DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on October 18, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: on line 2 of claim 2, replace “RE” with --resource element (RE)-- before “offsets”; and on line 1 of claim 10, replace “the first fule” with --the first rule--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUAN et al. (hereinafter Yuan) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0299905 A1) in view of YANG et al. (hereinafter Yang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0349066 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yuan teaches and discloses a method for wireless communication, comprising: determining, by a terminal device (UE, figures 1 and 7), transmission for at least two phase-tracking reference signals (PT-RSs), wherein the at least two PT-RSs correspond to at least two physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) (figure 3; [0197]; “…the UE 115 may transmit a PTRS transmission on the first scheduled PUSCH using one or more PTRS resources 315-a associated with the first resource grid 305-a. Similarly, the UE 115 may transmit a PTRS transmission of the second scheduled PUSCH using one or more PTRS resources 315-b associated with the second resource grid…”; [0199]; [0202]; teaches the UE determines the resources elements for transmission of at least two PTRSs corresponding to at least two PUSCHs); and
transmitting the at least two PUSCHs according to the transmission for the at least two PT-RSs, wherein the at least two PUSCHs are associated with different spatial parameters ([0157]; “…a spatial resource (for example, spatial layers or beams), and the use of multiple spatial layers may further increase the data rate or data integrity for communications with a UE…”; [0177]; “…increase the spectral efficiency by transmitting or receiving multiple signals via different spatial layers. Such techniques may be referred to as spatial multiplexing…”; different spatial parameters) (figure 3; [0197]; “…the UE 115 may transmit a PTRS transmission on the first scheduled PUSCH using one or more PTRS resources 315-a associated with the first resource grid 305-a. Similarly, the UE 115 may transmit a PTRS transmission of the second scheduled PUSCH using one or more PTRS resources 315-b associated with the second resource grid…”; [0199]; [0202]; teaches the UE transmitting the at least two PUSCHs according to the configuration of the at least two PTRSs and the PUSCH are associated with different spatial parameters).
However, Yuan may not explicitly disclose a transmission mode, wherein the transmission mode for the at least two PT-RSs includes at least one of: a portion of PT-RSs of the at least two PT-RSs being not transmitted; or at least portion of resource locations of the at least two PT-RSs being not overlapped.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches and suggests a transmission mode (multiplexing/phase coherency mode; [0087]; [0096]), wherein the transmission mode for the at least two PT-RSs includes at least one of: a portion of PT-RSs of the at least two PT-RSs being not transmitted; or at least portion of resource locations of the at least two PT-RSs being not overlapped ([0087]; [0089]; [0096]; “…the UE may transmit the SRS in association with the PUSCH communication when the SRS and the PUSCH communication are scheduled to collide, and may not transmit the DMRS and/or the PTRS on the colliding symbol(s)…”; [0117]; [0126]; “…the BS may transmit, to the UE, an indication to operate in a particular multiplexing mode in association with transmitting the configuration…the BS may receive, from the UE, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) or a phase-tracking reference symbol (PTRS) in association with the multiple uplink transmissions from the UE after transmitting the configuration…”; teaches the UE determining a multiplexing/phase coherency mode from configuration information for transmitting PTRS corresponding to PUSCH, wherein the mode indicates that PTRS are transmitted in resource locations that do not overlap).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE determining a multiplexing/phase coherency mode from configuration information for transmitting PTRS corresponding to PUSCH, wherein the mode indicates that PTRS are transmitted in resource locations that do not overlap as taught by Yang with the method and apparatus for determining the resources elements for transmission of at least two PTRSs corresponding to at least two PUSCHs as disclosed by Yuan for the purpose of improving throughput of a channel between a UE and a BS via use of spatial multiplexing to facilitate simultaneous transmission of multiple uplink communications, as suggested by Yang.
Regarding claim 2, Yuan, as modified by Yang, further teaches and suggests wherein the at least portion of the resource locations of the at least two PT-RSs being not overlapped comprises RE offsets of the at least two PT-RSs being different ([0105]; “…determine one or more of a phase tracking reference signal transmission density, an offset of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission, or a location of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission…”; [0213]; teaches the resource location of the PTRSs comprises an offset).
