Double Patenting – Non-statutory
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-20 of Patent No. US 11669389 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim(s) 12, 17 of US 11669389 B1 (reference patent) has each element of claim(s) 1, 21 of the examined application. The claim language in the reference patent is narrower than the claim language in the examined application. Therefore the application claim(s) is/are anticipated by the patent claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gillespie et al. (US20160098360A1) in view of Mannan et al. (US20170230179A1), and further in view of Wade (US 9578763 B1).
Gillespie discloses:
1. A self-correcting secure computer system comprising:
a random access memory (RAM) device; and (par 11)
at least one processor in communication with the ROM device and the RAM device, the at least one processor programmed to:
receive an activation signal; (par 26)
retrieve, from the ROM device, data to execute an operating system; [examiner’s note: BIOS is stored in ROM in every computer, and it loads an OS.]
execute, on the RAM device, the operating system based on the data from the ROM device; (par 26: At step 58, the process starts with a boot of an operating system from non-volatile storage to volatile storage, such as RAM.) [examiner’s note: BIOS is stored in ROM in every computer, and it loads an OS.]
receive a delete system signal; (par 23: If desired for additional security, a complete deletion of operating system information may be performed, such as by cleansing RAM 16, flash memory 18 or other memory devices involved in supporting the operating system.)
delete memory of one or more persistent memory devices attached to the computer system; and (par 23: If desired for additional security, a complete deletion of operating system information may be performed, such as by cleansing RAM 16, flash memory 18 or other memory devices involved in supporting the operating system.)
However, Gillespie does not explicitly disclose, while Mannan teaches:
a read-only memory (ROM) device; (par 466)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine encryption key of Gillespie with encryption key of Mannan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to stop the attacks.
However, Gillespie does not explicitly disclose, while Wade teaches:
render the computer system inoperable. (col 1, ln 60-67 and col 2, ln 1-10)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine security module of Gillespie with security module of Wade. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to make it more difficult for an attacker to tamper with the electronic device. (Wade: col 5, ln 24-45)
Modified Gillespie discloses:
2. The computer system in accordance with Claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to
However, Gillespie does not explicitly disclose, while Wade teaches:
cause one or more components of the computer system to become inoperable by electrically adjusting one or more settings to cause a short circuit in the computer system. (col 1, ln 60-67 and col 2, ln 1-10)
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected as being the system implemented by the system of claim(s) 1-2, and is/are rejected on the same grounds.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3-20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under double patenting.
Conclusion
/KATHERINE LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113