DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3, 12, 14, 16, and 18 are amended.
Claims 4 and 15 are canceled.
Claims 1-3, 5-14, and 16-20 are under examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 7/7/2026 have been considered.
Regarding Applicant’s remarks on the drawing objections, the drawing objections are withdrawn in light of the specification amendments.
Regarding Applicant’s remarks on the 112(f) claim interpretation, these have been considered but are not persuasive. While a “neural network layer” is a well-understood term in the machine learning art, the term does not have sufficient structure as a “neural network layer” can be implemented as hardware or software. Thus, claims 16 and 18 invoke 112(f) interpretation.
Regarding Applicant’s remarks on the 112(a) rejections, these have been considered by are not persuasive. Since claims 16 and 18 are still being interpreted under 112(f), the corresponding 112(a) rejection for claims 16, 18 and dependent claims 19-20 is maintained.
Regarding Applicant’s remarks on the 112(b) rejections, these have been considered by are not persuasive. Since claims 16 and 18 are still being interpreted under 112(f), the corresponding 112(b) rejection for claims 16, 18 and dependent claims 19-20 is maintained.
Regarding Applicant’s remarks on Shah, Pan, Koo, and Sethi failing to teach the amended features of claims 1 and 12, these have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “neural network layer configured to detect” (claims 16 and 18).
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Examiner Note: The specification doesn’t explicitly identify as the structure or material that performs the function in the above identified claim limitations. In the specification, ¶24, ¶26, ¶91, ¶105, ¶111 only describe the neural network layer for detecting/classifying being added to the network classification model. None of the paragraphs explicitly identify the structure or material that performs the function. The drawings also fail to explicitly identify the structure or material that performs the function.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The limitations in claims 16 and 18 described under the “Claim Interpretation” above section invoke interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. A review of the specification reveals no sufficient structure is disclosed to perform the claimed functions. Thus, the claims are indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) (see related rejection herein, infra). When functional claim language is found indefinite, it typically lacks an adequate written description under § 112(a), because an indefinite, unbounded functional limitation would cover all ways of performing a function and indicate that the inventor has not provided sufficient disclosure to show possession of the invention. Thus, a 112(b) rejection that is based on functional language having unclear claim boundaries should be accompanied by a rejection under 112(a) based on failure to provide a written description for the claim.
The dependent claims 19 and 20 are similarly rejected on their dependency on the rejected claims.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 16 and 20, their limitations described under the "Claim Interpretation" section above invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
The dependent claims 19 and 20 are similarly rejected on their dependency on the rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 11, 12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. (IEEE Publication “FlowBERT: An Encrypted Traffic Classification Model Based on Transformers Using Flow Sequence”), hereinafter Pan, in view of Gentry, Jr. (United States Patent 6,356,951), hereinafter Gentry.
Regarding claim 1, Pan teaches A method for detecting anormal behavior in encrypted network traffic (Pan Section 1: “This paper proposes an encrypted traffic classification model based on Transformers using a Flow Sequence called FlowBERT.”), the method being performed by an anormal behavior detection apparatus (Pan Section 3: “This section aims to describe the proposed Transformer-based end-to-end multimodal encrypted traffic classification framework, FlowBERT...”), the method comprising:
collecting encrypted network traffic from a network (Pan Section 3: “In the data processing module, we extract and clean the unlabeled data and then slice and encode it… The data processing module is critical in preparing the input data for subsequent stages, ensuring that our model can effectively learn and represent the complex relationships in the encrypted traffic data.”);
generating training data in which [header] information for each packet is preprocessed in a format of a sequence [by parsing each field of a packet header for each protocol and representing each parsed field by a maximum size of single field information of the packet header, wherein a portion of the parsed field that is not filled with data is padded with an arbitrary value], based on the encrypted network traffic (Pan Section 3 subsection A: “Within each segmented flow, we perform feature extraction to capture pertinent information. Precisely, we extract payload and length sequence information from the sliced flows. By concatenating payload and length data obtained from network packets, we form a comprehensive textual representation, serving as the input sequence for BERT.”);
training a network traffic classification model based on a Bidirectional Encoder Representations from Transformers (BERT) language model using the training data (Pan Section 3 subsection B: “FlowBERT uses BERT as a pre-training model… Specifically, we first convert network traffic data into text sequences, each character repre-senting a byte. Next, we feed the text sequences into BERT, where each character is embedded into a high-dimensional vector. BERT encodes the input through a multi-head self-attention mechanism, and the output of each layer is a vector containing contextual information from the input sequence.”);
and classifying anormal behavior traffic (Pan section 3 subsection A: “…such as detecting abnormal transmission patterns within specific application-layer traffic or identifying concealed malicious behavior within regular communications.”) in encrypted network traffic based on the trained network traffic classification model (Pan Section 3 subsection B: “The capability of FlowBERT to effectively integrate pre trained and task-specific representations facilitates quick adaptation to new encryption protocols, novel communication patterns, and emerging threats, contributing to its strong performance and applicability in practical encrypted traffic classification scenarios.”). but Pan fails to teach explicitly teach generating training data in which header information for each packet is preprocessed in a format of a sequence by parsing each field of a packet header for each protocol and representing each parsed field by a maximum size of single field information of the packet header, wherein a portion of the parsed field that is not filled with data is padded with an arbitrary value.
