Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and a2) as anticipated by
Kawai (USPub2002011550) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kawai (USPub2002011550) in view of either one of (USPub20190362754) or (USPub20120188663).
Regarding claims 1-6: ‘550 teaches a glass containing a crystalline phase such as cristobalite and provides examples such as, but not limited to, that shown below in mass%.
A-7
SiO2
68.5
Al2O3
7.6
MgO
2
CaO
0
BaO
2.5
SrO
1.7
ZnO
3
Li2O
6.5
K2O
2.2
B2O3
0
TiO2
0
ZrO2
3.5
P2O5
2.1
Y2O3
0
Nb2O5
0
Ta2O5
0
La2O3
0
Sb2O3
0.4
While ‘550 does teach their glass having CTE (at 25-100oC) of above 85x10-7/oC (see 0016 and CTE for Example A-7 in Table 1), ‘550 does not explicitly teach their glass CTE measured at 100-300oC as claimed or the glass transition point. However, the following is noted.
Initially, as shown above, the oxide composition of ‘550 meets that of Applicants’ claims. Additionally, Applicants disclose that their claimed glass can be formed with a 2-stage heat treatment as shown below (see specification par 0053),
Temperature (C)
Duration (min)
1st Nucleating step
400-680, 450-650, or 500-600
30-2000 or 180-1440
2nd crystal growth step
≥680, 700-850, or 700-780
30-500 or 60-400
which is substantially the same as the method used by ‘550 shown below (see A-7 in Table 1).
Temperature (C)
Duration
1st Nucleating step
550
5hr (300min)
2nd crystal growth step
700
3hr (180min)
Given the similarities, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same properties to result (MPEP 2112).
Alternatively, it is noted that ‘550 does not appear to place limits on CTE measured at 100-300oC or the glass transition point and instead, only generally teaches a glass used as a substrate for information recording media such as magnetic disks, etc. (0002).
As ‘754 and ‘663, who each similarly disclose glasses used as substrates for information recording media such as magnetic disks, teaches that because of the high temperatures required of such substrates, good heat resistance is desired (see 0069 in ‘754 and 0040 in ‘663) with desirably a transition point of ≥680oC (0069 in ‘754) or even 630-750oC (0040 in ‘663), and in order to keep the difference of CTE between the glass and spindles used in magnetic disks small, the glass should desirably have CTE at 100-300 of 51 to 90 x10-7 (0077 in ‘754) or even 75 to 120 x10 -7/oC (0042 in ‘663), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of invention to modify ‘550 to include forming their glass with a transition point of ≥680oC or even 630-750oC for heat resistance and a CTE at 100-300 of 51 to 90 x10-7 or even 75 to 120 x10 -7/oC in order to keep the difference of CTE between the glass and spindles used in magnetic disks small.
Note that the above ranges overlap with the ranges claimed (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 7: Given the similarities between the composition and method in ‘550 with that of Applicants as discussed above, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same hardness properties to result (MPEP 2112).
Regarding claim 8: As discussed above, ‘550 teaches their glass being a magnetic recording medium substrate.
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and a2) as anticipated by
Goto (USPub20080248316) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Goto (USPub20080248316) in view of either one of (USPub20190362754) or (USPub20120188663).
Regarding claims 1-6: ‘316 teaches a glass containing a crystalline phase such as cristobalite, lithium disilicate, etc. (see Tables) and provides examples such as, but not limited to, that shown below in mass%.
K and L
SiO2
75.3
Al2O3
7
P2O5
2
Li2O
9.9
K2O
2
Na2O
0
MgO
0.8
CaO
0
BaO
0
ZnO
0.5
SrO
0
ZrO2
2.3
TiO2
0
Sb2O3
0.2
As2O3
0
Y2O3
0
While ‘’316 does teach their glass having CTE (at 25-100oC) of above 85x10-7/oC (see K and L in Table 3), ‘316 does not explicitly teach their glass CTE measured at 100-300oC as claimed or the glass transition point. However, the following is noted.
Initially, as shown above, the oxide composition of ‘316 meets that of Applicants’ claims. Additionally, Applicants disclose that their claimed glass can be formed with a 2-stage heat treatment as shown below (see specification par 0053),
Temperature (C)
Duration (min)
1st Nucleating step
400-680, 450-650, or 500-600
30-2000 or 180-1440
2nd crystal growth step
≥680, 700-850, or 700-780
30-500 or 60-400
which is substantially the same as the method used by ‘316 shown below (see K and L in Table 3).
Temperature (C)
Duration
1st Nucleating step
540 (K and L)
5hr (300min)
2nd crystal growth step
730 (K) or 750 (L)
3hr (180min)
Given the similarities, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same properties to result (MPEP 2112).
Alternatively, it is noted that ‘316 does not appear to place limits on CTE measured at 100-300oC or the glass transition point and instead, only generally teaches a glass used as a substrate for information recording media such as magnetic disks, etc. (abstract).
As ‘754 and ‘663, who each similarly disclose glasses used as substrates for information recording media such as magnetic disks, teaches that because of the high temperatures required of such substrates, good heat resistance is desired (see 0069 in ‘754 and 0040 in ‘663) with desirably a transition point of ≥680oC (0069 in ‘754) or even 630-750oC (0040 in ‘663), and in order to keep the difference of CTE between the glass and spindles used in magnetic disks small, the glass should desirably have CTE at 100-300 of 51 to 90 x10-7 (0077 in ‘754) or even 75 to 120 x10 -7/oC (0042 in ‘663), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of invention to modify ‘316 to include forming their glass with a transition point of ≥680oC or even 630-750oC for heat resistance and a CTE at 100-300 of 51 to 90 x10-7 or even 75 to 120 x10 -7/oC in order to keep the difference of CTE between the glass and spindles used in magnetic disks small.
Note that the above ranges overlap with the ranges claimed (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 7: ‘316’s glass has a Vicker’s hardness as claimed (see K and L in Table 3).
Regarding claim 8: As discussed above, ‘316 teaches their glass being a magnetic recording medium substrate.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/713168 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations presently claimed would have been obvious in view of the prior art above.
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-11 of copending Application No. 18/834606 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations presently claimed would have been obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/024489 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations presently claimed would have been obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/024491 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations presently claimed would have been obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/024490 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations presently claimed would have been obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18834614 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations presently claimed would have been obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18920588 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations presently claimed would have been obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18994649 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations presently claimed would have been obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented
Claims 1-8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,807,568. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations presently claimed would have been obvious in view of the prior art above.
Conclusion
LAUREN ROBINSON COLGAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/LAUREN R COLGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784