Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirose (JP2003061872).
Regarding claim 1, Hirose discloses a nozzle assembly configured for use on a vacuum cleaner, the nozzle assembly comprising:
a pivotable outlet configured for engagement with a suction tube of the vacuum cleaner (pivotable outlet defined as rear connecting portion 31 which is configured for engagement with suction tube 24 of vacuum cleaner 20 (pg 2 [10], pg 3 [1]), the outlet 31 being pivotable as it is rotatably connected about rotation shaft 41, pg 3 [6] Figs 1-2 shown below); and
a suction chamber coupled to the pivotable outlet via a pivot axis such that the suction chamber can rotate about the pivot axis, the suction chamber comprising a rotatable inlet positioned along a rear-facing edge of the suction chamber and configured to rotate between a first state that allows air to pass through the rotatable inlet and a second state that blocks the passage of air through the rotatable inlet (suction chamber defined as the inner space of suction nozzle body 21 which is coupled to the outlet 31 has a pivot axis defined as the point of 111 in Fig 21 below (pg 5 [3]), rotatable inlet defined as second opening portion 38 and shudder 34, which is rotatable as is the entire suction chamber as described above, 38 is along a rear facing edge of the chamber and is configured such that shudder 34 rotates between a first state that allows air to pass through 38 and a second state where the shudder 34 blocks the passage of air through 38, pg 3 [2], Fig 4 shown below as an example to illustrate the switch between first and second states).
Regarding claim 13, Hirose discloses a nozzle assembly configured for use on a vacuum cleaner, comprising:
a pivotable outlet configured for engagement with a suction tube of the vacuum cleaner (pivotable outlet defined as rear connecting portion 31 which is configured for engagement with suction tube 24 of vacuum cleaner 20 (pg 2 [10], pg 3 [1]), the outlet 31 being pivotable as it is rotatably connected about rotation shaft 41, pg 3 [6] Figs 1-2 shown above); and
a suction chamber coupled to the pivotable outlet via a pivot axis such that the suction chamber can rotate about the pivot axis (suction chamber defined as 21 which is coupled to the outlet 31 has a pivot axis defined as the point of 111 in Fig 21 above (pg 5 [3]),), the suction chamber comprising:
a sealing structure positioned along a forward-facing edge of the suction chamber and configured to block or reduce a suction path from the front of the suction chamber (sealing structure defined as the upper wall 26 of the chamber 21 which is positioned along a forward facing edge of 21 and is configured to block or reduce a suction path from the front of the suction chamber, as shown above in Fig 21 (b), top wall 26 has a lip along its front facing edge where it connects to front wall 27 that reduces a suction path from the front of the chamber defined as front wall 27, see Fig 2 above, as opposed to if the front wall 27 was entirely open),
a rotatable inlet positioned along a rear-facing edge of the suction chamber and configured to rotate between a first state that allows air to pass through the rotatable inlet and a second state that blocks the passage of air through the rotatable inlet (rotatable inlet defined as second opening portion 38 and shudder 34, which is rotatable as is the entire suction chamber as described above, 38 is along a rear facing edge of the chamber and is configured such that shudder 34 rotates between a first state that allows air to pass through 38 and a second state where the shudder 34 blocks the passage of air through 38, pg 3 [2], Fig 4 shown above as an example to illustrate the switch between first and second states).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 14-15, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose (JP2003061872) as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, further in view of Hirose (JP2003061872).
Regarding claim 2, Hirose discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above. However that embodiment of Hirose fails to disclose the suction chamber further comprises an agitator.
The embodiment of Hirose shown by Fig 13 above teaches a rotary floor brush (81 defined as the agitator, pg 4 [5]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added an agitator like that of the rotary brush embodiment of Hirose to the rotatable embodiment of Hirose in order to provide the device with a means of agitating dust, dirt and other particles into the air to be vacuumed by the device.
Regarding claim 3, Hirose discloses the limitations of claim 2, as described above, and further discloses a suction port arranged such that air passes through the rotatable inlet and into the suction port when the rotatable inlet is in the first state (suction port defined as the space within 31 where air would flow, which is arranged such that air passes in through the inlet 38 and into the suction port in the first state).