However, Gentry teaches generating training data in which header information for each packet is preprocessed in a format of a sequence by parsing each field of a packet header for each protocol (Gentry Col. 7 Lines 51-59: “Header parser 106 parses a header portion of the packet to retrieve various pieces of information that will be used to identify related packets”)
and representing each passed field by a maximum size of single field information of the packet header, wherein a portion of the parsed field that is not filled with data is padded with an arbitrary value (Gentry Col. 37 Lines 58-63: “the size of each field may be limited. In this embodiment, sixteen bytes are allocated for IP source address 510 and sixteen bytes are allocated for IP destination address 512. For IP addresses shorter than sixteen bytes in length, the extra space may be padded with zeros.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pan in view of Gentry to parse packet header information and normalize the fields to increase efficiency (Gentry Col. 21 Lines 48-51: “as determined by analyzing or parsing the packets, various enhancements in the handling of network traffic become possible as described in the following sections.”).
Claim 12 is substantially similar to claim 1 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 3, Pan and Gentry teach the method of claim 1, but Pan fails to teach wherein the packet header information sequence is generated such that respective pieces of configuration information are separated from each other in the packet header.
However, Gentry teaches wherein the packet header information sequence is generated such that respective pieces of configuration information are separated from each other in the packet header (Gentry Col. 36 Lines 31-32: “a flow’s flow key may be stored as a … number of separate fields as shown in FIG. 5.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pan in view of Gentry to parse packet header information to increase efficiency (Gentry Col. 21 Lines 48-51: “as determined by analyzing or parsing the packets, various enhancements in the handling of network traffic become possible as described in the following sections.”).
Claim 14 is substantially similar to claim 3 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 5, Pan and Gentry teach the method of claim 1, wherein the network traffic classification model corresponds to a form in which an anormal behavior detection (Pan section 3 subsection A: “…such as detecting abnormal transmission patterns within specific application-layer traffic or identifying concealed malicious behavior within regular communications.”) neural network layer for detecting anormal behavior in the encrypted network traffic is added to a pre-trained BERT language model (Pan Section 3 subsection B: “FlowBERT uses BERT as a pre-training model. BERT is a widely applied pre-training model in the natural language processing domain. … For network traffic classification tasks, it is necessary to convert network traffic data into textual form and process it using BERT for classification purposes.”), (Pan Fig.1 shows the neural network layers).
Claim 16 is substantially similar to claim 5 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 11, Pan in view of Gentry teaches wherein the training data is generated by utilizing [header] information of a single packet or pieces of header information of multiple packets (Pan Section 3 subsection A: “By concatenating payload and length data obtained from network packets, we form a comprehensive textual representation, serving as the input sequence for BERT.”). Pain fails to explicitly teach wherein the training data is generated by utilizing header information of a single packet or pieces of header information of multiple packets.
However, Gentry teaches wherein the training data is generated by utilizing header information of a single packet (Gentry Col. 7 Lines 51-59: “Header parser 106 parses a header portion of the packet to retrieve various pieces of information that will be used to identify related packets”) or pieces of header information of multiple packets (Gentry Col. 7 Lines 17-20: “a load distributor (which may also be implemented in hard ware on the NIC) may select a processor to process the headers of the multiple packets through a protocol Stack.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pan in view of Gentry to parse packet header information and normalize the fields to increase efficiency (Gentry Col. 21 Lines 48-51: “as determined by analyzing or parsing the packets, various enhancements in the handling of network traffic become possible as described in the following sections.”).
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan in view of Gentry in view of Shah et al. (United States Patent Publication 2024/0396913), hereinafter Shah.
Regarding claim 2, Pan and Gentry teach the method of claim 1 wherein the training data corresponds to a packet [header] information sequence (Pan Section 3 subsection A: “By concatenating payload and length data obtained from network packets, we form a comprehensive textual representation, serving as the input sequence for BERT.”) (Gentry, as in claim 1, teaches header information) but they fail to teach in which normal traffic and anormal behavior traffic are labeled.
