produce movement of the body part (e.g. ¶14,45: recording intent to move paralyzed muscle).
Regarding Claim 3, Sharma discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the body part of the user is a paralyzed body part of the user (e.g. ¶14,45: recording intent to move paralyzed muscle).
Regarding Claim 4, Sharma discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the user has a spinal cord injury and the body part of the user is a paralyzed body part due to the spinal cord injury (e.g. ¶14: SCI).
Regarding Claim 5, Sharma discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the spinal cord injury is a clinically determined complete spinal cord injury (e.g. ¶2,14: paralysis due to SCI).
Regarding Claim 6, Sharma discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the user has had a stroke and the body part of the user is a paralyzed body part due to the stroke (e.g. ¶2: stroke rehabilitation).
Regarding Claim 7, Sharma discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: based on the mapping of the measured EMG signals to the musculature anatomy, determining electrodes of the array of electrodes for performing functional electrical stimulation (e.g. abstract, ¶14: FES based on volitional EMG).
Regarding Claim 8, Sharma discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the determined electrodes of the array of electrodes for performing the FES comprises cathode and anode regions of interest (ROI) of the array of electrodes (e.g. ¶22: bipolar stimulation).
Regarding Claim 9, Sharma discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising: performing FES to evoke the movement of the body part by applying electrical stimulation to the determined electrodes of the array of electrodes (e.g. ¶3,22: FES of arm wearing the sleeve to cause contractions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strohmeier, as applied to Claim 1, in view of CN 106693178 A by Li (machine translation) and US 2021/0016079 by Ekelem.
Regarding Claim 2, Strohmeier teaches the method of claim 1, yet does not explicitly disclose wherein the triggering of the EMG signals does not produce movement of the body part. However, Li teaches an analogous FES method of paralyzed limb muscles based on volitional EMG feedback (e.g. page 2, background technology; step A1, collecting the biceps muscle and triceps brachii muscle of the electromyographic signal; page 2-3: collecting volitional EMG signals from the paralyzed muscle, e.g. VEMG2 and VEMG3, “wherein the VEMG is autonomous desire electromyography signal” and stimulating the muscles based on the VEMGs, for example “stimulating elbow joint movement… so that the patient can determine position of the elbow joint motion according to the desire of the user”; page 5: “The invention is mainly used for upper limb rehabilitation training of stroke and spinal cord injury patients. l-NBP in survivors with 30% to 36% of stroke patients with limb dysfunction after the onset for 6 months, when the damaged part is C5 or C6 position for spinal cord injury patients, patients will lose the shoulder, elbow and wrist limb movement function. Elbow joint control of functional electrical stimulation system is designed for rehabilitation training for hemiplegia or paralytic upper limb dysfunction.”). Ekelem also teaches an analogous FES method of paralyzed limb muscles based on intended movement EMG feedback, without requiring limb movement (e.g. ¶¶ 9, 45, 63-64, 68). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the method of FES by Strohmeier in paralyzed muscles via volitional EMG feedback control from paralyzed muscles, as taught by Li and Ekelem, in order to predictably provide FES and thus rehabilitate and maintain muscle strength in patients suffering from paralysis, as suggested by Li (e.g. section background technology; page 5, paragraph 5).