Regarding claim 4, Hirose discloses the limitations of claim 3, as described above, and further discloses the first state of the rotatable inlet allows air to pass through the rotatable inlet and into the suction port without passing across or through the agitator (as shown in Fig 13b above, the air would flow through inlet 38 and into the suction port as described above without passing across or through the agitator 81).
Regarding claim 14, Hirose discloses the limitations of claim 13, as described above, and further discloses the suction chamber further comprises an agitator and a suction port arranged such that air passes through the rotatable inlet and into the suction port when the rotatable inlet is in the first state (the embodiment shown by Fig 13 above describes a rotary floor brush 81 defined as the agitator, pg 4 [5], suction port defined as the space within 31 where air would flow, which is arranged such that air passes in through the inlet 38 and into the suction port in the first state).
Regarding claim 15, Hirose discloses the limitations of claim 14, as described above, and further discloses the first state of the rotatable inlet allows air to pass through the rotatable inlet and into the suction port without passing across or through the agitator (as shown in Fig 13b above, the air would flow through inlet 38 and into the suction port as described above without passing across or through the agitator 81).
Regarding claim 18, Hirose discloses the limitations of claim 13, as described above. However, that embodiment fails to disclose the sealing structure comprises a roller (the sealing structure as described above is a rotary floor brush 81 defined as the roller, pg 4 [5]).
The embodiment of Hirose shown by Fig 13 above teaches a roller (the sealing structure as described above is a rotary floor brush 81 defined as the roller, pg 4 [5]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a roller like that of the rotary brush embodiment of Hirose to the rotatable embodiment of Hirose at the front edge of the sealing structure as described above in order to provide the device with a means of agitating dust, dirt and other particles into the air to be vacuumed by the device when the device is used in the upright and more compact state.
Claims 1, 9-11, 13, 19-20 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lineberger (US20240358204) in view of Hirose (JP2003061872).
Regarding claim 1, Lineberger discloses a nozzle assembly configured for use on a vacuum cleaner, the nozzle assembly comprising:
a pivotable outlet configured for engagement with a suction tube of the vacuum cleaner (outlet defined as 170 which connects to a hose, or suction tube, of the vacuum cleaner, 170 being a part of the housing which is pivotably coupled to the base as explained in [0003] thereby making the outlet pivotable, [0043]); and
a suction chamber coupled to the pivotable outlet, the suction chamber comprising a rotatable inlet positioned along a rear-facing edge of the suction chamber and configured to rotate between a first state that allows air to pass through the rotatable inlet and a second state that blocks the passage of air through the rotatable inlet (suction chamber defined as every feature of the vacuum below outlet 170, rotatable inlet defined as valve assembly 158 which is positioned along a rear facing edge of the suction chamber as it faces away from the front of the vacuum, and is configured to rotate between a first state, as shown in Fig 9 below, where air passes through the inlet and a second state, as shown in Fig 10 below, where the passage of air is blocked through the inlet [0043]).
However, Lineberger fails to disclose a suction chamber coupled to the pivotable outlet via a pivot axis such that the suction chamber can rotate about the pivot axis.
Hirose is also concerned with vacuums and teaches a suction chamber coupled to the pivotable outlet via a pivot axis such that the suction chamber can rotate about the pivot axis (suction chamber defined as the inner space of suction nozzle body 21 which is coupled to the outlet 31 has a pivot axis defined as the point of 111 in Fig 21 above (pg 5 [3])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the rotatability of the vacuum of Hirose to the vacuum of Lineberger to provide it with the benefits of improved maneuverability.
Regarding claim 9, Lineberger, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the nozzle assembly further comprises one or more wheels such that the one or more wheels rotate when the suction chamber is moved across a surface (base 18 includes wheels to facilitate movement over a surface [0025] Fig 1).
Regarding claim 10, Lineberger, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 9, as described above, and further discloses one or more mechanical linkages coupled between the one or more wheels and the rotatable inlet (Lineberger is silent on the fastening means used to fasten the wheels 38 to the base 18, however one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the wheels must be fastened in some manner and therefore the mechanical linkages defined as the fastening means of the wheels 38 to the base 18 are coupled between the one or more wheels and the rotatable inlet).