Regarding claim 3, Yuan, as modified by Yang, further teaches and suggests wherein determining, by the terminal device, the transmission mode for the at least two phase-tracking reference signals (PT-RSs) comprises: determining the transmission mode for the at least two PT-RSs according to target indication information, wherein the target indication information is used to indicate transmission information of the at least two PT-RSs ([0105]; “…determine one or more of a phase tracking reference signal transmission density, an offset of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission, or a location of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission…”; [0213]; teaches target indication information may include the resource location of the PTRSs comprises an offset, time domain density, or frequency domain density).
Regarding claim 4, Yuan, as modified by Yang, further teaches and suggests wherein the target indication information comprises at least one of: first indication information, used to indicate a time domain density of a PT-RS; second indication information, used to indicate a frequency domain density of a PT-RS; third indication information, used to indicate a resource element (RE) offset of a PT-RS; fourth indication information, used to indicate an association between a PT-RS port and a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port; or fifth indication information, used to indicate whether a PT-RS is present ([0105]; “…determine one or more of a phase tracking reference signal transmission density, an offset of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission, or a location of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission…”; [0213]; [0233]; teaches target indication information may include the resource location of the PTRSs comprises an offset, time domain density, or frequency domain density).
Regarding claim 5, Yuan, as modified by Yang, further teaches and suggests wherein the target indication information comprises one fifth indication information, and the fifth indication information is used to indicate whether each PT-RS of the at least two PT-RSs is present; or the target indication information comprises at least two fifth indication information, and each of the at least two fifth indication information corresponds to one PT-RS of the at least two PT-RSs and is used to indicate whether the corresponding PT-RS is present ([0105]; “…determine one or more of a phase tracking reference signal transmission density, an offset of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission, or a location of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission…”; [0213]; [0233]; teaches target indication information may include presence and location information of the resource location of the PTRSs).
Regarding claim 6, Yuan, as modified by Yang, further teaches and suggests wherein the fifth indication information is carried in at least one of following signalings: downlink control information (DCI), radio resource control (RRC), or a media access control control element (MAC CE) ([0186]; [0213]; teaches the information can be included in an RRC configuration message or DCI message).
Regarding claim 7, Yuan, as modified by Yang, further teaches and suggests wherein determining the transmission mode for the at least two PT-RSs according to the target indication information comprises: determining an absent PT-RS and/or a present PT-RS of the at least two PT-RSs according to the fifth indication information; or determining the transmission mode for the at least two PT-RSs according to the target indication information comprises: determining the absent PT-RS and/or the present PT-RS of the at least two PT-RSs according to the fourth indication information in combination with the fifth indication information ([0105]; “…determine one or more of a phase tracking reference signal transmission density, an offset of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission, or a location of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission…”; [0213]; [0233]; teaches target indication information may include presence and location information of the resource location of the PTRSs).
Regarding claim 11, Yuan, as modified by Yang, further teaches and suggests wherein the target indication information comprises at least one of: first indication information, used to indicate a time domain density of a PT-RS; second indication information, used to indicate a frequency domain density of a PT-RS; third indication information, used to indicate an RE offset of a PT-RS; fourth indication information, used to indicate an association between a PT-RS port and a DMRS port; or sixth indication information, used to determine resource locations of the at least two PT-RSs ([0105]; “…determine one or more of a phase tracking reference signal transmission density, an offset of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission, or a location of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission…”; [0213]; [0233]; teaches target indication information may include the resource location of the PTRSs comprises an offset, time domain density, or frequency domain density).
Regarding claim 12, Yuan, as modified by Yang, further teaches and suggests wherein the sixth indication information is used to indicate an additional RE offset of a PT-RS, and the additional RE offset is an additional offset relative to a reference RE offset; wherein the reference RE offset is indicated by the third indication information ([0105]; “…determine one or more of a phase tracking reference signal transmission density, an offset of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission, or a location of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission…”; [0213]; teaches the resource location of the PTRSs comprises an offset).