Regarding Claim 3, Strohmeier teaches the method of claim 1, yet does not explicitly disclose wherein the body part of the user is a paralyzed body part of the user. However, Li teaches an analogous FES method of paralyzed limb muscles based on volitional EMG feedback (e.g. page 2, background technology; step A1, collecting the biceps muscle and triceps brachii muscle of the electromyographic signal; page 2-3: collecting volitional EMG signals from the paralyzed muscle, e.g. VEMG2 and VEMG3, “wherein the VEMG is autonomous desire electromyography signal” and stimulating the muscles based on the VEMGs, for example “stimulating elbow joint movement… so that the patient can determine position of the elbow joint motion according to the desire of the user”; page 5: “The invention is mainly used for upper limb rehabilitation training of stroke and spinal cord injury patients. l-NBP in survivors with 30% to 36% of stroke patients with limb dysfunction after the onset for 6 months, when the damaged part is C5 or C6 position for spinal cord injury patients, patients will lose the shoulder, elbow and wrist limb movement function. Elbow joint control of functional electrical stimulation system is designed for rehabilitation training for hemiplegia or paralytic upper limb dysfunction.”). Ekelem also teaches an analogous FES method of paralyzed limb muscles based on intended movement EMG feedback, without requiring limb movement (e.g. ¶¶ 9, 45, 63-64, 68). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the method of FES by Strohmeier in paralyzed muscles via volitional EMG feedback control from paralyzed muscles, as taught by Li and Ekelem, in order to predictably provide FES and thus rehabilitate and maintain muscle strength in patients suffering from paralysis, as suggested by Li (e.g. section background technology; page 5, paragraph 5)
Regarding Claim 4, Strohmeier teaches the method of claim 1, yet does not explicitly disclose wherein the user has a spinal cord injury and the body part of the user is a paralyzed body part due to the spinal cord injury. However, Li teaches an analogous FES method of SCI paralyzed limb muscles based on volitional EMG feedback (e.g. page 2, background technology; step A1, collecting the biceps muscle and triceps brachii muscle of the electromyographic signal; page 2-3: collecting volitional EMG signals from the paralyzed muscle, e.g. VEMG2 and VEMG3, “wherein the VEMG is autonomous desire electromyography signal” and stimulating the muscles based on the VEMGs, for example “stimulating elbow joint movement… so that the patient can determine position of the elbow joint motion according to the desire of the user”; page 5: “The invention is mainly used for upper limb rehabilitation training of stroke and spinal cord injury patients. l-NBP in survivors with 30% to 36% of stroke patients with limb dysfunction after the onset for 6 months, when the damaged part is C5 or C6 position for spinal cord injury patients, patients will lose the shoulder, elbow and wrist limb movement function. Elbow joint control of functional electrical stimulation system is designed for rehabilitation training for hemiplegia or paralytic upper limb dysfunction.”). Ekelem also teaches an analogous FES method of paralyzed limb muscles based on intended movement EMG feedback, without requiring limb movement (e.g. ¶¶ 9, 45, 63-64, 68). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the method of FES by Strohmeier in SCI paralyzed muscles via volitional EMG feedback control from paralyzed muscles, as taught by Li and Ekelem, in order to predictably provide FES and thus rehabilitate and maintain muscle strength in patients suffering from paralysis, as suggested by Li (e.g. section background technology; page 5, paragraph 5)
Regarding Claim 5, Strohmeier teaches the method of claim 4, yet does not explicitly disclose wherein the spinal cord injury is a clinically determined complete spinal cord injury. However, Li teaches an analogous FES method of SCI paralyzed limb muscles based on volitional EMG feedback (e.g. page 2, background technology; step A1, collecting the biceps muscle and triceps brachii muscle of the electromyographic signal; page 2-3: collecting volitional EMG signals from the paralyzed muscle, e.g. VEMG2 and VEMG3, “wherein the VEMG is autonomous desire electromyography signal” and stimulating the muscles based on the VEMGs, for example “stimulating elbow joint movement… so that the patient can determine position of the elbow joint motion according to the desire of the user”; page 5: “The invention is mainly used for upper limb rehabilitation training of stroke and spinal cord injury patients. l-NBP in survivors with 30% to 36% of stroke patients with limb dysfunction after the onset for 6 months, when the damaged part is C5 or C6 position for spinal cord injury patients, patients will lose the shoulder, elbow and wrist limb movement function. Elbow joint control of functional electrical stimulation system is designed for rehabilitation training for hemiplegia or paralytic upper limb dysfunction.”). Ekelem also teaches an analogous FES method of paralyzed limb muscles based on intended movement EMG feedback, without requiring limb movement (e.g. ¶¶ 9, 45, 63-64, 68). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the method of FES by Strohmeier in SCI paralyzed muscles via volitional EMG feedback control from paralyzed muscles, as taught by Li and Ekelem, in order to predictably provide FES and thus rehabilitate and maintain muscle strength in patients suffering from paralysis, as suggested by Li (e.g. section background technology; page 5, paragraph 5)
Regarding Claim 6, Strohmeier teaches the method of claim 1, yet does not explicitly disclose wherein the user has had a stroke and the body part of the user is a paralyzed body part due to the stroke. However, Li teaches an analogous FES method of stroke paralyzed limb muscles based on volitional EMG feedback (e.g. page 2, background technology; step A1, collecting the biceps muscle and triceps brachii muscle of the electromyographic signal; page 2-3: collecting volitional EMG signals from the paralyzed muscle, e.g. VEMG2 and VEMG3, “wherein the VEMG is autonomous desire electromyography signal” and stimulating the muscles based on the VEMGs, for example “stimulating elbow joint movement… so that the patient can determine position of the elbow joint motion according to the desire of the user”; page 5: “The invention is mainly used for upper limb rehabilitation training of stroke and spinal cord injury patients. l-NBP in survivors with 30% to 36% of stroke patients with limb dysfunction after the onset for 6 months, when the damaged part is C5 or C6 position for spinal cord injury patients, patients will lose the shoulder, elbow and wrist limb movement function. Elbow joint control of functional electrical stimulation system is designed for rehabilitation training for hemiplegia or paralytic upper limb dysfunction.”). Ekelem also teaches an analogous FES method of paralyzed limb muscles based on intended movement EMG feedback, without requiring limb movement (e.g. ¶¶ 9, 45, 63-64, 68). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the method of FES by Strohmeier in stroke paralyzed muscles via volitional EMG feedback control from paralyzed muscles, as taught by Li and Ekelem, in order to predictably provide FES and thus rehabilitate and maintain muscle strength in patients suffering from paralysis, as suggested by Li (e.g. section background technology; page 5, paragraph 5)
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,266,833 in view of WO 2019/043147 by Strohmeier.