However, Shah teaches in which normal traffic and anormal behavior traffic are labeled (Shah ¶50: “the CNN may be trained using a set of training data comprising network packet flows that have been labeled as indicative of malicious or benign activity.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pan and Gentry in view of Shah to label the normal and anormal traffic to improve accuracy of the classification system (Shah ¶50: “These labels may be leveraged to improve accuracy of a binary output system.”).
Claim 13 is substantially similar to claim 2 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan in view of Gentry in view of Shah in view of Koo et al. (United States Patent Publication 2023/0161879 – provided by Applicant’s IDS), hereinafter Koo.
Regarding claim 6, Pan, Gentry and Shah teach the method of claim 2, wherein training the network traffic classification model comprises: performing Masked Language Model (MLM) training on the network traffic classification model using the packet header information sequence (Pan Section 3 subsection B: “We employed a self-supervised learning approach, Masked Language Modeling (MLM) [24] to adapt to the network traffic classification task. During the pre-training process, we randomly selected a certain proportion of payload and length sequences in the input sequences and represented them using a special token ‘[MASK].’”) (Gentry, as in claim 1, teaches header information); and [performing Next Sentence Prediction (NSP)] training on the network traffic classification model using the packet header information sequence (Pan Section 3 subsection B: “FlowBERT uses BERT as a pre-training model… Specifically, we first convert network traffic data into text sequences, each character repre-senting a byte. Next, we feed the text sequences into BERT, where each character is embedded into a high-dimensional vector. BERT encodes the input through a multi-head self-attention mechanism, and the output of each layer is a vector containing contextual information from the input sequence.”). but they fail to explicitly teach and performing Next Sentence Prediction (NSP) training on the network traffic classification model using the packet header information sequence.
However, Koo teaches and performing Next Sentence Prediction (NSP) training on the network traffic classification model using the packet header information sequence (Koo ¶89: “A second task for prelearning the assembly language model 231 is a next sentence prediction (NSP) task using an instruction code sequence.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pan, Gentry, and Shah in view of Koo for the training of the classification model to include NSP training to better understand a contextual relation of an instruction sequence (Koo ¶89: “…a binarized NSP task is performed to understand a contextual relation of an instruction sequence.”).
Claim 17 is substantially similar to claim 6 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 7-9 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan in view of Gentry in view of Koo.
Regarding claim 7, Pan and Gentry teach the method of claim 5, but fail to teach wherein training the network traffic classification model comprises: adding a new malware detection neural network layer for detecting new malware that is previously unknown to the network traffic classification model,
However, Koo teaches wherein training the network traffic classification model comprises: adding a new malware detection neural network layer for detecting new malware that is previously unknown to the network traffic classification model (Koo ¶91: “As for the step (240) of learning a malware classifier based on an assembly language model, in the step (240) of learning a malware classifier based on an assembly language model, a malware binary classifier 241 is generated by adding a neural network layer for malicious code classification based on the prelearned assembly language model 231…”),
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pan and Gentry in view of Koo to increase the accuracy of the classification model (Koo ¶106: “In addition, as a method according to embodiments of the present disclosure is capable of differentiating embedding according to a context within an instruction sequence even for a same instruction, it is capable of representing a further detail of the behavior of an instruction sequence, and thus since behavior patterns of sub-divided instruction sequences can be learned, the detection accuracy of a malware classifier may be enhanced.”)
Pan in view of Gentry further teaches and training the new malware detection neural network layer using the packet header information sequence (Pan section 3 subsection B: “In FlowBERT, we use BERT architecture to encode payload and packet length sequences. Specifically, we first convert network traffic data into text sequences, each character representing a byte. Next, we feed the text sequences into BERT, where each character is embedded into a high-dimensional vector.”) (Gentry, as in claim 1, teaches header information), (Pan Fig.1 shows the neural network layers).
Claim 18 is substantially similar to claim 7 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 8, Pan in view of Gentry teaches wherein training the new malware detection neural network layer comprises: tokenizing the packet header information sequence [based on an instruction code] used for pre-training of the BERT language model (Pan section 3 subsection A: “By concatenating payload and length data obtained from network packets, we form a comprehensive textual representation, serving as the input sequence for BERT. 4) Encoding: To effectively process the textual input using BERT, we employ BERT’s Tokenizer to tokenize the concatenated string into a series of tokens, including both words and subwords.”) (Gentry, as in claim 1, teaches header information) (Pan Fig.1 shows the neural network layers), but they fail to teach and training the network traffic classification model to detect new malware that is previously unknown by inputting a tokenized packet header information sequence to the network traffic classification model.