Regarding claim 13, Yuan, as modified by Yang, further teaches and suggests wherein determining the transmission mode for the at least two PT-RSs according to the target indication information comprises: determining, according to the third indication information and the fourth indication information in combination with at least two correspondences, DMRS ports respectively associated with ports of the at least two PT-RSs and RE offsets of the at least two PT-RSs ([0105]; “…determine one or more of a phase tracking reference signal transmission density, an offset of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission, or a location of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission…”; [0213]; teaches the resource location of the PTRSs comprises an offset), wherein each of the at least two correspondences corresponds to a PT-RS, and the each of the at least two correspondences is used to determine an RE offset mapped by a port of the PT-RS on an associated DMRS port; wherein in the at least two correspondences, for third indication information and fourth indication information with a same state value, the at least two PT-RSs are associated with different DMRS ports, and/or RE offsets mapped by the at least two PT-RSs are different ([0105]; “…determine one or more of a phase tracking reference signal transmission density, an offset of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission, or a location of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission…”; [0213]; [0233]; teaches target indication information may include the resource location of the PTRSs comprises an offset, time domain density, or frequency domain density).
Regarding claim 16, Yuan teaches and discloses a network device (base station, BS, figures 1, 11, and 14), comprising a processor (processor, figure 14) and a memory (memory, figure 14), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to perform:
determining a transmission for at least two phase-tracking reference signals (PT-RSs), wherein the at least two PT-RSs correspond to at least two physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) (figure 3; [0197]; “…the UE 115 may transmit a PTRS transmission on the first scheduled PUSCH using one or more PTRS resources 315-a associated with the first resource grid 305-a. Similarly, the UE 115 may transmit a PTRS transmission of the second scheduled PUSCH using one or more PTRS resources 315-b associated with the second resource grid…”; [0199]; [0202]; teaches the UE determines the resources elements for transmission of at least two PTRSs corresponding to at least two PUSCHs); and
receiving the at least two PUSCHs according to the transmission for the at least two PT-RSs, wherein the at least two PUSCHs are associated with different spatial parameters ([0157]; “…a spatial resource (for example, spatial layers or beams), and the use of multiple spatial layers may further increase the data rate or data integrity for communications with a UE…”; [0177]; “…increase the spectral efficiency by transmitting or receiving multiple signals via different spatial layers. Such techniques may be referred to as spatial multiplexing…”; different spatial parameters) (figure 3; [0197]; “…the UE 115 may transmit a PTRS transmission on the first scheduled PUSCH using one or more PTRS resources 315-a associated with the first resource grid 305-a. Similarly, the UE 115 may transmit a PTRS transmission of the second scheduled PUSCH using one or more PTRS resources 315-b associated with the second resource grid…”; [0199]; [0202]; teaches the UE transmitting the at least two PUSCHs according to the configuration of the at least two PTRSs and the PUSCH are associated with different spatial parameters).
However, Yuan may not explicitly disclose a transmission mode, wherein the transmission mode for the at least two PT-RSs includes at least one of: a portion of PT-RSs of the at least two PT-RSs being not transmitted; or at least portion of resource locations of the at least two PT-RSs being not overlapped.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches and suggests a transmission mode (multiplexing/phase coherency mode; [0087]; [0096]), wherein the transmission mode for the at least two PT-RSs includes at least one of: a portion of PT-RSs of the at least two PT-RSs being not transmitted; or at least portion of resource locations of the at least two PT-RSs being not overlapped ([0087]; [0089]; [0096]; “…the UE may transmit the SRS in association with the PUSCH communication when the SRS and the PUSCH communication are scheduled to collide, and may not transmit the DMRS and/or the PTRS on the colliding symbol(s)…”; [0117]; [0126]; “…the BS may transmit, to the UE, an indication to operate in a particular multiplexing mode in association with transmitting the configuration…the BS may receive, from the UE, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) or a phase-tracking reference symbol (PTRS) in association with the multiple uplink transmissions from the UE after transmitting the configuration…”; teaches the UE determining a multiplexing/phase coherency mode from configuration information for transmitting PTRS corresponding to PUSCH, wherein the mode indicates that PTRS are transmitted in resource locations that do not overlap).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE determining a multiplexing/phase coherency mode from configuration information for transmitting PTRS corresponding to PUSCH, wherein the mode indicates that PTRS are transmitted in resource locations that do not overlap as taught by Yang with the method and apparatus for determining the resources elements for transmission of at least two PTRSs corresponding to at least two PUSCHs as disclosed by Yuan for the purpose of improving throughput of a channel between a UE and a BS via use of spatial multiplexing to facilitate simultaneous transmission of multiple uplink communications, as suggested by Yang.