Regarding claim 1, Claim 24 of the issued patent discloses a method of musculature stimulation mapping, the method comprising: disposing on a body part of a user an array of electrodes of the garment contacting skin of the body part; measuring electromyography (EMG) signals using the array of electrodes disposed on the body part while the user is triggering the EMG signals to perform a movement of the body part; and mapping the measured EMG signals to a musculature anatomy to determine muscles activated by the triggering of the EMG signals (e.g. Claim 23: A functional electrical stimulation (FES) system comprising: an FES device configured for connection with an associated body part of a user and including electrodes arranged to apply functional electrical stimulation to the associated body part of the user and to perform electromyography (EMG) measurements of the associated body part of the user; Claim 24: applying an EMG map-to-electrode energization transform to the acquired EMG measurements of the associated body part of the user; wherein the EMG map-to-electrode energization transform includes at least a scaling transform to convert EMG signals of the acquired EMG measurements to FES energization levels.).
Claim 24 of the issued patent does not disclose a garment with the array of electrodes.
However, Strohmeier teaches an analogous FES method of musculature stimulation mapping (e.g. abstract, 9:1-23, 15:19-32: EMG mapping for stimulation), comprising disposing a garment on a body part of a user with an array of electrodes of the garment contacting skin of the body part (e.g. abstract, 6:9-22, 10:4-25, Fig. 1: sleeve garment with array of electrodes). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include a garment with the array of electrodes in a method as taught by Claim 24 of the issued patent, as taught by Strohmeier, in order to predictably secure the electrodes on the body and acquire reliable EMGs.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of copending Application No. 19/215481 in view of WO 2019/043147 by Strohmeier.
Regarding claim 1, Claim 14 of the issued patent discloses a method of musculature stimulation mapping, the method comprising: disposing on a body part of a user an array of electrodes of the garment contacting skin of the body part; measuring electromyography (EMG) signals using the array of electrodes disposed on the body part while the user is triggering the EMG signals to perform a movement of the body part; and mapping the measured EMG signals to a musculature anatomy to determine muscles activated by the triggering of the EMG signals (e.g. Claim 14: performing spatial muscle mapping to determine a sleeve shift and automatically updating NMES stimulation patterns based on the sleeve shift; and delivering neuromuscular electrical stimulation (NMES) to the target muscle or muscle group based on the derived contribution of the spatial muscle activity of the target muscle or muscle group to the measured EMG data).
Claim 14 of the issued patent does not disclose a garment with the array of electrodes.
However, Strohmeier teaches an analogous FES method of musculature stimulation mapping (e.g. abstract, 9:1-23, 15:19-32: EMG mapping for stimulation), comprising disposing a garment on a body part of a user with an array of electrodes of the garment contacting skin of the body part (e.g. abstract, 6:9-22, 10:4-25, Fig. 1: sleeve garment with array of electrodes). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include a garment with the array of electrodes in a method as taught by Claim 24 of the issued patent, as taught by Strohmeier, in order to predictably secure the electrodes on the body and acquire reliable EMGs.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
/MANOLIS PAHAKIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3796