DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 9,925,138. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a solid oral dosage form comprising at least 0.5 mg of fingolimod lauryl! sulfate salt and one or more excipients including a sugar alcohol, binders, fillers and the like. The claims differ in that the 138 claims recite specific tablet disintegration times and other release kinetics. The instant claims are of broader scope than the 138 claims, however would encompass the tablets as they comprise the same components, arranged in the same way and as such should have the same release kinetics. These limitations are the result of optimization of result effective parameters and would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill. For these reasons, the claims cannot be allowed together.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 10,925,829. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn toa solid oral dosage form comprising at least 0.5 mg of fingolimod lauryl sulfate salt and one or more excipients including a sugar alcohol, binders, fillers and the like. The claims differ in that the 829 claims recite specific tablet disintegration times and other release kinetics. The instant claims are of broader scope than the 829 claims, however would encompass the tablets as they comprise the same components, arranged in the
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kulkarni et al (US 2014/0199382 hereafter Kulkarni).
Kulkarni discloses a stable fingolimod formulation comprising about 0.56 mg of a fingolimod salt in a tablet form [abstract, 0004, 0027, Example 5, 6]. The formulation is made from blending fingolimod with a surfactant like sodium lauryl sulfate [0019]. The stable formulation has less than 1% degradation products and has over 80% potency [0023, 0028]. The dosage form include granules that can be formed in to tablets and capsules (0039, 0041]. The ingredients including binders, lubricants, and other excipients are dissolved in a solvents, dried and formed into the final dosage form [0032, Example 7, 8]. The formulation comprises a ratio of fingolimod to surfactant of 1:0.7 [Example 2].
Regarding the disintegration time and melting point of the fingolimod lauryl] sulfate, it is the position of the Examiner that these features do not distinguish the instant claims over the prior art as they are intrinsic to the formulation and cannot be separated. It is the position of the Examiner these physical features are dependent on the compositional components of the formulation, meaning that the same formulation with the same compositional components would have to have the same physical features. The claims recite that the solid table dosage form comprises a fingolimod lauryl sulfate complex or conjugates that is formed by reacting the compounds at a particular molar ratio. The prior art discloses these compounds reacted together at the same ratios. The instant claims recite a binder as an excipient and the prior art discloses the same excipients. The prior art discloses the same solid dosage form, same active agent, same excipients and the same concentrations as the instant claims and as such, since the disintegration time and other physical features are result dependent on these limitations, the prior art must have these features as well. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding the lyophilization limitations drawn to the manner in which the formulation is formed, it is the position of the Examiner that such limitations do not distinguish the claims over the prior art. The claims are drawn to products and the prior art discloses the same product. The limitations are product-by-process limitations, that do not distinguish over the prior art. Even though product -by- process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). It would have been obvious to use the Kulkarni formulation as it comprises the same components, and product limitations specifically the same degradation properties as the instant claims. Barring evidence to the contrary, it remains the position of the Examiner that the formulations would perform the same.
/MICAH PAUL YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618