DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Edge Tube Species A (Figs. 6-7) and Cap Species A (Figs. 10 and 12) in the reply filed on 9/14/2026 in response to the requirement for restriction mailed 7/13/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out any errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 7-8 and 16-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10-11, 13, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1 Line 4, “water;” should be revised to “water; and” to ensure proper grammar.
In Claim 10 Line 2, “openings emission drippers” should be revised to “openings comprise emission drippers” to ensure proper grammar.
In Claim 11 Line 4, “water;” should be revised to “water; and” to ensure proper grammar.
In Claim 13 Line 6, “integral tube grid” should be revised to “tube grid” to ensure using terminology consistent with what is used throughout the claims.
In Claim 18 Line 5, “length;” should be revised to “length; and” to ensure proper grammar.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 4,065,926 to Brandt (“Brandt”).
As to Claim 1, Brandt discloses a landscape edging and barrier irrigation system (See Figs. 1-2), comprising:
a barrier strip (See BS in Annotated Fig. 2) having an integral edge tube (See ET in Annotated Fig. 2) capable of carrying a flow of water (See Col. 3 Lines 30-40);
a weed barrier (See WB in Annotated Fig. 2) comprising a barrier sheet (#36) with a barrier tube grid (#16) capable of carrying a flow of water (See Col. 3 Lines 7-17), wherein at least a portion of water flowing through said edge tube flows through said barrier tube grid (See Annotated Fig. 2 and Col. 3 Lines 18-23), and wherein said barrier tube grid comprises one or more grid openings (#34) to allow water to flow from said barrier tube grid (See Col. 3 Lines 35-45).
As to Claim 2, in reference to the system of Brandt as applied to Claim 1 above, Brandt further discloses wherein said one or more openings allow water to flow from said barrier tube grid to below said weed barrier (See Col. 5 Lines 16-32 and See Fig. 2).
As to Claim 3, in reference to the system of Brandt as applied to Claim 1 above, Brandt further discloses wherein said weed barrier comprises a plurality of interconnected weed barrier sheets (See two sheets #36 and #38 in Fig. 3 and See Col. 3 Lines 60-67).
As to Claim 4, in reference to the system of Brandt as applied to Claim 1 above, Brandt further discloses wherein said barrier strip comprises a plurality of interconnected barrier strips (See Col. 4 Lines 8-15 disclosing that #50 is sealed between two sheets, therefore BS is made from two interconnected strips that are portions of sheets).
As to Claim 5, in reference to the system of Brandt as applied to Claim 1 above, Brandt further discloses wherein said barrier tube grid is connected to said edge tube (See Annotated Fig. 2. The grid #16 is connected to ET).
As to Claim 6, in reference to the system of Brandt as applied to Claim 1 above, Brandt further discloses wherein said edge tube is at a top surface of the barrier strip (See Annotated Fig. 2. The edge tube ET includes a top sheet portion such that ET is at a top surface of BS).
As to Claim 9, in reference to the system of Brandt as applied to Claim 1 above, Brandt further discloses wherein said one or more grid openings comprise drip irrigation openings (See Fig. 2 and Col. 3 Lines 35-45. The openings #34 are equivalent to drip irrigation openings since water is capable of dripping out of #34).
As to Claim 10, in reference to the system of Brandt as applied to Claim 1 above, Brandt further discloses wherein said one or more grid openings are emission drippers (See Fig. 2 and Col. 3 Lines 35-45. The openings #34 are equivalent to emission drippers since water is capable of being emitted by dripping out of #34).
As to Claim 11, Brandt discloses a landscape edging and barrier irrigation system (See Figs. 1-2), comprising:
a barrier strip (See BS in Annotated Fig. 2) having an integral edge tube (See ET in Annotated Fig. 2) capable of carrying a flow of water (See Col. 3 Lines 30-40);
a tube grid (#16) connected to said edge tube such that water flowing though said edge tube flows into said tube grid (See Annotated Fig. 2 and Col. 3 Lines 18-23), and wherein said tube grid comprises drip irrigation openings (See #34 in Fig. 2 and See Col. 3 Lines 35-45. The openings #34 are equivalent to drip irrigation openings since water is capable of dripping out of #34).
As to Claim 12, in reference to the system of Brandt as applied to Claim 11 above, Brandt further discloses the system comprising a weed barrier integral to said tube grid (See WB in Annotated Fig. 2, which is made up of sheets that form the tube grid and form a barrier to at least portions of weeds).
As to Claim 13, in reference to the system of Brandt as applied to Claim 12 above, Brandt further discloses wherein said weed barrier comprises a plurality of weed barrier sheets (See two sheets #36 and #38 in Fig. 3 and See Col. 3 Lines 60-67), each having one of a plurality of integral tube portions (See Fig. 2. Each sheet has half portions of tubes #18 and #20), wherein said weed barrier sheets and said integral tube portions are interconnected to form said weed barrier sheet with said integral tube grid (See Annotated Fig. 2).
As to Claim 14, in reference to the system of Brandt as applied to Claim 11 above, Brandt further discloses wherein said barrier strip comprises a plurality of interconnected barrier strips (See Col. 4 Lines 8-15 disclosing that #50 is sealed between two sheets, therefore BS is made from two interconnected strips that are portions of sheets).
As to Claim 15, in reference to the system of Brandt as applied to Claim 11 above, Brandt further discloses wherein said edge tube is at a top surface of the barrier strip (See Annotated Fig. 2. The edge tube ET includes a top sheet portion such that ET is at a top surface of BS).
As to Claim 18, Brandt discloses a landscape edging and barrier irrigation system (See Figs. 1-2), comprising:
a barrier strip (See BS in Annotated Fig. 2) surrounding a landscaped area (See a portion of #12 in Fig. 1 that is surrounded by #16), said barrier strip capable of carrying a first flow of water down its length (See F1 in Annotated Fig. 2);
a weed barrier connected to said barrier strip and arranged on said landscaped area (See WB in Annotated Fig. 2), wherein said weed barrier is capable of carrying a second flow of water and depositing at least some of said second flow of water on said landscaped area (See F2 in Annotated Fig. 2), wherein said second flow of water comprises at least a portion of said first flow of water (See Annotated Fig. 2, a portion of F1 will flow as F2 into WB).
As to Claim 19, in reference to the system of Brandt as applied to Claim 18 above, Brandt further discloses wherein said barrier strip comprises an edge tube for carrying said first flow of water (See ET in Annotated Fig. 2 and See Col. 3 Lines 30-40).
As to Claim 20, in reference to the system of Brandt as applied to Claim 18 above, Brandt further discloses the system comprising a barrier tube grid (#16) for carrying said second flow of water (See Annotated Fig. 2 and See Col. 3 Lines 7-17. The second flow F2 will flow in #16).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited Form PTO-892.
/KEVIN EDWARD SCHWARTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 October 2, 2026