Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-13, 16, 20-22, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gawryla (US 2019/0203871) in view of Goulet (US 2019/03296486), Kun (US 2026/0124812), and Katano (US 2022/0009150).
Regarding claim 1, Gawryla discloses a method of forming pipe insulation (abstract), the method comprising: providing a plurality of sheets of insulation material ([0011-13]), each sheet comprising a plurality of glass fibers and a binder (preformed fiberglass mat that has had binder applied to it, [0013] [0019]); directing each sheet of insulation material toward a mandrel at an approach angle α, wherein α ≠ 90 degrees (spiral winding, [0013]); and spiral winding each sheet in a partially overlapping fashion around the mandrel to form an elongated hollow cylinder of the insulation material (spiral winding with overlap, [0013], [0174], Figs. 4, 13) having a wall thickness in the range of about 10 mm to about 55 mm (0.5-2 in, [0129]); wherein each sheet of insulation material has a fiber area weight (FAW) in the range of about 195 g/m2 to about 410 g/m2 (pelt having area weight greater than 0.04 lb/ft2 (195.3 g/m2), [0007]); wherein each sheet of insulation material has a fiber basis weight variation that is in the range of about FAW ± 50% (this limitation is a manufacturing tolerance, while unspecified in Gawryla, there is at least an overlap with a general expectation of manufacturing uniformity in the pelts, [0007]); and wherein the binder of each insulation sheet is substantially uncured when the sheet is spiral wound on the mandrel ([0006]).
Gawryla teaches a method substantially as claimed. Gawryla does not disclose compressing each sheet of insulation material to have a thickness in the range of about 1.5 mm to about 6.5 mm; drying each sheet of insulation material to remove a majority of water therefrom; wherein each sheet of insulation material has a width in the range of about 35 mm to 80 mm.
However, in the same field of endeavor of manufacturing pipe insulation with glass fiber composite (abstract, [0028]), Katano teaches drying each sheet of insulation material to remove a majority of water therefrom (drying impregnated fiber before winding, [0039]).
Additionally, in the same field of endeavor of composite pipe insulation with glass fibers, ([0002] [0005]), Goulet teaches each sheet of insulation material to have a thickness in the range of about 1.5 mm to about 6.5 mm (thickness varies based on the application and shape of the component, [0183], therefore an overlapping range, see MPEP 2144.05); wherein each sheet of insulation material has a width in the range of about 35 mm to 80 mm (2 in. or 50.8 mm, [0183]).
Additionally, in the same field of endeavor of preparing glass fiber composite blanks and molding with them (abstract [0028] [0066]), Kun teaches compressing each sheet of insulation material to have a thickness in the range of about 1.5 mm to about 6.5 mm (glass fiber laminate blanks can be compressed, [0028] [0066]; of note, this is prior to shaping/curing)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Gawryla to dry the insulation material because [0039] of Katano teaches impregnating a fiber bundle and drying it to prepare it before winding on the mandrel to have the impregnated fiberglass ready for winding. It further would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method of Gawryla to compress each sheet of insulation material to have a thickness in the range of about 1.5 mm to about 6.5 mm because [0183] of Goulet teaches thickness varies based on the application and shape of the component and [0066] of Kun teaches the use of compression to achieve the desired thickness prior to shaping/curing. It further would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method of Gawryla such that each sheet of insulation material has a width in the range of about 35 mm to 80 mm because Gawryla is silent as to this dimension and [0183] of Goulet teaches a measurement within this range (2 in) in the same technical context to achieve the same end, namely, impregnated glass fiber pelt wrapped around a pipe for insulation.
Regarding claim 3, Gawryla as modified teaches a method substantially as claimed. Gawryla does not disclose hydrating each sheet of insulation material on the mandrel by applying about 1 wt.% to about 5 wt.% of water to the sheet based on the weight of the sheet.