However, Koo teaches wherein training the new malware detection neural network layer comprises: tokenizing the packet header information sequence based on an instruction code used for pre-training of the BERT language model, and training the network traffic classification model to detect new malware that is previously unknown by inputting a tokenized packet header information sequence to the network traffic classification model (Koo ¶105: “When the instruction collector 410 generates a segmented instruction code sequence file of an instruction for an unknown file, after the instruction code tokenizer 420 tokenizes (indexes) an instruction code sequence by using an instruction code dictionary that is used for prelearning of an assembly language model, an instruction code sequence is embedded by inputting an indexed instruction code sequence into the assembly language model 430 that is completely learned, and then an embedding result of the instruction code sequence is output.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pan and Gentry in view of Koo to increase the accuracy of the classification model (Koo ¶106: “In addition, as a method according to embodiments of the present disclosure is capable of differentiating embedding according to a context within an instruction sequence even for a same instruction, it is capable of representing a further detail of the behavior of an instruction sequence, and thus since behavior patterns of sub-divided instruction sequences can be learned, the detection accuracy of a malware classifier may be enhanced.”).
Claim 19 is substantially similar to claim 8 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 9, Pan and Gentry fail to teach wherein the instruction code includes instruction codes capable of indexing values of all header information appearing in the training data, and includes instruction codes related to special tokens for exception handling in token indexing
However, Koo teaches wherein the instruction code includes instruction codes capable of indexing values of all header information appearing in the training data (Koo ¶75: “Herein, as illustrated in FIG. 11, the instruction code dictionary is for indexing an instruction code by an integer for a learning dataset consisting of a segmented instruction code sequence file. That is, in an embodiment of the present disclosure, an instruction code dictionary is built up which is capable of considering each instruction code as an individual token and indexing every instruction code that appears in whole learning data.”), and includes instruction codes related to special tokens for exception handling in token indexing (Koo ¶76: “The instruction code tokenizer 221 may utilize a special token for model learning and token indexing exception processing.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pan and Gentry in view of Koo to increase the accuracy of the classification model (Koo ¶106: “In addition, as a method according to embodiments of the present disclosure is capable of differentiating embedding according to a context within an instruction sequence even for a same instruction, it is capable of representing a further detail of the behavior of an instruction sequence, and thus since behavior patterns of sub-divided instruction sequences can be learned, the detection accuracy of a malware classifier may be enhanced.”).
Pan in view of Gentry further teaches when header information of each packet is recognized as an individual token (Pan section 3 subsection B: “During the pre-training process, we randomly selected a certain proportion of payload and length sequences in the input sequences and represented them using a special token ‘[MASK].’”)(Gentry, as in claim 1, teaches header information).
Claim 20 is substantially similar to claim 9 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan in view of Gentry in view of Koo in view of Sethi et al. (United States Patent Publication 2023/0221974), hereinafter Sethi.
Regarding claim 10, Pan and Gentry fail to teach wherein the instruction codes related to the special tokens correspond to a code indicating a space, a code signifying an individual token, a code representing token indexing not found in a dictionary, a code indicating start of a sequence, a code indicating separation between two sequences, and a code indicating a padding token.
However, Koo teaches wherein the instruction codes related to the special tokens correspond to a code indicating a space, a code signifying an individual token, a code representing token indexing not found in a dictionary, a code indicating start of a sequence, a code indicating separation between two sequences, [and a code indicating a padding token] (Koo ¶76: “Examples of special tokens may include ‘ ’ for marking a blank, ‘[UNK]’ for indexing a token not in the dictionary, ‘[MASK]’ for masking an individual token, ‘[CLS]’ for indicating a start of a sequence, and ‘[SEP]’ for distinguishing two sequences (sentences).”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pan and Gentry in view of Koo to increase the accuracy of the classification model (Koo ¶106: “In addition, as a method according to embodiments of the present disclosure is capable of differentiating embedding according to a context within an instruction sequence even for a same instruction, it is capable of representing a further detail of the behavior of an instruction sequence, and thus since behavior patterns of sub-divided instruction sequences can be learned, the detection accuracy of a malware classifier may be enhanced.”).
Koo fails to explicitly teach a code indicating a padding token.
However, Sethi teaches a code indicating a padding token (Sethi ¶123: “In addition to performing tokenization, the state processor may also pad the sequences of tokens. In other words, the state processor may include one or more generic or null tokens (e.g., zero) in sequences of tokens…”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pan, Gentry, and Koo in view of Sethi to include a padding token for increased usability of the sequences (Sethi ¶123: “in order to ensure that all sequences of tokens include the same length (i.e., each sequence includes the same number of tokens). As a result, the padded sequences of tokens may be in a form usable by a prediction algorithm to generate a state prediction model.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Miele et al. (United States Patent Publication No. 2022/0255897)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEC C ANKRUM/Examiner, Art Unit 2434
/NOURA ZOUBAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434