DETAILED ACTION
The Preliminary Amendment filed 19 October 2024 has been received and considered.
Claims 1-15 are pending.
This Action is Non-Final.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4 and 7, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 11, 12, 14, and 15are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Anderson et al. (US 20230396456).
As per claims 1 and 15, Anderson et al. discloses a method and system for processing the signing of a blockchain transaction, the system comprising:
a) a digital storage medium configured to store a portion of an access-key for signing, in particular blockchain, transactions (see paragraph [0078] the removable storage); and
b) a signature terminal comprising an input means configured to connect the digital storage medium and receive an input representative for the remaining not-stored part of the access-key to complete the signature to confirm the transaction (see paragraphs [0076]-[0079] the signing machine),
wherein a transaction to be signed on a blockchain is signed by a signing module based on a combination of the stored part of the access key on the digital storage medium and the input by the input means of the signature terminal, wherein the storage medium, the signature terminal and/or the input means are offline (see paragraphs [0076]-[0079] where the removable storage media are sequentially connected to the signing machine and shards of the key are decrypted based on an input and combined to confirm the transaction by signing the transaction and see paragraph [0074] as an example showing the offline nature of the devices).
As per claim 3, Anderson et al. discloses said input means selected from the group consisting of: A physical keypad, a virtual keyboard displayed on a touchscreen interface, a voice recognition module, a biometric scanner; an RFID or NFC reader, a smart card reader, a secure point-to-point connection module, a rotary dial, or a light pen (see paragraph [0082]).
As per claim 4, Anderson et al. discloses each tag further capable of receiving and executing kill codes, wherein a kill code according to the present invention may either be sent by the signing module or the signature terminal, wherein preferably the storage device itself has a protection circuit or software solution implemented that recognized attacks for unallowed access to the stored access-keys (see paragraph [0085] where the tamper detection portion that is capable of receiving and executing kill codes).
As per claim 5, Anderson et al. discloses the biometric scanner is selected from the group consisting of: a fingerprint scanner, an iris scanner, a facial recognition scanner, wherein the non-stored part of the access key is calculated based on this information by the signature terminal (see paragraphs [0069] and [0076]-[0079]).
As per claim 7, Anderson et al. discloses the access key is stored by a user partly with the help of input means on the storage medium or a new access key is generated by the system and partly displayed to the user and partly stored on the storage medium, wherein in particular the access-key is mapped to another logic of figures, symbols or word, preferably converted into figures according to the decimal system (see paragraphs [0058]-[0061] and [0076]-[0079]).
As per claim 8, Anderson et al. discloses the access key is a seed phrase or master seed phrase, which is in particular encrypted via SHA-256 or another cryptographic algorithm (see paragraphs [0060]-[0061] and [0074]-[0075]).
As per claims 11 and 12, Anderson et al. discloses for processing a transaction, the signing module is connected to the internet or in active connection with a computer network running a blockchain while the user may be offline, wherein the signing module is offline and only connects to the internet or to a computer network running a blockchain at a later point in time (see paragraph [0074]).
As per claim 14, Anderson et al. discloses the transactions processed are payment transactions, internal transactions, accounting transactions, identity verification processes or transactions related with the same (see paragraphs [0063]-[0064]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, in view of Devallonne (WO 2024154060).
As per claims 2 and 6, Anderson et al. discloses various interfaces for connecting devices and receiving input, but fails to explicitly disclose the digital storage medium is provided in form of or in combination with a RFID-Tag, NFC-Tag or UHF-Tag, each tag capable of storing a portion of said access key and transmitting said portion to a tag-reader, wherein said tags include passive, semi-passive, and semi-active tags and the secure point-to-point connection module is configured to receive PIN codes via a connection selected from the group consisting of Bluetooth or infrared.
However, Devallonne teaches a blockchain system with key shares that includes a digital storage medium is provided in form of or in combination with a RFID-Tag, NFC-Tag or UHF-Tag, each tag capable of storing a portion of said access key and transmitting said portion to a tag-reader, wherein said tags include passive, semi-passive, and semi-active tags and the secure point-to-point connection module is configured to receive PIN codes via a connection selected from the group consisting of Bluetooth or infrared (see paragraphs [0007]-[0009]).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the specific connections of Devallonne in the Anderson et al. system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to make the system easier to use by not requiring physical connections.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Guo et al. (US 11775377).
As per claims 9 and 10, Anderson et al. the use of blockchain networks which use multiple nodes and consensus determinations, but fails to disclose a multiple a signing modules in connection with one or more signature terminals each forming a network, wherein within the network the status of each module and terminal, in particular hardware and/or software, is synchronized with the further modules and terminals, wherein within the network, a consensus algorithm is established to decide if a devices is working correct, improbably or malicious.
However, Guo et al. teaches a blockchain system with multiple modules in connection with one or more terminals each forming a network, wherein within the network the status of each module and terminal, in particular hardware and/or software, is synchronized with the further modules and terminals, wherein within the network, a consensus algorithm is established to decide if a devices is working correct, improbably or malicious (see column 28 lines 41 through column 29 line 8).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to use the teachings of Guo et al. on the multiple modules and terminals of the Anderson et al. system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to ensure the trustworthiness of the network.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. as applied to claim 12 above, further in view of Novotny et al. (US 20220188295).
As per claim 13, Anderson et al. teaches various different blockchain implementations (e.g. BitCoin and Ethereum) that use different proofs of work or state and further discloses the use of temporal delegations (see paragraphs [0076]-[0079] where blockchain operations are delegated to the custody platform), but fails to explicitly disclose the blockchain, whose transaction is to be signed, allow vertical or horizontal scaling.
However, Novotny et al. teaches a blockchain that allows vertical or horizontal scaling (see paragraphs [0057]-[0062]).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the scaling of Novotny et al. in the Anderson et al. system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to allow for flexible use of resources.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: the remaining references put forth on the PTO-892 form are directed towards signing blockchain transactions.
/Michael Pyzocha/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409