DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“measurement unit” first recited in claim 1, whose corresponding structure is understood to be an invasive glucose monitor as per Applicant’s description of the invention at Page 3 and 12;
“control unit” first recited in claim 1, whose corresponding structure is understood to be the processing components of a blood glucose monitoring device as shown at Fig. 1 and described at page 11;
“storage unit” first recited in claim 1, whose corresponding structure is understood to be the memory or data storage components of a blood glucose monitoring device as shown at Fig. 1 and described at page 13;
“communication unit” first recited in claim 5, whose corresponding structure is understood to “include an infrared communication module, an NFC (Near Field Communication) module, a Bluetooth module, a WiFi (Wireless Fidelity) module, an LTE module, etc.” as described at page 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 8, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Re. Claims 4 and 12: Claims 4 and 12 each recite “the file size corresponding to the remaining portion of the blood glucose measurement data.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 4 and 12 each recite “the file size of the second verification data from the position where transmission was stopped.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Re. Claims 8 and 16: Claims 8 and 16 recite the term “CRC value;” however, Applicant’s Specification and claims fail to provide a definition for this term. For purposes of examination, the phrase “CRC value” is interpreted as “cyclic redundancy check value.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by:
Cole et al. (US 20250098959 A1) (hereinafter – Cole).
Re. Claims 1 and 9: Cole teaches a blood glucose measurement device (Figs. 1, 2, 6A-6C, 10, 12, 13: sensor 110; alternatively or additionally, a blood glucose measurement device may further comprise receiving devices 120, 130 and components thereof)
comprising:
a measurement unit that is partially inserted into the body of a subject and generates a blood glucose measurement signal by measuring a blood glucose concentration of the subject (Paragraph 0078: “As embodied herein, the sensing hardware 260 can include an analyte sensor transcutaneously or subcutaneously positioned in contact with a bodily fluid of a subject;” Fig. 2: sensor hardware 260 as described in Paragraph 0181: “…data gathered by the sensor 110 (e.g., through the sensor hardware 260)”);
a control unit that generates blood glucose measurement data by converting the blood glucose measurement signal into digital data (Paragraph 0098: “As an example, and not limitation, the data can include raw data from one or more components of the sensing hardware 260 (e.g., a signal value read from an analog-to-digital converter), data used to process raw data from the components of the sensing hardware 260 (e.g., a temperature level, noise level, etc.), data that has been processed by the analyte sensor 110 into another usable format (e.g., human-readable data), etc. The data can further include derivative values calculated from the sensor data, such as calculated rates of changes, trending values, projected values, etc.;” Paragraph 0177: “The operating system 213 can comprise various application programs for collecting and analyzing biological signals such as analyte levels;” additionally or alternatively, controllers of receiving devices 120, 130 may be considered further comprising a claimed control unit); and
a storage unit that stores the blood glucose measurement data (Paragraph 0103: “At 505, the analyte sensor 110 can collect analyte data from a subject… In particular embodiments, the sensing hardware can include an analyte sensor for measuring the levels of an analyte (e.g., glucose… The analyte sensor 110 can receive input from the sensing hardware (e.g., analyte sensor, temperature sensor, etc.)… the input from the sensing hardware can be processed by the analyte sensor. The input can be temporarily stored into a memory of the analyte sensor 110 (e.g., a volatile memory or RAM of an ASIC or other control unit).”),
wherein the control unit stores preset first verification data in the storage unit, and stores the blood glucose measurement data in the storage unit continuously to the first verification data (Fig. 4: any one of packet header, payload header, connection data, and/or integrity check value).
Claim 9 recites limitations of claim 1 mutatis mutandis as a method claim, and is rejected analogously to claim 1.
Re. Claims 2 and 10: Cole teaches the invention according to claims 1 and 9. Cole further teaches the invention wherein if a preset predetermined condition is satisfied, the control unit stores second verification data continuously to the blood glucose measurement data (Fig. 4: any other of the header, payload header, connection data, and/or integrity check value).
Re. Claims 3 and 11: Cole teaches the invention according to claims 2 and 10. Cole further teaches the invention wherein if storage of the blood glucose measurement data is completed without the occurrence of a specific event during the storage of the blood glucose measurement data, the control unit stores the second verification data continuously to the blood glucose measurement data (Fig. 4; Examiner notes that storage of the values for header, payload header, connection data, and/or integrity check value each occur without the occurrence of a non-specified “specific event”).
