Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-9, 14-17, 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gillespie et al. (US20160098360A1) in view of Mannan et al. (US20170230179A1), and further in view of Wade (US 9578763 B1).
Gillespie discloses:
1. A self-correcting secure computer system comprising:
a random access memory (RAM) device; and (par 11)
at least one processor in communication with the ROM device and the RAM device, the at least one processor programmed to:
receive an activation signal; (par 26)
retrieve, from the ROM device, data to execute an operating system; [examiner’s note: BIOS is stored in ROM in every computer, and it loads an OS.]
execute, on the RAM device, the operating system based on the data from the ROM device; (par 26: At step 58, the process starts with a boot of an operating system from non-volatile storage to volatile storage, such as RAM.) [examiner’s note: BIOS is stored in ROM in every computer, and it loads an OS.]
receive a delete system signal; (par 23: If desired for additional security, a complete deletion of operating system information may be performed, such as by cleansing RAM 16, flash memory 18 or other memory devices involved in supporting the operating system.)
delete memory of one or more persistent memory devices attached to the computer system; and (par 23: If desired for additional security, a complete deletion of operating system information may be performed, such as by cleansing RAM 16, flash memory 18 or other memory devices involved in supporting the operating system.)
However, Gillespie does not explicitly disclose, while Mannan teaches:
a read-only memory (ROM) device; (par 466)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine encryption key of Gillespie with encryption key of Mannan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to stop the attacks.
However, Gillespie does not explicitly disclose, while Wade teaches:
render the computer system inoperable. (col 1, ln 60-67 and col 2, ln 1-10)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine security module of Gillespie with security module of Wade. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to make it more difficult for an attacker to tamper with the electronic device. (Wade: col 5, ln 24-45)
Modified Gillespie discloses:
2. The computer system in accordance with Claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to
However, Gillespie does not explicitly disclose, while Wade teaches:
cause one or more components of the computer system to become inoperable by electrically adjusting one or more settings to cause a short circuit in the computer system. (col 1, ln 60-67 and col 2, ln 1-10)
6. The computer system in accordance with Claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further programmed
However, Gillespie does not explicitly disclose, while Wade teaches:
to cause one or more components of the computer system to become inoperable. (col 5, 1-6)
7. The computer system in accordance with Claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is further programmed
However, Gillespie does not explicitly disclose, while Wade teaches:
to cause at least one of at least one processor, a motherboard, a fuse, a fan, a heat sync, a network port, a user interface device, a power supply, a battery, a bus, and one or more device connections to become inoperable. (col 5, 1-6)
8. The computer system in accordance with Claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to
However, Gillespie does not explicitly disclose, while Wade teaches:
electronically cause one or more components of the computer system to become inoperable. (col 5, 1-6)
9. The computer system in accordance with Claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further programmed
However, Gillespie does not explicitly disclose, while Wade teaches:
to cause one or more components of a motherboard of the computer system to become inoperable. (col 5, 1-6)
14. The computer system in accordance with Claim 1,
However, Gillespie does not explicitly disclose, while Mannan teaches:
wherein the computer system further includes a switch, wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to delete system signal based on activation of the switch, wherein the switch is one of a physical switch attached to the computer system and a software switch selectable by a user. (par 234)
15. The computer system in accordance with Claim 14,
However, Gillespie does not explicitly disclose, while Mannan teaches:
wherein the user can set the switch while the computer system is in a powered down, sleep, or hibernation state, and wherein the computer system will consider the delete system signal to have been received when the computer system activates. (par 234)
16. The computer system in accordance with Claim 1,
However, Gillespie does not explicitly disclose, while Mannan teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to receive the delete system signal from a remote computer device over a network connection. (claim 17)
17. The computer system in accordance with Claim 1,
However, Gillespie does not explicitly disclose, while Mannan teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to receive the delete system signal when a threat is detected. (par 497)
19. The computer system in accordance with Claim 1,
However, Gillespie does not explicitly disclose, while Mannan teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to receive the delete system signal when unauthorized access is detected. (par 15, 86)
20. The computer system in accordance with Claim 19,
However, Gillespie does not explicitly disclose, while Mannan teaches:
wherein the unauthorized access includes at least one of failed authentication, a number of failed authentications exceeding a predetermined number, a number of logins exceeding a predetermined number, a login attempt at a restricted time, an administrative access request, and another predetermined user action at a restricted time. (claim 24)
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected as being the system implemented by the system of claim(s) 1-2, and is/are rejected on the same grounds.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3-5, 10-13, 18 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable.
Response to Remarks
Regarding the rejection of claim(s) under double patenting, the TD overcomes the rejection.
Conclusion
/KATHERINE LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113