Regarding claim 17, Yuan, as modified by Yang, further teaches and suggests wherein the at least portion of the resource locations of the at least two PT-RSs being not overlapped comprises RE offsets of the at least two PT-RSs being different ([0105]; “…determine one or more of a phase tracking reference signal transmission density, an offset of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission, or a location of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission…”; [0213]; teaches the resource location of the PTRSs comprises an offset).
Regarding claim 18, Yuan, as modified by Yang, further teaches and suggests wherein determining the transmission mode for the at least two phase-tracking reference signals (PT-RSs) comprises: determining the transmission mode for the at least two PT-RSs according to target indication information, wherein the target indication information is used to indicate transmission information of the at least two PT-RSs ([0105]; “…determine one or more of a phase tracking reference signal transmission density, an offset of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission, or a location of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission…”; [0213]; teaches target indication information may include the resource location of the PTRSs comprises an offset, time domain density, or frequency domain density).
Regarding claim 19, Yuan, as modified by Yang, further teaches and suggests wherein the target indication information comprises at least one of: first indication information, used to indicate a time domain density of a PT-RS; second indication information, used to indicate a frequency domain density of a PT-RS; third indication information, used to indicate a resource element (RE) offset of a PT-RS; fourth indication information, used to indicate an association between a PT-RS port and a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port; or fifth indication information, used to indicate whether a PT-RS is present; or the target indication information comprises at least one of: first indication information, used to indicate a time domain density of a PT-RS; second indication information, used to indicate a frequency domain density of a PT-RS; third indication information, used to indicate an RE offset of a PT-RS; fourth indication information, used to indicate an association between a PT-RS port and a DMRS port; or sixth indication information, used to determine resource locations of the at least two PT-RSs ([0105]; “…determine one or more of a phase tracking reference signal transmission density, an offset of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission, or a location of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission…”; [0213]; [0233]; teaches target indication information may include the resource location of the PTRSs comprises an offset, time domain density, or frequency domain density).
Regarding claim 20, Yuan teaches and discloses a terminal device (UE, figures 1, 7, and 11), comprising a processor (processor, figure 10) and a memory (memory, figure 10), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to perform:
determining a transmission for at least two phase-tracking reference signals (PT-RSs), wherein the at least two PT-RSs correspond to at least two physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) (figure 3; [0197]; “…the UE 115 may transmit a PTRS transmission on the first scheduled PUSCH using one or more PTRS resources 315-a associated with the first resource grid 305-a. Similarly, the UE 115 may transmit a PTRS transmission of the second scheduled PUSCH using one or more PTRS resources 315-b associated with the second resource grid…”; [0199]; [0202]; teaches the UE determines the resources elements for transmission of at least two PTRSs corresponding to at least two PUSCHs); and
transmitting the at least two PUSCHs according to the transmission for the at least two PT-RSs, wherein the at least two PUSCHs are associated with different spatial parameters ([0157]; “…a spatial resource (for example, spatial layers or beams), and the use of multiple spatial layers may further increase the data rate or data integrity for communications with a UE…”; [0177]; “…increase the spectral efficiency by transmitting or receiving multiple signals via different spatial layers. Such techniques may be referred to as spatial multiplexing…”; different spatial parameters) (figure 3; [0197]; “…the UE 115 may transmit a PTRS transmission on the first scheduled PUSCH using one or more PTRS resources 315-a associated with the first resource grid 305-a. Similarly, the UE 115 may transmit a PTRS transmission of the second scheduled PUSCH using one or more PTRS resources 315-b associated with the second resource grid…”; [0199]; [0202]; teaches the UE transmitting the at least two PUSCHs according to the configuration of the at least two PTRSs and the PUSCH are associated with different spatial parameters).