Re. Claims 5 and 13: Cole teaches the invention according to claims 2 and 10. Cole further teaches the invention further comprising a communication unit that transmits the stored blood glucose measurement data based on the control of the control unit (Abstract: “The analyte sensor may also include a communication module. A first receiver device may be wirelessly coupled to the communication module of the analyte sensor and configured to receive analyte data from the analyte sensor;” alternatively or additionally, Fig. 1: see communication between receiving devices and user device 140 or remote server 150).
Re. Claims 6 and 14: Cole teaches the invention according to claims 5 and 13. Cole further teaches the invention wherein the control unit compares at least one of the first verification data and the second verification data with a specific value corresponding to each of them;
if at least one of the first verification data and the second verification data and the specific value corresponding to each of them match each other, transmits the blood glucose measurement data to an external device through the communication unit; and
if at least one of the first verification data and the second verification data and the specific value corresponding to each of them do not match each other, transmits flag data and the blood glucose measurement data to the external device through the communication unit, wherein the flag data is data indicating the occurrence of an error for the blood glucose measurement data
(Paragraph 0099: “In particular embodiments, when a receiving device receives the packet 400 (and decrypts the payload 410, if the integrity check value 430 is stored in the payload 410), the receiving device can compare to the value of the integrity check value 430 to a counterpart check value 430. If the received integrity check value 430 does not correspond to the counterpart check value 430, the receiving device can disregard the payload 410 or inform the analyte sensor 110, subject, or user of the receiving device of a possible error. In particular embodiments, the counterpart check value can include a value calculated by the received device after receiving the packet 400 using the same algorithm or formula and input data as would have been used by the analyte sensor 110 in preparing the integrity check value 430 prior to transmission”).
Re. Claims 7 and 15: Cole teaches the invention according to claims 2 and 10. Cole further teaches the invention wherein at least one of the first verification data and the second verification data has a file size of at least 1 byte (Paragraph 0206: “As an example, as embodied herein, an appropriately-sized error detection code for the length of the message (e.g., a 16-bit CRC) can be used”).
Re. Claims 8 and 16: Cole teaches the invention according to claims 2 and 10. Cole further teaches the invention wherein at least one of the first verification data and the second verification data includes at least one of a CRC value or a parity bit (Paragraph 0206: “As an example, as embodied herein, an appropriately-sized error detection code for the length of the message (e.g., a 16-bit CRC) can be used”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Cole et al. (US 20250098959 A1) (hereinafter – Cole) in view of
Oh (US 20200233739 A1) (hereinafter – Oh).
Re. Claims 4 and 12: Cole teaches the invention according to claims 2 and 10, btu does not teach the invention wherein if storage of the blood glucose measurement data is stopped due to the occurrence of a specific event during the storage of the blood glucose measurement data, the control unit stores dummy data by the file size corresponding to the remaining portion of the blood glucose measurement data and the file size of the second verification data from the position where transmission was stopped.
Oh teaches analogous art in the technology of data validation for memory devices when specific events have occurred (Abstract). Oh further teaches the invention wherein if storage of the blood glucose measurement data is stopped due to the occurrence of a specific event during the storage of the blood glucose measurement data, the control unit stores dummy data by the file size corresponding to the remaining portion of the blood glucose measurement data and the file size of the second verification data from the position where transmission was stopped (Paragraph 0044: “Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, it is assumed that an SPO has occurred during a program operation for data DT_3 in a fourth page PG3 of a first memory block. A general storage device (e.g., non-volatile memory device 200) allocates a new memory block without using the corresponding memory block any more when a specific event occurs during a program operation, stores user data in a newly allocated memory block and performs an erase operation on the previous memory block, thereby increasing the number (“quantity”) of unnecessary erase operations due to the occurrence of a specific event. In some example embodiments, dummy data is stored in a page in which no data is stored among the plurality of pages included in the memory block in which the program operation is interrupted due to the SPO, or a memory block in which the SPO has occurred is set as a closed block to block the program operation to the remaining pages”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Cole to utilize the data-preserving features of Oh, the motivation being that doing so enables data preservation during a sudden power off event (Paragraphs 0007-0008).
Conclusion
/JUSTIN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791