Reissue
For reissue applications filed on or after September 16, 2012, all references to 35 U.S.C. 251 and 37 CFR 1.172, 1.175, and 3.73 are to the current provisions.
Status of Claims
Patent claims 1-15 and new claims 16-29 are pending.
Improper Amendment
The amendment filed 18 October 2024 proposes amendments to the claims that do not comply with 37 CFR 1.173(b), which sets forth the manner of making amendments in reissue applications.
Specifically, for each new claim added to the reissue by the amendment being submitted (the current amendment), the entire text of the added claim must be presented completely underlined. See MPEP 1453 II.
Declaration
The reissue oath/declaration filed with this application is defective (see 37 CFR 1.175 and MPEP § 1414) because of the following:
The Reissue Declaration filed 18 October 2024 fails to identify how a word, phrase, or expression in the specification or in an original claim renders the original patent wholly or partly inoperative or invalid. The Declaration states that claim 1 is directed to a device that includes a receiving sleeve and an electrical heater. Thus, a word, phrase, or expression in an original claim is identified. However, there is no discussion of how the phrases “receiving sleeve” or “electrical heater” render the original patent invalid. The statement that independent claim 16 is directed to an electrical heater does not remedy this deficiency.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 251
Claims 1-29 are rejected as being based upon a defective reissue declaration under 35 U.S.C. 251 as set forth above. See 37 CFR 1.175.
The nature of the defect(s) in the declaration is set forth in the discussion above in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 8-10, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20160003136 (hereinafter KR ‘136).
With respect to claims 1 and 6, KR ‘136 teaches an aerosol-generating device 1300 for use with a plurality of aerosol-forming substrates, the device comprising: a receiving sleeve comprising an inner receiving zone 1350 within the receiving sleeve (walls of inner receiving zone) for receiving at least a first aerosol-forming substrate,
and an outer receiving zone 1313 extending across at least a portion of an outer circumferential periphery of the receiving sleeve for receiving at least a second aerosol-forming substrate; and an electrical heater 1320,1355 for heating at least one of the first aerosol-forming substrate and the second aerosol-forming substrate when being received in the first and the second receiving zone, respectively, wherein the electrical heater is configured for heating each one of the first and the second aerosol-forming substrate individually.
The description of Figure 13 states that the receiving zones 1313,1350 “may accommodate different vaporization targets” and the vaporizers 1320,1355 may each be a “hot-line vaporizing member” (an electric wire resistant heater).
As to claim 2, the inner receiving zone 1350 is “rod-shaped” inasmuch as it is straight and has a longer length than width. Further, the outer receiving zone 1313 is “sleeve-shaped” inasmuch as it tubular and extends around the inner receiving zone.
With respect to claim 8, KR ‘136 discloses that vaporizing elements 1320 and 1355 are positioned in air passages in the outer receiving zone and inner receiving zone, respectively, to communication between the receiving zones and flow hole 1312. See description of Figure 13.
As to claims 9, 14, and 15, the aerosol-forming substrates are composed of an inner core (within zone 1350) and outer sleeve (within zone 1313). The outer sleeve is spaced circumferentially from the inner core so as to form a slot between the inner core and the outer sleeve, the circumferential slot being open at a distal end of the article. Note that when the inner core and outer sleeve are removed from the device 1300, the space previously filled by the wall of inner receiving zone 1350 creates a circumferential slot with an open distal end. As shown in the figure above, the cross-sectional provide of the substrate sleeve within zone 1313 is larger than an outer cross-sectional profile of the receiving sleeve within zone 1350.
With respect to claim 10, the substrates of KR ‘136 may be adapted for containing a liquid. See 4th and 6th paragraph of Description-of-Embodiments and the claims.
As to claim 13, Figure 13 discloses a mouthpiece 1311 at a proximal end of the article.
Claim(s) 9, 10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB 2529201 to Buchberger (hereinafter Buchberger).
With respect to claim 9, Buchberger teaches an aerosol-generating article for use with an aerosol- generating device 1’, the article comprising an inner substrate core 26 and an outer substrate sleeve 36 surrounding the inner substrate core at a distance such as to form a circumferential slot between the inner substrate core and the outer substrate sleeve, the circumferential slot being open at a distal end of the article, wherein the inner substrate core contains or is adapted for containing at least a first aerosol-forming substrate and the outer substrate sleeve contains or is adapted for containing at least a second aerosol-forming substrate. See Figure 2; paras [0024-0026]. Note that when the inner core 26 and outer sleeve 36 are removed from the device 1’, the space previously filled by wall 37 creates a circumferential slot with an open distal end.
As to claim 10, both the inner core and the outer sleeve may include a liquid retention material. See paras [0026, 0030].
With respect to claim 13, the device includes a mouthpiece 3 at a proximal end of the article.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 7, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR ‘136 as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of US 2017/0055583 to Blandino et al. (hereinafter Blandino).
With respect to claims 3 and 5, KR ‘136 teaches the heater is a hot-wire type resistive heater. KR ‘136 does not disclose an inductive heater. Blandino discloses it was known in the art at the time the invention was filed to use an inductive heater comprising an inductor coil 122 and a susceptor 114 to vaporize various vaporizable components (paras [0050—53]) within zone 113. See Figure 5. It would have been obvious to a POSITA to substitute the inductive heater of Blandino for the hot-wire electric heater of KR ‘136 because the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143 I.B. In this instance, use of inductive heaters in place of the resistive heaters of KR ‘136 would have resulted in the predictable result of heating the aerosol substrates.