However, Goulet teaches hydrating each sheet of insulation material on the mandrel by applying about 1 wt.% to about 5 wt.% of water to the sheet based on the weight of the sheet (additional thermoplastic matrix solution may be sprayed on after winding, a solution that contains water, Goulet [0113] [0135]; while amounts are not specified, this amounts to an overlapping range, see MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method of Gawryla to hydrate the insulation material on the mandrel because [0184] [0135] of Goulet teaches alternatives of pre-wetting and wetting the insulation material on the mandrel and therefore doing some of both.
Regarding claim 7, Gawryla as modified teaches curing the binder of the elongated hollow cylinder on the mandrel (Gawryla, [0119).
Regarding claim 8, Gawryla as modified teaches wherein the curing comprises applying heat in the range of about 475 °F (246.11 °C) to about 650 °F (343.33 °C) to the sheets for at least about 5 seconds (Gawryla [0046-47]; overlapping range, see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 9, Gawryla as modified teaches cutting the elongated hollow cylinder to a desired length as it exits the mandrel (Gawryla [0026]).
Regarding claim 10, Gawryla as modified teaches cutting a longitudinal slit into the length of the elongated hollow cylinder (Gawryla, [0030]).
Regarding claim 11, Gawryla as modified teaches further comprising applying an outer jacket material to the length of the elongated hollow cylinder (Gawryla claim 19).
Regarding claim 12, Gawryla as modified teaches wherein the spiral winding is effective to produce about twenty-four 3-foot (0.9144-meter) sections of the pipe insulation per minute (the process steps of parent claim 1 are taught as modified, while production speed is not explicit, with the same method taught, there is inherently a production speed and there is therefore an overlapping range of production speed, see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 13, Gawryla as modified teaches wherein an inner cavity of the elongated hollow cylinder has a diameter of less than 67 mm (Gawryla [0087]; overlapping range, see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 16, Gawryla as modified teaches wherein the pipe insulation has a density in the range of about 56,000 g/m3 to about 88,000 g/m3 (tuning pipe insulation density, Gawryla [0065] [0079] [0089] [0093], thereby teaching an overlapping range, MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 20, Gawryla as modified teaches wherein between 2 and 32 sheets are used to form the pipe insulation (2-24 layers, Gawryla [0129]).
Regarding claim 21, Gawryla as modified teaches wherein a number of the sheets is selected to define a thickness of the elongated hollow cylinder of insulation material (Gawryla [0129]).
Regarding claim 22, Gawryla as modified teaches wherein the mandrel is fixed (stationary mandrel embodiments, Gawryla [0129]).
Regarding claim 24, Gawryla as modified teaches wherein the pipe insulation is formed at a rate in excess of twelve 3-foot (0.9144-meter) sections of the pipe insulation per minute (the process steps of parent claim 1 are taught as modified, while production speed is not explicit, with the same method taught, there is inherently a production speed and there is therefore an overlapping range of production speed, see MPEP 2144.05).
Claim(s) 14-15 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gawryla (US 2019/0203871) in view of Goulet (US 2019/03296486), Kun (US 2026/0124812), and Katano (US 2022/0009150) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Albani (US 2017/0349718).
Regarding claim 14, Gawryla is silent as to the average fiber diameter of the fibers in each sheet.
However, in the same field of endeavor of composite insulation with glass fibers ([0003]), Albani teaches wherein the fibers in each sheet have an average fiber diameter in the range of about 6 µm to about 9 µm (6.5-24 microns, [0015]; overlapping range, see MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method of Gawryla for the glass fibers to have an average fiber diameter in the range of about 6 µm to about 9 µm because Gawryla is silent as to average fiber diameter and [0015] of Albani teaches glass fibers in this range in the technical context of a glass fiber with a binder for thermal insulation (see [0003]).
Regarding claim 15, Gawryla teaches the binder content in each sheet in terms of LOI without specifying a range ([0065]). Gawryla teaches a method substantially as claimed.
Gawryla is not explicit in disclosing wherein each sheet has about 5% LOI to about 8% LOI of the binder.
