Art Rejection
4. Claims 1-4, 7-8 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2018/0020351, in view of Nair, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2017/0127285.
Per claims 1 and 8, Lee discloses a computer implemented method, comprising:
a) receiving, by a device (e.g., base station), from a first user equipment (UE), and regardless of radio access technologies utilized (see par 0044), a first core network attach request with a first concealed subscriber identifier PMSI (see par 0040);
b) providing, by the device, the first core network attach request with the first concealed subscriber identifier to a first core network HHS (see par 0040);
c) providing, by the device, a first authentication message received from the core network to the first UE (see par 0041, 0058); and
e) enabling, by the device and based on the first authentication message, the first UE to attach to the first core network via an untrusted access network (see par 0042).
Lee does not explicitly teach that the first authentication message comprise an authorization success message. Such use of authorization success message as part of authentication process is known in the art as disclosed by Nair (see Nair, par 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize such authorization success message in Lee because it would have enabled the UE to attach to the first core network (see Nair, par 0041).
Per claim 2, Lee teaches that the first concealed subscriber identifier is a subscriber concealed identifier associated with a subscriber of the first UE (see par 0005).
Per claim 3, Lee teaches receiving a plurality of attach requests from different UEs including a second request with a second concealed subscriber identifier from a second UE (see par 0044, 0058). Lee does not teach sending an authorization reject message with an error code to the second UE when the core network does not approve the attach request (see par 0058). However, such use of error code is also known in the art as disclosed by Nair. Particularly, Nair teaches receiving and storing an error code provided by the core network along with a rejection message (see Nair, par 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize such error code in Lee because it would have enabled informing the UE a rejection of the attach request.
Per claim 4, Nair also teaches using the error code in a second attach attempt by the second UE (see par 0043).
Per claim 7, Nair teaches that the device comprises an evolved packet data gateway and the UE is a standalone capable device (see par 0003).
Per claim 14, Lee teaches that the authentication/authorization message is received from an authorization server function of the first core network (see par 0041).
Claims 15-16 are similar in scope as that of claims 1-4 and 14.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 5-6, 9-13 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Viet D Vu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455
7/29/26