As to claims 4 and 12, the resistive heaters 1320,1355 of KR ‘136 are arranged at different axial positions with respect to the longitudinal axis of the receiving sleeve. Thus, when substituting the inductive heater of Blandino for the heaters of KR ‘136 they would likewise be arranged at different axial positions.
With respect to claim 7, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to replace one or both of the resistive heaters of KR ‘136 with the inductive heater of Blandino, because the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 11, Blandino discloses that the inductive heater includes a susceptor 14 arranged on the outer circumferential surface of core 115. When combining Blandino with KR ‘136, it would have been obvious to place the susceptor in a position capable of conducting generated heat to the aerosol substrate.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchberger as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Blandino.
Buchberger discloses heating element 10 for aerosol generation but does not teach the heating element is inductive. See paras [0025-0026]. Blandino discloses it was known in the art at the time the invention was filed to use an inductive heater comprising an inductor coil 122 and a susceptor 114 to vaporize various vaporizable components (paras [0050—53]) within zone 113. See Figure 5 above. It would have been obvious to a POSITA to substitute the inductive heater of Blandino for the heater 10 of Buchberger because the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143 I.B. Blandino discloses that the inductive heater includes a susceptor 14 arranged on the outer circumferential surface of core 115. When combining Blandino with Buchberger, it would have been obvious to place the susceptor in a position capable of conducting generated heat to the aerosol substrate.
Claim(s) 16-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2015/091258 to Silvestrini et al. (hereinafter Silvestrini) in view of Blandino.
With respect to claims 16, 19, 20, 22-27, and 29, Silvestrini teaches an electrical heater for an aerosol-generating device 100 including a receiving sleeve 104 having a cylindrical shape forming an inner receiving zone 103 for receiving one or more aerosol-forming substrates 118,120; a first heating coil 106 arranged within the receiving sleeve wound around the receiving zone 103; and a second heating coil 136 arranged within the receiving sleeve wound around the receiving zone 103, wherein the first and second heating coils 106,136 are arranged at different axial positions with regard to a longitudinal axis of the receiving sleeve, wherein the first and second heating coils are arranged operatively connected to a first and second power profile, respectively, for individual heating control of the first and second inductor coils (page 16, lines 18-27). As shown in the figure above, the receiving sleeve 104 extends coaxially to a longitudinal axis of the electrical heater 106,136. Silvestrini is silent as use of inductive heaters or that an axial length of the first coil is larger than an axial length of the second coil.
Blandino discloses it was known in the art at the time the invention was filed to use an inductive heater comprising an AC generator, a helical inductor coil 122 and a susceptor 114 to vaporize various vaporizable components (paras [0011, 0050-0053]) within zone 113. It would have been obvious to a POSITA to substitute the inductive heater of Blandino for each heating coil 106,136 of Silvestrini because the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143 I.B. In making the substitution, one would have found it obvious to supply power to the two induction coils separately, as Silvestrini teaches the importance of controlling each heater individually. Silvestrini specifically teaches providing less power to one heater (page 16, lines 25-27). As to one inductive coil having a length larger than the other, it is well within the skill of one in the art to optimize the size of the coil based on the size of substrate in Silvestrini in order to achieve the desired heating thereof.
As to claim 17, Blandino discloses that the inductive heater includes a susceptor 14 arranged between an inner 130 and outer 140 circumferential surface of a receiving sleeve. When combining Blandino with Silvestrini, it would have been obvious to place the susceptor in a position capable of conducting generated heat to the aerosol substrate.
With respect to claim 18, the inner receiving zone is rod-shaped inasmuch as it is straight and has a longer length than width.
As to claim 21, an airflow passage passes through the inner receiving zone. See page 15, lines 23-34.
With respect to claim 28, Silvestrini discloses a mouthpiece at the proximal end of the device for inhaling the vapor therefrom. See page 6, lines 26-30; page 7, lines 21-30.
Conclusion
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.178(b), to
timely apprise the Office of any prior or concurrent proceeding in which Patent No.
11,477,861 is or was involved. These proceedings would include any trial before the
Patent Trial and Appeal Board, interferences, reissues, reexaminations, supplemental
examinations, and litigation.
Applicant is further reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to
timely apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the
claims under consideration in this reissue application.
These obligations rest with each individual associated with the filing and
prosecution of this application for reissue. See also MPEP §§ 1404, 1442.01 and
1442.04.
examiner should be directed to ELIZABETH MCKANE whose telephone number is
(571) 272-1275. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Thurs; 6:30 am -
4:30 pm.
supervisor, Patricia Engle can be reached on 571-272-6660. The fax phone number for
the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published
applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status
information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For
more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppair.uspto.gov/epatent/portal/home.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the
Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the
automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-
1000.
/ELIZABETH L MCKANE/Specialist, Art Unit 3991
Conferees:
/LEE E SANDERSON/ /Patricia L Engle/Reexamination Specialist, Art Unit 3991 SPRS, Art Unit 3991