However, Yuan may not explicitly disclose a transmission mode, wherein the transmission mode for the at least two PT-RSs includes at least one of: a portion of PT-RSs of the at least two PT-RSs being not transmitted; or at least portion of resource locations of the at least two PT-RSs being not overlapped.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches and suggests a transmission mode (multiplexing/phase coherency mode; [0087]; [0096]), wherein the transmission mode for the at least two PT-RSs includes at least one of: a portion of PT-RSs of the at least two PT-RSs being not transmitted; or at least portion of resource locations of the at least two PT-RSs being not overlapped ([0087]; [0089]; [0096]; “…the UE may transmit the SRS in association with the PUSCH communication when the SRS and the PUSCH communication are scheduled to collide, and may not transmit the DMRS and/or the PTRS on the colliding symbol(s)…”; [0117]; [0126]; “…the BS may transmit, to the UE, an indication to operate in a particular multiplexing mode in association with transmitting the configuration…the BS may receive, from the UE, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) or a phase-tracking reference symbol (PTRS) in association with the multiple uplink transmissions from the UE after transmitting the configuration…”; teaches the UE determining a multiplexing/phase coherency mode from configuration information for transmitting PTRS corresponding to PUSCH, wherein the mode indicates that PTRS are transmitted in resource locations that do not overlap).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE determining a multiplexing/phase coherency mode from configuration information for transmitting PTRS corresponding to PUSCH, wherein the mode indicates that PTRS are transmitted in resource locations that do not overlap as taught by Yang with the method and apparatus for determining the resources elements for transmission of at least two PTRSs corresponding to at least two PUSCHs as disclosed by Yuan for the purpose of improving throughput of a channel between a UE and a BS via use of spatial multiplexing to facilitate simultaneous transmission of multiple uplink communications, as suggested by Yang.
Claims 8, 9, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUAN et al. (hereinafter Yuan) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0299905 A1) in view of YANG et al. (hereinafter Yang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0349066 A1), and further in view of YANG et al. (hereinafter Yang2) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0048319 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Yuan, as modified by Yang, discloses determining the resources elements for transmission of at least two PTRSs corresponding to at least two PUSCHs, but may not explicitly disclose determining an absent PT-RS and/or a present PT-RS of the at least two PT-RSs according to a first rule, wherein the first rule is pre-defined, or the first rule is configured by a network device.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yang2 teaches and suggests determining an absent PT-RS and/or a present PT-RS of the at least two PT-RSs according to a first rule, wherein the first rule is pre-defined, or the first rule is configured by a network device ([0090]; “…the UE 110 may be configured with rules and/or parameters to trigger the presence of PT-RS and/or control its corresponding overhead (e.g., decrease or increase the number of PT-RS). In some embodiments, the rules and/or parameters may be signaled by the gNB to the UE 110. This signal may or may not be preceded by a message from the UE 110 to the network indicating rules and/or parameters that the network may take into consideration when configuring the UE…”; teaches the UE is configured by the gNB with rules to trigger the presence of PT-RS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE is configured by the gNB with rules to trigger the presence of PT-RS as taught by Yang2 with the method and apparatus for determining the resources elements for transmission of at least two PTRSs corresponding to at least two PUSCHs as disclosed by Yuan, as modified by Yang, for the purpose of controlling overhead and improving uplink control information reliability, as suggested by Yang2.
Regarding claim 9, Yuan, as modified by Yang, discloses determining the resources elements for transmission of at least two PTRSs corresponding to at least two PUSCHs, but may not explicitly disclose wherein determining the absent PT-RS and/or the present PT-RS of the at least two PT-RSs according to the first rule comprises: in a case where fifth indication information is not received, determining the absent PT-RS and/or the present PT-RS of the at least two PT-RSs according to the first rule, wherein the fifth indication information is used to indicate whether a PT-RS is present.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yang2 teaches and suggests wherein determining the absent PT-RS and/or the present PT-RS of the at least two PT-RSs according to the first rule comprises: in a case where fifth indication information is not received, determining the absent PT-RS and/or the present PT-RS of the at least two PT-RSs according to the first rule, wherein the fifth indication information is used to indicate whether a PT-RS is present ([0090]; “…the UE 110 may be configured with rules and/or parameters to trigger the presence of PT-RS and/or control its corresponding overhead (e.g., decrease or increase the number of PT-RS). In some embodiments, the rules and/or parameters may be signaled by the gNB to the UE 110. This signal may or may not be preceded by a message from the UE 110 to the network indicating rules and/or parameters that the network may take into consideration when configuring the UE…”; teaches the UE determining the presence of PT-RS according to the rule).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE determining the presence of PT-RS according to the rule as taught by Yang2 with the method and apparatus for determining the resources elements for transmission of at least two PTRSs corresponding to at least two PUSCHs as disclosed by Yuan, as modified by Yang and Yang2, for the purpose of controlling overhead and improving uplink control information reliability, as suggested by Yang2.