However, in the same field of endeavor of composite insulation with glass fibers ([0003]), Albani teaches wherein each sheet has about 5% LOI to about 8% LOI of the binder (1-25%, [0015]; overlapping range, see MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method of Gawryla for the binder content to be in the recited range because Gawryla is silent as to exact binder content and [0015] of Albani teaches glass fibers with this range of binder content in the technical context of a glass fiber with a binder for thermal insulation (see [0003]).
Regarding claim 17, Gawryla is silent as to the binder composition.
However, in the same field of endeavor of composite insulation with glass fibers ([0003]), Albani teaches wherein the uncured binder is substantially free of formaldehyde ([0008-09] [0012] [0018]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method of Gawryla for the binder to be substantially free of formaldehyde because [0008] [0012] [0018] of Albani teaches the benefits of excluding formaldehyde and [0009] teaches a binder free of formaldehyde.
Regarding claim 17, Gawryla is silent as to the binder composition.
However, in the same field of endeavor of composite insulation with glass fibers ([0003]), Albani teaches wherein the binder comprises polyacrylic acid and sorbitol ([0009]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method of Gawryla for the binder to be polyacrylic acid because [0009] of Albani teaches it is better than other phenolic resins, has various advantageous properties, and [0012] teaches doing so to avoid formaldehyde.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gawryla (US 2019/0203871) in view of Goulet (US 2019/03296486), Kun (US 2026/0124812), and Katano (US 2022/0009150) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yeggy (US 2023/0202125).
Regarding claim 19, Gawryla as modified teaches spiral wind the sheets along the mandrel (spiral winding, Gawryla [0013]). Gawryla teaches a method substantially as claimed. Gawryla does not disclose wherein at least one belt is used to spiral wind the sheets along the mandrel.
However, in the same field of endeavor of winding to wrap a composite around a cylindrical structure for a high pressure resistance (abstract, [0002]), Yeggy teaches wherein at least one belt is used to spiral wind the sheets along the mandrel ([0047-48]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method of Gawryla to use at least one belt to spiral wind the sheets along the mandrel because [0005] of Yeggy teaches that a belt imparts pressure for proper winding.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-6, and 23 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 recites, “The method of claim 1, wherein each sheet of insulation material has a first scrim interfaced with a top surface of the sheet and a second scrim interfaced with a bottom surface of the sheet, and wherein the first scrim and the second scrim are removed from the sheet after drying of the sheet and prior to spiral winding of the sheet.”
Regarding claim 2, while Gawryal teaches use of a scrim ([0006]), this is not used in the manner recited. Katano’s teachings regarding drying does not include doing so with scrims present as claimed and removing them prior to spiral winding. Lalande (FR 2900420) teaches removal of the scrim prior to shaping, but it is not clear how this could remedy the deficiencies of Gawryla as to claim 2. The available prior art does not provide an adequate rationale to teach each and every element of claim 2.
Claim 4 recites, “The method of claim 1, further comprising kneading the sheets of insulation material on the mandrel to redistribute a portion of the binder situated at overlapping portions of the sheets.”
Regarding claim 4, the available prior art does not provide an adequate rationale to add kneading to the production process as recited. The available prior art does not provide an adequate rationale to teach each and every element of claim 4.
Claim 5 recites, “The method of claim 1, further comprising searing the innermost and the outermost sheets of insulation material on the mandrel.”
Regarding claims 5-6, the available prior art does not provide an adequate rationale to add searing to the production process as recited. The available prior art does not provide an adequate rationale to teach each and every element of claim 5 and claim 6 depending from claim 5.
Claim 23 recites, “The method of claim 1, wherein the mandrel is hollow and includes a plurality of apertures extending therethrough.”
The available prior art does not teach the application of steam from within a hollow mandrel or an alternative rationale to teach each and every element of claim 23.
The pertinent prior arts, when taken alone or in combination cannot be reasonably construed as teaching or suggesting all of the elements and features of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant in claims 2, 4-6, or 23.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Goulet (US 11,946,584) teaches subject matter similar to Goulet (US 2019/03296486), cited above. Yeggy (US 12,377,616) teaches subject matter similar to Yeggy (US 2023/0202125), cited above.
/NICHOLAS J CHIDIAC/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/EMMANUEL S LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744