Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onodera (US 2006/0238450) in view of Saito et al (US 2008/0084366).
As per claim 9 Onodera discloses: A display device, comprising: a TFT substrate 92/93 including a video signal line 6 formed on a display area, a selecting circuit 44 as a selector circuit that is connected to the video signal line 6 {figure 6}, an inspection circuit 80-82 {figure 3}, and a terminal area {figures 3 & 6};
a counter substrate 91 / 93 {figure 6}; and
a flexible wiring circuit substrate 41,
wherein the counter substrate 91 / 93 includes a first edge extending in a first direction and a second edge extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction,
the flexible wiring circuit substrate 41 includes a third edge extending in the first direction,
the first edge and the third edge face each other, and
the inspection circuit 80-82 is located between the first edge and the third edge {figures 5-6},
the TFT substrate further includes an selecting circuit 44 and the inspection circuit 80-82, and the inspection circuit 80-82 is positioned between the second edge and the selecting circuit 44, and the inspection circuit is arranged extending along the first direction {figures 3 & 5}.
Regarding claim 9 Onodera is silent as to: an organic passivation film. With respect to claim 9 Saito et al discloses: [0088] An organic passivation film 109 is formed on the inorganic passivation film 108 for leveling a surface of the inorganic passivation film 108. Through holes are formed in the inorganic passivation film 108 and the organic passivation film 109 for electrically connecting the source/drain wiring layers 107 and the pixel electrodes 110 and, thereafter, transparent electrodes ITO which constitute the pixel electrodes 110 are formed by sputtering. The pixel electrode 110 can be formed by patterning the transparent electrodes ITO.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the display device of Onodera with an organic passivation film as taught by Saito et al. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a display device with an organic passivation film “for leveling a surface of the inorganic passivation film 108 . . . and . . . electrically connecting the source/drain wiring layers 107 and the pixel electrodes 110”, as well as, to protect the circuits. See [0087] - [0088] of Saito et al.
As per claim 10 Onodera discloses: The display device of claim 9, wherein the inspection circuit 80-82 is positioned adjacent to the second edge {figure 3}.
As per claim 11 Onodera discloses: The display device of claim 9, wherein the TFT substrate 92/93 further includes an selecting circuit 44 and the inspection circuit 80-82.
As per claim 12 Onodera discloses: The display device of claim 9, wherein the inspection circuit 80-82 is connected to the selecting circuit 44 by wirings via a tilted wiring region, and the tilted wiring region extends to the terminal area {figure 6}.
As per claim 13 Onodera discloses: The display device of claim 12, wherein the inspection circuit 80-82 includes an inspection switch arrayed in the first direction, the selecting circuit 44 includes a plurality of switches arrayed in the first direction, the terminal area includes a plurality of signal terminals, and the wirings and the plurality of switches are connected near the plurality of signal terminals. { [0087] In the second embodiment, since the switching circuit 44a is provided in the source circuit 44, in the process of testing a state of a display panel of the liquid crystal device 200, a probe comes into contact with one testing terminal 14a such that a predetermined voltage is applied to one testing terminal 14a, and thus the state of the display panel can be tested without the probe coming into contact with the respective terminals of all of the source lines 6.} Also see [0088].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the ultimate paragraph on page 5 applicant asserts the following:
In that respect applicant submits the rejection has not indicated how Onodera discloses that the cited inspection circuits 80-82 are positioned between the second edge and the selecting circuit 44 as that is not shown in annotated Figure 5, nor it does not appear to be shown in any of the figures. Further, applicant submits Onodera does not disclose or suggest clarified claim features of "the inspection circuit is arranged extending along the first direction". Applicant submits Onodera discloses the testing terminals 80, 81, and 82 are disposed at locations that overlap the driver IC40 in plan view and do not overlap the plurality of input/output electrodes 40a, 40b, 40c and 40d of the driver IC 40 (see Onodera at [0064], [0068], [0078]). Applicant submits Onodera does not at all indicate the testing terminals 80, 81, and 82 are arranged extending in the noted first direction, nor the combination of claim features of "the inspection circuit is positioned between the second edge and the selecting circuit, and "the inspection circuit is arranged extending along the first direction".
As mapped supra and shown in marked up figure 5, the applied prior shows the claimed invention including the limitation: “the inspection circuit is positioned between the second edge and the selecting circuit, and the inspection circuit is arranged extending along the first direction.” Additionally, whether or not the inspection circuit 80-82 overlaps driver IC40 as purported by applicant is not germane to the claimed invention since the claimed invention does not preclude overlapping driver IC40.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID D DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627
DDD