Regarding claim 14, Yuan, as modified by Yang, discloses determining the resources elements for transmission of at least two PTRSs corresponding to at least two PUSCHs, but may not explicitly disclose determining at least portion of the resource locations of the at least two PT-RSs being not overlapped according to a second rule, wherein the second rule is pre-defined, or the second rule is configured by a network device.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Yang2 teaches and suggests determining at least portion of the resource locations of the at least two PT-RSs being not overlapped according to a second rule, wherein the second rule is pre-defined, or the second rule is configured by a network device ([0090]; “…the UE 110 may be configured with rules and/or parameters to trigger the presence of PT-RS and/or control its corresponding overhead (e.g., decrease or increase the number of PT-RS). In some embodiments, the rules and/or parameters may be signaled by the gNB to the UE 110. This signal may or may not be preceded by a message from the UE 110 to the network indicating rules and/or parameters that the network may take into consideration when configuring the UE…”; teaches the UE is configured by the gNB with rules to trigger the presence of PT-RS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE is configured by the gNB with rules to trigger the presence of PT-RS as taught by Yang2 with the method and apparatus for determining the resources elements for transmission of at least two PTRSs corresponding to at least two PUSCHs as disclosed by Yuan, as modified by Yang, for the purpose of controlling overhead and improving uplink control information reliability, as suggested by Yang2.
Regarding claim 15, Yuan, as modified by Yang and Yang2, further teaches and suggests wherein determining the at least portion of the resource locations of the at least two PT-RSs being not overlapped according to the second rule comprises: determining that the at least two PT-RSs correspond to different RE offsets according to the second rule ([0105]; “…determine one or more of a phase tracking reference signal transmission density, an offset of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission, or a location of the one or more resources associated with the phase tracking reference signal transmission…”; [0213]; teaches the resource location of the PTRSs comprises an offset).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUAN et al. (hereinafter Yuan) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0299905 A1) in view of YANG et al. (hereinafter Yang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0349066 A1) and YANG et al. (hereinafter Yang2) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0048319 A1), and further in view of Cirik et al. (hereinafter Cirik) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0254852 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Yuan, as modified by Yang and Yang2, discloses determining the resources elements for transmission of at least two PTRSs corresponding to at least two PUSCHs and a rule related to resource and PTRSs, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the first rule comprises: a PT-RS on a PUSCH associated with a first spatial parameter being not present; the first spatial parameter is a spatial parameter with a smallest index among spatial parameters associated with the at least two PUSCHs.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Cirik teaches and suggests wherein the first rule comprises: a PT-RS on a PUSCH associated with a first spatial parameter being not present; the first spatial parameter is a spatial parameter with a smallest index among spatial parameters associated with the at least two PUSCHs ([0004]; “…a rule may comprise including the multiplexed information in a transmission associated with at least one of: a lowest (or highest) frequency or range of frequencies, a lowest (or highest) starting (or ending) resource block, a lowest (or highest) transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, a lowest (or highest) TCI state index, a lowest (or highest) panel or panel index, and/or any other parameter/indicator that may differentiate a transmission (including the multiplexed information) from other transmissions. Additionally or alternatively, a rule may be applied by the wireless device and the base station to indicate/determine (e.g., using a lowest or highest frequency, a lowest/starting or highest/ending resource block, a lowest or highest TCI state or TCI state index, a lowest or highest panel or panel index, etc.) a value/parameter associated with a transmission…”; [1081]; teaches the rule is associated with spatial domain parameters including a lowest index among the parameters associated with the PUSCHs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the rule is associated with spatial domain parameters including a lowest index among the parameters associated with the PUSCHs as taught by Cirik with the method and apparatus for determining the resources elements for transmission of at least two PTRSs corresponding to at least two PUSCHs as disclosed by Yuan, as modified by Yang and Yang2, for the purpose of providing increased synchronization between a wireless device and a base station, reduced retransmission, reduced latency, and/or reduced power consumption, as suggested by Cirik
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
September 11, 2026