Regarding claim 11, Lineberger, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the suction chamber includes one or more angled or sloped walls that taper towards the rotatable inlet (as shown in Figs 9 and 10 above, the suction chamber includes a tube that defines angled or sloped walls that taper towards the inlet 158, especially indicated by the first airflow path 46).
Regarding claim 13, Lineberger discloses a nozzle assembly configured for use on a vacuum cleaner, the nozzle assembly comprising:
a pivotable outlet configured for engagement with a suction tube of the vacuum cleaner (outlet defined as 170 which connects to a hose, or suction tube, of the vacuum cleaner, 170 being a part of the housing which is pivotably coupled to the base as explained in [0003] thereby making the outlet pivotable, [0043]); and
a suction chamber coupled to the pivotable outlet, the suction chamber comprising a rotatable inlet positioned along a rear-facing edge of the suction chamber and configured to rotate between a first state that allows air to pass through the rotatable inlet and a second state that blocks the passage of air through the rotatable inlet (suction chamber defined as every feature of the vacuum below outlet 170, rotatable inlet defined as valve assembly 158 which is positioned along a rear facing edge of the suction chamber as it faces away from the front of the vacuum, and is configured to rotate between a first state, as shown in Fig 9 below, where air passes through the inlet and a second state, as shown in Fig 10 below, where the passage of air is blocked through the inlet [0043]).
However, Lineberger fails to disclose a suction chamber coupled to the pivotable outlet via a pivot axis such that the suction chamber can rotate about the pivot axis, and a sealing structure positioned along a forward-facing edge of the suction chamber and configured to block or reduce a suction path from the front of the suction chamber (specifically, Lineberger does show a structure in the housing that appears to be a roller or agitator, which in this case would define a sealing structure, however Lineberger is silent on this structure).
Hirose is also concerned with vacuums and teaches a suction chamber coupled to the pivotable outlet via a pivot axis such that the suction chamber can rotate about the pivot axis (suction chamber defined as the inner space of suction nozzle body 21 which is coupled to the outlet 31 has a pivot axis defined as the point of 111 in Fig 21 above (pg 5 [3])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the rotatability of the vacuum of Hirose to the vacuum of Lineberger to provide it with the benefits of improved maneuverability.
Hirose further teaches a rotary floor brush (81 defined as the agitator, pg 4 [5]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added an agitator like that of Hirose to the vacuum of Lineberger in order to provide the device with a means of agitating dust, dirt and other particles into the air to be vacuumed by the device. The rotary floor brush of Hirose would define a sealing structure positioned along a forward facing edge of the suction chamber of Lineberger, as described above, which would block or reduce a suction path from the front of the suction chamber as it does in Hirose.
Regarding claim 19, Lineberger, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 13, as described above, and further discloses one or more wheels such that the one or more wheels rotate when the suction chamber is moved across a surface (base 18 includes wheels to facilitate movement over a surface [0025] Fig 1); and
one or more mechanical linkages coupled between the one or more wheels and the rotatable inlet (Lineberger is silent on the fastening means used to fasten the wheels 38 to the base 18, however one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the wheels must be fastened in some manner and therefore the mechanical linkages defined as the fastening means of the wheels 38 to the base 18 are coupled between the one or more wheels and the rotatable inlet).
Regarding claim 20, Lineberger, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 13, as described above, and further discloses the suction chamber includes one or more angled or sloped walls that taper towards the rotatable inlet (as shown in Figs 9 and 10 above, the suction chamber includes a tube that defines angled or sloped walls that taper towards the inlet 158, especially indicated by the first airflow path 46).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 12, 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claims 5-8, 12, 16-17, the closest art of record, Hirose (JP2003061872) and Lineberger (US20240358204), teach the limitations of claim 1 and 13 as described above, but alone or in combination, do not teach, suggest, or make obvious a second rotatable inlet that is configured to rotate between a first state that allows air to pass through the inlet and a second state that blocks the passage of air through the inlet, that rotation of the wheels cause the inlet to rotate between states, or that the sealing structure is a second rotatable inlet that is configured to rotate between a first state that allows air to pass through the inlet and a second state that blocks the passage of air through the inlet.
Conclusion
/J.M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723